Skip to content

A Study to Assess the Clinical Efficacy of Donidalorsen (Also Known as IONIS-PKK-LRx and ISIS 721744) in Participants With Hereditary Angioedema

A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Phase 2a Study to Assess the Clinical Efficacy of ISIS 721744, a Second-Generation Ligand-Conjugated Antisense Inhibitor of Prekallikrein, in Patients With Hereditary Angioedema

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04030598
Enrollment
23
Registered
2019-07-24
Start date
2020-01-07
Completion date
2021-03-01
Last updated
2023-04-03

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Hereditary Angioedema

Keywords

IONIS PKK-LRx, Donidalorsen

Brief summary

The purpose of this study was to evaluate the clinical efficacy, safety, and tolerability of donidalorsen in participants with hereditary angioedema (HAE) type 1 (HAE-1), HAE type 2 (HAE-2), or HAE with normal C1-inhibitor (C1-INH) and to evaluate the effect of donidalorsen on plasma prekallikrein (PKK) and other relevant biomarkers.

Detailed description

This was a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in 23 participants conducted concurrently in 2 parts (Part A and Part B); participants were allocated into Part A or Part B according to type of HAE (i.e., either HAE-1/HAE-2 in Part A or HAE-nC1-INH in Part B). Part A was randomized, double-blind, and placebo-controlled; and Part B was open-label. The length of participation in the study was approximately 8 months, which included an up to 8-week screening period, a 12-week treatment period, and a 13-week post-treatment period.

Interventions

Donidalorsen administered SC

DRUGPlacebo

Placebo matching solution administered SC

Sponsors

Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Masking description

Part A was randomized, double-blind; Part B was open-label.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Documented diagnosis of HAE-1/HAE-2 (for inclusion in Part A) or HAE-nC1-INH (for inclusion in Part B) * Participants must have experienced a minimum of 2 HAE attacks (assessed by the Angioedema Activity Score \[AAS\] and confirmed by the investigator) during the screening period * Access to, and the ability to use, ≥ 1 acute medication(s) to treat angioedema attacks

Exclusion criteria

* Anticipated use of short-term prophylaxis for angioedema attacks for a pre-planned procedure during the screening or study periods * Concurrent diagnosis of any other type of recurrent angioedema, including acquired or idiopathic angioedema * Known history of or positive test for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis C, or chronic hepatitis B * Malignancy within 5 years, except for basal or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin or carcinoma in situ of the cervix that has been successfully treated * Treatment with another investigational drug or biological agent within 1 month or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer, of screening * Exposure to any of the following medications: * Angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors or any estrogen-containing medications with systemic absorption (such as oral contraceptive or hormonal replacement therapy) within 4 weeks prior to screening * Chronic prophylaxis with Lanadelumab within 10 weeks prior to screening * Oligonucleotides (including small interfering ribonucleic acid \[RNA\]) within 4 months of screening (if single dose received) or within 12 months of screening (if multiple doses received)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Time-normalized Number of HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 1 to Week 17Week 1 to Week 17The Week 1 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of HAE attacks occurring from Week 1 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Time-normalized Number of Moderate or Severe Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 17Week 5 to Week 17The Week 5 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of moderate or severe HAE attacks occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx). HAE attack severity: Mild: transient or mild discomfort, Moderate: mild to moderate limitation in activity, some assistance needed, and Severe: marked limitation in activity, assistance required.
Number of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17Week 5 to Week 17Clinical response was defined as a ≥ 50%, ≥ 70%, or ≥ 90% reduction from Baseline in HAE attack rate from Week 5 to Week 17. The HAE attack rate was calculated as number of investigator-confirmed HAE attacks occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after last dose administration, divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx).
Number of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks Requiring Acute Therapy From Week 5 to Week 17Week 5 to Week 17The Week 5 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of HAE attacks requiring acute therapy occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx). HAE attacks requiring acute therapy included those attacks with medical intervention or hospitalization marked on the case report form (CRFs).
Time-normalized Number of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 17Week 5 to Week 17The Week 5 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of HAE attacks occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx).
Prekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Weeks 9 and 17Prekallikrein (PKK) has a critical role in acute attacks of HAE. During HAE attack PKK is activated to form plasma kallikrein. Plasma kallikrein cleaves HMWK producing cleaved HMWK (cHMWK) and bradykinin, the major biologic peptide that promotes the edema, one of the characteristic traits of HAE. Prekallikrein levels were measured to assess pharmacodynamics of donidalorsen.
Number of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17Weeks 9 and 17Treatment options for HAE included on-demand treatment of attacks and prophylaxis. On-demand medication options included supplementation of C1-INH (either plasma-derived or recombinant C1-INH concentrate) and inhibition of BK2 receptor activation (BK2-receptor antagonist). The number of participants who used on-demand medication at Week 9 (Day 57) and at Week 17 (end of the on-treatment period) were reported.
Change From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17Baseline, Weeks 9 and 17The AE-QoL was developed to measure health-related quality of life (HRQoL) impairment in participants with recurrent angioedema. The AE-QoL is a self-administered questionnaire that can be completed in less than 5 minutes. It comprises 17 items across 4 domains: functioning, fatigue/mood, fears/shame, and food. Responses use a 5-point Likert scale ranging from '0 = never' to '4 = very often.' Per-participant scores for each domain were computed using the appropriate scoring algorithm applied to the question response scores for each domain. Per-participant total scores (including all 4 domains) were similarly computed using the question response scores for all 17 questions. The outputs from the scoring algorithm were normalized on a scale ranging from 0 (less adverse impact) to 100 (most adverse impact). Global total score ranges from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating greater impairment. Mixed model for repeated measures (MMRM) was used for analyses.
Percentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Weeks 9 and 17High-molecular-weight kininogen (HMWK) is an abundant protein found in plasma and it has a critical role in acute attacks of HAE. During HAE attack plasma kallikrein cleaves HMWK producing cleaved HMWK (cHMWK) and bradykinin, the major biologic peptide that promotes the edema, one of the characteristic traits of HAE. Percentage of cHMWK levels were assessed to evaluate pharmacodynamics of donidalorsen.

