Skip to content

A Study to Test How Well Different Doses of BI 754132 Are Tolerated in Patients With an Advanced Form of Age-related Macular Degeneration Called Geographic Atrophy

Safety, Tolerability and Pharmacokinetics of Single Rising Intravitreal Doses and Multiple Intravitreal Dosing of BI 754132 in Patients With Geographic Atrophy Secondary to Age-related Macular Degeneration (Open Label, Non-randomized, Uncontrolled).

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT04002310
Enrollment
18
Registered
2019-06-28
Start date
2019-07-26
Completion date
2022-08-09
Last updated
2023-09-15

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Macular Degeneration

Brief summary

This is a study in adults with geographic atrophy, an advanced form of age-related macular degeneration. The purpose of this study is to find out how well different doses of BI 754132 are tolerated. The participants are in the study for about 4 months. During this time, they visit the study site about 10 times. Participants receive 1 injection of BI 754132 directly into one of the eyes affected by geographic atrophy. In this study, BI 754132 is given to humans for the first time. The doctors compare how well participants tolerate the different doses of BI 754132. The doctors also regularly check the general health of the participants.

Interventions

DRUGBI 754132

One single injection

Sponsors

Boehringer Ingelheim
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
50 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

\- Men and women with Geographic Atrophy (GA) secondary to Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD): For the SRD part, the GA lesion in the study eye must be ≥ 1.9 mm2 disc area in size (approximately ≥ 0.75 disc area in size); For the MD part the total GA lesion size in the study eye must be ≥ 7.5 mm2 (approximately ≥ 3 disc area in size) * Fellow eye is not required to have GA * Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA): * SRD part: BCVA of 20/100 to 20/400 Snellen (corresponding to 19 to 53 letters in the ETDRS chart) in the study eye equivalent measured by the Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) protocol * MD part: BCVA score of ≤53 letters (Snellen equivalent of 20/100) in the study eye * Age ≥ than 50 years * Best-corrected VA in the non-study eye must have a better best-corrected VA compared to the study-eye * Women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) cannot be included. Men able to father a child must be ready and able to use highly effective methods of birth control per International Council on Harmonisation (ICH) M3 (R2) that result in a low failure rate of less than 1% per year when used consistently and correctly. A list of contraception methods meeting these criteria is provided in the patient information. * Signed informed consent consistent with International Council on Harmonisation Good Clinical Practice (ICH GCP) guidelines and local legislation prior to participation in the trial, which includes medication washout and restrictions * Not under any administrative or legal supervision or under institutionalization due to regulatory or juridical order

Exclusion criteria

* GA in either eye because of causes other than AMD * History of choroidal neovascularization (CNV) in the study eye and in the fellow eye * Previous treatment in the study eye for GA secondary to AMD within 6 months prior to screening visit (ongoing therapy with vitamin and mineral supplements is allowed) * Additional eye disease in the study eye that could compromise * best corrected VA (BCVA) with visual field loss, * uncontrolled glaucoma intraocular pressure (IOP\>24), * clinically significant diabetic maculopathy, * history of ischemic optic neuropathy or retinal vascular occlusion, * symptomatic vitreomacular traction, * genetic disorders such as retinitis pigmentosa); * history of high myopia \> 8 diopters in the study eye and * anterior segment and vitreous abnormalities in the study eye that would preclude adequate observation with Spectral Domain Optical Coherence Tomography (SD-OCT) * Any prior intraocular surgery in the study eye other then uneventful lens replacement for cataract within 3 months prior to screening * Aphakia or total absence of the posterior capsule. Yttrium aluminum garnet (YAG) laser capsulotomy permitted, more than 3 month prior to enrollment in the study eye * Current or planned use of medications known to be toxic to the retina, lens or optic nerve (e.g. desferoximine, chloroquine/hydrochloroquine, chlorpromazine, phenothiazines, tamoxifen, nicotinic acid, and ethambutol) * Significant disease or other medical conditions (as determined by medical history, examination and clinical investigations at screening) that may, in the opinion of the investigator result in the any of the following: * Put the patient at risk because of participation in the study * Influence the results of the study, * Cause concern regarding the patient's ability to participate in the study, e.g. cardiac (including tachycardia), gastro-intestinal, hepatic, renal, metabolic, dermatologic, neurological, haematological, oncological and psychiatric. * Patients with malignancy for which the patient has undergone resection, radiation or chemotherapy within past 5 years. Patients with treated basal cell carcinoma or fully cured squamous cell carcinoma are allowed. * Known hypersensitivity to any of the ingredients used in the Investigational Medical Product (IMP) formulation, or any of the medications used * Active intraocular inflammation in the study eye * Active infectious conjunctivitis in either eye * Further

