Skip to content

Study of TVEC in Patients With Cutaneous Squamous Cell Cancer

A Single Arm Phase 2 Study of Talimogene Laherparepvec in Patients With Cutaneous Squamous Cell Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03714828
Enrollment
11
Registered
2018-10-22
Start date
2018-12-20
Completion date
2023-07-19
Last updated
2024-10-09

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cutaneous Tumor, Keratoacanthoma, Lesion Skin, Skin Cancer, Skin Cancer, Squamous Cell, Squamous Cell Carcinoma

Keywords

Skin cancer, Squamous cell, Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Skin lesion, Keratoacanthoma, talimogene laherparepvec

Brief summary

This is single arm Phase 2, single center study of talimogene laherparepvec (TVEC) to treat low risk cutaneous squamous cell carcinomas (cSCC).

Detailed description

The purpose of this study is to assess the effect of Talimogene laherparepvec (TVEC) in patients diagnosed with lower risk cSCC in need of alternative therapeutic approaches. Immune recognition and cytotoxic responses play an important role in the pathogenesis and progression of cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma (cSCC). TVEC is an HSV-1 oncolytic immunological agent FDA approved for the local treatment of unresectable recurrent melanoma. It is proposed that T-VEC directly destroys cancer cells and induces production of GM-CSF to enhance systemic antitumor immune priming. This proposed mechanism of action supports the novel approach to implement TVEC in the management of cSCC. Particularly, in patients with increased burden of primary tumors. The study subjects enrolled in the study were Immunocompetent, \> 18 years of age, and diagnosed with at least one histologically confirmed primary low-risk cSCC according to the Brigham and Women staging system. Unresectable lesions or patients unable/unwilling to undergo standard of care treatment were eligible to participate. Study lesions included target lesions injected (TLIs) and target non-injected lesions (TNILs). TNILs were selected to evaluate for abscopal effect when feasible. The TLIs were treated according to TVEC FDA approved protocol and followed for 1yr after the 1st injection. The primary endpoint of the study was to evaluate the overall response rate, defined as the proportion of subjects who achieved complete response and partial response in the TLIs. Safety and adverse effect profile (AEs), duration of response, time to response, durable response rate, and time to progression, were the some of the secondary endpoints included.

Interventions

DRUGInjection of TVEC into target lesions - week 1-2

Target lesions are identified and documented with measurements and photographs. Photographs will be taken with regional and close up view of the anatomical area and lesion. Inject 0.5ml - 4ml (based on lesion size - section 7.1, Table 5) Talimogene laherparepvec at nominal concentration of 106 plaque forming units (PFU)/mL with approximately 1.15 mL in a 2 mL vial for the initial dose. This will be administered intralesionally to 1-3 cSCC lesions per anatomical site with a maximum of 5 injectable lesions per patient.

DRUGInjection of TVEC into target lesions 3wks after 1st injection

Target lesions are identified and documented with measurements and photographs. Photographs will be taken with global and close up view of the anatomical area and lesion. Inject 0.5ml - 4ml (based on lesion size) and number of lesions selected. Talimogene laherparepvec at nominal concentration of 108 PFU/mL with approximately 1.15 mL in a 2 mL vial for the second and subsequent doses.

DRUGInjection of TVEC into target lesions 2wks after 2nd injection

Target lesions are identified and documented with measurements and photographs. Photographs will be taken with global and close up view of the anatomical area and lesion. Inject 0.5ml - 4ml (based on lesion size) and number of lesions selected.Talimogene laherparepvec at nominal concentration of 108 PFU/mL with approximately 1.15 mL in a 2 mL vial for the subsequent doses.

DRUGInjection of TVEC into target lesions 2wks after 3rd injection

Target lesions are identified and documented with measurements and photographs. Photographs will be taken with global and close up view of the anatomical area and lesion. Inject 0.5ml - 4ml (based on lesion size) and number of lesions selected. Talimogene laherparepvec at nominal concentration of 108 PFU/mL with approximately 1.15 mL in a 2 mL vial for the subsequent doses.