Countries

Netherlands, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants took part in the study at 7 investigative sites from 7 January 2020 to 1 March 2021.

Pre-assignment details

Participants with hereditary angioedema were concurrently enrolled in Part A and B, respectively. In Part A, 20 participants with hereditary angioedema type I/type II (HAE-1/HAE-2) were randomized in 2:1 ratio to receive donidalorsen or placebo for 13 weeks. In Part B, 3 participants with hereditary angioedema with normal C1-inhibitor (HAE-nC1-INH) received donidalorsen for 13 weeks after Part A.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Part A: Placebo
Participants with hereditary angioedema type I/type II (HAE-1/HAE-2) received placebo subcutaneously (SC) every 4 weeks at Weeks 1, 5, 9, and 13.
6
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mg
Participants with HAE-1/HAE-2 received donidalorsen, 80 mg, SC, every 4 weeks at Weeks 1, 5, 9, and 13.
14
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mg
Participants with hereditary angioedema with normal C1-inhibitor (HAE-nC1-INH) received donidalorsen, 80 mg, SC, every 4 weeks at Weeks 1, 5, 9, and 13.
3
Total23

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyVoluntary Withdrawal010

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPart A: PlaceboPart A: Donidalorsen 80 mgPart B: Donidalorsen 80 mgTotal
Age, Continuous40.0 years37.8 years34.0 years37.26 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants13 Participants3 Participants22 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
5 Participants14 Participants3 Participants22 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
4 Participants9 Participants3 Participants16 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
2 Participants5 Participants0 Participants7 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 60 / 140 / 3
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 62 / 143 / 3
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 60 / 140 / 3

Outcome results

Primary

Time-normalized Number of HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 1 to Week 17

The Week 1 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of HAE attacks occurring from Week 1 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx).

Time frame: Week 1 to Week 17

Population: The intent-to-treat (ITT) population included all enrolled or randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Part A: PlaceboTime-normalized Number of HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 1 to Week 172.21 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 1.558
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgTime-normalized Number of HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 1 to Week 170.23 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 0.268
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgTime-normalized Number of HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 1 to Week 171.52 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 2.221
p-value: 0.00195% CI: [-96, -76]Wald Chi-Square
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17

The AE-QoL was developed to measure health-related quality of life (HRQoL) impairment in participants with recurrent angioedema. The AE-QoL is a self-administered questionnaire that can be completed in less than 5 minutes. It comprises 17 items across 4 domains: functioning, fatigue/mood, fears/shame, and food. Responses use a 5-point Likert scale ranging from '0 = never' to '4 = very often.' Per-participant scores for each domain were computed using the appropriate scoring algorithm applied to the question response scores for each domain. Per-participant total scores (including all 4 domains) were similarly computed using the question response scores for all 17 questions. The outputs from the scoring algorithm were normalized on a scale ranging from 0 (less adverse impact) to 100 (most adverse impact). Global total score ranges from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating greater impairment. Mixed model for repeated measures (MMRM) was used for analyses.

