Skip to content

M7824 Versus Pembrolizumab as a First-line (1L) Treatment in Participants With Programmed Death-ligand 1 (PD-L1) Expressing Advanced Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

An Adaptive Phase III, Multicenter, Randomized, Open-Label, Controlled Study of M7824 (Bintrafusp Alfa) Versus Pembrolizumab as a First-line Treatment in Patients With PD-L1 Expressing Advanced Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03631706
Enrollment
304
Registered
2018-08-15
Start date
2018-10-01
Completion date
2024-06-25
Last updated
2025-04-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

Keywords

M7824, Pembrolizumab, PD-L1-tumor Expression, INTR@PID Lung 037, Bintrafusp alfa

Brief summary

The purpose of the study is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of bintrafusp alfa (M7824) compared with pembrolizumab in participants with advanced NSCLC with high PD-L1-tumor expression, with no epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) mutation or anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) translocation. The Phase III adaptive design allows for the option to recruit up to 584 patients based on pre-specified rules.

Interventions

DRUGM7824

Participants received intravenous infusion of M7824 at a dose of 1200 milligrams (mg) once every 2 weeks until confirmed progression of disease, death, unacceptable toxicity, or study withdrawal.

DRUGPembrolizumab

Pembrolizumab: Participants received intravenous infusion of Pembrolizumab at a dose of 200 milligrams (mg) once every 3 weeks until confirmed progression of disease, death, unacceptable toxicity, or study withdrawal.

Sponsors

Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
EMD Serono Research & Development Institute, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically confirmed diagnosis of advanced NSCLC * Have not received prior systemic therapy treatment for their advanced/Stage four NSCLC. Completion of treatment with cytotoxic chemotherapy, biological therapy, and/or radiation as part of neoadjuvant/adjuvant therapy is allowed as long as therapy was completed at least 6 months prior to the diagnosis of metastatic disease. Confirmation of resolution of toxic effects of previous neoadjuvant/adjuvant chemotherapy therapy to Grade less than or equal to 1. For radiation toxicity or prior major surgeries, participants should have recovered from side effects and/or complications * Have measurable disease based on RECIST 1.1 * Have a life expectancy of at least 3 months * Availability of tumor tissue (less than 6 months old) before the first dose is mandatory to determine PD-L1 expression level prior to enrollment * PD-L1 high status as determined by central testing * Other protocol defined inclusion criteria could apply

Exclusion criteria

* Participants with nonsquamous NSCLC histologies whose tumor harbors any of the following molecular alterations and targeted therapy is locally approved: epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) sensitizing (activating) mutation, anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) translocation, ROS1 rearrangement, or BRAF V600E mutation * Has received major surgery within 4 weeks prior to the first dose of study intervention; received thoracic radiation therapy of greater than 30 units of gray (Gy) within 6 months prior to the first dose of study * Known severe hypersensitivity to investigational products (M7824 or pembrolizumab), or any components in their formulations * Previous malignant disease (other than the target malignancy to be investigated in this study) within the last 3 years * Other protocol defined

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-Free Survival (PFS) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST Version 1.1) Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)Time from randomization of study drug until the first documentation of PD or death, assessed approximately up to 746 daysProgression free survival was defined as the time from randomization of study intervention until the first documentation of disease progression (PD) or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: At least a 20 percent (%) increase in the sum of the longest diameter (SLD) taking as reference the smallest SLD recorded from baseline or the appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
Overall Survival (OS)Time from randomization of study drug assessed approximately up to 843 daysOverall Survival was defined as the time from randomization of study intervention to the date of death due to any cause. The overall survival was analyzed by using the Kaplan-Meier method.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0Time from first treatment assessed up to approximately 843 daysAdverse Event (AE) was defined any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered with a study drug, which does not necessarily had a causal relationship with this treatment. Serious AE was defined AE that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death; life threatening; persistent/significant disability/incapacity; initial/prolonged inpatient hospitalization; congenital anomaly/birth defect. TEAEs: TEAEs was defined as events with onset date or worsening during the on treatment period. TEAEs included serious AEs and non-serious AEs. Treatment-related TEAEs: reasonably related to the study intervention.
Percentage of Participants With Unconfirmed Best Overall Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)Time from randomization of study drug until the first documentation of PD or death, assessed approximately up to 746 daysPercentage of participants with unconfirmed best overall response that is at least one overall assessment of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) reported here.
Duration of Response (DOR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)From first documented objective response to PD or death due to any cause, assessed approximately up to 746 daysDOR was defined for participants with objective response, as the time from first documentation of objective response (Complete Response \[CR\] or Partial Response \[PR\]) to the date of first documentation of progression disease (PD) or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. CR: Disappearance of all evidence of target and non-target lesions. PR: At least 30% reduction from baseline in the SLD of all lesions. PD: At least a 20 percent (%) increase in the SLD, taking as reference the smallest SLD recorded from baseline or the appearance of 1 or more new lesions. DOR was determined according to RECIST v1.1 and assessed by IRC. Results were calculated based on Kaplan-Meier estimates.

