Skip to content

Modulating ApoE Signalling to Reduce Brain Inflammation, deLirium and postopErative Cognitive Dysfunction

Modulating ApoE Signalling to Reduce Brain Inflammation, deLirium and postopErative Cognitive Dysfunction (MARBLE): A Phase 2 Trial to Evaluate the Efficacy and Feasibility of CN-105 in Preventing Postoperative Cognitive Dysfunction and Delirium

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03802396
Acronym
MARBLE
Enrollment
203
Registered
2019-01-14
Start date
2018-07-15
Completion date
2022-12-28
Last updated
2024-10-16

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Postoperative Cognitive Dysfunction, Postoperative Delirium

Keywords

Delirium, Aging, Elderly, Postoperative, Cognitive Dysfunction

Brief summary

This research study will evaluate the effectiveness and estimate the feasibility of administering an investigational drug called 'CN-105' (the study drug), to prevent postoperative cognitive decline, delirium (serious confusion) and underlying brain inflammatory and brain activity changes in adults 60 years and older undergoing surgery.

Detailed description

This research study will evaluate the effectiveness and estimate the feasibility of administering an investigational drug called 'CN-105' (the study drug), to prevent postoperative cognitive decline, delirium (serious confusion) and underlying brain inflammatory and brain activity changes in adults 60 years and older undergoing surgery. The word investigational means the study drug is still being tested in research studies and is not approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). It is hoped that CN-105 will block signaling via a gene known as ApoE4, the most common gene implicated in late life Alzheimer's disease. Depending on when patients enroll in this study, participants will receive either a placebo or a progressively higher dose of CN-105 until the safest and best tolerated dose is reached. The study drug is given via IV (intravenous, meaning through a vein) infusion in the hospital. Study drug infusions will be given up to 4 days after surgery. Participants will also perform memory and thinking tests, as well as complete a survey and functional assessments, both prior to surgery and again 6 weeks after surgery. Each of those research visits will last about 1 hour. Additionally, the investigators will collect a blood sample and a cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) sample prior to the participant's surgery, 24 hours after surgery, and again 6 weeks after surgery. To obtain the CSF (cerebrospinal fluid) sample, investigators will perform a lumbar (the lower part of the spinal column) puncture. During surgery, investigators will also record participant brain waves from the scalp using an EEG (electroencephalography) monitor. An electroencephalography monitor reads the electrical activity of the brain in different places using a cap with sensors that is worn on the head. Although previous studies have not found any associations between the study drug and any serious medical problems, investigators will monitor its effect on wound healing and postoperative infections. Benefits of this study include the possibility of fewer problems in thinking and memory after surgery if this study drug works as hoped. Risks of participation in this study include headache, infection/discomfort from the lumbar puncture, discomfort from the blood draw, and minor skin irritation or redness from the EEG and heart rate monitor procedures.

Interventions

DRUGCN-105

Three doses of CN-105 will be used in three successive cohorts of 50 patients each. 0.1 mg/kg (cohort 1), 0.5 mg/kg (cohort 2), 1 mg/kg (cohort 3) The study drug will be administered by IV every 6 hours, beginning 1 hour prior to surgery, until postoperative day 3 or hospital discharge, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 doses.

DRUGPlacebo

Patients will receive placebo intravenously every 6 hours, beginning 1 hour prior to surgery, until postoperative day 3 or hospital discharge, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 doses, identical to those receiving the study drug.

Sponsors

Miles Berger, MD PhD
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
PREVENTION
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Masking description

Participants will be randomized to receive either CN-105 or placebo after they consent to participate in the trial. Participants will be enrolled in 1 of 3 dose cohorts of 67 subjects each. An independent statistician will prepare dose stratified mixed block size randomization lists in a 3 to 1 ratio to achieve the desired distribution of drug and placebo. In each block of 67 trial participants, 50 will receive CN-105 and 17 will receive placebo, in a double-blind fashion. CN-105 and placebo will be prepared in identical bags labelled simply with the trial participant's number (1-201) to keep all trial staff and clinicians blinded to randomization. Only the investigational pharmacist will have the randomization list for each participant showing what dose of CN-105 or placebo will be administered. To minimize bias, investigators conducting the laboratory assays on the CSF and blood samples will be blinded to trial group assignment during the course of the trial.

