Skip to content

Study of Sacituzumab Govitecan in Participants With Metastatic Solid Tumors

A Phase 2 Open-Label Study of Sacituzumab Govitecan (IMMU-132) in Subjects With Metastatic Solid Tumors

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03964727
Acronym
TROPiCS-03
Enrollment
227
Registered
2019-05-28
Start date
2019-10-15
Completion date
2026-12-01
Last updated
2026-04-28

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Metastatic Solid Tumor

Brief summary

The goal of this clinical study is to learn more about the study drug, sacituzumab govitecan-hziy, in participants with metastatic (cancer that has spread) solid tumors.

Interventions

DRUGSacituzumab Govitecan-hziy

Administered intravenously

Sponsors

Gilead Sciences
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria: * Individuals with the following histologically documented metastatic (M1, Stage IV) or locally advanced solid tumors * NSCLC \[adenocarcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma (SCC)\] that has progressed after prior platinum-based chemotherapy and programmed death-(ligand) 1 (PD-(L)1) directed therapy * HNSCC that has progressed after prior platinum-based chemotherapy and anti-PD-(L)1 directed therapy No more than 3 prior lines of systemic treatment is allowed * Endometrial carcinoma that has progressed after prior platinum-based chemotherapy and anti-PD-(L)1 directed therapy No more than 3 prior lines of systemic treatment is allowed. * Extensive stage SCLC that has progressed after prior platinum-based chemotherapy and PD-(L)1 directed therapy. No more than one prior line of systemic treatment is allowed (re-challenge with the same initial regimen is not allowed) * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance status score of 0 or 1 * Adequate hematologic counts without transfusional or growth factor support within 2 weeks of study drug initiation * Adequate hepatic and renal function \[Creatinine Clearance (CrCl) ≥30mL/min\] * Individual must have at least a 3-month life expectancy * Have measurable disease by Computed Tomography (CT) or Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) as per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 criteria Key

Exclusion criteria

* Have had a prior anti-cancer biologic agent within 4 weeks prior to study Day 1 or have had prior chemotherapy, targeted small molecule therapy, radiation therapy within 2 weeks prior to Study Day 1 * Have not recovered (i.e., ≤ Grade 1) from adverse events due to a previously administered agent * Have previously received topoisomerase I inhibitors * Have an active second malignancy * Have known active central nervous system (CNS) metastases and/or carcinomatous meningitis. Individuals with previously treated brain metastases may participate provided they have stable CNS disease for at least 4 weeks prior to the first dose of study drug and all neurologic symptoms have returned to baseline, have no evidence of new or enlarging brain metastases and are taking ≤20 mg/day of prednisone or its equivalent. All individuals with carcinomatous meningitis are excluded regardless of clinical stability * Additional cohort specific

