Skip to content

Chemoradiation Plus Durvalumab Followed by Surgery Followed by Adjuvant Durvalumab in Patients With Surgically Resectable Stage III (N2) Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase II Study of Concurrent Chemoradiation Plus Durvalumab (MEDI4736) Followed by Surgery Followed by Adjuvant Durvalumab (MEDI4736) in Medically Operable Patients With Surgically Resectable Stage III (N2) Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03871153
Enrollment
7
Registered
2019-03-12
Start date
2019-08-02
Completion date
2022-03-09
Last updated
2023-11-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Non Small Cell Lung Cancer, Stage III Non-small-cell Lung Cancer

Brief summary

This is an open label, multi-institutional, single arm Phase II trial. All patients will be treated with Carboplatin, Paclitaxel, Durvalumab and Radiation. All patients with non-PD after induction therapy who remain surgical candidates will undergo surgical resection 4-12 weeks following induction therapy. After surgical resection, all patients who remain eligible will be treated with adjuvant Durvalumab every 4 weeks for 6 cycles beginning 4-12 weeks after surgical resection.

Interventions

DEVICEDurvalumab

Neoadjuvant Durvalumab 750 mg IV on Days 1, 15 and 29 Adjuvant Durvalumab 12 weeks after undergoing surgical resection 1,500 mg IV on Day 1

DRUGPaclitaxel

Paclitaxel 45 mg/m2 IV Days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 and +/- 36

DRUGCarboplatin

Carboplatin AUC of 2 IV Days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 +/- 36

RADIATIONRadiation

1.8-2.0 Gy per day (5 days/week) for a total of 45-61.2 Gy over 5-6 weeks. Treatment will be delivered using IMRT or 3DCRT using typically 6-10MV photons. Proton therapy is also allowed. 4D simulation and appropriate IGRT are encouraged. Radiation therapy must begin within one week of the first day of chemotherapy (or vice versa).

PROCEDURESurgical Resection

Patients will undergo repeat imaging between 4 and 12 weeks after completing neoadjuvant therapy. Those without evidence of progressive disease and found to be a surgical candidate by a thoracic surgeon will undergo surgical resection between 4 and 12 weeks after neoadjuvant therapy.

Sponsors

AstraZeneca
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Indiana University School of Medicine
CollaboratorOTHER
Greg Durm, MD
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Written informed consent and HIPAA authorization for release of personal health information. NOTE: HIPAA authorization may be included in the informed consent or obtained separately. * Age ≥ 18 years at the time of consent. * ECOG Performance Status of 0 or 1 within 28 days prior to registration. * Histological or cytological confirmation of NSCLC (Adenocarcinoma, Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Large Cell Carcinoma). A pathology report (from the last 6 months) confirming the diagnosis of NSCLC must be obtained and reviewed by the treating physician prior to registration to study. * Must have resectable and medically operable stage III (N2) NSCLC with clinical or biopsy-proven N2 disease. If patients have clinical N2 disease they need to be biopsy-proven (with EBUS or mediastinoscopy) during screening and have confirmed prior to study enrollment). Subjects must be considered resectable and medically operable based on the judgment of the treating physician. Stage III (N2) defined as per the 7th edition of the TNM staging system (T1a, T1b, T1c, T2a, T2b, T3, or T4)N2M0. * Individuals cannot have contralateral neck or contralateral mediastinum nodal involvement. * Subjects must have a life expectancy of at least 12 weeks to qualify. * Individuals must not have distant metastasis, defined as M0 in the TMN staging system. * Demonstrate adequate organ function as defined in the table below; all screening labs to be obtained within 28 days prior to registration. * Absolute Neutrophil Count (ANC) ≥ 1.5 K/mm3 * Hemoglobin (Hgb) ≥ 9 g/dL (may be transfused) * Platelets ≥100,000/mcl * Serum creatinine OR Measured or calculated creatinine clearance (GFR can also be used in place of creatinine or CrCl) ≤ 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) OR ≥ 40 mL/min for subjects with creatinine levels \>1.5 x institutional ULN * Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 × ULN OR Direct bilirubin of ≤ ULN for subjects with total bilirubin levels of \>1.5x ULN * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤ 2.5 × ULN if no liver metastases ≤ 5 x ULN if liver metastases present * Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 2.5 × ULN if no liver metastases ≤ 5 x ULN if liver metastases present * All CT or PET imaging studies must be completed within 6 weeks (42 days) prior to registration. * Women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test (minimum sensitivity 25 IU/L or equivalent units of HCG) within 7 days prior to registration. NOTE: Women are considered of childbearing potential unless they are surgically sterile (have undergone a hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation, or bilateral oophorectomy) or are postmenopausal. Menopause is defined clinically as 12 months of amenorrhea in a woman over 45 in the absence of other biological or physiological causes. In addition, women under the age of 62 must have a documented serum follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) level greater than 40 mIU/mL. * Women of childbearing potential must be willing to abstain from heterosexual activity or use an effective method of contraception from the time of informed consent until 90 days after treatment discontinuation. * Men who are sexually active with WOCBP must use any contraceptive method with a failure rate of less than 1% per year. Men receiving study drug and who are sexually active with WOCBP will be instructed to adhere to contraception for a period of 90 days after the last dose of investigational product. * As determined by the enrolling physician or protocol designee, ability of the subject to understand and comply with study procedures for the entire length of the study.

