Skip to content

Acalabrutinib in Combination With R-ICE For Relapsed or Refractory Lymphoma

A Phase 2, Open-Label Study of Acalabrutinib in Combination With R-ICE For Relapsed or Refractory Non-Germinal Center Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma, Transformed Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Leukemia or Transformed Marginal Zone Lymphoma

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04189952
Enrollment
2
Registered
2019-12-06
Start date
2020-09-22
Completion date
2022-03-01
Last updated
2025-05-31

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma, Marginal Zone Lymphoma, Small Lymphocytic Leukemia

Keywords

Non-Germinal Center Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to test a combination treatment of acalabrutunib when given together with rituximab-ifosfamide-carboplatin-etoposide (R-ICE) to evaluate if it will be able to improve durable responses and cure some patients.

Interventions

DRUGAcalabrutinib

Acalabrutinib 100 mg capsules taken by mouth every 12 hours (PO BID), for a total of 2 daily doses on Days 1 to 21 of each cycle.

DRUGRituximab

Rituximab 375 mg/m2 administered intravenously (IV) on Day 1 of each cycle.

DRUGIfosfamide

Ifosfamide 5g/m2 administered intravenously (IV) over 24 hours on Day 2 of each cycle.

DRUGCarboplatin

Carboplatin Area Under the Concentration time Curve (AUC) 5 IV administered intravenously (IV) on Day 2 of each cycle.

DRUGEtoposide

Etoposide 100 mg/m2 administered intravenously (IV) on Days 1, 2 and 3 of each cycle.

Sponsors

AstraZeneca
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Miami
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Men and women ≥ 18 years of age. 2. Patients must have histologic confirmation of relapsed or refractory lymphoma. 3. Baseline FDG-PET scans must demonstrate positive lesions compatible with CT defined anatomical tumor sites. a) CT scan showing at least: * i. 2 or more clearly demarcated lesions/nodes with a long axis \>1.5cm and short axis ≥ 1.0cm, or * ii. 1 clearly demarcated lesion/node with a long axis \>2.0cm and short axis ≥1.0cm. 4. Patient must have been previously treated for B cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma with any of the allowable below: 1. First-line treatment with rituximab and an anthracycline-based chemotherapy. 2. Monotherapy rituximab, dosed prior to first-line rituximab combined with anthracycline containing chemotherapy, or as maintenance therapy. 3. Radiotherapy as part of the first-line treatment plan including anthracycline and rituximab. 5. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of ≤ 2. 6. Life expectancy of greater than 6 weeks. 7. Patients must have normal organ and marrow function as defined below, 1. absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1000/microliters (mcL) (unless due to lymphoma involvement of the bone marrow), 2. platelets ≥75,000/mcL (unless due to lymphoma involvement of the bone marrow), 3. total bilirubin \<1.5 x within normal institutional limits (unless due to lymphoma involvement of liver or a known history of Gilbert's disease), 4. Aspartate transaminase (AST) (SGOT)/Alanine transaminase (ALT) (SGPT) ≤ 2.5 × institutional upper limit of normal (unless due to lymphoma involvement of liver), 5. creatinine within normal institutional limits, or 6. creatinine clearance ≥40 mL/min/1.73 m2 for patients with creatinine levels above institutional normal. (unless due to lymphoma). 8. Major surgical procedure within 28 days of first dose of study drug. If a subject had major surgery, they must have recovered adequately from any toxicity and/or complications from the intervention before the first dose of study drug. 9. Women who are sexually active and can bear children must agree to use highly effective forms of contraception during the study and for 90 days after the last dose of acalabrutinib + R-ICE. 10. Men who are sexually active and can beget children must agree to use highly effective forms of contraception during the study and for 90 days after the last dose of acalabrutinib + R-ICE. 11. Men must agree to refrain from sperm donation during the study and for 90 days after the last dose of study drug. 12. Willing and able to participate in all required evaluations and procedures in this study protocol including swallowing capsules without difficulty. 13. Ability to understand the purpose and risks of the study and provide signed and dated informed consent and authorization to use protected health information (in accordance with national and local subject privacy regulations).

