Skip to content

Futibatinib Versus Gemcitabine-Cisplatin Chemotherapy as First-Line Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cholangiocarcinoma Harboring FGFR2 Gene Rearrangements

A Phase 3, Open-Label, Randomized Study of Futibatinib Versus Gemcitabine-Cisplatin Chemotherapy as First-Line Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cholangiocarcinoma Harboring FGFR2 Gene Rearrangements FOENIX-CCA3

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04093362
Acronym
FOENIX-CCA3
Enrollment
10
Registered
2019-09-18
Start date
2021-01-06
Completion date
2024-04-22
Last updated
2025-02-07

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Advanced Cholangiocarcinoma, FGFR2 Gene Rearrangements

Keywords

Futibatinib, Advanced Cholangiocarcinoma, FGFR2, Fusion, Rearrangement, TAS-120

Brief summary

This is an open-label, multinational, parallel 2-arm, randomized Phase 3 study evaluating the efficacy and safety of futibatinib versus gemcitabine-cisplatin chemotherapy as first-line treatment of participants with advanced, metastatic, or recurrent unresectable intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma (iCCA) harboring FGFR2 gene rearrangements

Detailed description

Study TAS-120-301 is an open-label, multinational, parallel 2-arm, randomized Phase 3 study evaluating the efficacy and safety of futibatinib versus gemcitabine-cisplatin chemotherapy as first-line treatment of participants with advanced, metastatic, or recurrent unresectable iCCA harboring FGFR2 gene rearrangements. Eligible participants will be randomized on a 1:1 basis to the following study arms: * Experimental Arm: Participants will receive futibatinib at an oral dose of 20 mg, administered daily (QD) on every day of a 21-day cycle. * Control Arm: On Days 1 and 8 of a 21-day cycle, participants will receive: * Cisplatin 25 mg/m2 in 1000 mL 0.9% saline by intravenous (IV) infusion over 1 hour, followed by 500 millilliteres (mL) 0.9 percent (%) saline over 30 minutes; and * Gemcitabine 1000 mg/m2 in 250-500 mL 0.9% saline by IV infusion over 30 minutes, beginning after completion of the cisplatin and saline infusions. Participants in the Experimental Arm may continue to receive continuous futibatinib until documentation of progressive disease (PD) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors, Version 1.1 (RECIST v 1.1), or until other withdrawal criteria are met, whichever comes first. However, treatment may continue following PD per RECIST 1.1 if the participants is clinically stable and is considered by the Investigator to be deriving continued clinical benefit from futibatinib. Participants in the Control Arm may receive gemcitabine-cisplatin chemotherapy for up to 8 cycles or until PD or other withdrawal criteria are met, whichever comes first. Participants who discontinue gemcitabine-cisplatin due to documented disease progression (by ICR) may receive treatment with futibatinib (crossover), if medically appropriate in the opinion of the Investigator and if criteria for futibatinib treatment are met.

Interventions

DRUGFutibatinib

Oral tablets

DRUGCisplatin

IV infusion

DRUGGemcitabine

IV infusion

Sponsors

Taiho Oncology, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

A participant must meet all of the following inclusion criteria to be eligible for enrollment in this study: 1. Provide written informed consent. 2. Is ≥18 years of age (or meets the country's regulatory definition for legal adult age). 3. The participant has histologically confirmed, locally advanced, or metastatic, or recurrent unresectable iCCA harboring FGFR2 gene rearrangements based on testing performed by the designated central laboratory. 4. Participant has radiographically measurable disease per RECIST 1.1. 5. Participants who have received treatment for locally advanced disease (for example, trans-arterial chemoembolization, selective internal radiation therapy, external beam radiation) must have evidence of radiographic progression with measurable disease outside the previously-treated lesions. 6. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status (ECOG PS) 0 or 1. 7. Adequate organ function as defined by the following criteria: * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) and alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 3.0 ×upper limit of normal (ULN); if liver function abnormalities are due to underlying liver metastasis, AST and ALT ≤ 5 × ULN. * Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 × ULN, or ≤ 3.0 × ULN for participants with Gilbert's syndrome. * White Blood Count (WBC) ≥ 2000/mm3 (≥ 2.0 × 109/L) * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1000/mm3 (ie, ≥ 1.0 × 109/L by International Units \[IU\]) * Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm3 (IU: ≥ 100 × 109/L) * Hemoglobin ≥ 9.0 g/dL * Phosphorus ≤ 1.5 × ULN * Creatinine clearance: ≥ 60 mL/min 8. Women of child-bearing potential (WOCBP) must have a negative serum pregnancy test within 7 days prior to administration of the first dose of futibatinib. Female participants are not considered to be of child bearing potential if they have a history of hysterectomy or are post menopausal defined as no menses for 12 months without an alternative medical cause. Both males and females of reproductive potential must agree to use effective birth control during the study prior to the first dose and for 6 months after the last dose. 9. Willing and able to comply with scheduled visits and study procedures.