Exclusion criteria

* History of a major surgical procedure (as defined by investigator) within 28 days prior to the first dose of study drug. NOTE: Local surgery for isolated lesions for palliative intent is acceptable. * History of another primary malignancy except for a) malignancy treated with curative intent and with no known active disease ≥ 5 years before the first dose of study drug, b) adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer or lentigo maligna without evidence of disease, c) adequately treated carcinoma in situ without evidence of disease. * History of leptomeningeal disease. * Persons who have small cell carcinoma. * Persons who do not meet the Stage IIIA NSCLC classification criteria outlined above. * Presence of superior vena cava syndrome. * Pregnant, breastfeeding, or expecting to conceive or father children within the projected duration of the trial, starting with the pre-screening or screening visit through 90 days after the last dose of trial treatment. * Active central nervous system (CNS) metastases. Subjects must undergo a head computed tomography (CT) scan or brain MRI within 42 days prior to registration for protocol therapy to exclude brain metastases if symptomatic or without prior brain imaging. * Treatment with any investigational agent within 28 days prior to registration for protocol therapy. * Patients should not have received any prior therapy for the current diagnosis of NSCLC. Treatments done for previously diagnosed malignancies are permitted. Prior therapy with a PD-1, PD-L1 (including Durvalumab), PD-L2 or CTLA-4 inhibitor or a lung cancer-specific vaccine therapy are not permitted. * Presence of metastatic disease (stage IV NSCLC) is not allowed. Subjects must be evaluated with a CT or PET scan prior to registration for protocol therapy to exclude metastatic disease. * Active or prior documented autoimmune or inflammatory disorders (including inflammatory bowel disease \[e.g., colitis or Crohn's disease\], diverticulitis \[with the exception of diverticulosis\], systemic lupus erythematosus, Sarcoidosis syndrome, or Wegener syndrome \[granulomatosis with polyangiitis, Graves' disease, rheumatoid arthritis, hypophysitis, uveitis, etc\]). The following are exceptions to this criterion: * Patients with vitiligo or alopecia * Patients with hypothyroidism (e.g., following Hashimoto syndrome) stable on hormone replacement * Any chronic skin condition that does not require systemic therapy * Patients without active disease in the last 5 years may be included but only after consultation with the study physician * Patients with celiac disease controlled by diet alone * Interstitial lung disease or history of pneumonitis requiring treatment with corticosteroids * Current or prior use of immunosuppressive medication within 14 days before the first dose of durvalumab. The following are exceptions to this criterion: * Intranasal, inhaled, topical steroids, or local steroid injections (e.g., intra articular injection) * Systemic corticosteroids at physiologic doses not to exceed \<\<10 mg/day\>\> of prednisone or its equivalent * Steroids as premedication for hypersensitivity reactions (e.g., CT scan premedication) * History of psychiatric illness or social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements * Any unresolved toxicity NCI CTCAE Grade ≥2 from previous anticancer therapy with the exception of alopecia, vitiligo, and the laboratory values defined in the inclusion criteria * Patients with Grade ≥2 neuropathy will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis after consultation with the investigator. * Patients with irreversible toxicity not reasonably expected to be exacerbated by treatment with durvalumab may be included only after consultation with the investigator. * Has a history or current evidence of any condition, therapy, or laboratory abnormality that might confound the results of the trial, interfere with the subject's participation for the full duration of the trial, or is not in the best interest of the subject to participate, in the opinion of the site investigator. * Clinically significant acute infection requiring systemic antibacterial, antifungal, or antiviral therapy including tuberculosis (clinical evaluation that includes clinical history, physical examination and radiographic findings, and TB testing in line with local practice), hepatitis B (known positive HBV surface antigen (HBsAg) result), hepatitis C, or human immunodeficiency virus (positive HIV 1/2 antibodies). Patients with a past or resolved HBV infection (defined as the presence of hepatitis B core antibody \[anti-HBc\] and absence of HBsAg) are eligible. Patients positive for hepatitis C (HCV) antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction is negative for HCV RNA. Subjects with HIV/AIDS with adequate antiviral therapy to control viral load would be allowed. Subjects with viral hepatitis with controlled viral load would be allowed while on suppressive antiviral therapy. Testing not required. * Has received a live vaccine within 30 days prior to planned start of study therapy. NOTE: Seasonal influenza vaccines for injection are generally inactivated flu vaccines and are allowed; however, intranasal influenza vaccines (e.g., Flu-Mist®) are live attenuated vaccines, and are not allowed. * History of allograft or allogeneic bone marrow transplant.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pathologic Complete Response Rate3 monthsPathologic Complete Response Rate is defined as lack of evidence of viable cancer in the surgical specimen at the time of surgery.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pathologic N0 Rate3 monthsPathologic N0 rate is defined as a lack of evidence of viable cancer in the removed lymph nodes at the time of surgery.
Assess Adverse Events (AE)AEs had been recorded from time of signed informed consent until 90 days after discontinuation of study drug(s) or until a new anti-cancer treatment starts, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 months.Adverse events, \>= grade 3 and related to treatment will be summarized by frequency and severity according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for (NCI CTCAE) v5
Disease Free Survival (DFS)Time from surgical resection until disease recurrence or death, up to a maximum of 8 monthsDisease free survival will be defined as the time from surgical resection until the criteria for disease recurrence is met or death as a result of any cause. Disease recurrence is return of the cancer to where it started (local) or in another part of the body (distant).