Sponsors

Amgen
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Arizona
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Able to give informed consent in English or Spanish 2. Age \> 18 3. Have at least one \>0.5 cm to \<5.0 cm, histologically confirmed low risk cutaneous SCC (including kerathoacanthomas) * Size \>0.5 cm on trunk or extremities (excluding face, neck feet, nail units, and ankles) * Clinically consistent with primary tumors. * Lesion considered unresectable (as defined in Section 1.2) * Recurrent lesions will be considered eligible if additional inclusion criteria are met. * No immunosuppression * Not a site of previous radiation therapy or chronic significant inflammation * Fast growing lesions (doubling in size over a 4 week period of time) will be included if they are clinically suggestive of cSCC of the keratoacanthoma type. * Well or moderately differentiated tumor as confirmed by skin biopsy * Depth less than 2 mm (for non KA type cSCC ) * No perineural or vascular involvement in preliminary biopsy. 4. Partial biopsy of squamous cell skin cancer identified as a target lesion(s) to determine the histological differentiation of the tumor or other adverse histological features 5. In patients with multiple lesions, up to 3 lesions in a similar anatomical site, (trunk, limbs etc) that is at least 10 cm apart can be selected. 6. Maximum of 5 lesions per patient can be selected for treatment 7. Adequate organ function determined within 28 days prior to enrollment, defined as follows: 8. Hematology: * Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1500/mm3 (1.5x109/L) * Platelet count ≥ 75,000/mm3 (7.5x109/L) * Hemoglobin ≥ 8 g/dL (without need for hematopoietic growth factor or transfusion support) 9. Renal • Serum creatinine ≤ 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN), OR 24-hour creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min for subject with creatinine levels \> 1.5 x ULN. (Note: Creatinine clearance need not be determined if the baseline serum creatinine is within normal limits. Creatinine clearance should be determined per institutional standard) 10. Hepatic * Serum bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x ULN * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤ 2.5 x ULN 23 \| Page Version 6-26-2018 * Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 2.5 x ULN 11. Coagulation * International normalization ratio (INR) or prothrombin time (PT) ≤ 1.5 x ULN, unless the subject is receiving anticoagulant therapy, in which case PT and partial thromboplastin time (PTT)/ activated PTT (aPTT) must be within therapeutic range of intended use of anticoagulants. * PTT or aPTT ≤ 1.5 x ULN unless the subject is receiving anticoagulant therapy as long as PT and PTT/aPTT is within therapeutic range of intended use of anticoagulants. 12. Female subject of childbearing potential should have a negative urine or serum pregnancy test within 72 hours prior to enrollment. If urine test is positive or cannot be confirmed as negative, a serum pregnancy test will be required.

