Skip to content

Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics Study of AMG 890 in Subjects With Elevated Plasma Lipoprotein(a)

A Phase 1, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled, Single Ascending Dose Study to Evaluate the Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics of AMG 890 in Subjects With Elevated Plasma Lipoprotein(a)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03626662
Enrollment
79
Registered
2018-08-13
Start date
2018-07-30
Completion date
2023-04-18
Last updated
2026-01-28

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cardiovascular Disease

Brief summary

This is a first-in-human, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single ascending dose study in subjects with elevated plasma Lipoprotein(a) \[Lp(a)\]. AMG 890 will be evaluated in approximately 80 subjects to assess safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamic effects.

Interventions

DRUGAMG 890

Ascending Single Doses of AMG 890

DRUGPlacebo

Calculated volume to match experimental drug.

Sponsors

Amgen
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
OTHER
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator)

Masking description

The subjects and the investigative site staff, except for the unblinded pharmacist, will be blinded to treatment assignment.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 70 Years
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* Men and women with ages between 18 and 70 years old, inclusive. * Protocol-defined elevated plasma Lp(a) level. * Body mass index (BMI) greater than or equal to 18 and less than or equal to 40 kg/m2, at screening. * Women must be of non-reproductive potential. * Other Inclusion criteria may apply

Exclusion criteria

* Currently receiving treatment in another investigational device or drug study. * Women who are lactating/breastfeeding or who plan to breastfeed while on study or through 90 days after receiving the last dose of investigational product (for subjects who withdraw prior to end of study). * History or evidence of a clinically significant disorder, condition or disease that would pose a risk to subject safety or interfere with the study evaluation, procedures or completion. * History or clinical evidence of bleeding diathesis or any coagulation disorder. * History or clinical evidence of peripheral neuropathy. * Other

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants Who Experienced Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)From first dose of trial until the end of trial; median (min, max) duration was 8.54 (0.23, 23.92) monthsAn adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical trial participant. A TEAE was defined as any event with onset after the administration of the first dose of investigational product and up to and including the end of treatment date, or end of trial for participants who discontinued the trial during the treatment period. Clinically significant changes in vital signs, electrocardiograms (ECGs), and safety laboratory analytes were included as TEAEs.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of OlpasiranCohorts 1-5:pre-dose, Days 1-4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85 post-dose; Cohorts 6-7:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15 post-dose; Cohort 8:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85, 113 post-dose; Cohort 9:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85, 113, 155 post-doseBlood samples were collected for measurement of serum concentrations of Olpasiran.
Time to Reach Cmax (Tmax) of OlpasiranCohorts 1-5:pre-dose, Days 1-4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85 post-dose; Cohorts 6-7:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15 post-dose; Cohort 8:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85, 113 post-dose; Cohort 9:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85, 113, 155 post-doseBlood samples were collected for measurement of serum concentrations of Olpasiran.
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve (AUC) From Time Zero to the Last Quantifiable Timepoint (AUC0-last) of OlpasiranCohorts 1-5:pre-dose, Days 1-4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85 post-dose; Cohorts 6-7:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15 post-dose; Cohort 8:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85, 113 post-dose; Cohort 9:pre-dose, Days 1, 2, 4, 7, 15, 29, 57, 85, 113, 155 post-doseBlood samples were collected for measurement of serum concentrations of Olpasiran.
Change From Baseline in Plasma Lp(a) LevelsCohorts 1-2:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,18,22,29,43,57,71,85,113;3-5:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,18,22,29,43,57,71,85,113,155,183,225;6-7:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,29,43,57,85,113,155,183,225;8-9:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,29,43,57,85,113,155,183,225,253,281,309,337,365Change from baseline for plasma Lp(a) by cohort and at scheduled time points were presented.
Percent Change From Baseline in Plasma Lp(a) LevelsCohorts 1-2:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,18,22,29,43,57,71,85,113;3-5:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,18,22,29,43,57,71,85,113,155,183,225;6-7:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,29,43,57,85,113,155,183,225;8-9:Baseline,Days 2,4,7,15,29,43,57,85,113,155,183,225,253,281,309,337,365Percent change from baseline for plasma Lp(a) by cohort and at scheduled time points during the treatment period were presented.

Countries

Australia, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORMD

Amgen

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were enrolled at 8 research centers in the United States (US) and Australia between July 2018 and April 2023.

Pre-assignment details

Participants were randomized in a 3:1 ratio to receive either Olpasiran or a volume-matched placebo via subcutaneous (SC) injection, across 9 single ascending dose cohorts.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous52.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
14 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
63 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
29 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
EG007
affected / at risk
EG008
affected / at risk
EG009
affected / at risk
EG010
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 100 / 100 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 90 / 90 / 50 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
5 / 107 / 103 / 63 / 65 / 61 / 60 / 66 / 93 / 94 / 54 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 101 / 100 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 90 / 90 / 50 / 6

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 28, 2026