Skip to content

A Study of Atezolizumab Plus Nab-Paclitaxel in the Treatment of Unresectable Locally Advanced or Metastatic PD-L1-Positive Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

An Open-Label, Phase IIIb, Single Arm, Multicenter Safety Study of Atezolizumab (Tecentriq) Plus Nab-Paclitaxel in the Treatment of Unresectable Locally Advanced or Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04148911
Acronym
EL1SSAR
Enrollment
184
Registered
2019-11-04
Start date
2019-12-10
Completion date
2024-12-15
Last updated
2025-12-26

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

Brief summary

Study MO39874 is an open-label, Phase IIIb, single arm, global study conducted in participants with unresectable locally advanced or metastatic PD-L1-positive Triple-Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC) who have not received chemotherapy for their unresectable locally advanced or metastatic disease.

Interventions

DRUGAtezolizumab

Atezolizumab will be administered at a dose of 840 mg via IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of every 28-day cycle. Day 15: Atezolizumab may be administered on Days 15-18 of each cycle.

DRUGNab-Paclitaxel

Nab-Paclitaxel will be administered at the 100 mg/m2 dose via IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of every 28-day cycle. Day 8: Nab-paclitaxel may be administered on Days 8-11 of each cycle. Day 15: Nab-paclitaxel may be administered on Days 15-18 of each cycle, on the same day with the atezolizumab infusion.

Sponsors

Hoffmann-La Roche
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Masking description

Open label, non-blinded

Intervention model description

This is an open-label (non-blinded), single arm safety study in which all participants will receive atezolizumab in combination with nab-paclitaxel.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Unresectable locally advanced or metastatic, histologically documented TNBC (negative for HER2 and ER and PgR) * At least one specimen positive for PD-L1 status as determined by VENTANA PD-L1 SP142 IHC Assay * No prior chemotherapy, experimental or targeted systemic therapy for unresectable locally advanced or metastatic TNBC * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0, 1 or 2 * Life expectancy ≥ 12 weeks * Measurable disease, as defined by RECIST v1.1 * Adequate haematologic and end-organ function, defined by the following laboratory results obtained within 14 days prior to the initiation of study treatment * Negative hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) test at screening * Negative total hepatitis B core antibody (HBcAb) test at screening, or positive HBcAb test followed by a negative hepatitis B virus (HBV) deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) test at screening * Negative hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody test at screening, or positive HCV antibody test followed by a negative HCV ribonucleic acid (RNA) test at screening * Patients with treated asymptomatic central nervous system (CNS) metastases are eligible, provided that all the following criteria are met: (a) The metastases are limited to the supratentorial region or cerebellum (b) No ongoing requirement for corticosteroids as therapy for CNS disease (c) No stereotactic radiation within 7 days or whole-brain radiation or neurosurgical resection within 2 weeks before the start of study treatment (d) Radiographic demonstration of interim stability between the completion of CNS-directed therapy and the screening imaging study. * Patients with a history of autoimmune disease (Appendix 2) are allowed if controlled and on stable treatment (i.e., same treatment, same dose) for the last 12 weeks * For women of childbearing potential: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use contraceptive methods that result in a failure rate of \< 1% per year, during the treatment period and for at least 5 months after the last dose of atezolizumab or 6 months after the last dose of nab-paclitaxel/paclitaxel, whichever is later. In addition, women must refrain from donating eggs during the same time period * For men: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use contraceptive measures and agreement to refrain from donating sperm * Women who are not postmenopausal (≥ 12 months of non-therapy-induced amenorrhea) or surgically sterile must have a negative serum pregnancy test result within 14 days prior to initiation of study drug