Exclusion criteria

1. Germinal-center cell-of-origin DLBCL. 2. Patients who have had chemotherapy or radiotherapy \< 21 days prior to first administration of study treatment or those who have not recovered from adverse events due to agents administered more than 4 weeks earlier. 3. Patients who are receiving any other investigational agents. 4. Patients with known central nervous system involvement of lymphoma. 5. History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to acalabrutinib or R-ICE with the exception of first-infusion reaction to rituximab. 6. Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements. Recent infections requiring systemic treatment need to have completed therapy \> 7 days before the first dose of study drug. 7. Pregnant women are excluded from this study because an acalabrutinib R-ICE is a chemotherapy program with the potential for teratogenic or abortifacient effects. Because there is an unknown but potential risk for adverse events in nursing infants secondary to treatment of the mother with acalabrutinib R-ICE, breastfeeding should be discontinued if the mother is treated with acalabrutinib R-ICE. 8. HIV-positive patients on combination antiretroviral therapy are eligible, unless the patient's CD4 count is below the institutional lower limit of normal, or the patient is taking prohibited CYP3A4/5 strong inhibitors or inducers. 9. Patients may not have received any anti-cancer therapy for their primary rel/ref DLBCL with the exception of palliative radiation therapy (RT). 10. Uncontrolled Autoimmune Hemolytic Anemia or immune thrombocytopenia purpura (ITP) resulting in (or as evidenced by) declining platelet or Hgb levels within the 4 weeks prior to first dose of study drug. 11. Presence of transfusion-dependent thrombocytopenia. 12. Prior exposure to a Bruton's tyrosine kinase (BTK) inhibitor. 13. History of prior malignancy, with the exception of the following: 1. Malignancy treated with curative intent felt to be at low risk for recurrence by treating physician, 2. Adequately treated non-melanomatous skin cancer or lentigo maligna melanoma without current evidence of disease, 3. Adequately treated cervical carcinoma in situ without current evidence of disease. 14. Currently active clinically significant cardiovascular disease such as uncontrolled arrhythmia, congestive heart failure, or Class 3 or 4 congestive heart failure as defined by the New York Heart Association Functional Classification, or history of myocardial infarction, unstable angina, or acute coronary syndrome within 6 months prior to first dose with study drug. 15. Unable to swallow capsules, or disease significantly affecting gastrointestinal function or, resection of the stomach or small bowel, or symptomatic inflammatory bowel disease or ulcerative colitis, or partial or complete bowel obstruction. 16. Serologic status reflecting active hepatitis B or C infection. Patients that are positive for hepatitis B core antibody, hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg), or hepatitis C antibody will need a negative polymerase chain reaction (PCR) prior to enrollment. (PCR positive patients will be excluded.) Hepatitis C antibody positive patients are eligible if PCR is negative. Hepatitis B core antibody (+) patients without evidence of HBsAg or Hep B PCR (+) are eligible with appropriate Hepatitis B reactivation prophylaxis. 17. History of stroke or intracranial hemorrhage within 6 months prior to enrollment. 18. Current life-threatening illness, medical condition, or organ system dysfunction which, in the Investigator's opinion, could compromise the patient's safety, or put the study at risk. 19. Received anticoagulation therapy with Coumadin or equivalent vitamin K antagonists within the last 28 days. 20. Vaccinated with live, attenuated vaccines with 4 weeks of first does of study drug. 21. Unresolved toxicities from prior anti-cancer therapy, defined as having not resolved to Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Event (CTCAE, version 5), grade ≤1, or to the levels dictated in the inclusion/

