Skip to content

Phase I/II Eval Safety & Prelim Activity Nivolumab Comb W/Vorolanib Pts W/Refractory Thoracic Tumors

Phase 1/2 Study to Evaluate the Safety and Preliminary Activity of Nivolumab in Combination With Vorolanib in Patients With Refractory Thoracic Tumors

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03583086
Enrollment
88
Registered
2018-07-11
Start date
2018-07-10
Completion date
2024-04-27
Last updated
2024-10-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Non-small Cell Lung Cancer, Refractory Thoracic Tumors, Small-Cell Lung Cancer, Thymic Carcinoma

Brief summary

This is a two-agent, open-label, non-randomized, Phase 1/2 dose escalation and dose expansion study of combinatorial oral vorolanib plus infusional nivolumab in patients with Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer naïve to checkpoint inhibitor therapy, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer who have progressed on checkpoint inhibitor therapy, Small Cell Lung Cancer ( who have progressed on platinum-based chemotherapy, and thymic carcinoma.

Detailed description

Primary Objectives: * Phase I: To assess the safety and tolerability of nivolumab and vorolanib in combination in patients with refractory non small cell lung cancer naïve to checkpoint inhibitor therapy, non small cell lung cancer progressed on prior checkpoint inhibitor therapy considered primary refractory, non small cell lung cancer progressed on prior checkpoint inhibitor therapy considered acquired resistance, small cell lung cancer progressed on platinum-based chemotherapy, and thymic carcinoma. * Phase II: To evaluate the efficacy as measured by response to the combination nivolumab and vorolanib in patients with refractory non small cell lung cancer naïve to checkpoint inhibitor therapy, non small cell lung cancer progressed on prior checkpoint inhibitor therapy considered primary refractory, non small cell lung cancer progressed on prior checkpoint inhibitor therapy considered acquired resistance, small cell lung cancer progressed on platinum-based chemotherapy, and thymic carcinoma as compared to historical controls. Secondary Objectives: * Phase I: To assess antitumor activity as measured by response rate for this novel combination. * Phase II: To assess, safety, progression free survival and overall survival Exploratory Objectives: • To assess the effects of combinatorial treatment on specific pharmacodynamic and pharmacogenetic biomarkers including PD-L1 expression and tumor mutation burden.

Interventions

Given by mouth

BIOLOGICALNivolumab

Given by IV

Sponsors

Bristol-Myers Squibb
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Xcovery Holdings, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Signed and dated written informed consent. * Male or female ≥ 18 years of age. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1. * Having progressed on at least one prior line of therapy, or refused chemotherapy, histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of one of the following: Dose Escalation and Expansion Cohorts: * Checkpoint Inhibitor Naïve Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer patients must have progressed on front-line cytotoxic chemotherapy or have refused chemotherapy and may have received up to three prior treatment regimens for stage IV disease provided no regimens included an anti-PD1 or PD-L1 agent or an oral VEGF TKI. Prior bevacizumab or ramucirumab is allowed. * Progressed on Checkpoint Inhibitor Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer patients must have progressed on front-line or second checkpoint inhibitor therapy and may have received up to three prior treatment regimens for stage IV disease provided no regimens included an oral VEGF TKI. Prior bevacizumab or ramucirumab is allowed. * Patients with EGFR, ALK, ROS1 and BRAF NSCLC must have progressed on an oral TKI and may have received an unlimited number of prior regimens. * Thymic carcinoma patients must not be eligible for surgical resection at the time of enrollment and may have received any number of prior lines of therapy provided no regimens included an anti-PD1 or PD-L1 agent or an oral VEGF TKI. Prior bevacizumab or ramucirumab is allowed. * Small Cell Lung Cancer patients must have progressed on platinum-based chemotherapy and may have received up to three prior lines of therapy for stage IV disease provided no prior regimen included an oral VEGF TKI; prior regimens can include an anti-PD-1 or PD-L1 agent. * At least one measureable lesion as defined by RECIST 1.1 which can be followed by CT or MRI. * Adequate organ function prior to first dose of protocol-indicated treatment, including: * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1,500/µL * Platelets ≥ 100,000/µL * Hemoglobin ≥ 9.0 g/dL * Serum creatinine ≤ 1.5 times institutional upper limit of normal (ULN), or calculated creatinine clearance ≥ 40 mL/min (per the Cockcroft-Gault formula) * Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x ULN (except subjects with Gilbert Syndrome, who must have total bilirubin \< 3.0 mg/dL) * Alanine aminotransferase and aspartate aminotransferase ≤ 2.5 x ULN, (≤ 5.0 x ULN with documented liver metastases) * Women must not be breastfeeding. * Women of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test within 24 hours prior to receiving first dose of protocol-indicated treatment. * Women of childbearing potential is defined as any female who has experienced menarche who has not undergone surgical sterilization (hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy) or is not postmenopausal. * Menopause is defined clinically as 12 months of amenorrhea in a woman over 45 years of age in the absence of other biological or physiological causes. * If menopausal status is considered for the purpose of evaluating childbearing potential, women \< 62 years of age must have a documented serum follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) level within laboratory reference range for postmenopausal women, in order to be considered postmenopausal and not of childbearing potential. * Women of childbearing potential must agree to follow instructions for acceptable contraception Appendix 5 from the time of signing consent, and for 23 weeks after their last dose of protocol-indicated treatment. * Men not azoospermic who are sexually active with women of childbearing potential must agree to follow instructions for acceptable contraception (Appendix 5), from the time of signing consent, and for 31 weeks after their last dose of protocol-indicated treatment.

