Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy, Colorectal Cancer
Conditions
Keywords
Metastatic, Colorectal, Cancer, Metastatic Colorectal Cancer, Oxaliplatin induced CIPN, CIPN, Oxaliplatin
Brief summary
This study evaluates the investigational drug PledOx in the prevention of chronic chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy (CIPN) induced by the drug oxaliplatin.
Detailed description
Oxaliplatin, in combination with 5-fluorouracil plus folinate (or capecitabine), has increased survival in stage III colorectal cancer and prolonged life in stage IV patients, but its use is compromised because of severe toxicity. Chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy (CIPN) is the most problematic dose-limiting toxicity of oxaliplatin. No treatments have been clinically proven to prevent CIPN. There is a body of evidence that CIPN is caused by cellular oxidative stress. Clinical and preclinical data suggest that the manganese chelate and superoxide dismutase mimetic mangafodipir (MnDPDP) and calmangafodipir (\[Ca0.8,Mn0.2\]Na3DPDP) are efficacious inhibitors of CIPN and other conditions caused by cellular oxidative stress, without interfering negatively with the tumoricidal activity of chemotherapy. This is a Phase 3, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled study to establish the efficacious dose of PledOx in prevention of chronic CIPN induced by oxaliplatin. Patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC), who are indicated for first-line modified FOLFOX6 (mFOLFOX6) chemotherapy for at least 3 months, without any pre-planned treatment breaks, will be randomized in a 1:1:1 ratio, stratified by region (Asia, non-Asia) and PK sub-study (yes, no), to one of three treatment arms: * Arm A: PledOx (2 µmol/kg) + mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy * Arm B: PledOx (5 µmol/kg) + mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy * Arm C: Placebo + mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy Before March 2nd., 2020, the Investigational Medicinal Product, (IMP; i.e. PledOx or placebo) was administered by an intravenous infusion on the first day of each chemotherapy (mFOLFOX6) cycle. IMP was not to be administered if mFOLFOX6 was not given to the patient. If a patient later discontinues oxaliplatin, treatment with 5-FU/folinate may be continued. The addition of an appropriate biologic therapy (bevacizumab, panitumumab, cetuximab) will be left to the discretion of the Investigator. As of March 2nd., all patients have to stop IMP but may continue mFOLFOX 6
Interventions
Solution in 20 mL single dose glass vials
Solution in 20 mL single dose glass vials
Solution in 20 mL single dose glass vials
Sponsors
Study design
Intervention model description
This is a Phase 3, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled study to establish the efficacious dose of PledOx in prevention of chronic chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy (CIPN) induced by oxaliplatin. Patients with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC), who are indicated for first-line modified FOLFOX6 (mFOLFOX6) chemotherapy for at least 3 months, without any pre-planned treatment breaks, will be randomized in a 1:1:1 ratio, stratified by region (Asia, non-Asia) and PK sub-study (yes, no) to one of three treatment arms: * Arm A: PledOx (2 µmol/kg) + mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy * Arm B: PledOx (5 µmol/kg) + m * Arm C: Placebo + mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* Signed informed consent form before any study related assessments and willing to follow all study procedures. * Male or female aged \>=18 years. * Non-resectable metastatic (stage IV) CRC, pathologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum. * No prior chemotherapy (within the previous 12 months) and/or biologic/targeted therapy for mCRC. * Measurable disease according to RECIST 1.1. * Patient indicated for at least 3 months of oxaliplatin-based chemotherapy (without any pre-planned treatment breaks) and without any clinically observed neurological disorders. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1. * Adequate hematological parameters: hemoglobin \>=100 g/L, absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>=1.5 x 10\^9 /L, platelets \>=100 x 10\^9 /L. * Adequate renal function: creatinine clearance \>50 cc/min using the Cockroft and Gault formula or measured. * Adequate hepatic function: total bilirubin \<=1.5 times the upper limit of normal (ULN) (except in the case of known Gilbert's syndrome); aspartate aminotransferase (AST) and alanine aminotransferase (ALT) \<=3 times ULN (AST and ALT \<=5 times ULN in case of liver metastases). * Baseline blood manganese (Mn) level \<2.0 times ULN. * For patients with a history of diabetes mellitus, HbA1c \<=7%. * Negative pregnancy test for females of child-bearing potential. * For men and females of childbearing potential, use of adequate contraception (oral contraceptives, intrauterine device or barrier method of contraception in conjunction with spermicidal jelly or surgically sterile) while on study drug and for at least 6 months after completion of study therapy.