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
SRD Part: Number of Patients With Ocular (in the Study Eye) or Systemic Dose Limiting Events (DLEs)From drug administration until end of trial, up to 100 days.SRD part: Number of patients with ocular or systemic DLEs from drug administration. Systemic DLEs were defined as drug-related adverse events (AEs), as defined by the investigator, of moderate or severe intensity on the Common terminology criteria for adverse events (CTCAE) scale, and included diarrhea, cough, or patient-reported paraesthesia, dysgeusia, taste abnormality, taste disorder, or hyposmia. Single rising dose (SRD) part.
MD Part: Number of Patients With Drug Related Adverse Events (AEs)From drug administration until end of trial, up to 155 daysNumber of patients with drug-related adverse events (AEs). Multiple dose (MD) part.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
SRD Part: Number of Patients With Any Ocular Adverse Events (AEs) in the Study EyeFrom drug administration until end of trial, up to 100 days.Number of patients with any ocular adverse events in the study eye. Single rising dose (SRD) part.
SRD Part: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 754132 in Serum Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞)At Day 1, 4, 8, 15, 29, 56, 84 and Day 100.Area under the concentration-time curve of BI 754132 in serum over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity (AUC0-∞). Singe rising dose (SRD) part.
SRD Part: Time From Dosing to Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 (Tmax)At Day 1, 4, 8, 15, 29, 56, 84 and Day 100.Time from dosing to maximum serum concentration of BI 754132 (tmax). Single rising dose (SRD part).
SRD Part: Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 After a Single Intravitreal Dose (Cmax)At Day 1, 4, 8, 15, 29, 56, 84 and Day 100.Maximum serum concentration of BI 754132 after a single intravitreal dose (Cmax). Single rising dose (SRD) part.
MD Part: Trough Levels of BI 754132 Before Third Administration (Cmin,2)Up to 57 days.Systematic exposure of BI 754132 after multiple intravitreal doses as assessed by Cmin,2 (trough levels of BI 754132 before third administration). Multiple dose (MD) part.
MD Part: Plasma Concentration of BI 754132 4, 8 and 14 Weeks After the Third AdministrationAt Day 85, 113 and Day 155.Plasma concentration of BI 754132 4, 8 and 14 weeks after the third administration. Multiple dose (MD) part.
MD Part: Trough Levels of BI 754132 Before Second Administration (Cmin,1)Up to 29 days.Systematic exposure of BI 754132 after multiple intravitreal doses as assessed by Cmin,1 (trough levels of BI 754132 before second administration). Multiple dose (MD) part.
SRD Part: Number of Patients With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)From drug administration until end of trial, up to 100 days.Number of patients with drug-related AEs. Single rising dose (SRD) part.

Countries

United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Open label, non-randomized, uncontrolled trial to test how single rising intravitreal doses and multiple doses of BI 754132 are tolerated in patients with geographic atrophy. Recruitment was to be done successively for the dose groups. The multiple dose (MD) part recruited patients only after the single rising dose (SRD) part was completed and safety of the selected dose was endorsed by the safety monitoring committee.

Pre-assignment details

All subjects were screened for eligibility prior to participation in the trial. Subjects attended a specialist site which ensured that they (the subjects) strictly met all inclusion and none of the exclusion criteria. Subjects were not to be allocated to a treatment group if any of the entry criteria were violated.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part
0.3 milligram (mg) BI 754132 powder for solution for injection 60mg/vial with solution of diluent was administered intravitreally as one single injection on Day 1. One patient was dosed first, and when the safety assessments through Day 4 showed no ophthalmological dose limiting events (DLEs) or systemic DLEs, the remaining patients were dosed. Single rising dose (SRD) part.
3
1 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part
1 mg BI 754132 powder for solution for injection 60mg/vial with solution of diluent was administered intravitreally as one single injection on Day 1. One patient was dosed first, and when the safety assessments through Day 4 showed no ophthalmological dose limiting events (DLEs) or systemic DLEs, the remaining patients were dosed. SRD part.
3
3 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part
3 mg BI 754132 powder for solution for injection 60mg/vial with solution of diluent was administered intravitreally as one single injection on Day 1. One patient was dosed first, and when the safety assessments through Day 4 showed no ophthalmological dose limiting events (DLEs) or systemic DLEs, the remaining patients were dosed. SRD part.
3
6 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part
6 mg BI 754132 powder for solution for injection 60mg/vial with solution of diluent was administered intravitreally as one single injection on Day 1. One patient was dosed first, and when the safety assessments through Day 4 showed no ophthalmological dose limiting events (DLEs) or systemic DLEs, the remaining patients were dosed. SRD part.
6
6 mg BI 754132 - MD Part
6 mg BI 754132 powder for solution for injection 60mg/vial with solution of diluent was administered intravitreally as 3 injections, each separated by 4 weeks (that is, Day 1, Day 29 and Day 57). Multiple dose (MD) part.
3
Total18

