Skip to content

A Study to Evaluate the Safety and Tolerability of ONL1204 in Patients With Macula-off, Rhegmatogenous Retinal Detachment

A Phase 1 Open-Label, Dose Escalation Study to Assess the Safety and Tolerability of Intravitreal ONL1204 in Patients With Macula-off, Rhegmatogenous Retinal Detachment

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03780972
Enrollment
14
Registered
2018-12-19
Start date
2019-10-21
Completion date
2022-08-24
Last updated
2024-09-24

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Rhegmatogenous Retinal Detachment - Macula Off

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety and tolerability of ONL1204 in participants with Macula-off, Rhegmatogenous Retinal Detachment (RRD). RRD is an acute and serious vision threatening condition in which a tear in the retina, typically resulting from a vitreous detachment, allows liquid to accumulate under the retina, detaching the photoreceptor (PR) layer of the retina from the retinal pigment epithelium (RPE). As the RPE is the principal source of nutritional support for the PR layer, the photoreceptors begin a cascade of inflammation and cell death. Photoreceptor cell death is the primary mechanism of vision loss after retinal detachment. ONL1204 is a first-in-class inhibitor of Fragment Apoptosis Stimulator receptor (Fas)-mediated cell death. ONL1204 has demonstrated protection of multiple retinal cell types in numerous preclinical models of acute ocular injury. This will be a first-in-human (FIH) study to evaluate safety and tolerability of a single-dose of ONL1204 in participants with macula-off RRD. The standard of care for surgical repair of macula-off RRD is reattachment surgery within 7 days of the macula detaching. Participants in this study will receive a single intravitreal injection upon diagnosis and enrollment in the study, followed by standard of care surgery. The surgery includes vitrectomy, a procedure that removes the bulk of drug remaining in the vitreous.

Interventions

DRUGONL1204

Administration of ONL1204 - inhibitor of Fas(CD95) signaling by intravitreal injection

PROCEDUREIntravitreal Injection

Injection of study drug into the eye

PROCEDURECollection of ocular fluids

vitreous and aqueous fluid collection by a tap and during vitrectomy

Sponsors

ONL Therapeutics
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 80 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Males and females, ≥ 18 to 80 years old 2. Able to give informed consent and comply with all study visits and procedures 3. Patients who: 1. Present between 1 week (7 days) and 4 weeks (28 days) of a macula-off RRD (based on patient-reported history of loss of central vision) 2. For whom standard retinal reattachment surgery by means of a pars plana vitrectomy (with or without scleral buckle) and gas tamponade is indicated, and 3. In the opinion of the investigator, can safely undergo all study procedures. 4. Best corrected Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) visual acuity of 20/100 to hand motion in the study eye 5. Best corrected ETDRS visual acuity in the fellow eye of 20/60 or better

Exclusion criteria

1. Presence of giant retinal tear defined as greater than 3 clock hours or other type of complex retinal detachment in the study eye 2. Presence of vitreous hemorrhage in the study eye 3. Presence of ocular or periocular infection or intraocular inflammation in either eye 4. Intraocular Pressure \> 22 mmHg in the study eye 5. Any other significant ocular disease in the study eye including media opacity that, in the opinion of the investigator, would preclude a visual acuity of at least 20/25 following successful vitrectomy or limit adequate visibility of the retina 6. Any other ocular pathology in the study eye requiring treatment with topical ophthalmic drops or intravitreal injection 7. History of previous ocular surgery in the study eye other than uncomplicated cataract surgery with posterior chamber intraocular lens and intact posterior capsule (which must have occurred at least 6 months prior to the baseline visit) 8. Participation in other clinical trials or use of any other investigational drugs or devices within 3 months prior to study participation 9. Females who are pregnant or lactating and women of childbearing potential who are not using adequate contraceptive precautions (e.g., intrauterine device, oral contraceptives, barrier method, or other contraception deemed adequate by the investigator) 10. Known retinopathy, known hepatic disease (or history of significant chronic liver disease), or known renal disease. Patients with diabetes and no known retinopathy may be enrolled 11. History of uncontrolled hypertension 12. History of stroke, transient ischemic attack, or major cardiac surgery within 3 months prior to study, or current treatment for systemic infection 13. Any ocular or systemic condition that in the opinion of the investigator could compromise the safety of the patient, or may interfere with the safety and tolerability assessments or study procedures of the trial

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Adverse Event (AE) Reporting24 weeksAEs restricted to treatment-emergent AEs (TEAEs) only. Ocular and non-ocular AEs reported separately. See AE Reporting Table for descriptive ocular and non-ocular AE findings.
BCVA (LogMAR) at Final Study Visit24 weeksBCVA was performed in the study eye using ETDRS methodology and letters read were converted to a logMAR value using the following equation: logMAR = -0.02 × ETDRS + 1.7.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Exploratory Outcome-ONL1204 Concentration24 weeksMeasurement of ONL1204 in plasma (ng/ml) after drug administration. For all subjects, the concentration was \<LLOQ.