Exclusion criteria
* Any unresolved toxicity by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version (CTCAE v4.03) \> Grade 1 from previous anti-cancer therapy (including radiotherapy), except alopecia. * Any grade of neuropathy from any cause. * Any evidence of severe or uncontrolled systemic diseases (e.g., unstable or uncompensated respiratory, cardiac, unresolved bowel obstruction, hepatic or renal disease). * Chronic infection or uncontrolled serious illness causing immunodeficiency. * Any history of seizures. * A surgical incision that is not healed. * Significant hemorrhage (\>30 mL/bleeding episode in previous 3 months), hemoptysis (\>5 mL fresh blood in previous 4 weeks) or thrombotic event (including transient ischemic attack) in the previous 12 months if the patient is expected to receive anti-VEGF/VEGFR therapy. * Known hypersensitivity to any of the components of mFOLFOX6 and, if applicable, biological therapies to be used in conjunction with the chemotherapy regimen or any of the excipients of these products. * History of other malignancies (except for adequately treated basal or squamous cell carcinoma or carcinoma in situ) within 5 years, unless the patient has been disease free for that other malignancy for at least 2 years. * Known dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase deficiency. * Pre-existing neurodegenerative disease (e.g., Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, Huntington's) or neuromuscular disorder (e.g., multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, polio, hereditary neuromuscular disease). * Major psychiatric disorder (major depression, psychosis), alcohol and/or drug abuse. * Patients with a history of second or third degree atrioventricular block or a family heredity. * A history of a genetic or familial neuropathy. * Treatment with any investigational drug within 30 days prior to randomization. * Pregnancy, lactation or reluctance to using contraception. * Any other condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, places the patient at undue risk. * Previous exposure to mangafodipir or calmangafodipir. * Welders, mine workers or other workers in occupations (current or past) where high manganese exposure is likely.
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 9 months | Percentage of patients (with moderate or severe chronic CIPN) scoring 3 or 4 in at least 1 of the first 4 items of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity-13-item subscale (FACT/GOG-NTX-13; i.e., FACT/GOG-NTX-4) 9 months after the first dose of IMP (i.e. PledOx or placebo administered on Day 1, Cycle 1 of mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy). The FACT/GOG-13 questionnaire includes 13 items that measure the severity and impact of symptoms of neurotoxicity over the past 7 days. Patients rate each item as 0 (not at all), 1 ( a little bit), 2 (somewhat), 3 (quite a bit) or 4 (very much). These 13 items are summed to create a total score, ranging from 0 to 52, with a higher score representing a worse outcome. The FACT/GOG-NTX-4 is a 4 item subscale targeting numbness, tingling or discomfort in hands and/or feet. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Sensitivity to Touching Cold Items | Baseline and 8 weeks | Mean change from baseline in sensitivity to touching cold items on day 2, Cycle 4 of mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy, as assessed by the Cold Sensitivity Questionnaire (measuring sensitivity when touching or swallowing cold objects/fluid). 10 point scale from 0 meaning no sensitivity/discomfort at all to 10 meaning sensitivity/discomfort as bad as it can be. |
| Cumulative Dose of Oxaliplatin During Chemotherapy | 9 months | Mean cumulative dose of oxaliplatin administered per patient during mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy, 9 months after the first dose of IMP. |
| Vibration Sensitivity on the Lateral Malleolus | Baseline and 9 months | Mean change from baseline in vibration sense, on the lateral malleolus (left and right), using a graduated tuning fork, at 9 months after the first dose of IMP. When the tuning fork was struck against the ball of the thumb, the base of the tuning fork was placed over the appropriate bony surface (i.e., lateral malleolus left and right) and the patient was asked to indicate the moment when the vibration was no longer detected. The intensity at which the patient no longer detected the vibration is reported on a scale of 0 (minimum score, representing the maximum vibration amplitude) to 8 (maximum score, representing the minimum vibration amplitude) |