Exclusion criteria

A participant will be excluded from this study if any of the following criteria are met: 1. Participant has received previous systemic anticancer therapy. •Participants receiving adjuvant or neoadjuvant treatment and completed ≥6 months prior to randomization are eligible. 2. Participant has mixed hepatocellular carcinoma - iCCA disease. 3. History and/or current evidence of any of the following disorders: * Non-tumor related alteration of calcium-phosphorus homeostasis that is clinically significant in the opinion of the Investigator. * Ectopic mineralization/calcification, including but not limited to soft tissue, kidneys, intestine, or myocardia and lung, considered clinically significant in the opinion of the Investigator. * Retinal disorder confirmed by retinal examination and considered clinically significant in the opinion of the ophthalmologist. 4. History or current evidence of uncontrolled ventricular arrhythmias 5. Fridericia's corrected QT interval (QTcF) \> 470 milliseconds (ms) on electrocardiogram (ECG) conducted during Screening. 6. Treatment with any of the following within the specified time frame prior to the first dose of study therapy, or failure to recover from side effects of these prior therapies: * Major surgery within the previous 4 weeks (the surgical incision should be fully healed prior to the first dose of study therapy). * Radiotherapy (any dose) for extended field within 4 weeks or limited field radiotherapy within 2 weeks, and/or has not recovered from acute impact of radiotherapy. * Participants with locoregional therapy, e.g. transarterial chemoembolization (TACE), selective internal radiotherapy (SIRT) or ablation within 4 weeks. * Any history of liver transplant. 7. A serious illness or medical condition(s) including, but not limited to, the following: * Brain metastases that are untreated or clinically or radiologically unstable (that is, have been stable for \<1 month). * Known acute systemic infection. * Myocardial infarction, severe/unstable angina, or symptomatic congestive heart failure within the previous 6 months. * Chronic nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea considered to be clinically significant in the opinion of the Investigator. * Congenital long QT syndrome, or any known history of torsade de pointes, or family history of unexplained sudden death. * Other severe acute or chronic medical or psychiatric condition or laboratory abnormality that in the judgment of the Investigator would make the participant inappropriate for entry into this study. 8. Participants with a history of another primary malignancy that is currently clinically significant, and has potential for metastases or currently requires active intervention. 9. Pregnant or breast-feeding female. 10. The participant is unable to take oral medication.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free Survival (PFS)Up to approximately 28 monthsPFS was defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of documentation of disease progression by independent central review (ICR), or date of death, whichever occurs first. Response assessments were made based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) guidelines (version 1.1, 2009)

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Objective Response Rate (ORR)Up to approximately 28 monthsORR was defined as the proportion of participants experiencing a best overall response of partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) as per RECIST 1.1, based on ICR. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of the target lesions, taking as a reference the baseline sum diameters and persistence of one or more non-target lesion(s) and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. CR was defined as disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph node must have reduction in short axis to less than (\<)10 millimeters (mm) and disappearance of all non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. All lymph nodes must be non-pathological in size (\<10-mm short axis)
Disease Control Rate (DCR)Up to approximately 28 monthsDCR was defined as the proportion of participants experiencing a best overall response of stable disease (SD), PR or CR as per RECIST 1.1, based on central assessment of radiologic images. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of the target lesions, taking as a reference the baseline sum diameters and persistence of one or more non-target lesion(s) and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. CR was defined as disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph node must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm and disappearance of all non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. All lymph nodes must be non-pathological in size (\<10-mm short axis).
Overall Survival (OS)Up to approximately 28 monthsOS was defined as the time from the date of randomization until the date of death due to any cause.
Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Per Investigator AssessmentUp to approximately 28 monthsPFS per investigator assessment is defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of disease progression based on investigator assessment of radiographic images or death, whichever occurs first.
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Up to approximately 28 monthsAn adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical condition in clinical investigation participant administered drug; it does not necessarily have to have causal relationship with this treatment. A TEAE was defined as an AE that started or worsened at the time of or after first dose of study drug administration and within 30 days after last dose of study drug and does not necessarily have a causal relationship to use of the study drug. TEAEs were assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version 5.0 (CTCAE v5.0). SAE was any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose: results in death, is life-threatening, required in participant hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is congenital anomaly/birth defect, important medical event. TEAEs included any clinically significant changes in clinical laboratory tests, vital signs, ophthalmological exams, and 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG).

