Skip to content

ITI-007 (Lumateperone Tosylate) for Schizophrenia

ITI-007 (Lumateperone Tosylate) for Schizophrenia

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03817528
Enrollment
4
Registered
2019-01-25
Start date
2019-03-01
Completion date
2020-09-23
Last updated
2021-11-04

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Schizophrenia

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to offer open label ITI-007 treatment to patients who poorly respond or poorly tolerate approved medications.

Detailed description

Patients will be started on ITI-007 and current medication will be slowly discontinued within the first 7 days of starting ITI-007, with some flexibility allowed if clinically indicated. No patients will be left unmedicated because of this study. Patients will be seen weekly for the first 4 weeks, biweekly for the second month and then monthly for six months. Patients will be monitored by clinical and safety rating scales, and will be required to show improvement after 3 months to remain in this study. Patients not improving at this time will be assessed for the risks/benefits of continuing.

Interventions

ITI-007 (Lumateperone tosylate)dosed 40-60 mg based on efficacy/adverse events

Sponsors

Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
New York State Psychiatric Institute
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Masking description

None (open label)

Intervention model description

open-label

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
18 Years to 60 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5) diagnosis of schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder * Has capacity to provide informed consent * Medically stable for study participation * Judged clinically not to be at significant suicide or violence risk * Inadequate response or tolerability to previously antipsychotic therapy, as defined by at least one of the following: prior clozapine failure, a PANSS\>80 despite at least six weeks of a current antipsychotic therapy, a Clinical Global Impressions scale-Improvement (CGI-I) of 4 after at least two six week trials of antipsychotics (retrospective assessment) or failure to tolerate an adequate dose of at least antipsychotics (as defined by the Physicians Desk Reference)

Exclusion criteria

* Substance abuse within last 90 days * ECG abnormality that is clinically significant * Pregnancy, lactation, or lack of use of effective birth control * Presence or positive history of significant unstable medical or neurological illness (including any history of seizure disorder, hepatitis, renal insufficiency or mental retardation), history of HIV * Clinically significant abnormal laboratory tests, positive for hepatitis B or C or liver function tests (LFTs) \> 2x Upper Limit of Normal, use of strong CYP3A4 inhibitors or inducers * History or presence of concomitant major psychiatric illness. * Use of other antipsychotic medications at baseline. * Use of another investigational medication in the previous 4 weeks

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Schizophrenia SymptomsChange from baseline in Total PANSS score after 6 month treatmentschizophrenia symptoms will be measures using the Positive and Negative Symptom Scale (PANSS) Total PANSS score (range: 30-210). Individual items scored from 1(absent) to 7 (extremely severe). Total PANSS score is sum of the 30 individual items with lowest score (30) indicating all symptoms absent and the maximum score (210) indicating all symptoms rated as extremely severe.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Enrollment reflects the number of participants were deemed eligible and received study drug

Pre-assignment details

Participants underwent a screening phase to determine eligibility to receive study medication

Participants by arm

ArmCount
ITI-007
Open-Label ITI-007 40-60 mg ITI-007: ITI-007 (Lumateperone tosylate)dosed 40-60 mg based on efficacy/adverse events
4
Total4

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyAdverse Event2
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject1

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicITI-007
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
4 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
4 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 8
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 8
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 8

Outcome results

Primary

Schizophrenia Symptoms

schizophrenia symptoms will be measures using the Positive and Negative Symptom Scale (PANSS) Total PANSS score (range: 30-210). Individual items scored from 1(absent) to 7 (extremely severe). Total PANSS score is sum of the 30 individual items with lowest score (30) indicating all symptoms absent and the maximum score (210) indicating all symptoms rated as extremely severe.

Time frame: Change from baseline in Total PANSS score after 6 month treatment

Population: Completed participants (6 months of treatment). Outcome measure reported as change in PANSS score from baseline to end of treatment

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
ITI-007Schizophrenia Symptoms11 change in PANSS score from baseline

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026