| Worst Pain in Hands or Feet | Baseline and 9 months | Mean change from baseline in worst pain in hands or feet in the past week, using the Pain Assessment (Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)), at 9 months after the first dose of IMP. The NRS is a 10 point scale with 0 as no pain at all and 10 as pain as bad as you can imagine and evaluates the intensity of pain in hands and feet during the past week. A higher value means worse outcome. |
| Mild, Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 9 months | Percentage of patients (with mild, moderate or severe chronic CIPN) scoring 2, 3 or 4 in at least 1 of the first 4 items of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity-13-item subscale (FACT/GOG-NTX-13; i.e., FACT/GOG-NTX-4) 9 months after the first dose of IMP (i.e. PledOx or placebo administered on Day 1, Cycle 1 of mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy). The FACT/GOG-13 questionnaire includes 13 items that measure the severity and impact of symptoms of neurotoxicity over the past 7 days. Patients rate each item as 0 (not at all), 1 ( a little bit), 2 (somewhat), 3 (quite a bit) or 4 (very much). These 13 items are summed to create a total score, ranging from 0 to 52, with a higher score representing a worse outcome. The FACT/GOG-NTX-4 is a 4 item subscale targeting numbness, tingling or discomfort in hands and/or feet. |
| Overall Response Rate (ORR) | 12, 15 and 18 months | Percentage of patients with an overall response (complete response or partial response) according to RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by CT (preferred) or MRI. Complete response=disappearance of all target lesions; partial response \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions. |
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) | Analyses at 12 and 24 months were planned; the analysis was performed once based on available data at cut-off 31 August 2020 as the study was terminated early by the Sponsor | Patients with progression-free survival |
| Overall Survival (OS) | An analysis at 36 months was planned. The analysis was performed based on available data at cut-off 31 August 2020 as the study was terminated early by the Sponsor | Patients with overall survival |
| Functional Impairment (in the Non-dominant Hand) | Baseline and 9 months | Mean change from baseline in the time to complete the grooved Pegboard with the non-dominant hand, at 9 months after the first dose of IMP. |
Countries
Belgium, Czechia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States
Participant flow
Recruitment details
Patients were recruited in the US, EU and Asia between 2018 and 1 March 2020. The Sponsor placed recruitment/dosing in the POLAR program on hold following interactions with the French regulatory authority and a US clinical hold of the study on 23 January 2020. As of 2 March 2020, no more patients were enrolled or IMP administered. Enrolled patients were followed until the data cut-off date of 31 August 2020 and these patients have been assigned as completed in the disposition.
Pre-assignment details
386 patients were screened in the 28 days before the start of treatment, 291 were randomised and 285 were treated.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) Calmangafodipir (2 µmol/kg) on day 1 every two weeks to patients as an intravenous infusion, combined with mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy.
Calmangafodipir (2 µmol/kg): Solution in 20 mL single dose glass vial | 96 |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) Calmangafodipir (5 µmol/kg) on day 1 every two weeks to patients as an intravenous infusion, combined with mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy.
Calmangafodipir (5 µmol/kg): Solution in 20 mL single dose glass vial | 93 |
| Placebo Placebo will be given to patients as an intravenous infusion, on top of mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy.