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004
Overall StudySponsor put on hold on treatment plan.00001

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part1 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part3 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part6 mg BI 754132 - SRD Part6 mg BI 754132 - MD PartTotal
Age, Continuous78.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.9
78.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.5
70.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.1
77.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6
77.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.3
76.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants3 Participants3 Participants6 Participants3 Participants18 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants3 Participants3 Participants6 Participants3 Participants18 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
2 Participants1 Participants2 Participants5 Participants2 Participants12 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants6 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 30 / 30 / 30 / 60 / 3
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 31 / 33 / 33 / 62 / 3
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 30 / 30 / 31 / 62 / 3

Outcome results

Primary

MD Part: Number of Patients With Drug Related Adverse Events (AEs)

Number of patients with drug-related adverse events (AEs). Multiple dose (MD) part.

Time frame: From drug administration until end of trial, up to 155 days

Population: Treated Set (TS): The TS consisted of all patients who were treated with at least 1 dose of BI 754132. Only participants included in the MD part.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartMD Part: Number of Patients With Drug Related Adverse Events (AEs)2 Participants
Primary

SRD Part: Number of Patients With Ocular (in the Study Eye) or Systemic Dose Limiting Events (DLEs)

SRD part: Number of patients with ocular or systemic DLEs from drug administration. Systemic DLEs were defined as drug-related adverse events (AEs), as defined by the investigator, of moderate or severe intensity on the Common terminology criteria for adverse events (CTCAE) scale, and included diarrhea, cough, or patient-reported paraesthesia, dysgeusia, taste abnormality, taste disorder, or hyposmia. Single rising dose (SRD) part.

Time frame: From drug administration until end of trial, up to 100 days.

Population: Treated Set (TS): The TS consisted of all patients who were treated with at least 1 dose of BI 754132. Only participants included in the SRD part.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Ocular (in the Study Eye) or Systemic Dose Limiting Events (DLEs)0 Participants
1 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Ocular (in the Study Eye) or Systemic Dose Limiting Events (DLEs)0 Participants
3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Ocular (in the Study Eye) or Systemic Dose Limiting Events (DLEs)0 Participants
6 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Ocular (in the Study Eye) or Systemic Dose Limiting Events (DLEs)0 Participants
Secondary

MD Part: Plasma Concentration of BI 754132 4, 8 and 14 Weeks After the Third Administration

Plasma concentration of BI 754132 4, 8 and 14 weeks after the third administration. Multiple dose (MD) part.

Time frame: At Day 85, 113 and Day 155.

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK) parameter analysis set (PKS): The PKS included all patients in the treated set (TS) who provided at least 1 plasma sample for determination of PK parameters and whose data were not excluded due to a protocol violation relevant to the evaluation of the PK or due to PK non-evaluability. Only MD part.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartMD Part: Plasma Concentration of BI 754132 4, 8 and 14 Weeks After the Third Administration4 weeks after the third administrationNA Nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartMD Part: Plasma Concentration of BI 754132 4, 8 and 14 Weeks After the Third Administration8 weeks after the third administrationNA Nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartMD Part: Plasma Concentration of BI 754132 4, 8 and 14 Weeks After the Third Administration14 weeks after the third administrationNA Nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
Secondary

MD Part: Trough Levels of BI 754132 Before Second Administration (Cmin,1)

Systematic exposure of BI 754132 after multiple intravitreal doses as assessed by Cmin,1 (trough levels of BI 754132 before second administration). Multiple dose (MD) part.

Time frame: Up to 29 days.

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK) parameter analysis set (PKS): The PKS included all patients in the treated set (TS) who provided at least 1 plasma sample for determination of PK parameters and whose data were not excluded due to a protocol violation relevant to the evaluation of the PK or due to PK non-evaluability. Only MD part.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartMD Part: Trough Levels of BI 754132 Before Second Administration (Cmin,1)NA Nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
Secondary

MD Part: Trough Levels of BI 754132 Before Third Administration (Cmin,2)

Systematic exposure of BI 754132 after multiple intravitreal doses as assessed by Cmin,2 (trough levels of BI 754132 before third administration). Multiple dose (MD) part.