Time frame: Baseline, Weeks 9 and 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants. Number analyzed is the number of participants with data available at specified timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Part A: PlaceboChange From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17Change from Baseline at Week 9-1.50 score on a scaleStandard Error 4.413
Part A: PlaceboChange From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17Change from Baseline at Week 17-6.15 score on a scaleStandard Error 4.671
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgChange From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17Change from Baseline at Week 9-27.42 score on a scaleStandard Error 2.854
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgChange From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17Change from Baseline at Week 17-26.85 score on a scaleStandard Error 3.133
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgChange From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17Change from Baseline at Week 925.49 score on a scaleStandard Error 17.421
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgChange From Baseline in Angioedema Quality of Life (AE-QoL) Questionnaire Total Score at Weeks 9 and 17Change from Baseline at Week 1726.96 score on a scaleStandard Error 20.918
Comparison: Week 995% CI: [-37.1, -14.74]
Comparison: Week 1795% CI: [-32.7, -8.68]
Secondary

Number of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks Requiring Acute Therapy From Week 5 to Week 17

The Week 5 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of HAE attacks requiring acute therapy occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx). HAE attacks requiring acute therapy included those attacks with medical intervention or hospitalization marked on the case report form (CRFs).

Time frame: Week 5 to Week 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Part A: PlaceboNumber of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks Requiring Acute Therapy From Week 5 to Week 171.25 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 1.208
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks Requiring Acute Therapy From Week 5 to Week 170.05 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 0.178
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks Requiring Acute Therapy From Week 5 to Week 170.89 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 1.54
p-value: 0.00995% CI: [-99, -52]Wald Chi-Square
Secondary

Number of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17

Treatment options for HAE included on-demand treatment of attacks and prophylaxis. On-demand medication options included supplementation of C1-INH (either plasma-derived or recombinant C1-INH concentrate) and inhibition of BK2 receptor activation (BK2-receptor antagonist). The number of participants who used on-demand medication at Week 9 (Day 57) and at Week 17 (end of the on-treatment period) were reported.

Time frame: Weeks 9 and 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Part A: PlaceboNumber of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17Week 176 Participants
Part A: PlaceboNumber of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17Week 96 Participants
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17Week 912 Participants
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17Week 1711 Participants
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17Week 93 Participants
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants Who Consumed On-demand Medication at Weeks 9 and 17Week 173 Participants
Comparison: Week 9p-value: 195% CI: [-59.1, 33.9]Fisher Exact
Comparison: Week 17p-value: 0.52195% CI: [-64.9, 27.1]Fisher Exact
Secondary

Number of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17

Clinical response was defined as a ≥ 50%, ≥ 70%, or ≥ 90% reduction from Baseline in HAE attack rate from Week 5 to Week 17. The HAE attack rate was calculated as number of investigator-confirmed HAE attacks occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after last dose administration, divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx).

Time frame: Week 5 to Week 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants. Overall number of participants analyzed is the number of participants with data available for analyses.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Part A: PlaceboNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 50% Reduction2 Participants
Part A: PlaceboNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 90% Reduction0 Participants
Part A: PlaceboNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 70% Reduction1 Participants
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 70% Reduction12 Participants
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 50% Reduction13 Participants
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 90% Reduction12 Participants
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 90% Reduction1 Participants
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 50% Reduction2 Participants
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgNumber of Participants With Clinical Response by Week 17≥ 70% Reduction2 Participants
Comparison: For ≥ 50% reduction from Baseline in the HAE attack rate.p-value: 0.00495% CI: [17.5, 95.7]Fisher Exact
Comparison: For ≥ 70% reduction from Baseline in the HAE attack rate.p-value: 0.00395% CI: [26.8, 96.5]Fisher Exact
Comparison: For ≥ 90% reduction from Baseline in the HAE attack rate.p-value: <0.00195% CI: [48, 99.8]Fisher Exact
Secondary

Percentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17

High-molecular-weight kininogen (HMWK) is an abundant protein found in plasma and it has a critical role in acute attacks of HAE. During HAE attack plasma kallikrein cleaves HMWK producing cleaved HMWK (cHMWK) and bradykinin, the major biologic peptide that promotes the edema, one of the characteristic traits of HAE. Percentage of cHMWK levels were assessed to evaluate pharmacodynamics of donidalorsen.