Placebo: Solution in 20 mL single dose glass vial | 96 |
| Total | 285 |
Withdrawals & dropouts
| Period | Reason | FG000 | FG001 | FG002 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overall Study | Death | 9 | 9 | 16 |
| Overall Study | Lost to Follow-up | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Overall Study | Non-compliance with study drug | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Overall Study | Not reported | 2 | 4 | 5 |
| Overall Study | Physician Decision | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Overall Study | Progressive disease | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Overall Study | Protocol Violation | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Overall Study | Site terminated by Sponsor | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Overall Study | Study terminated by Sponsor | 3 | 5 | 4 |
| Overall Study | Withdrawal by Subject | 8 | 6 | 4 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Total | PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Continuous | 62.9 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.6 | 62.7 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.9 | 63.5 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.5 | 61.6 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.4 |
| Body Mass Index | 24.20 kg/m^2 | 24.00 kg/m^2 | 23.60 kg/m^2 | 24.00 kg/m^2 |
| ECOG performance status 0 | 62 Participants | 180 Participants | 65 Participants | 53 Participants |
| ECOG performance status 1 | 31 Participants | 103 Participants | 31 Participants | 41 Participants |
| ECOG performance status Unknown | 0 Participants | 2 Participants | 0 Participants | 2 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 40 Participants | 120 Participants | 41 Participants | 39 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 1 Participants | 2 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 7 Participants | 18 Participants | 6 Participants | 5 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 45 Participants | 145 Participants | 49 Participants | 51 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 43 Participants | 119 Participants | 36 Participants | 40 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 50 Participants | 166 Participants | 60 Participants | 56 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk | EG002 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | 9 / 96 | 9 / 93 | 16 / 96 |
| other Total, other adverse events | 93 / 96 | 91 / 93 | 95 / 96 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 27 / 96 | 21 / 93 | 24 / 96 |
Outcome results
Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN)
Percentage of patients (with moderate or severe chronic CIPN) scoring 3 or 4 in at least 1 of the first 4 items of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity-13-item subscale (FACT/GOG-NTX-13; i.e., FACT/GOG-NTX-4) 9 months after the first dose of IMP (i.e. PledOx or placebo administered on Day 1, Cycle 1 of mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy). The FACT/GOG-13 questionnaire includes 13 items that measure the severity and impact of symptoms of neurotoxicity over the past 7 days. Patients rate each item as 0 (not at all), 1 ( a little bit), 2 (somewhat), 3 (quite a bit) or 4 (very much). These 13 items are summed to create a total score, ranging from 0 to 52, with a higher score representing a worse outcome. The FACT/GOG-NTX-4 is a 4 item subscale targeting numbness, tingling or discomfort in hands and/or feet.
Time frame: 9 months
Population: Modified ITT (mITT) analysis set including patients that fulfilled at least one of the following criteria:~* the patient was randomized prior to 1 Dec 2019 (i.e. the patient was eligible for at least 3 months of IMP) and had at least one post-baseline assessment for efficacy, or~* the 3 month Assessment Visit occurred prior to 1 Mar 2020, or~* the patient received the 6th cycle of IMP after 1 Mar 2020.
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 31 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 27 Participants |
| Placebo | Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 25 Participants |
Cumulative Dose of Oxaliplatin During Chemotherapy
Mean cumulative dose of oxaliplatin administered per patient during mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy, 9 months after the first dose of IMP.
Time frame: 9 months
Population: Modified ITT (mITT) analysis set including patients that fulfilled at least one of the following criteria:~* the patient was randomized prior to 1 Dec 2019 (i.e. the patient was eligible for at least 3 months of IMP) and had at least one post-baseline assessment for efficacy, or~* the 3 month Assessment Visit occurred prior to 1 Mar 2020, or~* the patient received the 6th cycle of IMP after 1 Mar 2020.
| Arm | Measure | Value (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Cumulative Dose of Oxaliplatin During Chemotherapy | 780.69 mg/m^2 |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Cumulative Dose of Oxaliplatin During Chemotherapy | 803.54 mg/m^2 |
| Placebo | Cumulative Dose of Oxaliplatin During Chemotherapy | 764.52 mg/m^2 |
Functional Impairment (in the Non-dominant Hand)
Mean change from baseline in the time to complete the grooved Pegboard with the non-dominant hand, at 9 months after the first dose of IMP.
