Skip to content

Avelumab Plus Bacille Calmette-Guerin (BCG) in Patients With Non-muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer

Phase Ib Study of Avelumab Plus Bacille Calmette-Guerin (BCG) in Patients With Non-muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer (ABC Trial)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03892642
Acronym
OU-SCC-ABC
Enrollment
18
Registered
2019-03-27
Start date
2019-05-01
Completion date
2023-08-13
Last updated
2024-02-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Bladder Cancer

Keywords

Intravesical BCG, Bacille Calmette-Guerin, avelumab

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to test the safety of avelumab and Bacille Calmette-Guerin (BCG) and see what effects (good and bad) that this combination treatment has on subjects with recurrent bladder cancer.

Detailed description

There will be exams, tests and procedures to see if the patient is eligible for the study. Some are part of regular cancer care and others are part of the study. Subjects will also need to complete a research questionnaire at certain points in the study. Subjects will receive treatment of avelumab and intravesical BCG until unacceptable toxicity or tumor progression. Study participation is up to three years.

Interventions

DRUGAvelumab

Induction phase: * once weekly for weeks 1-6, * once every 2 weeks at week 8, 10, and 12 Maintenance phase: * Once every week for weeks 1-3 * Once every 2 weeks starting at week 5, until the next BCG treatment

BIOLOGICALBCG

Induction phase (cycle 1): • Once weekly for weeks 1-6 Maintenance phase (Month 3, 6, and 12): • Once weekly for 3 weeks

Sponsors

EMD Serono
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Oklahoma
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Histologically or cytologically documented Non-muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer (NMIBC) 2. Patient with BCG-treated but unresponsive NMIBC (persistent or recurrent defined as tumor lesion present after prior response). 3. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status score of 0 to 2. 4. Patients who are able to understand and sign the informed consent form. 5. Age ≥ 18 years old 6. Ability to comply with protocol 7. Life expectancy \>/=12 weeks 8. Adequate hematologic and end-organ function per protocol 9. For women of childbearing potential: Negative serum or urine pregnancy test at screening. 10. For both male and female subjects: agreement to remain abstinent (refrain from heterosexual intercourse) or use highly effective contraceptive methods that result in a failure rate of \<1% per year during the treatment period and for at least 30 days after the last dose of study drug.

Exclusion criteria

1. Evidence of locally advanced or metastatic bladder cancer (including current disease involving renal pelvis, ureter, or prostatic urethra). 2. Evidence of muscle-invasive bladder cancer 3. Evidence of extravesical bladder cancer 4. Active central nervous system (CNS) metastases. 5. Prior treatment with PD-L1 or PD-1 inhibitor. 6. Prior radiation to bladder 7. Known additional malignancy that required active treatment within the last 2 years. Exceptions include basal cell carcinoma of the skin or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin. 8. Patient is considered a poor medical risk that would interfere with cooperation with the requirements of the study. 9. Patient has a condition or laboratory abnormality that might confound the study results, or interfere with the patient's participation for the full duration of the study treatment. 10. Patient has not recovered (i.e, to ≤Grade 1 or to baseline) from previous intravesical BCG or other anti-cancer therapy induced AEs. 11. Treatment with any approved anti-cancer therapy, including chemotherapy (systemic or intravesical), radiation therapy, or hormonal therapy within 3 weeks prior to the first dose of study treatment 12. Treatment with any other investigational agent or participation in another clinical study with therapeutic intent within 4 weeks prior to the first dose of study treatment 13. Pregnant or lactating, or intending to become pregnant during the study a. Women who are not postmenopausal (≥ 12 months of non-therapy-induced amenorrhea) or surgically sterile must have a negative serum pregnancy test result within 14 days prior to the first dose of study treatment. 14. History of severe allergic, anaphylactic, or other hypersensitivity reactions to chimeric or humanized antibodies or fusion proteins 15. Known hypersensitivity to biopharmaceuticals produced in Chinese hamster ovary cells 16. Allergy or hypersensitivity to components of the avelumab formulation 17. History of autoimmune disease defined per protocol 18. Prior allogeneic stem cell or solid organ transplantation 19. Current use of immunosuppressive medication defined per protocol 20. History of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, organizing pneumonia (e.g., bronchiolitis obliterans), drug-induced pneumonitis, idiopathic pneumonitis, or evidence of active pneumonitis on screening chest CT scan a. History of radiation pneumonitis in the radiation field (fibrosis) is permitted. 21. Positive test for HIV 22. Active hepatitis B (positive hepatitis B surface antigen \[HBsAg\] test at screening); a. Patients with past or resolved hepatitis B (HBV) infection (positive anti-hepatitis B core antigen \[anti-HBc\] antibody test) are eligible. HBV DNA must be obtained in these patients prior to the first dose of study treatment. 23. Active hepatitis C a. Patients positive for hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction assay is negative for HCV RNA. 24. Active infection requiring systemic therapy 25. Severe infections within 4 weeks prior to the first dose of study treatment, including but not limited to hospitalization for complications of infection, bacteremia, or severe pneumonia 26. Significant cardiovascular disease, such as cerebral vascular accident/stroke (\< 6 months prior to enrollment), New York Heart Association cardiac disease (Class II or greater), myocardial infarction within the previous 6 months, unstable arrhythmias, or unstable angina 27. Administration of a live/attenuated vaccine within 4 weeks prior to the first dose of study treatment, within 5 months following the administration of the last dose of study drug, or anticipation that such a live/attenuated vaccine will be required during the study 28. Other severe acute or chronic medical conditions defined per protocol