Exclusion criteria

1. Any patient with diagnosis of invasive cancer in the last 3 years with the exception of stage I and II melanoma, cutaneous BCC and SCCs will be excluded. 2. Subjects on acitretin, capecitabine, topical chemotherapies or treatments. 3. History or evidence of symptomatic autoimmune disease (eg, pneumonitis, glomerulonephritis, vasculitis, or other), or history of active autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment (ie, use of corticosteroids, immunosuppressive drugs or biological agents used for treatment of autoimmune diseases) in past 2 months prior to enrollment. Replacement therapy (eg, thyroxine for hypothyroidism, insulin for diabetes or physiologic corticosteroid replacement therapy for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency) is not considered a form of systemic treatment for autoimmune disease. 4. Evidence of clinically significant immunosuppression such as the following: * Primary immunodeficiency state such as Severe Combined Immuno deficiency Disease * Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome * Concurrent opportunistic infection * Receiving systemic immunosuppressive therapy (\> 2 weeks) including oral steroid doses \> 10 mg/day of prednisone or equivalent within 2 months prior to enrollment. 5. Active herpetic skin lesions or prior complications of herpetic infection (e.g., herpetic keratitis or encephalitis). 6. Requires intermittent or chronic systemic (intravenous or oral) treatment with an antiherpetic drug (e.g., acyclovir), other than intermittent topical use. 7. Previous treatment with talimogene laherparepvec or any other oncolytic virus 8. Prior therapy with tumor vaccine 9. Received live vaccine within 28 days prior to enrollment. 24 \| Page Version 6-26-2018 10. Currently receiving treatment with another investigational device or drug study, or \< 28 days since ending treatment with another investigational device or drug study(s) 11. Other investigational procedures while participating in this study are excluded. 12. Known to have acute or chronic active hepatitis B infection 13. Known to have acute or chronic active hepatitis C infection 14. History of other malignancy within the past 3 years with the following exceptions: * adequately treated mucosa associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) tumor * malignancy treated with curative intent and with no known active disease present for ≥ 3 years before enrollment and felt to be at low risk for recurrence by the treating physician * adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer, lentigo maligna, stage I or II cutaneous melanoma, without evidence of disease. * adequately treated cervical carcinoma in situ without evidence of disease * adequately treated breast ductal carcinoma in situ without evidence of disease * prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia without evidence of prostate cancer * adequately treated urothelial papillary noninvasive carcinoma or carcinoma in situ 15. Subject has known sensitivity to talimogene laherparepvec or any of its components to be administered during dosing. 16. Female subject is pregnant or breast-feeding, or planning to become pregnant during study treatment and through 3 months after the last dose of talimogene laherparepvec 17. Female subject of childbearing potential who is unwilling to use acceptable method(s) of effective contraception during study treatment and through 3 months after the last dose of talimogene laherparepvec. (Note: Women not of childbearing potential are defined as: Any female who is post-menopausal \[age \> 55 years with cessation of menses for 12 or more months or less than 55 years but not spontaneous menses for at least 2 years or less than 55 years and spontaneous menses within the past 1 year, but currently amenorrheic (eg, spontaneous or secondary to hysterectomy), and with postmenopausal gonadotropin levels (luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone levels \> 40 IU/L) or postmenopausal estradiol levels (\< 5 ng/dL) or according to the definition of postmenopausal range for the laboratory involved\] or who have had a hysterectomy, bilateral salpingectomy, or bilateral oophorectomy). 25 \| Page Version 6-26-2018 18. Sexually active subjects and their partners unwilling to use male latex condom to avoid potential viral transmission during sexual contact while on treatment and within 30 days after treatment with talimogene laherparepvec. 19. Subject who is unwilling to minimize exposure with his/her blood or other body fluids to individuals who are at higher risks for HSV-1 induced complications such as immunosuppressed individuals, individuals known to have HIV infection, pregnant women, or children under the age of 1 year, during talimogene laherparepvec treatment and through 30 days after the last dose of talimogene laherparepvec.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response Rate8.5-10.5 monthsThe primary end point is to evaluate the overall response rate (ORR) defined as proportion of subjects who achieved complete response (CR) and partial response (PR) in the cSCC Target injected lesions (TILs).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Time of Response.8.5-10.5 monthsTo measure time of response in cSCC individual TILs.
Duration of Overall Response.8.5-10.5 monthsTo measure the duration of overall response (DOR) of individual TILs.
Assess Durable Response.8.5-10.5 monthsAssess durable response rate (DRR) of TILs. DRR was assessed when the time of CR or PR with response lasting continuously for at least 6 months.
Time to Progression.8.5-10.5 monthsTo measure the time to progression (TTP) of individual TILs.
Number of Participants With Events Requiring the Discontinuation of Study Drug8.5-10.5 months1\. Number of participants with events requiring the discontinuation of study drug 1. 75% or greater number of Target injection lesions (TILs) meeting criteria for withdrawal. 2. Identification of high-risk features in one or more TILs during study participation. 3. Persistent discomfort (consecutive weeks of lesion pain, burning, or itching of Grade 2 or more).
Overall Clinical Response Rate - Targeted Lesions.8.5-10.5 monthsOverall clinical response rate (CR+PR) of individual TILs with talimogene laherparepvec (not as overall subject response).
Percentage of Participants With Overall Clinical Response Rate - Non-injected Lesion(s).8.5-10.5 monthsPercentage of Participants with overall clinical response rate (CR+PR) in cSCC Target non-injected lesion(s) (TNILs).
Number of Safety Adverse Events (SAE) as Assessed According to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 4.08.5-10.5 months1\. Number of safety adverse events (SAE) as assessed according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 4.0 a. Clinically significant laboratory values i. Clinically significant laboratory values are based on participant condition and side effect. These will vary and will be determined by the clinical judgement of the research healthcare provider. Note: laboratory values will be collected for initial participant screening and side effects only, no other clinical laboratory values are scheduled in this protocol.
Overall Response Rate by Ultrasound.Baseline and 4-5 monthsOverall response rate (ORR) (CR+PR) assessed by imaging technique (high frequency ultrasound). The subjects received ultrasound assessments of their TILs at baseline/screening visit (0), and at visit 6 (first follow up visit, approximately 4-5 months from baseline).The tumor volume change was assessed between the 2 visits, and percent of subjects with tumor volume reduction was reported.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)
The subject participation period was approximately 48 weeks. This included a screening visit, 4 injection visits and 5 follow up visits. Total length of study/patient was 8.5 to 10.5 months. TVEC was administered by injection with a needle directly into one or more tumors.
11
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)
The subject participation period was approximately 48 weeks. This included a screening visit, 4 injection visits and 5 follow up visits. Total length of study/patient was 8.5 to 10.5 months. TVEC was administered by injection with a needle directly into one or more tumors.
24
Total35

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
11 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
0 Participants
Age, Continuous75.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Number of TILs per participant
1 TIL
4 Participants
Number of TILs per participant
2 TILs
4 Participants
Number of TILs per participant
4 TILs
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
11 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
11 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
6 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants
Tumor subtype of TILs
Keratoacanthoma
3 Target Injected Lesions
Tumor subtype of TILs
Non-keratoacanthoma
21 Target Injected Lesions

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 11
other
Total, other adverse events
9 / 11
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 11

Outcome results

Primary

Overall Response Rate

The primary end point is to evaluate the overall response rate (ORR) defined as proportion of subjects who achieved complete response (CR) and partial response (PR) in the cSCC Target injected lesions (TILs).