Countries

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 10 participants took part in the study from 06 January 2021 to 22 April 2024.

Pre-assignment details

Total 10 participants with advanced cholangiocarcinoma were enrolled & randomized to receive either futibatinib or gemcitabine-cisplatin. The study was later terminated by the sponsor due to poor recruitment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Futibatinib
Participants received futibatinib at an oral dose of 20 mg, administered QD in each 21-day cycle up to a maximum of 649 days.
4
Gemcitabine-Cisplatin
Participants received cisplatin 25 mg/m\^2 IV infusion followed by gemcitabine 1000 mg/m\^2 IV infusion on Days 1 and 8 of each 21-day cycle up to a maximum of 155 days.
6
Total10

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath13
Overall StudyReason not Specified12
Overall StudyStudy Termination11
Overall StudyWithdrawal of Consent10

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicGemcitabine-CisplatinTotalFutibatinib
Age, Continuous56.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.77
61.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.84
69.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.46
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants4 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants5 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
5 Participants7 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
4 Participants5 Participants1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
2 Participants5 Participants3 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 43 / 5
other
Total, other adverse events
4 / 45 / 5
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 43 / 5

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-free Survival (PFS)

PFS was defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of documentation of disease progression by independent central review (ICR), or date of death, whichever occurs first. Response assessments were made based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) guidelines (version 1.1, 2009)

Time frame: Up to approximately 28 months

Population: As pre-specified in protocol, a total of 162 PFS events were required to perform PFS analysis. As only 10 participants were enrolled in this study, hence no data was collected or analyzed as planned for this outcome measure.

Secondary

Disease Control Rate (DCR)

DCR was defined as the proportion of participants experiencing a best overall response of stable disease (SD), PR or CR as per RECIST 1.1, based on central assessment of radiologic images. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of the target lesions, taking as a reference the baseline sum diameters and persistence of one or more non-target lesion(s) and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. CR was defined as disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph node must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm and disappearance of all non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. All lymph nodes must be non-pathological in size (\<10-mm short axis).

Time frame: Up to approximately 28 months

Population: The data for this outcome measure was not collected or analyzed as planned because the study was terminated early due to poor recruitment.

Secondary

Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical condition in clinical investigation participant administered drug; it does not necessarily have to have causal relationship with this treatment. A TEAE was defined as an AE that started or worsened at the time of or after first dose of study drug administration and within 30 days after last dose of study drug and does not necessarily have a causal relationship to use of the study drug. TEAEs were assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version 5.0 (CTCAE v5.0). SAE was any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose: results in death, is life-threatening, required in participant hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is congenital anomaly/birth defect, important medical event. TEAEs included any clinically significant changes in clinical laboratory tests, vital signs, ophthalmological exams, and 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG).

Time frame: Up to approximately 28 months

Population: All Treated Population included all participants who received at least one dose of study drug.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
FutibatinibNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)TEAEs4 Participants
FutibatinibNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)SAEs2 Participants
Gemcitabine-CisplatinNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)TEAEs5 Participants
Gemcitabine-CisplatinNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)SAEs3 Participants
Secondary

Objective Response Rate (ORR)

ORR was defined as the proportion of participants experiencing a best overall response of partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) as per RECIST 1.1, based on ICR. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of the target lesions, taking as a reference the baseline sum diameters and persistence of one or more non-target lesion(s) and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. CR was defined as disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph node must have reduction in short axis to less than (\<)10 millimeters (mm) and disappearance of all non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. All lymph nodes must be non-pathological in size (\<10-mm short axis)

Time frame: Up to approximately 28 months

Population: The data for this outcome measure was not collected or analyzed as planned because the study was terminated early due to poor recruitment.

Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS was defined as the time from the date of randomization until the date of death due to any cause.

Time frame: Up to approximately 28 months

Population: The data for this outcome measure was not collected or analyzed as planned because the study was terminated early due to poor recruitment.

Secondary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Per Investigator Assessment

PFS per investigator assessment is defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of disease progression based on investigator assessment of radiographic images or death, whichever occurs first.

Time frame: Up to approximately 28 months

Population: As pre-specified in protocol, a total of 162 PFS events were required to perform PFS analysis. As only 10 participants were enrolled in this study, hence no data was collected for this outcome measure.

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 26, 2026