Exclusion criteria

* ≤ 28 days before first dose of protocol-indicated treatment: * Anti-cancer treatment with bevacizumab. * Major surgery requiring general anesthesia or significant traumatic injury. * ≤ 14 days before first dose of protocol-indicated treatment: * Anti-cancer therapy with an approved or investigational agent (including chemotherapy, hormonal therapy, targeted therapy, immunotherapy, or biological therapy). * Radiosurgery or radiotherapy. (Note: A tumor lesion situated in a previously irradiated area is considered a measureable/target lesion only if subsequent disease progression has been documented in the lesion.) * Initiation of a new erythropoietin, darbepoietin, and/or bisphosphonate therapy. (See Section 9.3.) * Minor surgery. (Note: Placement of a vascular access device is not considered minor or major surgery.) * Serious or uncontrolled infection. * Infection requiring parenteral antibiotics. (Note: Patients with a non-serious infection under active treatment and controlled with oral antibiotics initiated at least 10 days prior to initiation of protocol-indicated treatment are not excluded - e.g. urinary tract infection controlled with oral antibiotics.) * Unexplained fever \> 38.0 ºC. * ≤ 7 days before first dose of protocol-indicated treatment: * Receipt of granulocyte colony-stimulating factor (G-CSF) or granulocyte-macrophage colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF). (See Section 9.3.) * Concurrent use of any medications or substances (e.g. herbal supplement or food) known to be a strong inhibitor or strong inducer of CYP3A4. * Although corticosteroids are considered to be strong inducers of CYP3A4, physiologic replacement doses of corticosteroids ≤ 10 mg daily prednisone or equivalent are allowed (Section 9). * Inadequate recovery from toxicity attributed to prior anti-cancer therapy. * With the exception of alopecia, fatigue, or peripheral neuropathy, patients must have recovered to ≤ Grade 1 (NCI-CTCAE v5.0) residual toxicity prior to first dose of protocol-indicated treatment. * Patients requiring replacement therapy (e.g. prednisone or thyroid replacement therapy) for endocrine disorders from prior checkpoint inhibitor therapy are allowed * Known history of allergy or intolerance which, in the opinion of the investigator, was an unacceptable adverse reaction attributed by the investigator to any prior anti-neoplastic therapy specifically targeting vascular endothelial growth factor or the VEGF receptor. * Known history of allergy or intolerance which, in the opinion of the investigator, was an unacceptable adverse reaction attributed by the investigator to any prior anti-neoplastic therapy specifically targeting T-cell costimulation or immune checkpoint pathways - i.e. nivolumab (OPDIVO), pembrolizumab (KEYTRUDA), atezolizumab (TECENTRIQ), ipilimumab (YERVOY), etc. * Non-healing wounds on any part of the body. * Known or suspected clinically significant active bleeding. * Inability to swallow oral medication; or the presence of a poorly controlled gastrointestinal disorder that could significantly affect the absorption of oral study drug - e.g. Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis, chronic diarrhea (defined as \> 4 loose stools per day), malabsorption, or bowel obstruction. * patients with radiographic evidence of major airway or blood vessel invasion by cancer, radiographic evidence of intra-tumor cavitation, or gross hemoptysis (≥ one teaspoon) within the preceding 2 months. * Significant cardiovascular disease or condition including: * Congestive heart failure (CHF) that is uncontrolled on current therapy. * Class III or IV cardiovascular disease according to the New York Heart Association (NYHA) Functional Criteria. * Uncontrolled arrhythmia. * Severe conduction disturbance (e.g. 3rd degree heart block). * Unstable angina pectoris (i.e. last episode ≤ 6 months prior to first dose of protocol-indicated treatment). * Uncontrolled (per investigator judgment) hypertension. * Myocardial infarction within 6 months prior to starting trial treatment. * QTcF \>450 ms in men, or \>470 ms in women. * Deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolism ≤ 4 weeks before first dose of protocol-indicated treatment, unless adequately treated and stable. * Patients receiving therapeutic non-coumarin anticoagulation are eligible, provided they are on a stable dose (per investigator judgment) of anticoagulant. * Patients with active interstitial lung disease and non-infectious pneumonitis or a history of active interstitial lung disease or pneumonitis requiring treatment with steroids or that may interfere with the detection or management of suspected drug-related pulmonary toxicity. Patients with lung cancer with a remote history (\> 3 months ago) of pneumonitis following chemo-radiation treatment that has resolved are allowed. Note: Patients with Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) whose disease is controlled (per investigator judgment) at trial entry are not excluded. * CNS metastasis, unless asymptomatic and stable with no change in CNS disease status for at least two (2) weeks prior to initiating protocol-indicated treatment. * Anticonvulsant and/or corticosteroid prophylaxis (≤ 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent daily) will be allowed if patient is on a stable or decreasing dose of such treatment for at least 14 days prior to initiating protocol-indicated treatment. * Any condition requiring systemic treatment with either corticosteroids (\> 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent daily) or other immunosuppressive medications within 14 days prior to initiating protocol-indicated treatment. * In the absence of active autoimmune disease: Subjects are permitted the use of corticosteroids with minimal systemic absorption (e.g. topical, ocular, intra-articular, intranasal, and inhalational) ≤ 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent daily; and physiologic replacement doses of systemic corticosteroids ≤ 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent daily (e.g. hormone replacement therapy needed in patients with hypophysitis). * Active, known or suspected autoimmune disease. * Subjects with type I diabetes mellitus; hypothyroidism; or endocrine disorders requiring hormone replacement even if due to prior immunotherapy; skin disorders such as vitiligo, psoriasis or alopecia not requiring systemic treatment; or conditions not expected by the investigator to recur in the absence of an external trigger are permitted to enroll. * Uncontrolled (per investigator judgment) type I or type II diabetes mellitus. * Known positive test for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) or known Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS). * Any active Hepatitis B or Hepatitis C infection. * Hepatitis B and C testing required ≤ 28 days prior to initiating protocol-indicated treatment, including at least: Hepatitis B surface antigen (HBV sAg); and Hepatitis C virus antibody (HCV Ab) or Hepatitis C virus RNA (HCV RNA). * Solid tumor transplantation * Immunization with any attenuated live vaccine within 1 week prior to initiating protocol-indicated treatment. * Active second malignancy or history of a previous second malignancy within the last 2 years that could in the opinion of the investigator interfere with their assessment of study treatment. * Exceptions include the following permitted conditions - provided a complete remission was achieved at least 2 years prior to initiating protocol-indicated treatment AND no additional therapy (with the exception of allowable anti-estrogen/androgen therapy or bisphosphonates) is ongoing or required during the trial period: non-melanoma skin cancers (e.g. basal or squamous cell); superficial bladder cancer; or carcinoma in situ of the prostate, cervix, or breast. * Known psychiatric condition, social circumstance, or other medical condition reasonably judged by the investigator to unacceptably increase the risk of study participation; or to prohibit the understanding or rendering of informed consent or anticipated compliance with and interpretation of scheduled visits, treatment schedule, laboratory tests and other study requirements.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression Free Survival in Phase IIUp to 1 year.Antitumor activity will be assessed by progression free survival. Progression is termined per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). Progression free survival (PFS) is defined as time from on treatment to disease progression or death (whicever comes first). Those without progression and alive were censored at last follow up. Kaplan-meier method is used to estimate the median survival time. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.
Recommended Phase II Combination Dose in Phase I (Per Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Criteria Version 5)At 28 daysMaximum tolerated dose for vorolanib daily combined with 240mg nivolumab every 2 weeks based on 3+3 dose escalation design. When 2 out of 6 patients at one dose experienced dose limiting toxicity, lower dose will be used. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.
Objective Response Rate in Phase II.Up to 1 year.Antitumor activity will be assessed by objective response rate. Best response is determined as complete response(CR), partial response(PR), stable disease and progressive disease based on per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). Objective response rate is the percentage of patients who had a CR or PR. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.