Time frame: Baseline and 9 months
Population: Modified ITT (mITT) analysis set including patients that fulfilled at least one of the following criteria:~* the patient was randomized prior to 1 Dec 2019 (i.e. the patient was eligible for at least 3 months of IMP) and had at least one post-baseline assessment for efficacy, or~* the 3 month Assessment Visit occurred prior to 1 Mar 2020, or~* the patient received the 6th cycle of IMP after 1 Mar 2020.
| Arm | Measure | Value (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Functional Impairment (in the Non-dominant Hand) | 9.68 seconds |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Functional Impairment (in the Non-dominant Hand) | 14.24 seconds |
| Placebo | Functional Impairment (in the Non-dominant Hand) | 12.01 seconds |
Mild, Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN)
Percentage of patients (with mild, moderate or severe chronic CIPN) scoring 2, 3 or 4 in at least 1 of the first 4 items of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy/Gynecologic Oncology Group-Neurotoxicity-13-item subscale (FACT/GOG-NTX-13; i.e., FACT/GOG-NTX-4) 9 months after the first dose of IMP (i.e. PledOx or placebo administered on Day 1, Cycle 1 of mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy). The FACT/GOG-13 questionnaire includes 13 items that measure the severity and impact of symptoms of neurotoxicity over the past 7 days. Patients rate each item as 0 (not at all), 1 ( a little bit), 2 (somewhat), 3 (quite a bit) or 4 (very much). These 13 items are summed to create a total score, ranging from 0 to 52, with a higher score representing a worse outcome. The FACT/GOG-NTX-4 is a 4 item subscale targeting numbness, tingling or discomfort in hands and/or feet.
Time frame: 9 months
Population: Modified ITT (mITT) analysis set including patients that fulfilled at least one of the following criteria:~* the patient was randomized prior to 1 Dec 2019 (i.e. the patient was eligible for at least 3 months of IMP) and had at least one post-baseline assessment for efficacy, or~* the 3 month Assessment Visit occurred prior to 1 Mar 2020, or~* the patient received the 6th cycle of IMP after 1 Mar 2020.
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Mild, Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 43 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Mild, Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 40 Participants |
| Placebo | Mild, Moderate or Severe Chronic Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) | 42 Participants |
Overall Response Rate (ORR)
Percentage of patients with an overall response (complete response or partial response) according to RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by CT (preferred) or MRI. Complete response=disappearance of all target lesions; partial response \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions.
Time frame: 12, 15 and 18 months
Population: The safety analysis set consisting of all randomized patients who received at least one dose of IMP. The overall number analyzed represents the total in the safety population treated at the start of the study. ORR was assessed throughout the study when varying numbers of patients in each group remained on study
| Arm | Measure | Group | Category | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | Missing | 22 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | Yes | 1 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | Yes | 13 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | No | 6 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | No | 2 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | Yes | 6 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | No | 7 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | Missing | 9 Participants |
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | Missing | 1 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | Missing | 14 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | No | 7 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | Yes | 2 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | Missing | 19 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | No | 13 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | Yes | 12 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | Missing | 3 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | No | 3 Participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | Yes | 0 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | Yes | 2 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | Missing | 7 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | Missing | 1 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 15 | No | 3 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | Yes | 1 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | No | 12 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | Missing | 19 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 18 | No | 0 Participants |
| Placebo | Overall Response Rate (ORR) | Month 12 | Yes | 8 Participants |
Overall Survival (OS)
Patients with overall survival
Time frame: An analysis at 36 months was planned. The analysis was performed based on available data at cut-off 31 August 2020 as the study was terminated early by the Sponsor
Population: Safety analysis set consisting of all randomized patients who received at least one dose of IMP. Patients were analyzed according to the study treatment they actually received.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Overall Survival (OS) | 9 participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Overall Survival (OS) | 9 participants |
| Placebo | Overall Survival (OS) | 16 participants |
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
Patients with progression-free survival
Time frame: Analyses at 12 and 24 months were planned; the analysis was performed once based on available data at cut-off 31 August 2020 as the study was terminated early by the Sponsor
Population: Safety analysis set consisting of all randomized patients who received at least one dose of IMP. Patients were analyzed according to the study treatment they actually received.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 40 participants |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 36 participants |
| Placebo | Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 36 participants |
Sensitivity to Touching Cold Items
Mean change from baseline in sensitivity to touching cold items on day 2, Cycle 4 of mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy, as assessed by the Cold Sensitivity Questionnaire (measuring sensitivity when touching or swallowing cold objects/fluid). 10 point scale from 0 meaning no sensitivity/discomfort at all to 10 meaning sensitivity/discomfort as bad as it can be.