Exclusion criteria

Cancer- Specific

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Grade ≥3 Adverse Events (AEs)Up to 60 monthsAE=untoward medical occurrence in participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. AE=any unfavorable & unintended sign, symptom/disease temporally associated with the use of pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to it. Severity was graded per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0 (NCI CTCAE v5.0). Grade 1=Mild; asymptomatic/mild symptoms; clinical/diagnostic observations only; or intervention not indicated; Grade 2=Moderate; minimal, local/non-invasive intervention indicated; or limiting age-appropriate instrumental activities of daily living; Grade 3=Severe/medically significant, but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization/prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling; or limiting self-care activities of daily living; Grade 4=Life-threatening consequences/urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5=Death related to AE. Percentages have been rounded off.
Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Grade ≥2 Immune-mediated AEs (imAEs)Up to 60 monthsAE=any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. AE=any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom/disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to it. Severity was graded according to NCI CTCAE v5.0. Grade 1=Mild; asymptomatic/mild symptoms; clinical/diagnostic observations only; or intervention not indicated; Grade 2=Moderate; minimal, local/non-invasive intervention indicated; or limiting age-appropriate instrumental activities of daily living (ADL); Grade 3=Severe/medically significant, but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization/prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling; or limiting self-care ADL; Grade 4=Life-threatening consequences/urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5=Death related to AE. imAEs are events that resemble autoimmune diseases and are known side effects of immune checkpoint inhibitors.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survival (OS) in Safety-evaluable PopulationUp to 60 monthsOS was defined as time from initiation of study treatment to death from any cause. OS was estimated using Kaplan-Meier (K-M) method.
OS in PD-L1-positive PopulationUp to 60 monthsOS was defined as time from initiation of study treatment to death from any cause. OS was estimated using K-M method.
Percentage of Participants With All Treatment-emergent AEsUp to 60 monthsAn AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the PP. Percentages have been rounded off.
PFS in PD-L1-positive PopulationUp to 60 monthsPFS was defined as the time from initiation of study treatment to the first occurrence of PD, as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum of diameters at prior timepoints (including baseline), and must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 mm. PFS was estimated using K-M method.
Progression Free Survival (PFS) in Safety-evaluable PopulationUp to 60 monthsPFS was defined as the time from initiation of study treatment to the first occurrence of PD, as determined by the investigator according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1), or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum of diameters at prior timepoints (including baseline), and must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 millimeters (mm). PFS was estimated using K-M method.
Percentage of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Up to 60 monthsAn AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a PP and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the PP. SAEs were defined as any AE that fulfilled any of the following criteria: fatal (resulted in death), life-threatening, required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/ birth defect, was medically significant or required intervention to prevent any of the other outcomes listed here. Percentages have been rounded off.

Countries

Argentina, Chile, Czechia, France, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants with unresectable locally advanced or metastatic programmed death-ligand 1 (PD-L1)-positive Triple-Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC) took part in the study at 67 centers in 13 countries from 10 Dec 2019 to 15 Dec 2024.

Pre-assignment details

Participants received atezolizumab in combination with nab-paclitaxel until disease progression (PD) or unacceptable toxicity or loss of clinical benefit. A total of 184 participants were enrolled in the study. However, two participants discontinued the study before receiving any treatment. Hence, participant flow data is presented for 182 participants. All protocol-specified assessments were completed as planned. Hence, this study was considered to be completed.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxel
Participants received atezolizumab 840 mg as IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day cycle along with nab-paclitaxel, 100 mg/m\^2 as IV infusion on Days 1, 8 and 15 of each 28-day cycle until PD, unacceptable toxicity, loss of clinical benefit or participant or investigator decision to discontinue treatment.
182
Total182

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyDeath104
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up5
Overall StudyStudy Ended by Sponsor56
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject17

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAtezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxel
Age, Continuous54.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
40 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
126 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
16 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
17 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
17 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
146 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
182 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
104 / 182
other
Total, other adverse events
167 / 182
serious
Total, serious adverse events
30 / 182

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Grade ≥2 Immune-mediated AEs (imAEs)

