Skip to content

Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of FX006 in Patients With Hip Osteoarthritis

A Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled, Parallel-group Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of FX006 in Patients With Hip Osteoarthritis

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03793010
Enrollment
70
Registered
2019-01-04
Start date
2018-12-12
Completion date
2019-08-07
Last updated
2024-01-24

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Osteoarthritis, Hip

Keywords

Osteoarthritis, Hip, Pain, Intra-articular, Injection

Brief summary

This is a two-part, multi-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study in patients with hip OA. Approximately 70 patients will be enrolled in Part I and approximately 440 patients will be enrolled in Part II of the study. In each part, patients will be randomized to one of two treatment groups (1:1) and treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline.

Detailed description

This is a two-part, multi-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study in patients with hip OA. Approximately 70 patients will be enrolled in Part I and approximately 440 patients will be enrolled in Part II of the study. In each part, patients will be randomized to one of two treatment groups (1:1) and treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline. FX006 or saline placebo will be administered as a single IA injection with a 12-week follow-up period in the double-blind phase. Patients participating in Part I of the study will be treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline and will return for follow up visits at Weeks 12, 16, 20, and 24. The patients will be discontinued at the time of notification by the Investigator. Patients participating in Part II of the study will be treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline and will return for follow up visits at Weeks 12, 16, 20, and 24. Patients participating in Part II of the study that are not clinically indicated for a second injection at Week 12 will return to the clinic at Weeks 16, 20, and 24 and will receive an open-label injection of FX006 at the first evaluation where the patient has been determined to meet all criteria. Patients will then return for follow-up visits every 4 weeks for 12 weeks post second injection and will complete the study 12 weeks post second injection (e.g., Week 24, 28, 32, or 36 depending on when the patient receives the open-label injection). Patients participating in Part II of the study who are not eligible for a second injection after evaluation at Weeks 12, 16, 20, and 24 will complete the study at the Week 24 visit and complete the End of Study (EOS) assessments.

Interventions

DRUGNormal saline

Single Intra-articular injection

DRUGFX006

Single Intra-articular injection

Sponsors

Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Intervention model description

Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled, Parallel-group

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
40 Years to 80 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Willingness and ability to comply with the study procedures and visit schedules and ability to follow verbal and written instructions * Patients 40 to 80 years of age, inclusive, on the day of randomization (Day 1) * Body Mass Index (BMI) ≤ 40 kg/m2 * Symptoms associated with OA of the index hip for ≥ 3 months prior to Screening visit * Currently meet the American College of Radiology (ACR) Criteria (clinical and radiological) for OA of the index hip * Kellgren-Lawrence (KL) Grade 2 or 3 in the index hip as confirmed by X-ray during Screening visit (centrally read) * Qualifying mean score on the WOMAC A and C (0-10 NRS scale) * Agree to maintain the similar activity level throughout the study * Willingness to abstain from use of restricted medications

Exclusion criteria

* Patients who cannot washout of prohibited medications * Diagnosed as secondary OA in the index hip including but not limited to articular fracture, major dysplasia or congenital abnormality, osteochondritis dissecans, acromegaly, ochronosis, hemochromatosis, Wilson's disease, or primary osteochondromatosis, etc. * Ipsilateral chronic knee pain * Sciatica * Atrophic osteoarthritis, femoral head necrosis and/or collapse, or subchondral bone insufficiency fracture in the index hip joint determined via central reading * Current or history of infection in the index hip (e.g. osteomyelitis) or current skin infection at injection site * Trauma or surgeries (e.g., arthroscopy, knee surgery) of lower limbs within 52 weeks with sequelae, etc. * History or current evidence of reactive arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, or arthritis associated with inflammatory bowel disease, systemic lupus erythematosus or other autoimmune diseases * Any planned surgeries in the lower limbs during the study period, or any other surgery during the study period that would require use of a restricted medication * Presence of surgical hardware or other foreign body in the index hip * Planned/anticipated surgery of the index hip or any other surgery that would require use of a restricted medication during the study period * IA corticosteroid of any joint within 3 months of Screening visit (investigational or marketed, including FX006) * IA treatment of index hip with any of the following agents within 6 months of Screening: any biologic agent or hyaluronic acid (investigational or marketed) * IV or IM corticosteroids (investigational or marketed) within 3 months of Screening * Oral corticosteroids (investigational or marketed) within 1 month of Screening * Inhaled, intranasal or topical corticosteroids (investigational or marketed) within 2 weeks of Screening visit * Planned or expected changes to lifestyle with regard to physical activity, physical therapy, acupuncture, transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS), or bracing within 1 month prior to Screening and changes throughout the duration of the study * Women of child-bearing potential (not surgically sterile or post-menopausal for at least 1 year as documented in medical history) not using a highly effective method or who are pregnant or nursing