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 by Investigator's AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsORR was defined as the percentage of participants who had the best overall response of either complete response (CR) or partial response (PR). Responses are based on the investigator-assessed tumor response using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) criteria for each histologic cohort. CR: Disappearance of all target and non-target lesions; and normalization of tumor marker levels initially above upper limits of normal; PR: \>30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum LD. The ORR rate was calculated with a two-sided exact 95% CI using the Clopper-Pearson method. Percentages are rounded off.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
ORR According to RECIST 1.1 by Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsORR was defined as the percentage of participants who had the best overall response of either CR or PR. Responses are based on BICR assessment using RECIST 1.1 criteria for each histologic cohort. CR: Disappearance of all target and non-target lesions; and normalization of tumor marker levels initially above upper limits of normal; PR: \>30% decrease in the sum of the LD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum LD. The ORR rate was calculated with a two-sided exact 95% CI using the Clopper-Pearson method.
Duration of Response (DOR) According to RECIST 1.1 by BICR AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsDOR was the date of the first evaluation showing documented response, either PR or CR, to date of the first progression of disease (PD) or death from any cause,whichever comes first. Response are according to RECIST 1.1 by BICR for each histological cohort. CR: Disappearance of all target and non-target lesions; and normalization of tumor marker levels initially above upper limits of normal;PR: \>30% decrease in the sum of the LD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum LD. Disease progression was defined as an increase of \>20% in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study(this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of more than 5 mm or the appearance of ≥ 1 new non-target lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. DOR was estimated using Kaplan-Meier estimate. The 95% CI was computed by Brookmeyer-Crowley method.
Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR) According to RECIST 1.1 by BICR AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsCBR was percentage of participants with best overall response of CR, PR,or durable stable disease (SD) (SD ≥ 6 months after first dose). Responses are according to RECIST 1.1 by BICR.CR: Disappearance of all target and non-target lesions;\& normalization of tumor marker levels initially above upper limits of normal;PR:\>30% decrease in sum of LD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum LD. SD:Neither sufficient shrinkage for PR nor sufficient increase for PD, taking reference of smallest sum LD since treatment started or ≥ 1 non-target lesions with maintenance of tumor marker level above normal limits.PD: Increase of \>20% in sum of diameters of target lesions, taking reference of smallest sum(this includes baseline sum if smallest on study), the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of more than 5 mm or of ≥ 1 new non-target lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Two-sided CI was based on Clopper-Pearson method.
Progression-free Survival (PFS) According to RECIST 1.1 by BICR AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsPFS was defined as the time from the first dose until objective tumor progression or death from any cause, whichever comes first. Responses are according to RECIST 1.1 by BICR. Disease progression was defined as an increase of \>20% in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of more than 5 mm or the appearance ≥ 1 new non-target lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. PFS was estimated using Kaplan-Meier estimate. The 95% CI for median was computed by Brookmeyer-Crowley method.
DOR According to RECIST 1.1 by Investigator's AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsDOR was the date of the first evaluation showing documented response, either PR or CR, to date of the first PD or death from any cause, whichever comes first. Responses are based on investigator-assessed tumor response by RECIST 1.1 criteria for each histological cohort.CR:Disappearance of all target and non-target lesions;and normalization of tumor marker levels initially above upper limits of normal;PR:\>30% decrease in the sum of the LD of target lesions,taking as reference the baseline sum LD. Disease progression was defined as increase of \>20% in sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study(this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study).In addition, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of more than 5 mm or the appearance of ≥ 1 new non-target lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. DOR was estimated using Kaplan-Meier estimate. The 95% CI was computed by Brookmeyer-Crowley method.
CBR According to RECIST 1.1 by Investigator's AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsCBR was the percentage of participants with the best overall response of CR, PR,or durable SD (SD ≥ 6 months after first dose) by investigator-assessed tumor response using RECIST 1.1 criteria.CR:Disappearance of all target and non-target lesions;\& normalization of tumor marker levels initially above upper limits of normal;PR:\>30% decrease in sum of LD of target lesions,taking as reference the baseline sum LD. SD:Neither sufficient shrinkage for PR nor sufficient increase for PD,taking reference of smallest sum LD since treatment started or ≥ 1 non-target lesions with maintenance of tumor marker level above normal limits.PD: Increase of \>20% in sum of diameters of target lesions,taking reference of smallest sum(this includes baseline sum if smallest on study),the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of more than 5 mm or of ≥ 1 new non-target lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions.Two-sided CI was based on Clopper-Pearson method.
PFS According to RECIST 1.1 by Investigator's AssessmentCohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsPFS was defined as the time from the first dose until objective tumor progression or death from any cause, whichever comes first. Responses are based on the investigator-assessed tumor response using RECIST 1.1 criteria. Disease progression was defined as an increase of \>20% in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of more than 5 mm or the appearance ≥ 1 new non-target lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. PFS was estimated using Kaplan-Meier estimate. The 95% CI for median was computed by Brookmeyer-Crowley method.