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

Population: All participants who received at least one dose of treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Overall Response RateOverall Response Rate (ORR)11 Participants
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Overall Response RatePartial Response (PR)1 Participants
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Overall Response RateComplete Response (CR)10 Participants
p-value: 0.0005One-sample binomial test
Secondary

Assess Durable Response.

Assess durable response rate (DRR) of TILs. DRR was assessed when the time of CR or PR with response lasting continuously for at least 6 months.

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

Population: All TILs across 11 patients enrolled on the trial that received at least one dose of treatment (24 TILs total).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Assess Durable Response.83.3 Percentage of individual TILs with DRR
Secondary

Duration of Overall Response.

To measure the duration of overall response (DOR) of individual TILs.

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

Population: All TILs across 11 patients enrolled on the trial that received at least one dose of treatment (24 TILs total).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Duration of Overall Response.201.4 DaysStandard Deviation 29.6
Secondary

Number of Participants With Events Requiring the Discontinuation of Study Drug

1\. Number of participants with events requiring the discontinuation of study drug 1. 75% or greater number of Target injection lesions (TILs) meeting criteria for withdrawal. 2. Identification of high-risk features in one or more TILs during study participation. 3. Persistent discomfort (consecutive weeks of lesion pain, burning, or itching of Grade 2 or more).

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Number of Participants With Events Requiring the Discontinuation of Study DrugTILs meeting criteria for withdrawal0 Participants
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Number of Participants With Events Requiring the Discontinuation of Study DrugIdentification of high-risk features0 Participants
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Number of Participants With Events Requiring the Discontinuation of Study DrugPersistent discomfort0 Participants
Secondary

Number of Safety Adverse Events (SAE) as Assessed According to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 4.0

1\. Number of safety adverse events (SAE) as assessed according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 4.0 a. Clinically significant laboratory values i. Clinically significant laboratory values are based on participant condition and side effect. These will vary and will be determined by the clinical judgement of the research healthcare provider. Note: laboratory values will be collected for initial participant screening and side effects only, no other clinical laboratory values are scheduled in this protocol.

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Number of Safety Adverse Events (SAE) as Assessed According to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 4.021 Number of safety adverse events assessed
Secondary

Overall Clinical Response Rate - Targeted Lesions.

Overall clinical response rate (CR+PR) of individual TILs with talimogene laherparepvec (not as overall subject response).

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

Population: All TILs across 11 patients enrolled on the trial that received at least one dose of treatment (24 TILs total).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Overall Clinical Response Rate - Targeted Lesions.ORR of individual TILs24 Count of TILs
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Overall Clinical Response Rate - Targeted Lesions.PR of individual TILs1 Count of TILs
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Overall Clinical Response Rate - Targeted Lesions.CR of individual TILs23 Count of TILs
Secondary

Overall Response Rate by Ultrasound.

Overall response rate (ORR) (CR+PR) assessed by imaging technique (high frequency ultrasound). The subjects received ultrasound assessments of their TILs at baseline/screening visit (0), and at visit 6 (first follow up visit, approximately 4-5 months from baseline).The tumor volume change was assessed between the 2 visits, and percent of subjects with tumor volume reduction was reported.

Time frame: Baseline and 4-5 months

Population: The barriers for collecting this data in clinic was both due to the COVID-19 pandemic and limited staffing at the lead institution's imaging department.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Overall Response Rate by Ultrasound.60 Percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Overall Clinical Response Rate - Non-injected Lesion(s).

Percentage of Participants with overall clinical response rate (CR+PR) in cSCC Target non-injected lesion(s) (TNILs).

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

Population: Target, non-injected lesions of participants who received at least one dose of treatment in a TIL. Only 2 participants had non-injected lesions and received at least one dose of treatment in a TIL.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Percentage of Participants With Overall Clinical Response Rate - Non-injected Lesion(s).100 Percentage of participants
Secondary

Time of Response.

To measure time of response in cSCC individual TILs.

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

Population: All TILs across 11 patients enrolled on the trial that received at least one dose of treatment (24 TILs total).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Time of Response.48.7 DaysStandard Deviation 29.2
Secondary

Time to Progression.

To measure the time to progression (TTP) of individual TILs.

Time frame: 8.5-10.5 months

Population: All TILs across 11 patients enrolled on the trial that received at least one dose of treatment (24 TILs total).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Talimogene Laherparepvec)Time to Progression.NA Days

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026