Skip to content

Repeat or Single Quadratus Lumborum Block for the Reduction of Opioid Prescriptions After Surgery in Retroperitoneal Sarcoma Patients ("RESQU-SARC" Trial)

Randomized Controlled Trial of Repeat vs. Single Quadratus Lumborum Block to Reduce Opioid Prescriptions After Open Resection of Retroperitoneal Sarcoma ("RESQU-SARC" Trial)

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04189783
Enrollment
113
Registered
2019-12-06
Start date
2020-06-08
Completion date
2026-12-31
Last updated
2026-04-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Retroperitoneal Sarcoma

Brief summary

This phase II trial studies how well a repeat or single liposomal bupivacaine injection (quadratus lumborum block) works in reducing opioid prescriptions after surgery in patients with retroperitoneal sarcoma. Liposomal bupivacaine is a numbing medication. Giving a second injection block may decrease dependency on opioid medications for pain relief after surgery and prevent long-term use and addiction.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: I. To use a pragmatic phase II randomized controlled trial to compare two standardized bundles of usual care for postoperative pain management to reduce the initial discharge prescription opioid volume. SECONDARY OBJECTIVE: I. To assess which pragmatic arm improves aspects of postoperative recovery including 30-day, 3-month, and 1-year opioid use, patient symptom inventory at those time points, hospital measures including length of stay and inpatient pain scores. OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms. ARM I: Patients receive standard of care liposomal bupivacaine injection before and during surgery and standard of care non-opioids and opioids at days 0-3 after surgery in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. ARM II: Patients receive standard of care liposomal bupivacaine injection before and during surgery and standard of care non-opioids and opioids at days 0-3 after surgery in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive a second liposomal bupivacaine injection on day 4 after surgery. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 1, 3, and 12 months after the surgery.

Interventions

DRUGLiposomal Bupivacaine

Patients receive standard of care liposomal bupivacaine injection before and during surgery, followed by standard of care non-opioids and opioids at days 0-3 after surgery in the absence of unacceptable toxicity

DRUGQuadratus Lumborum Block

Patients receive standard of care liposomal bupivacaine injection before and during surgery, followed by standard of care non-opioids and opioids at days 0-3 after surgery in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Patients receive a second liposomal bupivacaine injection ("RESQU" block) on day 4 after surgery

OTHERQuestionnaire Administration

Ancillary studies

Sponsors

M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
SUPPORTIVE_CARE
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients undergoing elective open sarcoma resection for potentially curative intent who would otherwise be treated with quadratus lumborum (QL) block + intravenous-patient controlled analgesia (IV-PCA) converted to oral pain medications (meds) (non-narcotic bundle + opioid pain pill)

Exclusion criteria

* Patients with current or past substance (drug or alcohol) abuse disorder * Laparoscopic or minimally invasive surgery * Cases in which anticipated discharge is on or before postoperative day 4

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Initial Discharge Prescription Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME)At time of discharge (median of 9 days)After sarcoma surgery, our historical discharge opioid prescription was a median of 300mg oral morphine equivalents (OME) in 2016-2018, with 5% patients discharged opioid-free. The primary objective of this study was to compare 2 novel opioid-reduction bundles to increase the proportion of opioid-free patients.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Proportion of Participants With Discharge Prescription OME = ZeroAt time of discharge (median of 9 days)Comparing the rate of opioid free patients at discharge between the 2 Arms
Participant Reported Outcomes for Gastrointestinal Surgery- MD Anderson Symptom Inventory (MDASI-GI) at Discharge and 1 Month After Surgery.Scores at discharge and 1 month after the surgeryCompare the scores based on MDASI-GI between the 2 Arms. Score from 0 to 10 to define participant feelings with 0 for none and 10 for worst.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORChristopher Scally

M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Participant flow

Recruitment details

84 patients underwent resection, with 43 Arm-1 (Usual care) patients and 41 Arm-2 (2nd QL-block).

Pre-assignment details

29 participants were excluded from the study before assignment to arms due to screen failure, aborted surgery, discharged before 4 days after surgery or opioids free at 3rd day after surgery.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
30 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
54 Participants
Age, Continuous57 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
34 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
73 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
41 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
32 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
28 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
6 / 432 / 41
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 437 / 41
serious
Total, serious adverse events
9 / 4310 / 41

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Apr 15, 2026