Overall Survival (OS)Cohort 1: Up to 5.3 years; Cohort 2: Up to 3.4 years; Cohort 3: Up to 3.3 years; Cohort 4: Up to 2.5 yearsOS was defined as the interval from the first dose date of drug to death from any cause. OS was estimated using Kaplan-Meier estimate. The 95% CI for median was computed by Brookmeyer-Crowley method.
Percentage of Participants Experiencing Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Up to 7.2 yearsA TEAE was defined as any AE with an onset date on or after the study drug start date and no later than 30 days after last dose of study drug or the day before initiation of subsequent therapy, whichever comes first.
Percentage of Participants Experiencing Clinically Significant Laboratory AbnormalitiesUp to 7.2 yearsA treatment-emergent laboratory abnormality was defined as any value that increased at least 1 toxicity grade from baseline during the treatment-emergent period.
Pharmacokinetic (PK) Parameter: Cmax of Total SN-38Cohort 1: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47; Cohort 2: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17; Cohort 3: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,53; Cohort 4: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29Cmax was defined as the maximum observed concentration of total SN-38 (the active metabolite of sacituzumab Govitecan-hziy). Cycle length=21 days.
PK Parameter: Cmax of Free SN-38Cohort 1: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47; Cohort 2: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17; Cohort 3: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,53; Cohort 4: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29Cmax was defined as the maximum observed concentration of free SN-38 (the active metabolite of sacituzumab Govitecan-hziy). Cycle length=21 days.
PK Parameter: Cmax of Total AntibodyCohort 1: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47; Cohort 2: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17; Cohort 3: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,53; Cohort 4: Post dose: Day 1 of Cycles 1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29Cmax was defined as the maximum observed concentration of total antibody of SG \[hRS7 immunoglobulin (IgG) and hRS7-SN-38\]. Cycle length=21 days.
PK Parameter: Ctrough of Total SN-38C1:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,EOT(Upto 38.7months)&SFU;C2:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,EOT(Upto 12.3months)&SFU;C3:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,53,EOT(Upto 40.0months)&SFU;C4:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,EOT(Upto 29.3months)&SFUCtrough was defined as concentration at the end of the dosing interval of total SN-38 (the active metabolite of sacituzumab Govitecan-hziy). Cycle length=21 days; C=Cohort; D=Day; EOT=End of Treatment; PD=predose; SFU=Safety Follow-up (up to 30 days after EOT date)
PK Parameter: Ctrough of Free SN-38C1:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,EOT(Upto 38.7months)&SFU;C2:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,EOT(Upto 12.3months)&SFU;C3:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,53,EOT(Upto 40.0months)&SFU;C4:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,EOT(Upto 29.3months)&SFUCtrough was defined as concentration at the end of the dosing interval of free SN-38 (the active metabolite of sacituzumab Govitecan-hziy). Cycle length=21 days; C=Cohort; D=Day; EOT=End of Treatment; PD=predose; SFU=Safety Follow-up (up to 30 days after EOT date)
PK Parameter: Ctrough of Total AntibodyC1:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,EOT(Upto 38.7months)&SFU;C2:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,EOT(Upto 12.3months)&SFU;C3:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,53,EOT(Upto 40.0months)&SFU;C4:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,EOT(Upto 29.3months)&SFUCtrough was defined as concentration at the end of the dosing interval of total antibody of SG \[hRS7 immunoglobulin (IgG) and hRS7-SN-38\]. Cycle length=21 days; C=Cohort; D=Day; EOT=End of Treatment; PD=predose; SFU=Safety Follow-up (up to 30 days after EOT date)
Percentage of Participants With Positive Anti-SG AntibodiesC1:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,EOT(Upto 38.7months)&SFU;C2:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,EOT(Upto 12.3months)&SFU;C3:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,35,41,47,53,EOT(Upto 40.0months)&SFU;C4:PD,D1:Cycles1,2,3,7,11,17,23,29,EOT(Upto 29.3months)&SFUCycle length=21 days; C=Cohort; D=Day; EOT=End of Treatment; PD=predose; SFU=Safety Follow-up (up to 30 days after EOT date)

Countries

Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Hong Kong, Spain, Taiwan, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORGilead Study Director

Gilead Sciences

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were enrolled at study sites in the United States, France, Australia, Hong Kong, Spain, Taiwan, Canada, and Belgium.

Pre-assignment details

396 participants were screened. Data submitted represent primary analysis performed on data collected by the Primary Completion Date. Complete data will be submitted within 1 year of the study completion date.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
113 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
110 Participants
Age, Continuous64 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.7
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
200 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race
Asian
5 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race
Black or African American
3 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race
Other or More Than One Race
2 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race
Unknow or Not Reported
12 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race
White
163 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
0 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Belgium
2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
France
12 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Hong Kong
0 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Spain
9 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Taiwan
2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
173 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
19 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
107 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
26 / 3127 / 3428 / 3135 / 4330 / 4132 / 43
other
Total, other adverse events
30 / 3134 / 3430 / 3143 / 4340 / 4143 / 43
serious
Total, serious adverse events
15 / 3111 / 3413 / 3113 / 4319 / 4122 / 43

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Apr 29, 2026