Time frame: Up to 57 days.

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK) parameter analysis set (PKS): The PKS included all patients in the treated set (TS) who provided at least 1 plasma sample for determination of PK parameters and whose data were not excluded due to a protocol violation relevant to the evaluation of the PK or due to PK non-evaluability. Only MD part.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartMD Part: Trough Levels of BI 754132 Before Third Administration (Cmin,2)NA Nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
Secondary

SRD Part: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 754132 in Serum Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞)

Area under the concentration-time curve of BI 754132 in serum over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity (AUC0-∞). Singe rising dose (SRD) part.

Time frame: At Day 1, 4, 8, 15, 29, 56, 84 and Day 100.

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK) parameter analysis set (PKS): The PKS included all patients in the treated set (TS) who provided at least 1 plasma sample for determination of PK parameters and whose data were not excluded due to a protocol violation relevant to the evaluation of the PK or due to PK non-evaluability. Only SRD part. For the 6 mg arm: Only patients with measurable serum concentration of BI (2 out of 6) are reported.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 754132 in Serum Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞)NA Hours*nanogram per milliliter (h*ng/mL)
1 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 754132 in Serum Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞)NA Hours*nanogram per milliliter (h*ng/mL)
3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 754132 in Serum Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞)NA Hours*nanogram per milliliter (h*ng/mL)
6 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 754132 in Serum Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-∞)4620 Hours*nanogram per milliliter (h*ng/mL)Standard Deviation 2220
Secondary

SRD Part: Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 After a Single Intravitreal Dose (Cmax)

Maximum serum concentration of BI 754132 after a single intravitreal dose (Cmax). Single rising dose (SRD) part.

Time frame: At Day 1, 4, 8, 15, 29, 56, 84 and Day 100.

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK) parameter analysis set (PKS): The PKS included all patients in the treated set (TS) who provided at least 1 plasma sample for determination of PK parameters and whose data were not excluded due to a protocol violation relevant to the evaluation of the PK or due to PK non-evaluability. Only SRD part. For the 6 mg arm: Only patients with measurable serum concentration of BI (2 out of 6) are reported.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 After a Single Intravitreal Dose (Cmax)NA nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
1 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 After a Single Intravitreal Dose (Cmax)NA nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 After a Single Intravitreal Dose (Cmax)NA nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)
6 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 After a Single Intravitreal Dose (Cmax)26.9 nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL)Standard Deviation 2.55
Secondary

SRD Part: Number of Patients With Any Ocular Adverse Events (AEs) in the Study Eye

Number of patients with any ocular adverse events in the study eye. Single rising dose (SRD) part.

Time frame: From drug administration until end of trial, up to 100 days.

Population: Treated Set (TS): The TS consisted of all patients who were treated with at least 1 dose of BI 754132. Only participants included in the SRD part.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Any Ocular Adverse Events (AEs) in the Study Eye1 Participants
1 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Any Ocular Adverse Events (AEs) in the Study Eye1 Participants
3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Any Ocular Adverse Events (AEs) in the Study Eye2 Participants
6 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Any Ocular Adverse Events (AEs) in the Study Eye2 Participants
Secondary

SRD Part: Number of Patients With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)

Number of patients with drug-related AEs. Single rising dose (SRD) part.

Time frame: From drug administration until end of trial, up to 100 days.

Population: Treated Set (TS): The TS consisted of all patients who were treated with at least 1 dose of BI 754132. Only participants included in the SRD part.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)1 Participants
1 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)0 Participants
3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)1 Participants
6 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Number of Patients With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)1 Participants
Secondary

SRD Part: Time From Dosing to Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 (Tmax)

Time from dosing to maximum serum concentration of BI 754132 (tmax). Single rising dose (SRD part).

Time frame: At Day 1, 4, 8, 15, 29, 56, 84 and Day 100.

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK) parameter analysis set (PKS): The PKS included all patients in the treated set (TS) who provided at least 1 plasma sample for determination of PK parameters and whose data were not excluded due to a protocol violation relevant to the evaluation of the PK or due to PK non-evaluability. Only SRD part. For the 6 mg arm: Only patients with measurable serum concentration of BI (2 out of 6) are reported.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
0.3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Time From Dosing to Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 (Tmax)NA Hours (h)
1 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Time From Dosing to Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 (Tmax)NA Hours (h)
3 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Time From Dosing to Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 (Tmax)NA Hours (h)
6 mg BI 754132 - SRD PartSRD Part: Time From Dosing to Maximum Serum Concentration of BI 754132 (Tmax)72.5 Hours (h)Standard Deviation 96.9

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026