Overall Survival in Phase II.Up to 2 years.Antitumor activity will be assessed by overall survival. Overall survial is defined as the time from on treatment to death. Those alive were censored at last follow up. Kaplan-meier method is used to estimate the median overall survival time. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.
Duration of Response in Phase II.Up to 1 yearDuration of best response among patients who responsed to the treatment. Best response per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). The duration of response was estimated from the first date of best overall response of a complete (CR) or partial response (PR) to the date of disease progression or death, using the Kaplan-Meier method. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.
Disease Control Rate in Phase II. Best Response Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)Up to 1 yearAntitumor activity will be assessed by disease control rate. Best response (complete response,CR; partial response, PR;stable disease , SD; or progression,PD) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). Disease control rate is the percentage of patients who had a CR,PR or SD. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Correlation Between Biomarkers and Response for Phase II PatientsUp to 1 yearAntitumor activity will be assessed by correlation between the biomarkers and clinical outcomes. This is a exploratory end point. To assess the effects of combinatorial treatment on specific pharmacodynamic and pharmacogenetic biomarkers, including but not limited to circulating levels of serum CSF1 and VEGF, protein expression using CyTOF, and multiplex immunofluorescence.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Escalation Level 1 (Vorolanib 200+Nivolumab 240mg)
Participants receive vorolanib PO QD on days 1-56 and nivolumab IV over 30 minutes every two weeks (i.e. on Days 1, 15, 29, and 43 of each 56-day cycle) for the first two treatment cycles. After which, the treatment schedule can change to every four weeks (i.e., on Days 1 and 29 of each 56-day cycle) if the patient is not exhibiting disease progression. Vorolanib: Given by mouth Nivolumab: Given by IV
3
Escalation Level 2 (Vorolanib 300+Nivolumab 240mg)
Participants receive vorolanib PO QD on days 1-56 and nivolumab IV over 30 minutes every two weeks (i.e. on Days 1, 15, 29, and 43 of each 56-day cycle) for the first two treatment cycles. After which, the treatment schedule can change to every four weeks (i.e., on Days 1 and 29 of each 56-day cycle) if the patient is not exhibiting disease progression.
7
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Acquired Resistance
Participants receive vorolanib 200mg PO QD on days 1-56 and nivolumab 240mg IV over 30 minutes every two weeks (i.e. on Days 1, 15, 29, and 43 of each 56-day cycle) for the first two treatment cycles. After which, the treatment schedule can change to every four weeks (i.e., on Days 1 and 29 of each 56-day cycle) if the patient is not exhibiting disease progression. Vorolanib: Given by mouth Nivolumab: Given by IV
19
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Naive
Participants receive vorolanib 200mg PO QD on days 1-56 and nivolumab 240mg IV over 30 minutes every two weeks (i.e. on Days 1, 15, 29, and 43 of each 56-day cycle) for the first two treatment cycles. After which, the treatment schedule can change to every four weeks (i.e., on Days 1 and 29 of each 56-day cycle) if the patient is not exhibiting disease progression. Vorolanib: Given by mouth Nivolumab: Given by IV
15
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Primary Refractory
Participants receive vorolanib 200mg PO QD on days 1-56 and nivolumab 240mg IV over 30 minutes every two weeks (i.e. on Days 1, 15, 29, and 43 of each 56-day cycle) for the first two treatment cycles. After which, the treatment schedule can change to every four weeks (i.e., on Days 1 and 29 of each 56-day cycle) if the patient is not exhibiting disease progression. Vorolanib: Given by mouth Nivolumab: Given by IV
17
Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based Chemotherapy
Participants receive vorolanib 200mg PO QD on days 1-56 and nivolumab 240mg IV over 30 minutes every two weeks (i.e. on Days 1, 15, 29, and 43 of each 56-day cycle) for the first two treatment cycles. After which, the treatment schedule can change to every four weeks (i.e., on Days 1 and 29 of each 56-day cycle) if the patient is not exhibiting disease progression. Vorolanib: Given by mouth Nivolumab: Given by IV
18
Dose Expansion - Thymic Carcinoma
Participants receive vorolanib 200mg PO QD on days 1-56 and nivolumab 240mg IV over 30 minutes every two weeks (i.e. on Days 1, 15, 29, and 43 of each 56-day cycle) for the first two treatment cycles. After which, the treatment schedule can change to every four weeks (i.e., on Days 1 and 29 of each 56-day cycle) if the patient is not exhibiting disease progression. Vorolanib: Given by mouth Nivolumab: Given by IV
9
Total88