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Proportion of Patients Receiving Complete Induction Course8 weeksProportion of patients receiving complete induction course, defined as freedom from DLT preventing completion of at least 5 of 6 treatments of BCG + avelumab

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percent of Patients With Complete Response3 monthsbased on negative cystoscopy and urine cytology. A negative biopsy at 6 months will provide evidence of complete response.
Proportion of Patients With Complete Response6 monthsbased on negative cystoscopy and urine cytology. A negative biopsy at 6 months will provide evidence of complete response.
Proportion of Patients Receiving Complete Induction Course5 weekscompletion of at least 2 of 3 treatments within each 5 week period
Proportion of Patients With Recurrence Free Survival12 monthsdefined as proportion of patients who are alive and free of persistent or recurrent NMIBC based on cystoscopy, cytology and/or biopsy
Proportion of Patients With Progression-free Survival6 monthsdefined by time from day of first treatment to first progression to higher grade or stage, including muscle-invasive disease or death from any cause
Percent of Patients With Recurrence Free Survival6 monthsdefined as percent of patients who are alive and free of persistent or recurrent NMIBC based on cystoscopy, cytology and/or biopsy.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Recruitment for the Stephenson Cancer Center began in May 2019, with the first patient consenting, and last patient consent occurred in February 2021. The Stephenson Cancer is no longer recruiting for this study as all the slots have been filled and subjects accrued per protocol.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
BCG + Avelumab
Combination of avelumab and intravesical BCG. One cycle = 12 weeks (84 days). A standard maintenance therapy regimen will be provided with BCG occurring at Month 3, 6, and 12. Avelumab treatment ends at the conclusion of Month 12 maintenance therapy. Avelumab: Induction phase: * once weekly for weeks 1-6, * once every 2 weeks at week 8, 10, and 12 Maintenance phase: * Once every week for weeks 1-3 * Once every 2 weeks starting at week 5, until the next BCG treatment BCG: Induction phase (cycle 1): • Once weekly for weeks 1-6 Maintenance phase (Month 3, 6, and 12): • Once weekly for 3 weeks
18
Total18

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicBCG + Avelumab
Age, Continuous69.94 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
18 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
16 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
18 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
4 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
14 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 18
other
Total, other adverse events
18 / 18
serious
Total, serious adverse events
11 / 18

Outcome results

Primary

Proportion of Patients Receiving Complete Induction Course

Proportion of patients receiving complete induction course, defined as freedom from DLT preventing completion of at least 5 of 6 treatments of BCG + avelumab

Time frame: 8 weeks

Population: Patients who enrolled in study

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabProportion of Patients Receiving Complete Induction Course0.833 proportion of patients
Secondary

Percent of Patients With Complete Response

based on negative cystoscopy and urine cytology. A negative biopsy at 6 months will provide evidence of complete response.

Time frame: 3 months

Population: Patients who enrolled in study

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabPercent of Patients With Complete Response17.6 percent of patients
Secondary

Percent of Patients With Recurrence Free Survival

defined as percent of patients who are alive and free of persistent or recurrent NMIBC based on cystoscopy, cytology and/or biopsy.

Time frame: 6 months

Population: Patients who experienced complete response

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabPercent of Patients With Recurrence Free Survival88.89 percent of patients
Secondary

Proportion of Patients Receiving Complete Induction Course

completion of at least 2 of 3 treatments within each 5 week period

Time frame: 5 weeks

Population: Patients who remained on study for induction course

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabProportion of Patients Receiving Complete Induction Course0.9091 proportion
Secondary

Proportion of Patients With Complete Response

based on negative cystoscopy and urine cytology. A negative biopsy at 6 months will provide evidence of complete response.

Time frame: 6 months

Population: Patients who enrolled in study

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabProportion of Patients With Complete Response41.2 percent
Secondary

Proportion of Patients With Progression-free Survival

defined by time from day of first treatment to first progression to higher grade or stage, including muscle-invasive disease or death from any cause

Time frame: 6 months

Population: Patients who experienced progression or death or who stayed on study for at least 6 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabProportion of Patients With Progression-free Survival0.8824 proportion of patients
Secondary

Proportion of Patients With Progression-free Survival

defined by time from day of first treatment to first progression to higher grade or stage, including muscle-invasive disease or death from any cause

Time frame: 12 months

Population: Patients who experienced progression or death or who remained at study at least 12 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabProportion of Patients With Progression-free Survival0.8145 proportion of patients
Secondary

Proportion of Patients With Recurrence Free Survival

defined as proportion of patients who are alive and free of persistent or recurrent NMIBC based on cystoscopy, cytology and/or biopsy

Time frame: 12 months

Population: Patients who experienced complete response

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BCG + AvelumabProportion of Patients With Recurrence Free Survival0.8889 proportion of patients

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 14, 2026