Skip to content

Postmarket Study of an Intraocular Lens Power Selection System

Postmarket Study of ORA With VerifEye+ and Barrett Toric Calculator Used for the Implantation of AcrySof Toric

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03579433
Enrollment
124
Registered
2018-07-06
Start date
2018-08-16
Completion date
2019-04-16
Last updated
2020-04-07

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cataract

Keywords

IOL, Intraocular lens, Astigmatism, Cataract Surgery

Brief summary

The purpose of the study was to evaluate the visual acuity outcomes when using the Optiwave Refractive Analysis (ORA) with VerifEye+ and Barrett Toric Calculator for calculating intraocular lens (IOL) power and axis in subjects requiring cataract surgery and implanted with a toric IOL in both eyes.

Detailed description

Surgery was done on each eye on different days, 7 to 14 days apart. Subjects were seen for a total of 10 visits with a follow-up duration of 6 months.

Interventions

DEVICEORA with VerifEye+

Intraoperative device that measures total corneal astigmatism in the aphakic condition and is used for the selection of IOL power. In the pseudophakic condition, ORA provides guidance for the alignment of the toric axis mark.

OTHERAlcon Barrett Toric Calculator

Web-based software application that utilizes an algorithm (Barrett Formula) to estimate the amount of post-operative corneal astigmatism in order to optimize IOL model selection and axis placement, with interoperative axis alignment done manually.

DEVICEAcrysof® IQ Toric IOL

Intraocular lens implanted as a replacement for the cataractous lens during cataract surgery (Model SN6AT3, SN6AT4, Model SN6AT5, Model SN6AT6)

Sponsors

Alcon Research
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
22 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Planned cataract surgery with IOL implantation * Able to comprehend and sign the informed consent form * Preoperative astigmatism of 0.75 to 3.00 Diopter * Willing and able to complete all required postoperative visits * Other protocol-defined inclusion criteria may apply

Exclusion criteria

* Unclear intraocular media other than cataract * Pregnant or lactating * Presence or history of any condition or finding that makes the subject unsuitable as a candidate for cataract surgery or study participation or may confound the outcome of the study, in the opinion of the Investigator. * Other protocol-defined

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Eyes With Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 20/20 or Better at Month 6Month 6Visual acuity (VA) was tested monocularly (each eye separately) using the correction obtained from the manifest refraction and 100% contrast electronic Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) charts at a distance of 4 meters (m) from the eye. 20/20 represents normal distance eyesight. No hypothesis testing of the primary endpoint was specified.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Of the 124 subjects enrolled, 12 subjects were discontinued prior to randomization, and 8 subjects were randomized, but not treated in either eye. This reporting group includes all subjects with attempted implantation of an intraocular lens (IOL) in one or both eyes.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Overall
First surgical eye randomly assigned to Acrysof® IQ Toric (IOL) and Optiwave Refractive Analysis (ORA) with VerifEye+ or Acrysof® IQ Toric IOL and Barrett Toric Calculator, with the second surgical eye (fellow eye) assigned to the alternative group.
104
Total104

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicOverall
Age, Continuous69.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.73
Age, Customized
65 years old or older
76 Participants
Age, Customized
Less than 65 years old
28 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
102 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
96 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
104 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
61 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
43 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 1040 / 960 / 1020 / 104
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 10410 / 967 / 1020 / 104
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 1042 / 962 / 1021 / 104

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Eyes With Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 20/20 or Better at Month 6

Visual acuity (VA) was tested monocularly (each eye separately) using the correction obtained from the manifest refraction and 100% contrast electronic Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) charts at a distance of 4 meters (m) from the eye. 20/20 represents normal distance eyesight. No hypothesis testing of the primary endpoint was specified.

Time frame: Month 6

Population: The Per Protocol Analysis Set (PPS) includes all eyes with successful IOL implantation, T3-T6 and recommended by ORA and with no major protocol deviations and data at visit.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
ORA With VerifEye+Percentage of Eyes With Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 20/20 or Better at Month 687.1 percentage of eyes
Barrett Toric CalculatorPercentage of Eyes With Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 20/20 or Better at Month 687.4 percentage of eyes

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026