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004FG005FG006
Overall StudyAdverse Event0000010
Overall StudyDeath26121014144
Overall StudyDeclining Performance Status0010000
Overall StudyDisease progression0000001
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up0000010
Overall StudyRefused follow-up0010100
Overall StudyStill on study0001001
Overall StudyUndergoing radiation therapy0000001
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject0010001

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalEscalation Level 2 (Vorolanib 300+Nivolumab 240mg)Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Acquired ResistanceDose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer NaiveDose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Primary RefractoryEscalation Level 1 (Vorolanib 200+Nivolumab 240mg)Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based ChemotherapyDose Expansion - Thymic Carcinoma
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
46 Participants3 Participants10 Participants10 Participants9 Participants3 Participants8 Participants3 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
42 Participants4 Participants9 Participants5 Participants8 Participants0 Participants10 Participants6 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
77 Participants7 Participants16 Participants15 Participants12 Participants3 Participants16 Participants8 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
8 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants5 Participants0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
9 Participants0 Participants1 Participants4 Participants1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
6 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants3 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
70 Participants7 Participants17 Participants10 Participants13 Participants3 Participants15 Participants5 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
88 participants7 participants19 participants15 participants17 participants3 participants18 participants9 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
38 Participants5 Participants6 Participants9 Participants9 Participants0 Participants7 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
50 Participants2 Participants13 Participants6 Participants8 Participants3 Participants11 Participants7 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
2 / 36 / 713 / 1912 / 1514 / 1714 / 184 / 9
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 37 / 719 / 1915 / 1517 / 1718 / 189 / 9
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 36 / 79 / 1910 / 159 / 175 / 186 / 9

Outcome results

Primary

Disease Control Rate in Phase II. Best Response Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)

Antitumor activity will be assessed by disease control rate. Best response (complete response,CR; partial response, PR;stable disease , SD; or progression,PD) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). Disease control rate is the percentage of patients who had a CR,PR or SD. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.

Time frame: Up to 1 year

Population: Patients who received 200mg vorolanib daily with 240mg nivolumab every two weeks and were available for measurement of tumor response.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
EscalationDisease Control Rate in Phase II. Best Response Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)44.4 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer NaiveDisease Control Rate in Phase II. Best Response Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)53.3 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Primary RefractoryDisease Control Rate in Phase II. Best Response Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)52.9 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based ChemotherapyDisease Control Rate in Phase II. Best Response Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)11.0 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Thymic CarcinomaDisease Control Rate in Phase II. Best Response Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST)66.7 percentage of participants
Primary

Duration of Response in Phase II.

Duration of best response among patients who responsed to the treatment. Best response per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). The duration of response was estimated from the first date of best overall response of a complete (CR) or partial response (PR) to the date of disease progression or death, using the Kaplan-Meier method. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.