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment
Neoadjuvant chemotherapy(Durvalumab, Paclitaxel, Carboplatin), radiation and immunotherapy (durvalumab) followed by surgical resection followed by adjuvant immunotherapy (durvalumab) Durvalumab: Neoadjuvant Durvalumab 750 mg IV on Days 1, 15 and 29 Adjuvant Durvalumab 12 weeks after undergoing surgical resection 1,500 mg IV on Day 1 Paclitaxel: Paclitaxel 45 mg/m2 IV Days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 and +/- 36 Carboplatin: Carboplatin AUC of 2 IV Days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 +/- 36 Radiation: 1.8-2.0 Gy per day (5 days/week) for a total of 45-61.2 Gy over 5-6 weeks. Treatment will be delivered using IMRT or 3DCRT using typically 6-10MV photons. Proton therapy is also allowed. 4D simulation and appropriate IGRT are encouraged. Radiation therapy must begin within one week of the first day of chemotherapy (or vice versa). Surgical Resection: Patients will undergo repeat imaging between 4 and 12 weeks after completing neoadjuvant therapy. Those without evidence of progressive disease and found to be a surgical candidate by a thoracic surgeon will undergo surgical resection between 4 and 12 weeks after neoadjuvant therapy.
6
Total6

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment
Age, Continuous66 years
Baseline ECOG
ECOG = 0
3 Participants
Baseline ECOG
ECOG = 1
3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
6 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 6

Outcome results

Primary

Pathologic Complete Response Rate

Pathologic Complete Response Rate is defined as lack of evidence of viable cancer in the surgical specimen at the time of surgery.

Time frame: 3 months

Population: 4 Subjects completed the surgical procedure and were evaluable for Pathologic Complete Response

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TreatmentPathologic Complete Response RatePathological Complete Response Achieved0 Participants
TreatmentPathologic Complete Response RatePathological Complete Response Not Achieved4 Participants
Secondary

Assess Adverse Events (AE)

Adverse events, \>= grade 3 and related to treatment will be summarized by frequency and severity according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for (NCI CTCAE) v5

Time frame: AEs had been recorded from time of signed informed consent until 90 days after discontinuation of study drug(s) or until a new anti-cancer treatment starts, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 months.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TreatmentAssess Adverse Events (AE)LUNG INFECTION Grade 51 Participants
TreatmentAssess Adverse Events (AE)HYPOKALEMIA Grade 41 Participants
TreatmentAssess Adverse Events (AE)ACIDOSIS Grade 31 Participants
TreatmentAssess Adverse Events (AE)APPENDICITIS Grade 31 Participants
TreatmentAssess Adverse Events (AE)PAIN Grade 31 Participants
Secondary

Disease Free Survival (DFS)

Disease free survival will be defined as the time from surgical resection until the criteria for disease recurrence is met or death as a result of any cause. Disease recurrence is return of the cancer to where it started (local) or in another part of the body (distant).

Time frame: Time from surgical resection until disease recurrence or death, up to a maximum of 8 months

Population: 4 patients out of 6 are evaluable for DFS. 2 patients did not go through the surgery and no response was recorded.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
TreatmentDisease Free Survival (DFS)6.7 Months
Secondary

Pathologic N0 Rate

Pathologic N0 rate is defined as a lack of evidence of viable cancer in the removed lymph nodes at the time of surgery.

Time frame: 3 months

Population: 4 subjects completed the surgical procedure and were evaluable for Pathologic N0 status

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TreatmentPathologic N0 RatePathologic N0 Status Achieved3 Participants
TreatmentPathologic N0 RatePathologic N0 Status Not Achieved1 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026