Time frame: Baseline and 8 weeks
Population: Modified ITT (mITT) analysis set including patients that fulfilled at least one of the following criteria:~* the patient was randomized prior to 1 Dec 2019 (i.e. the patient was eligible for at least 3 months of IMP) and had at least one post-baseline assessment for efficacy, or~* the 3 month Assessment Visit occurred prior to 1 Mar 2020, or~* the patient received the 6th cycle of IMP after 1 Mar 2020.
| Arm | Measure | Value (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Sensitivity to Touching Cold Items | 3.88 Scores on a scale |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Sensitivity to Touching Cold Items | 4.13 Scores on a scale |
| Placebo | Sensitivity to Touching Cold Items | 3.41 Scores on a scale |
Vibration Sensitivity on the Lateral Malleolus
Mean change from baseline in vibration sense, on the lateral malleolus (left and right), using a graduated tuning fork, at 9 months after the first dose of IMP. When the tuning fork was struck against the ball of the thumb, the base of the tuning fork was placed over the appropriate bony surface (i.e., lateral malleolus left and right) and the patient was asked to indicate the moment when the vibration was no longer detected. The intensity at which the patient no longer detected the vibration is reported on a scale of 0 (minimum score, representing the maximum vibration amplitude) to 8 (maximum score, representing the minimum vibration amplitude)
Time frame: Baseline and 9 months
Population: Modified ITT (mITT) analysis set including patients that fulfilled at least one of the following criteria:~* the patient was randomized prior to 1 Dec 2019 (i.e. the patient was eligible for at least 3 months of IMP) and had at least one post-baseline assessment for efficacy, or~* the 3 month Assessment Visit occurred prior to 1 Mar 2020, or~* the patient received the 6th cycle of IMP after 1 Mar 2020.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Vibration Sensitivity on the Lateral Malleolus | -1.53 Scores on a scale | Standard Deviation 2.06 |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Vibration Sensitivity on the Lateral Malleolus | -1.61 Scores on a scale | Standard Deviation 2.09 |
| Placebo | Vibration Sensitivity on the Lateral Malleolus | -1.36 Scores on a scale | Standard Deviation 1.68 |
Worst Pain in Hands or Feet
Mean change from baseline in worst pain in hands or feet in the past week, using the Pain Assessment (Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)), at 9 months after the first dose of IMP. The NRS is a 10 point scale with 0 as no pain at all and 10 as pain as bad as you can imagine and evaluates the intensity of pain in hands and feet during the past week. A higher value means worse outcome.
Time frame: Baseline and 9 months
Population: Modified ITT (mITT) analysis set including patients that fulfilled at least one of the following criteria:~* the patient was randomized prior to 1 Dec 2019 (i.e. the patient was eligible for at least 3 months of IMP) and had at least one post-baseline assessment for efficacy, or~* the 3 month Assessment Visit occurred prior to 1 Mar 2020, or~* the patient received the 6th cycle of IMP after 1 Mar 2020.
| Arm | Measure | Value (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN) |
|---|---|---|
| PledOx (2 µmol/kg) | Worst Pain in Hands or Feet | 2.19 Scores on a scale |
| PledOx (5 µmol/kg) | Worst Pain in Hands or Feet | 1.58 Scores on a scale |
| Placebo | Worst Pain in Hands or Feet | 1.92 Scores on a scale |