Countries

Australia

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cohort 1 Dose A
Intravitreal injection of 50 μl of ONL1204 liquid formulation to deliver dose 1 ONL1204: Administration of ONL1204 - inhibitor of Fas(CD95) signaling by intravitreal injection Intravitreal Injection: Injection of study drug into the eye Collection of ocular fluids: vitreous and aqueous fluid collection by a tap and during vitrectomy
4
Cohort 2 Dose B
Intravitreal injection of 100 μl of ONL1204 liquid formulation to deliver dose 2 ONL1204: Administration of ONL1204 - inhibitor of Fas(CD95) signaling by intravitreal injection Intravitreal Injection: Injection of study drug into the eye Collection of ocular fluids: vitreous and aqueous fluid collection by a tap and during vitrectomy
4
Cohort 3 Dose C
Intravitreal injection of 50 μl of ONL1204 liquid formulation to deliver dose 3 ONL1204: Administration of ONL1204 - inhibitor of Fas(CD95) signaling by intravitreal injection Intravitreal Injection: Injection of study drug into the eye Collection of ocular fluids: vitreous and aqueous fluid collection by a tap and during vitrectomy
4
Cohort 4 Dose D
Intravitreal injection of 100 μl of ONL1204 liquid formulation to deliver dose 4 ONL1204: Administration of ONL1204 - inhibitor of Fas(CD95) signaling by intravitreal injection Intravitreal Injection: Injection of study drug into the eye Collection of ocular fluids: vitreous and aqueous fluid collection by a tap and during vitrectomy
2
Total14

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCohort 1 Dose ACohort 2 Dose BCohort 3 Dose CCohort 4 Dose DTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
3 Participants1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants7 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
1 Participants3 Participants3 Participants0 Participants7 Participants
Age, Continuous67.5 years54.5 years58 years67.5 years61 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants4 Participants4 Participants2 Participants14 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants4 Participants2 Participants2 Participants11 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
4 Participants4 Participants4 Participants2 Participants14 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
4 Participants2 Participants4 Participants1 Participants11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 40 / 40 / 40 / 2
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 43 / 43 / 42 / 2
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 42 / 42 / 40 / 2

Outcome results

Primary

Adverse Event (AE) Reporting

AEs restricted to treatment-emergent AEs (TEAEs) only. Ocular and non-ocular AEs reported separately. See AE Reporting Table for descriptive ocular and non-ocular AE findings.

Time frame: 24 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cohort 1 Dose AAdverse Event (AE) Reporting3 Participants
Cohort 2 Dose BAdverse Event (AE) Reporting3 Participants
Cohort 3 Dose CAdverse Event (AE) Reporting3 Participants
Cohort 4 Dose DAdverse Event (AE) Reporting2 Participants
Primary

BCVA (LogMAR) at Final Study Visit

BCVA was performed in the study eye using ETDRS methodology and letters read were converted to a logMAR value using the following equation: logMAR = -0.02 × ETDRS + 1.7.

Time frame: 24 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Cohort 1 Dose ABCVA (LogMAR) at Final Study Visit0.52 logMAR
Cohort 2 Dose BBCVA (LogMAR) at Final Study Visit0.50 logMAR
Cohort 3 Dose CBCVA (LogMAR) at Final Study Visit0.77 logMAR
Cohort 4 Dose DBCVA (LogMAR) at Final Study Visit0.46 logMAR
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Outcome-ONL1204 Concentration

Measurement of ONL1204 in plasma (ng/ml) after drug administration. For all subjects, the concentration was \<LLOQ.

Time frame: 24 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Cohort 1 Dose AExploratory Outcome-ONL1204 ConcentrationNA ng/ml
Cohort 2 Dose BExploratory Outcome-ONL1204 ConcentrationNA ng/ml
Cohort 3 Dose CExploratory Outcome-ONL1204 ConcentrationNA ng/ml
Cohort 4 Dose DExploratory Outcome-ONL1204 ConcentrationNA ng/ml

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026