Time frame: Up to 1 year

Population: Patients who received 200mg vorolanib daily with 240mg nivolumab every two weeks, were available for measurement of tumor response, and had partial or complete response. No patients in the Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based Chemotherapy group had a partial or complete response.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EscalationDuration of Response in Phase II.2.7 months
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer NaiveDuration of Response in Phase II.NA months
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Primary RefractoryDuration of Response in Phase II.12.8 months
Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based ChemotherapyDuration of Response in Phase II.NA months
Primary

Objective Response Rate in Phase II.

Antitumor activity will be assessed by objective response rate. Best response is determined as complete response(CR), partial response(PR), stable disease and progressive disease based on per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). Objective response rate is the percentage of patients who had a CR or PR. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.

Time frame: Up to 1 year.

Population: Patients who received 200mg vorolanib daily with 240mg nivolumab every two weeks and were available for measurement of tumor response.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
EscalationObjective Response Rate in Phase II.11.1 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer NaiveObjective Response Rate in Phase II.33 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Primary RefractoryObjective Response Rate in Phase II.5.9 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based ChemotherapyObjective Response Rate in Phase II.0 percentage of participants
Dose Expansion - Thymic CarcinomaObjective Response Rate in Phase II.11 percentage of participants
Primary

Overall Survival in Phase II.

Antitumor activity will be assessed by overall survival. Overall survial is defined as the time from on treatment to death. Those alive were censored at last follow up. Kaplan-meier method is used to estimate the median overall survival time. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.

Time frame: Up to 2 years.

Population: Patients who received 200mg vorolanib daily with 240mg nivolumab every two weeks and were available for measurement of survival.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EscalationOverall Survival in Phase II.10.81 months
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer NaiveOverall Survival in Phase II.NA months
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Primary RefractoryOverall Survival in Phase II.16.27 months
Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based ChemotherapyOverall Survival in Phase II.4.5 months
Dose Expansion - Thymic CarcinomaOverall Survival in Phase II.21.06 months
Primary

Progression Free Survival in Phase II

Antitumor activity will be assessed by progression free survival. Progression is termined per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). Progression free survival (PFS) is defined as time from on treatment to disease progression or death (whicever comes first). Those without progression and alive were censored at last follow up. Kaplan-meier method is used to estimate the median survival time. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.

Time frame: Up to 1 year.

Population: Patients who received 200mg vorolanib daily with 240mg nivolumab every two weeks and were available for measurement of tumor response(progression).

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EscalationProgression Free Survival in Phase II1.97 months
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer NaiveProgression Free Survival in Phase II7.16 months
Dose Expansion - Non Small-Cell-Lung Cancer Primary RefractoryProgression Free Survival in Phase II3.22 months
Dose Expansion - Small Cell Lung Cancer - Progressed on Platinum-based ChemotherapyProgression Free Survival in Phase II1.36 months
Dose Expansion - Thymic CarcinomaProgression Free Survival in Phase II9.1 months
Primary

Recommended Phase II Combination Dose in Phase I (Per Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Criteria Version 5)

Maximum tolerated dose for vorolanib daily combined with 240mg nivolumab every 2 weeks based on 3+3 dose escalation design. When 2 out of 6 patients at one dose experienced dose limiting toxicity, lower dose will be used. We have specified the phase I and phase II populations as study arms; note outcome measures are then distinct for each arm, with the phase I arm intended to assess safety (MTD), and the phase 2 arm intended to assess efficacy, as typical for phase I-II studies. Thus, for each outcome, only the phase I cohort is included in the analysis population, or only the phase II cohort is including in the analysis population, as relevant to the outcome measure.

Time frame: At 28 days

Population: 8 patients with NSCLC and 2 patients with TC who received vorolanib orally daily and 240mg nivolumab every 2 weeks, and had assessable results.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
EscalationRecommended Phase II Combination Dose in Phase I (Per Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Criteria Version 5)200 mg
Other Pre-specified

Correlation Between Biomarkers and Response for Phase II Patients

Antitumor activity will be assessed by correlation between the biomarkers and clinical outcomes. This is a exploratory end point. To assess the effects of combinatorial treatment on specific pharmacodynamic and pharmacogenetic biomarkers, including but not limited to circulating levels of serum CSF1 and VEGF, protein expression using CyTOF, and multiplex immunofluorescence.

Time frame: Up to 1 year

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 21, 2026