Skip to content

Study to Gain More Information on How Safe and Effective Jivi Works in Patients With Severe Hemophilia A (Post-marketing Investigation)

Post-marketing Investigation (PMI) to Assess Safety and Efficacy of Jivi (BAY 94-9027) Treatment in Participants With Hemophilia A

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04085458
Enrollment
32
Registered
2019-09-11
Start date
2019-09-23
Completion date
2022-08-26
Last updated
2023-07-27

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Hemophilia A

Brief summary

The goal of this study is to give gather more information on how safe and well Jivi works in patients with severe hemophilia A. Jivi has been approved by various regulatory agencies, including the FDA, Health Canada, Japanese Health Authority and the European Medicinal Agency. 25 patients will be enrolled and will stay for 1 to 2 years in this study depending on their treatment frequency. Researcher will monitor during the course of the study whether patients are developing antibodies (a protein made by the body in response to the drug) affecting the effectiveness of Jivi. In addition information on bleedings and patient's wellbeing will be collected.

Interventions

The recommended starting dose is every 5 days treatment (45 IU/kg)- An assessment of response to treatment will be performed at the next scheduled visit after 10-15 ED (8-10 weeks). Participants may be assigned to different dosing regimens (every 7 days or 2x/week) or continue with every 5 days regimen, according to individual bleeding tendency and needs at investigator's discretion.

Sponsors

Bayer
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Participants must ≥ 18 years of age inclusive, at the time of signing the informed consent. * Participants with severe hemophilia A (FVIII: C\<1%) * PTPs (Previously treated patients) (≥150 ED (Exposure day)) on prophylaxis treatment before enrollment * Participants who are immunocompetent. If human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) positive, cluster of differentiation 4 (CD4)+ lymphocyte count \>200/mm\*3 * Participants who are willing to complete an eDiary * Male participants * Capable of giving signed informed consent

Exclusion criteria

* Any other inherited or acquired bleeding disorder in addition to Hemophilia A. * Platelet count \< 100,000/mm\*3 * Creatinine \> 2x upper limit of normal * AST or ALT \> 5x upper limit of normal (AST: aspartate aminotransferase; ALT: alanine aminotransferase) * The participant has a planned major surgery. * The participant is currently participating in another investigational drug study, or has participated in a clinical study involving an investigational drug within 30 days of signing informed consent or previous treatment in a clinical phase III study with BAY 94-9027 (now marketed as Jivi). * Current evidence (by central laboratory) or history of inhibitor to FVIII with a titer ≥ 0.6 Bethesda unit (BU). * Known hypersensitivity to the drug substance, excipients, or mouse or hamster protein.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
FVIII Inhibitor Development by the Nijmegen Bethesda AssayObserved for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 yearsFVIII inhibitor testing was performed using the Nijmegen-modified Bethesda assay. A positive inhibitor result was defined as a threshold of ≥0.6 BU/mL at the central laboratory and had to be confirmed with a second blood sample. After confirmation of the positive result, the inhibitor was to be reported as a serious adverse event (SAE).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Observed for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 yearsTreatment-emergent AEs were defined as those that started after the first dose of study drug and up to 7 days after the last dose.
Development of Treatment-emergent Anti-PEG AntibodiesObserved for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 yearsAnti-PEG antibody: antibody against the PEG moiety determined by enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA). For participants with a positive result, IgM antibodies were tested.
Annualized Bleeding Rate (ABR)Observed for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 yearsABR is number of all bleeds per individual treatment period annualized to a 1-year time interval.

Countries

Bulgaria, Denmark, Greece, Italy, Norway, Poland, Spain

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study was conducted at 13 centers in 7 countries between 23 SEP 2019 (First participant first visit) and 26 Aug 2022 (last participant's data from the last visit were received). Bulgaria (2 centers), Denmark (1 centers), Spain (3 centers), Greece (1 center), Italy (3 centers), Norway (1 center), Poland (2 centers).

Pre-assignment details

36 participants were screened into the study (signed informed consent form (ICF)). 4 participants were screening failed.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) Treatment
Prophylaxis regimens with every 5 days treatment (45-60 IU/kg), or every 7 days (60 IU/kg) or twice per week (40 IU/kg).
32
Total32

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyAdverse Event2
Overall StudyOther1
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject2

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSevere Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) Treatment
Age, Continuous42.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 15.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
30 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
32 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
32 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 32
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 32
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 32

Outcome results

Primary

FVIII Inhibitor Development by the Nijmegen Bethesda Assay

FVIII inhibitor testing was performed using the Nijmegen-modified Bethesda assay. A positive inhibitor result was defined as a threshold of ≥0.6 BU/mL at the central laboratory and had to be confirmed with a second blood sample. After confirmation of the positive result, the inhibitor was to be reported as a serious adverse event (SAE).

Time frame: Observed for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 years

Population: Safety analysis set (SAF): A participant was included in the SAF if he received at least 1 infusion of study drug.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentFVIII Inhibitor Development by the Nijmegen Bethesda AssayAny positive FVIII inhibitor0 Participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentFVIII Inhibitor Development by the Nijmegen Bethesda AssayHigh titer FVIII inhibitor0 Participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentFVIII Inhibitor Development by the Nijmegen Bethesda AssayLow titer FVIII inhibitor0 Participants
Secondary

Annualized Bleeding Rate (ABR)

ABR is number of all bleeds per individual treatment period annualized to a 1-year time interval.

Time frame: Observed for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 years

Population: Modified intent-to-treat set (mITT): A participant was included in the mITT if he received at least 1 infusion of study drug and had injection/bleeding data available for at least 3 months. This time period is considered the minimum observation time for a reliable annualization of the observed bleed rate.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentAnnualized Bleeding Rate (ABR)1.8 Bleeds per year
Secondary

Development of Treatment-emergent Anti-PEG Antibodies

Anti-PEG antibody: antibody against the PEG moiety determined by enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA). For participants with a positive result, IgM antibodies were tested.

Time frame: Observed for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 years

Population: Safety analysis set (SAF): A participant was included in the SAF if he received at least 1 infusion of study drug.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentDevelopment of Treatment-emergent Anti-PEG Antibodies3 participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

Treatment-emergent AEs were defined as those that started after the first dose of study drug and up to 7 days after the last dose.

Time frame: Observed for 100 exposure days (EDs), up to 2 years

Population: Safety analysis set (SAF): A participant was included in the SAF if he received at least 1 infusion of study drug.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any AE21 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any study drug-related AE3 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any AE related to procedures required by the protocol0 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any AE leading to discontinuation of study drug2 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any SAE2 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any study drug-related SAE0 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any SAE related to procedures required by the protocol0 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any SAE leading to discontinuation of study drug0 participants
Severe Hemophilia A Patients With Damoctocog Alfa Pegol (Jivi, BAY94-9027) TreatmentNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)AE with outcome death0 participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 14, 2026