Time frame: Weeks 9 and 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants. Number analyzed is number of participants with data available for analysis at specified time point.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Part A: PlaceboPercentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 95.62 percentage of cHMWK levelsStandard Deviation 3.255
Part A: PlaceboPercentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 177.00 percentage of cHMWK levelsStandard Deviation 4.338
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgPercentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 92.07 percentage of cHMWK levelsStandard Deviation 1.241
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgPercentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 172.35 percentage of cHMWK levelsStandard Deviation 1.353
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgPercentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 91.03 percentage of cHMWK levelsStandard Deviation 0.115
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgPercentage of Cleaved High Molecular Weight Kininogen (cHMWK) Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 172.13 percentage of cHMWK levelsStandard Deviation 0.929
Secondary

Prekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17

Prekallikrein (PKK) has a critical role in acute attacks of HAE. During HAE attack PKK is activated to form plasma kallikrein. Plasma kallikrein cleaves HMWK producing cleaved HMWK (cHMWK) and bradykinin, the major biologic peptide that promotes the edema, one of the characteristic traits of HAE. Prekallikrein levels were measured to assess pharmacodynamics of donidalorsen.

Time frame: Weeks 9 and 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants. Number analyzed is number of participants with data available for analysis at specified timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Part A: PlaceboPrekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 1798.600 milligram per liter (mg/L)Standard Deviation 34.5944
Part A: PlaceboPrekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 995.467 milligram per liter (mg/L)Standard Deviation 23.7193
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgPrekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 937.676 milligram per liter (mg/L)Standard Deviation 14.5639
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgPrekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 1737.795 milligram per liter (mg/L)Standard Deviation 38.6618
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgPrekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 925.630 milligram per liter (mg/L)Standard Deviation 19.2671
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgPrekallikrein (PKK) Activity Levels at Weeks 9 and 17Week 1728.615 milligram per liter (mg/L)Standard Deviation 22.8042
Secondary

Time-normalized Number of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 17

The Week 5 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of HAE attacks occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx).

Time frame: Week 5 to Week 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Part A: PlaceboTime-normalized Number of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 172.06 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 1.574
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgTime-normalized Number of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 170.07 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 0.267
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgTime-normalized Number of Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 171.78 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 2.795
p-value: 0.00395% CI: [-95, -77]Wald Chi-Square
Secondary

Time-normalized Number of Moderate or Severe Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 17

The Week 5 to end of on-treatment period HAE attack rate was calculated for each participant as number of moderate or severe HAE attacks occurring from Week 5 to 28 days after the last dose date divided by the number of days the participant contributed to the period multiplied by 28 days. An HAE attack was defined as an event with signs or symptoms consistent with an attack in at least 1 of the locations: peripheral angioedema (cutaneous swelling involving an extremity, the face, neck, torso, and/or genitourinary region), abdominal angioedema (abdominal pain, with or without abdominal distention, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea), laryngeal angioedema (stridor, dyspnea, difficulty speaking, difficulty swallowing, throat tightening, or swelling of the tongue, palate, uvula, or larynx). HAE attack severity: Mild: transient or mild discomfort, Moderate: mild to moderate limitation in activity, some assistance needed, and Severe: marked limitation in activity, assistance required.

Time frame: Week 5 to Week 17

Population: ITT population included all enrolled or randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Part A: PlaceboTime-normalized Number of Moderate or Severe Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 171.25 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 1.208
Part A: Donidalorsen 80 mgTime-normalized Number of Moderate or Severe Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 170.05 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 0.178
Part B: Donidalorsen 80 mgTime-normalized Number of Moderate or Severe Investigator-confirmed HAE Attacks (Per Month) From Week 5 to Week 170.89 HAE attacks per monthStandard Deviation 1.54
p-value: 0.00495% CI: [-100, -65]Wald Chi-Square

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 12, 2026