AE=any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. AE=any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom/disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to it. Severity was graded according to NCI CTCAE v5.0. Grade 1=Mild; asymptomatic/mild symptoms; clinical/diagnostic observations only; or intervention not indicated; Grade 2=Moderate; minimal, local/non-invasive intervention indicated; or limiting age-appropriate instrumental activities of daily living (ADL); Grade 3=Severe/medically significant, but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization/prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling; or limiting self-care ADL; Grade 4=Life-threatening consequences/urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5=Death related to AE. imAEs are events that resemble autoimmune diseases and are known side effects of immune checkpoint inhibitors.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: Safety-evaluable population included all enrolled participants who had received at least one dose of any study treatment (atezolizumab/nab-paclitaxel). Percentages have been rounded off.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelPercentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Grade ≥2 Immune-mediated AEs (imAEs)12.09 percentage of participants
Primary

Percentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Grade ≥3 Adverse Events (AEs)

AE=untoward medical occurrence in participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of causal attribution. AE=any unfavorable & unintended sign, symptom/disease temporally associated with the use of pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to it. Severity was graded per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0 (NCI CTCAE v5.0). Grade 1=Mild; asymptomatic/mild symptoms; clinical/diagnostic observations only; or intervention not indicated; Grade 2=Moderate; minimal, local/non-invasive intervention indicated; or limiting age-appropriate instrumental activities of daily living; Grade 3=Severe/medically significant, but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization/prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling; or limiting self-care activities of daily living; Grade 4=Life-threatening consequences/urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5=Death related to AE. Percentages have been rounded off.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: Safety-evaluable population included all enrolled participants who had received at least one dose of any study treatment (atezolizumab/nab-paclitaxel).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelPercentage of Participants With Treatment-emergent Grade ≥3 Adverse Events (AEs)46.70 percentage of participants
Secondary

OS in PD-L1-positive Population

OS was defined as time from initiation of study treatment to death from any cause. OS was estimated using K-M method.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: PD-L1 positive population included all participants with centrally confirmed PD-L1 positive tumor status.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelOS in PD-L1-positive PopulationNA months
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS) in Safety-evaluable Population

OS was defined as time from initiation of study treatment to death from any cause. OS was estimated using Kaplan-Meier (K-M) method.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: Safety-evaluable population included all enrolled participants who had received at least one dose of any study treatment (atezolizumab/nab-paclitaxel).

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelOverall Survival (OS) in Safety-evaluable Population27.0 months
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With All Treatment-emergent AEs

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the PP. Percentages have been rounded off.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: Safety-evaluable population included all enrolled participants who had received at least one dose of any study treatment (atezolizumab/nab-paclitaxel).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelPercentage of Participants With All Treatment-emergent AEs95.60 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a PP and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the PP. SAEs were defined as any AE that fulfilled any of the following criteria: fatal (resulted in death), life-threatening, required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/ birth defect, was medically significant or required intervention to prevent any of the other outcomes listed here. Percentages have been rounded off.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: Safety-evaluable population included all enrolled participants who had received at least one dose of any study treatment (atezolizumab/nab-paclitaxel).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelPercentage of Participants With All Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)16.48 percentage of participants
Secondary

PFS in PD-L1-positive Population

PFS was defined as the time from initiation of study treatment to the first occurrence of PD, as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum of diameters at prior timepoints (including baseline), and must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 mm. PFS was estimated using K-M method.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: PD-L1 positive population included all participants with centrally confirmed PD-L1 positive tumor status.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelPFS in PD-L1-positive Population11.1 months
Secondary

Progression Free Survival (PFS) in Safety-evaluable Population

PFS was defined as the time from initiation of study treatment to the first occurrence of PD, as determined by the investigator according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1), or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum of diameters at prior timepoints (including baseline), and must also demonstrate an absolute increase of ≥ 5 millimeters (mm). PFS was estimated using K-M method.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: Safety-evaluable population included all enrolled participants who had received at least one dose of any study treatment (atezolizumab/nab-paclitaxel).

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Atezolizumab + Nab-paclitaxelProgression Free Survival (PFS) in Safety-evaluable Population7.4 months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026