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in WOMAC A (Pain) Score at Week 12Baseline and Week 12The change from baseline on the average Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) A (pain) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC A score is calculated by taking the average of five questions with a range from 0 (no pain) to 10 (extreme pain).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in WOMAC C (Function) Score at Week 12Baseline and Week 12Change from Baseline on the WOMAC C (function) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC C score is calculated by taking the average of seventeen questions with a range from 0 (no difficulty) to 10 (extreme difficulty).
PGIC Score at Week 1212 WeeksPGIC (Patient Global Impression of Change) at Week 12. The PGIC score has a range from 1(very much improved) to 7 (very much worse) and indicates the overall status of the patient since baseline.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The recruitment period for this study was from December 2018 until August 2019. The patients were enrolled at medical clinics.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
FX006
FX006 32mg FX006: Single Intra-articular injection
33
Normal Saline
Normal Saline Normal saline: Single Intra-articular injection
35
Total68

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDid not meet eligibility criteria10
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up12
Overall StudyPatient couldn't sit still for injection10
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject57
Overall StudyWithdrawn by Investigator or Sponsor1918
Overall StudyWithdrew to pursue other treatment10

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicFX006Normal SalineTotal
Age, Continuous59.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.45
61.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.99
60.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.73
Body Mass Index (BMI)30.50 kg/m2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.679
31.29 kg/m2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.775
30.91 kg/m2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.699
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants4 Participants8 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
28 Participants31 Participants59 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
8 Participants8 Participants16 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
24 Participants26 Participants50 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
33 Participants35 Participants68 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
20 Participants21 Participants41 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
13 Participants14 Participants27 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 330 / 35
other
Total, other adverse events
21 / 3314 / 35
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 330 / 35

Outcome results

Primary

Change in WOMAC A (Pain) Score at Week 12

The change from baseline on the average Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) A (pain) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC A score is calculated by taking the average of five questions with a range from 0 (no pain) to 10 (extreme pain).

Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

Population: All patients who received a full dose of study drug assigned to the FX006 32 mg arm and the placebo arm were included in the analysis. 68 total patients were included in the safety analysis. 55 of 68 patients had Week 12 assessments and are included in the primary and secondary outcomes analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)
FX006Change in WOMAC A (Pain) Score at Week 12-1.85 score on a scale
Normal SalineChange in WOMAC A (Pain) Score at Week 12-2.16 score on a scale
95% CI: [-1.2, 1.81]
Secondary

Change in WOMAC C (Function) Score at Week 12

Change from Baseline on the WOMAC C (function) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC C score is calculated by taking the average of seventeen questions with a range from 0 (no difficulty) to 10 (extreme difficulty).

Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

Population: All patients who received a full dose of study drug assigned to the FX006 32 mg arm and the placebo arm were included in the analysis. 68 total patients were included in the safety population. 55 of 68 patients had week 12 assessments and are included in the primary and secondary outcomes analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)
FX006Change in WOMAC C (Function) Score at Week 12-1.56 score on a scale
Normal SalineChange in WOMAC C (Function) Score at Week 12-2.16 score on a scale
95% CI: [-1.05, 2.24]
Secondary

PGIC Score at Week 12

PGIC (Patient Global Impression of Change) at Week 12. The PGIC score has a range from 1(very much improved) to 7 (very much worse) and indicates the overall status of the patient since baseline.

Time frame: 12 Weeks

Population: All patients who received a full dose of study drug assigned to the FX006 32 mg arm and the placebo arm were included in the analysis. 68 total patients were included in the safety population. 55 of 68 patients had week 12 assessments and are included in the primary and secondary outcomes analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)
FX006PGIC Score at Week 123.4 score on a scale
Normal SalinePGIC Score at Week 123.4 score on a scale
95% CI: [-1, 0.9]

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026