Skip to content

Efficacy and Safety Study of MYOBLOC® in the Treatment of Adult Lower Limb Spasticity

A Phase 2/3, Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Single-Treatment Efficacy and Safety Study of MYOBLOC® in the Treatment of Adult Lower Limb Spasticity

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04099667
Enrollment
40
Registered
2019-09-23
Start date
2019-12-17
Completion date
2023-03-24
Last updated
2026-05-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Spasticity

Keywords

Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI), Monoplegia, Hemiplegia, Lower limb

Brief summary

Phase 2/3, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-treatment, multicenter trial assessing the efficacy and safety of MYOBLOC for the treatment of lower limb spasticity, in adults followed by an open-label extension safety trial.

Detailed description

Phase 2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-treatment, multicenter trial will compare the efficacy and safety of two doses of MYOBLOC (15,000 Units and 20,000 Units)versus volume-matched placebo in the treatment of lower limb spasticity in adults. An interim analysis will evaluate all available safety and efficacy data from the Phase 2 double-blind trial in order to recommend which dose will be evaluated in subsequent Phase 3 trial. The Phase 3, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-treatment, multicenter trial will compare the efficacy and safety of MYOBLOC versus placebo in the treatment of lower limb spasticity in adults. Subjects who complete either the Phase 2 or Phase 3 trial will continue into an open-label extension part of the study where each will receive 4 separate treatments of MYOBLOC (20,000-25,000 Units) \ 13 weeks apart for lower limb spasticity.

Interventions

DRUGPhase 2; Low Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)

Intramuscular injections on Day 1

Intramuscular injections on Day 1

Intramuscular injections on Day 1

Intramuscular injections on Day 1

Intramuscular injections on Day 1

Sponsors

Solstice Neurosciences, LLC, a subsidiary of MDD US Operations, LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 80 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Able to understand the potential risks and benefits, the study requirements, and provide written informed consent before enrollment into the study; or if unable, the subject's Legally Authorized Representative (LAR) may provide written informed consent. 2. Male or female ≥18 to maximum of 80 years of age, inclusive. 3. Lower limb spasticity due to stroke, traumatic brain injury, or spinal cord injury that occurred ≥6 months prior to randomization. Eligible subjects may have lower limb monoplegia or hemiplegia. Subjects with cerebral palsy are eligible for study enrollment. 4. Ambulatory (with or without the use of a walking assistive device). 5. Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) score ≥2 in the ankle plantar flexors of the affected lower limb at screening and at baseline. 6. In the Investigator's opinion, the subject will be available and able to comply with the study requirements for at least 1 year, based on the subject's overall health and disease prognosis. 7. In the Investigator's opinion, the subject will be willing and able to comply with all requirements of the protocol, including completion of study questionnaires. A caregiver may be designated to assist with the physical completion of questionnaires/scales.