Countries

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey (Türkiye), Ukraine, United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
M7824
Participants received intravenous infusion of M7824 at a dose of 1200 milligrams (mg) once every 2 weeks until confirmed progression of disease, death, unacceptable toxicity, or study withdrawal.
152
Pembrolizumab
Participants received intravenous infusion of Pembrolizumab at a dose of 200 milligrams (mg) once every 3 weeks until confirmed progression of disease, death, unacceptable toxicity, or study withdrawal.
152
Total304

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyRandomized, not treated10

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPembrolizumabTotalM7824
Age, Continuous67 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.17
67 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.85
67 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.56
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
11 Participants24 Participants13 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
138 Participants276 Participants138 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants4 Participants1 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Asian
55 Participants105 Participants50 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Black or African American
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Other
4 Participants7 Participants3 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Unknown or Not Reported
14 Participants21 Participants7 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
White
79 Participants170 Participants91 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
36 Participants78 Participants42 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
116 Participants226 Participants110 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
49 / 15143 / 152
other
Total, other adverse events
140 / 151135 / 152
serious
Total, serious adverse events
90 / 15161 / 152

Outcome results

Primary

Overall Survival (OS)

Overall Survival was defined as the time from randomization of study intervention to the date of death due to any cause. The overall survival was analyzed by using the Kaplan-Meier method.

Time frame: Time from randomization of study drug assessed approximately up to 843 days

Population: Full analysis set included all participants who were randomized to study intervention.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
M7824Overall Survival (OS)21.1 months
PembrolizumabOverall Survival (OS)22.1 months
Primary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST Version 1.1) Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)

Progression free survival was defined as the time from randomization of study intervention until the first documentation of disease progression (PD) or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. PD: At least a 20 percent (%) increase in the sum of the longest diameter (SLD) taking as reference the smallest SLD recorded from baseline or the appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: Time from randomization of study drug until the first documentation of PD or death, assessed approximately up to 746 days

Population: Full analysis set included all participants who were randomized to study intervention.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
M7824Progression-Free Survival (PFS) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST Version 1.1) Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)7.0 months
PembrolizumabProgression-Free Survival (PFS) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST Version 1.1) Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)11.1 months
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)

DOR was defined for participants with objective response, as the time from first documentation of objective response (Complete Response \[CR\] or Partial Response \[PR\]) to the date of first documentation of progression disease (PD) or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. CR: Disappearance of all evidence of target and non-target lesions. PR: At least 30% reduction from baseline in the SLD of all lesions. PD: At least a 20 percent (%) increase in the SLD, taking as reference the smallest SLD recorded from baseline or the appearance of 1 or more new lesions. DOR was determined according to RECIST v1.1 and assessed by IRC. Results were calculated based on Kaplan-Meier estimates.

Time frame: From first documented objective response to PD or death due to any cause, assessed approximately up to 746 days

Population: Full analysis set included all participants who were randomized to study intervention. Here, Overall Number of Participants Analyzed signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
M7824Duration of Response (DOR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)NA months
PembrolizumabDuration of Response (DOR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)NA months
Secondary

Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0

Adverse Event (AE) was defined any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered with a study drug, which does not necessarily had a causal relationship with this treatment. Serious AE was defined AE that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death; life threatening; persistent/significant disability/incapacity; initial/prolonged inpatient hospitalization; congenital anomaly/birth defect. TEAEs: TEAEs was defined as events with onset date or worsening during the on treatment period. TEAEs included serious AEs and non-serious AEs. Treatment-related TEAEs: reasonably related to the study intervention.

Time frame: Time from first treatment assessed up to approximately 843 days

Population: Safety analysis set included all participants who were administered at least one dose of M7824 or Pembrolizumab.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
M7824Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0Participants with any TEAE150 Participants
M7824Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0Participants with any serious TEAE90 Participants
M7824Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0Participants with any Treatment Related TEAEs124 Participants
PembrolizumabNumber of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0Participants with any TEAE145 Participants
PembrolizumabNumber of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0Participants with any serious TEAE61 Participants
PembrolizumabNumber of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-Related TEAEs According to National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0Participants with any Treatment Related TEAEs105 Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Unconfirmed Best Overall Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)

Percentage of participants with unconfirmed best overall response that is at least one overall assessment of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) reported here.

Time frame: Time from randomization of study drug until the first documentation of PD or death, assessed approximately up to 746 days

Population: Full analysis set included all participants who were randomized to study intervention.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
M7824Percentage of Participants With Unconfirmed Best Overall Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)46.7 percentage of participants
PembrolizumabPercentage of Participants With Unconfirmed Best Overall Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as Assessed by Independent Review Committee (IRC)51.3 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 28, 2026