Intervention model description

Investigators will enroll 201 patients total in this phase 2 escalating dose study, with escalating CN-105 doses occurring in three successive groups of 67 patients each. In each group of 67 patients, 50 will receive a given dose of CN-105 and 17 will receive placebo.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
60 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* Age ≥ 60 * Ability to speak English * Undergoing non-cardiac, non-neurologic surgical procedures; surgery scheduled to last \> 2 hours; due to be admitted to the hospital following surgery

Exclusion criteria

* Inmate of a correctional facility * Scheduled to receive systemic chemotherapy between the time of the two cognitive testing sessions * Known inability to undergo LPs due to anticoagulant use, severe anxiety, or other clinical contraindication known ahead of time. * Inappropriate for study inclusion based on the judgement of the principal investigator. * If a patient undergoes major head trauma that occurs between the times of the two cognitive testing sessions, then they will be withdrawn from the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Adverse Events (AEs) of Grade II or Higher Per Patientup to 6-week follow-upSafety of CN-105 administration, as measured by adverse event (AE) rates of Grade II and higher in CN-105 versus placebo-treated patients.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in CSF IL-8 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeksChange in CSF IL-8 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients
Change in CSF MCP-1 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeksChange in CSF MCP-1 cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients
Change in CSF G-CSF Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeksChange in CSF G-CSF cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.
Change in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) IL-6 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeksChange in CSF IL-6 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.
Feasibility of Drug Administration as Measured by the Percentage of Doses Given Within the Correct Time Windowadmission to preoperative holding to hospital discharge (up to postoperative day 4)The feasibility of perioperative CN-105 administration is assessed by tracking the percentage of doses given within the correct time window (i.e. within 1 hour prior to the scheduled or actual start time of the surgery, and within a +/- 90 minute time window for subsequent doses, which are administered every 6 hours after the start of surgery).
Number of Participants Who Experience DeliriumBaseline, day of surgery (twice), post-operative days 1 - 5 (twice), 6 weeks +/- 3 weeksScores on 3D CAM (non-intubated patients) or CAM ICU (intubated patients) are used to determine whether patients have delirium (yes/no).
Peak Severity of Delirium Symptoms Between Drug vs. Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline, day of surgery (twice), post-operative days 1 - 5 (twice), 6 weeks +/- 3 weeksScores on the 3D CAM (in non-intubated patients) are used to determine delirium symptom severity based on a 0 - 20 point scale of the test. Higher scores indicate worse delirium.
Change in Cognitive Change Index (CCI) Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline, approximately 6 weeksTo characterize cognitive function over time, while minimizing potential redundancy in the cognitive measures, a Z-score standardization was performed on the 11 cognitive test scores with mean and standard deviation derived at the baseline timepoint. We then constructed four summary scores by taking the average of the standardized cognitive test scores, which represent the following cognitive domains: verbal memory, executive function, visual memory and attention. To quantify overall cognitive function, a cognitive index was calculated as the mean of the 4 domain scores. The cognitive index score has a mean of zero, thus any positive score is above the mean, any negative score is below the mean. A continuous change score was then calculated by subtracting the baseline from the 6-week cognitive index. The resulting outcome measure is unbounded with standard deviation of 0.33. A negative change score indicating decline and a positive score indicating improvement.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
CN-105
The study drug will be administered by IV every 6 hours, beginning 1 hour prior to surgery, until postoperative day 3 or hospital discharge, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 doses.
137
Placebo
Patients will receive placebo intravenously every 6 hours, beginning 1 hour prior to surgery, until postoperative day 3 or hospital discharge, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 doses, identical to those receiving the study drug.
49
Total186

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudySurgery Cancelled10
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject20

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCN-105TotalPlacebo
Age, Continuous68.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5
68.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5
69.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants3 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
135 Participants182 Participants47 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants3 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
9 Participants14 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants3 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
122 Participants164 Participants42 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
137 Participants186 Participants49 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
51 Participants67 Participants16 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
86 Participants119 Participants33 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 1370 / 49
other
Total, other adverse events
105 / 13743 / 49
serious
Total, serious adverse events
11 / 13711 / 49

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Adverse Events (AEs) of Grade II or Higher Per Patient

Safety of CN-105 administration, as measured by adverse event (AE) rates of Grade II and higher in CN-105 versus placebo-treated patients.

Time frame: up to 6-week follow-up

Population: Participants who completed the study.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
CN-105Number of Adverse Events (AEs) of Grade II or Higher Per Patient1 events per participant
PlaceboNumber of Adverse Events (AEs) of Grade II or Higher Per Patient2 events per participant
p-value: 0.025Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Change in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) IL-6 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients

Change in CSF IL-6 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.

Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks

Population: Participants with data collected at each timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
CN-105Change in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) IL-6 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours0.52 pg/mL
CN-105Change in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) IL-6 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks-0.06 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) IL-6 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks0.00 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) IL-6 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours0.91 pg/mL
Comparison: Baseline to 24 hoursp-value: 0.116Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Comparison: Baseline to 6 weeksp-value: 0.388Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Change in Cognitive Change Index (CCI) Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients

To characterize cognitive function over time, while minimizing potential redundancy in the cognitive measures, a Z-score standardization was performed on the 11 cognitive test scores with mean and standard deviation derived at the baseline timepoint. We then constructed four summary scores by taking the average of the standardized cognitive test scores, which represent the following cognitive domains: verbal memory, executive function, visual memory and attention. To quantify overall cognitive function, a cognitive index was calculated as the mean of the 4 domain scores. The cognitive index score has a mean of zero, thus any positive score is above the mean, any negative score is below the mean. A continuous change score was then calculated by subtracting the baseline from the 6-week cognitive index. The resulting outcome measure is unbounded with standard deviation of 0.33. A negative change score indicating decline and a positive score indicating improvement.

Time frame: Baseline, approximately 6 weeks

Population: Participants who completed both baseline and 6-week follow-up visit and surgery on protocol.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
CN-105Change in Cognitive Change Index (CCI) Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients0.08 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.33
PlaceboChange in Cognitive Change Index (CCI) Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients0.06 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.34
p-value: 0.803t-test, 2 sided
Secondary

Change in CSF G-CSF Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients

Change in CSF G-CSF cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.

Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks

Population: Participants who had data collected at each timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
CN-105Change in CSF G-CSF Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours2.46 pg/mL
CN-105Change in CSF G-CSF Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks0.22 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in CSF G-CSF Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours3.3 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in CSF G-CSF Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks-0.23 pg/mL
Comparison: Baseline to 24 hoursp-value: 0.177Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Comparison: Baseline to 6 weeksp-value: 0.478Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Change in CSF IL-8 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients

Change in CSF IL-8 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients

Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks

Population: Participants with data collected at each timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
CN-105Change in CSF IL-8 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours130.11 pg/mL
CN-105Change in CSF IL-8 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks-2.7 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in CSF IL-8 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours153.43 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in CSF IL-8 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks0.54 pg/mL
Comparison: Baseline to 24 hoursp-value: 0.569Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Comparison: Baseline to 6 weeksp-value: 0.047Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Change in CSF MCP-1 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients

Change in CSF MCP-1 cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients

Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks

Population: Participants with data collected at each timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
CN-105Change in CSF MCP-1 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours-114.39 pg/mL
CN-105Change in CSF MCP-1 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks-17.69 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in CSF MCP-1 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 24 hours-116.75 pg/mL
PlaceboChange in CSF MCP-1 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated PatientsBaseline to 6 weeks-4.62 pg/mL
Comparison: Baseline to 24 hoursp-value: 0.498Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Comparison: Baseline to 6 weeksp-value: 0.745Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Feasibility of Drug Administration as Measured by the Percentage of Doses Given Within the Correct Time Window

The feasibility of perioperative CN-105 administration is assessed by tracking the percentage of doses given within the correct time window (i.e. within 1 hour prior to the scheduled or actual start time of the surgery, and within a +/- 90 minute time window for subsequent doses, which are administered every 6 hours after the start of surgery).

Time frame: admission to preoperative holding to hospital discharge (up to postoperative day 4)

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
CN-105Feasibility of Drug Administration as Measured by the Percentage of Doses Given Within the Correct Time Window94.6 percentage of doses
PlaceboFeasibility of Drug Administration as Measured by the Percentage of Doses Given Within the Correct Time Window93.8 percentage of doses
Secondary

Number of Participants Who Experience Delirium

Scores on 3D CAM (non-intubated patients) or CAM ICU (intubated patients) are used to determine whether patients have delirium (yes/no).

Time frame: Baseline, day of surgery (twice), post-operative days 1 - 5 (twice), 6 weeks +/- 3 weeks

Population: Participants who completed surgery on protocol and had at least 1 postoperative CAM-3D or CAM-ICU assessment performed.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
CN-105Number of Participants Who Experience Delirium26 Participants
PlaceboNumber of Participants Who Experience Delirium13 Participants
p-value: 0.28695% CI: [0.41, 1.3]Chi-squared
Secondary

Peak Severity of Delirium Symptoms Between Drug vs. Placebo Treated Patients

Scores on the 3D CAM (in non-intubated patients) are used to determine delirium symptom severity based on a 0 - 20 point scale of the test. Higher scores indicate worse delirium.

Time frame: Baseline, day of surgery (twice), post-operative days 1 - 5 (twice), 6 weeks +/- 3 weeks

Population: Subjects who completed surgery on protocol and had at least 1 postoperative CAM-3D assessment performed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
CN-105Peak Severity of Delirium Symptoms Between Drug vs. Placebo Treated Patients1 score on a scale
PlaceboPeak Severity of Delirium Symptoms Between Drug vs. Placebo Treated Patients2 score on a scale
p-value: 0.189Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Apr 5, 2026