Exclusion criteria

1. Quadriplegia/tetraplegia, lower limb diplegia or triplegia. 2. Uncontrolled epilepsy or any type of seizure disorder with a seizure(s) within the previous year. 3. Neuromuscular disorders including, but not limited to, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), primary lateral sclerosis (PLS), multiple sclerosis (MS), myasthenia gravis, or muscular dystrophy. 4. History of major joint contracture(s), in which, based on the Investigator's assessment, the contracture(s) significantly contribute(s) to joint immobility in the affected lower limb. 5. Unresolved fracture(s) in the affected lower limb. 6. Severe atrophy in the affected lower limb. 7. Known hypersensitivity to botulinum toxins type A or B or to any MYOBLOC solution components. 8. Concomitant use or exposure within 5 half-lives of randomization of the following: aminoglycoside antibiotics, curare-like agents, or other agents that may interfere with neuromuscular function. 9. Treatment with a neurolytic agent (e.g., phenol, alcohol blocks) to the affected lower limb within 1 year before randomization. 10. Presence of a spinal stimulator or intrathecal baclofen pump that has not been turned off within 30 days before screening. 11. Changes to treatment regimen or any new treatment with oral antispasmodics and/or muscle relaxants within 30 days before randomization. 12. Initiation of physical and/or occupational therapy \<30 days before randomization. Subjects receiving physical and/or occupational therapy ≥30 days before randomization must be willing to maintain their therapy regimen through Week 4 of the DBP. 13. Application of an ankle-foot orthosis (AFO) \<30 days before randomization. Subjects regularly using an AFO ≥30 days before randomization must be willing to maintain use of the AFO through Week 4 of the Double-Blind Period. 14. Prior botulinum toxin type A (BoNT/A) or B (BoNT/B) treatment in the affected lower limb within 24 weeks before screening. Prior BoNT/A or BoNT/B treatment in areas other than the affected lower limb is not exclusionary but must have occurred at least 12 weeks before screening. Prior toxin exposure must have been well tolerated and without any significant long-term side effects in the case of repeated prior exposure. 15. Subjects should not receive nor have any plans to receive any botulinum toxin treatment, other than the study drug (MYOBLOC), from the point informed consent is obtained until participation in the study is complete. 16. Severe dysphagia (i.e., inability to swallow liquids, solids or both without choking or medical intervention), or dysphagia with a history of aspiration pneumonia, within 6 months before screening. 17. Prior surgery to treat spasticity in the affected lower limb (i.e., tendon lengthening or tendon transfer). 18. Any anticipated or scheduled surgery during the study period, with the exception of dermatological procedures performed under local anesthesia for the purposes of removing precancerous and cancerous lesions. 19. Major surgery within 3 months before screening. 20. Pregnancy or breastfeeding. 21. Females of childbearing potential must agree to practice a medically acceptable method of contraception (e.g., intrauterine device, hormonal contraception started at least one full cycle before study enrollment or barrier method in conjunction with spermicide) for the duration of the study (including 2 months after study completion). For the purposes of this study, all females are considered to be of childbearing potential unless they are confirmed by the Investigator to be post-menopausal (at least 1 year since last menses and laboratory test confirmation), biologically sterile, or surgically sterile (e.g., hysterectomy with bilateral oophorectomy, tubal ligation). 22. History of drug or alcohol abuse within 6 months before screening. 23. Obstructive pulmonary disease with forced expiratory volume in 1 second (FEV1)/forced vital capacity (FVC) \<70%. 24. Slow vital capacity (SVC) \<60% of predicted. 25. Chronic or current use of inhaled corticosteroids. 26. Ventilator dependence (i.e., 24-hour ventilator dependence when intubated, or due to a failure to wean the subject from the ventilator while hospitalized in the intensive care unit or respiratory care center). Subjects who use oxygen on an as-needed basis or during sleeping hours only via a nasal cannula are eligible for the study. 27. Infection at the planned sites of injection. 28. Treatment with an investigational drug, device, or biological agent within 30 days before screening or while participating in this study. 29. Malignancy diagnosed 3 months before screening. 30. Has one or more screening clinical laboratory test values outside the reference range that, in the opinion of the Investigator, are clinically significant, or any of the following : * Serum creatinine \>1.5 times the upper limit of normal (ULN); * Serum total bilirubin \> 1.5 times ULN; * Serum alanine aminotransferase or aspartate aminotransferase \>2 times ULN. 31. Has any of the following cardiology findings at screening: * Abnormal ECG that is, in the Investigator's opinion/evaluation, clinically significant; * PR interval \>220 ms; * QRS interval \>130 ms; * QTcF interval \>450 ms (for men), or \>470 ms (for women) (QT corrected using Fridericia's method); * Second-or third-degree atrioventricular block; * Any rhythm, other than sinus rhythm, that is interpreted or assessed by the Investigator to be clinically significant. 32. Any other medical illness, condition, or clinical finding that, in the opinion of the Investigator and/or the Sponsor, would put the subject at undue risk.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
The Change From Baseline in the Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) Score in the Tone of the Ankle Plantar Flexors at Week 4 Post-injection.Baseline and Week 4The Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) is an internationally accepted and validated instrument used to measure resistance during passive soft-tissue stretching. Resistance will be measured and recorded using a 6-point scale ranging from 0 (no increase in muscle tone) to 4 (affected part\[s\] rigid in flexion or extension). The post-injection MAS score is subtracted from the baseline MAS score to yield the change from baseline MAS score. A change from baseline MAS score \<0 represents a better outcome.
The Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Score in Functional Ability at Week 4 Post-injectionWeek 4The Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) scale is a single item clinician assessment of how much the patient's functional ability has improved, worsened or has not changed relative to the patient's baseline state prior to treatment (injection). The CGI-C is rated on a 7-point Likert scale from 1 to 7, where 1 = "Very much improved", 2 = "Much improved", 3 = "Minimally improved", 4 = "No change", 5 = "Minimally worse", 6 = "Much worse", and 7 = "Very much worse". A CGI-C score \<4 represents a better outcome.

Countries

Hungary, Poland, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORJoseph T Hull, PhD

Solstice Neurosciences, LLC, a subsidiary of MDD US Operations, LLC

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study was conducted at 9 sites located in the United States (4), Poland (4), and Hungary (1).

Pre-assignment details

Participants were enrolled into the Phase 2 portion of study only. After participants who complete the Double-Blind Phase (DBP; Treatment 1) of study can receive up to 4 treatments of MYOBLOC in the Open-Label Extension (OLE; Treatments 2-5). Since the Phase 2 portion of study did not complete target enrollment, there were no participants enrolled into the Phase 3 portion of study, which would have also included a DBP portion followed by an OLE portion of study.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
9 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
31 Participants
Age, Continuous52.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.56
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) score of the Gastrocnemius/Soleus Complex [Ankle Plantar Flexors]2.71 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.469
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
38 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Hungary
0 participants
Region of Enrollment
Poland
21 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
18 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
12 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 140 / 140 / 120 / 37
other
Total, other adverse events
4 / 144 / 144 / 124 / 37
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 140 / 140 / 123 / 37

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 23, 2026