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants Achieving Complete Response (CR)9 weeks (End of Cycle 3)The percentage of participants achieving complete response (CR) will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Lymphoma (RECIL 2017) criteria.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants Achieving Partial Response (PR)9 weeksThe percentage of participants achieving partial response (PR) will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Lymphoma (RECIL 2017) criteria.
Percentage of Participants Achieving Overall Response9 weeksOverall response is defined as the percentage of participants who achieved complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) to acalabrutinib + R-ICE therapy. Response will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Lymphoma (RECIL 2017) criteria.
Percentage of Participants Achieving Mobilization Rate Greater Than or Equal to 2x10^6 CD34+ Cells/kg Body Weight9 weeksPercentage of study participants achieving a mobilization rate of greater than or equal to 2x10\^6 CD34+ cells/kg body weight. Descriptive statistics will be used to summarize the mobilization rates.
Number of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events13 weeksThe safety profile and tolerability of acalabrutinib + R-ICE will be reported as the number of treatment-emergent adverse events (AEs) or abnormalities of laboratory tests; serious adverse events (SAEs); dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs), or AEs leading to discontinuation of study treatment, or death. Severity and relationship will be assessed by the treating physician using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), Version 5.0.
Progression-Free Survival (PFS)Up to 61 weeksDuration of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) in study participants. PFS is defined as the time from first dose to documented disease progression, or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. Data for subjects who are still alive and free from progression at the time of data cutoff date, lost to follow-up, or have discontinued the study will be censored on last assessment (or, if no post-baseline tumor assessment, at the time of first dose plus 1 day).
Overall Survival (OS)Up to 61 weeksDuration of Overall Survival (OS) in study participants. OS is defined as the time from first dose to death from any cause. Data for subjects who are still alive at the time of data cutoff date, lost to follow-up, have discontinued the study (or, if no post-baseline assessment, at the time of first dose plus 1 day) will be censored.
Event-Free Survival (EFS)Up to 61 weeksDuration of Event-Free Survival (EFS) in study participants. EFS is defined as the time from first dose to documented disease progression, death from any cause, or study dropout, whichever occurs first.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Acalabrutinib + R-ICE
Acalabrutinib in combination with rituximab, ifosfamide, carboplatin and etoposide (R-ICE). All participants will receive combination treatment for 3 cycles. Each cycle lasts 21 consecutive days. Combination treatment includes twice daily dose of Acalabrutinib, Rituximab on Day 1 of each cycle, Ifosfamide and Carboplatin on Day 2 of each cycle, and Etoposide on Days 1-3 of each cycle. Acalabrutinib: Acalabrutinib 100 mg capsules taken by mouth every 12 hours (PO BID), for a total of 2 daily doses on Days 1 to 21 of each cycle. Rituximab: Rituximab 375 mg/m2 administered intravenously (IV) on Day 1 of each cycle. Ifosfamide: Ifosfamide 5g/m2 administered intravenously (IV) over 24 hours on Day 2 of each cycle. Carboplatin: Carboplatin Area Under the Concentration time Curve (AUC) 5 IV administered intravenously (IV) on Day 2 of each cycle. Etoposide: Etoposide 100 mg/m2 administered intravenously (IV) on Days 1, 2 and 3 of each cycle.
2
Total2

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Follow-up PeriodDeath1
Follow-up PeriodWithdrawal by Subject1

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAcalabrutinib + R-ICE
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
2 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 2
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 0
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 0

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants Achieving Complete Response (CR)

The percentage of participants achieving complete response (CR) will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Lymphoma (RECIL 2017) criteria.

Time frame: 9 weeks (End of Cycle 3)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICEPercentage of Participants Achieving Complete Response (CR)NA percentage of participants
Secondary

Event-Free Survival (EFS)

Duration of Event-Free Survival (EFS) in study participants. EFS is defined as the time from first dose to documented disease progression, death from any cause, or study dropout, whichever occurs first.

Time frame: Up to 61 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICEEvent-Free Survival (EFS)NA weeks
Secondary

Number of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events

The safety profile and tolerability of acalabrutinib + R-ICE will be reported as the number of treatment-emergent adverse events (AEs) or abnormalities of laboratory tests; serious adverse events (SAEs); dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs), or AEs leading to discontinuation of study treatment, or death. Severity and relationship will be assessed by the treating physician using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), Version 5.0.

Time frame: 13 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICENumber of Treatment-Emergent Adverse EventsNA Treatment-emergent adverse events
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

Duration of Overall Survival (OS) in study participants. OS is defined as the time from first dose to death from any cause. Data for subjects who are still alive at the time of data cutoff date, lost to follow-up, have discontinued the study (or, if no post-baseline assessment, at the time of first dose plus 1 day) will be censored.

Time frame: Up to 61 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICEOverall Survival (OS)NA weeks
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Achieving Mobilization Rate Greater Than or Equal to 2x10^6 CD34+ Cells/kg Body Weight

Percentage of study participants achieving a mobilization rate of greater than or equal to 2x10\^6 CD34+ cells/kg body weight. Descriptive statistics will be used to summarize the mobilization rates.

Time frame: 9 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICEPercentage of Participants Achieving Mobilization Rate Greater Than or Equal to 2x10^6 CD34+ Cells/kg Body WeightNA percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Achieving Overall Response

Overall response is defined as the percentage of participants who achieved complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) to acalabrutinib + R-ICE therapy. Response will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Lymphoma (RECIL 2017) criteria.

Time frame: 9 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICEPercentage of Participants Achieving Overall ResponseNA percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Achieving Partial Response (PR)

The percentage of participants achieving partial response (PR) will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Lymphoma (RECIL 2017) criteria.

Time frame: 9 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICEPercentage of Participants Achieving Partial Response (PR)NA percentage of participants
Secondary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS)

Duration of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) in study participants. PFS is defined as the time from first dose to documented disease progression, or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. Data for subjects who are still alive and free from progression at the time of data cutoff date, lost to follow-up, or have discontinued the study will be censored on last assessment (or, if no post-baseline tumor assessment, at the time of first dose plus 1 day).

Time frame: Up to 61 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Acalabrutinib + R-ICEProgression-Free Survival (PFS)NA weeks

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026