Skip to content

Hypofractionated Radiation Therapy for Treating Prostate Cancer High-Risk Features Following Radical Prostatectomy

A Phase II Trial of Hypofractionated Radiation Therapy for Prostate Cancer With High Risk Features After Radical Prostatectomy

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03570827
Enrollment
53
Registered
2018-06-27
Start date
2018-05-14
Completion date
2025-05-15
Last updated
2026-05-26

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Prostate Adenocarcinoma, Stage IIB Prostate Cancer AJCC v8, Stage IIIA Prostate Cancer AJCC v8, Stage IIIB Prostate Cancer AJCC v8, Stage IIIC Prostate Cancer AJCC v8, Stage III Prostate Cancer AJCC v8

Brief summary

This phase II trial studies how well hypofractionated radiation therapy works in treating participants with prostate cancer high-risk features following radical prostatectomy. Hypofractionated radiation therapy delivers higher doses of radiation therapy over a shorter period of time and may kill more tumor cells and have fewer side effects.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: I. To determine if stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) would result in similar freedom from failure (FFF) than standard fractionation photon therapy. EXPLORATORY OBJECTIVES: I. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of grade 2 or greater genitourinary (GU) and gastrointestinal (GI) toxicity at 6 months (Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events \[CTCAE\] version 4). II. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of grade 3 or greater GU and GI toxicity at 6 months (CTCAE version 4). III. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of quality of life issues following completion of radiation therapy. IV. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of impotence after the use of radiation therapy at 3 years. V. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of freedom from biochemical failure (FFBF) at 5 years. VI. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of clinical failure: local and/or distant at 5 years. VII. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of salvage androgen deprivation use (SAD) at 5 years. VIII. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of progression free survival: using clinical, biochemical and SAD as events at 5 years. IX. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of overall survival at 5 years. X. After completion of radiation therapy, determine the incidence of disease-specific survival at 5 years. XI. Determine the impact of radiation therapy on quality of life. XII. Determine overall GI and GU toxicity. XIII. Determine prostate and normal structure movement during radiation therapy (RT) with the use of scans. XIV. Correlate pathologic and radiologic findings with outcomes. XV. Correlate pre-RT prostate specific antigen (PSA) levels with outcomes. XVI. Correlate variation in proton therapy or x-ray dosimetry and outcomes. XVII. Develop a quality assurance process for prostate proton therapy. XVIII. Prospectively collect information that will help to define dose-volume relationships of normal structures with acute and chronic toxicity. XIX. Allow for future research of pathologic risk factors that may influence prognosis; this information will help us to attempt to characterize their presence in prostate cancer with high risk features after prostatectomy and their potential effect on outcomes. XX. Possibly compare dosimetric parameters of an IMRT plan with the proton therapy radiation plan. OUTLINE: Participants are assigned to 1 of 3 groups. GROUP I: Participants undergo hypofractionated radiation therapy over 15-30 minutes every other day over 2 weeks, for 5 treatments. GROUP II: Beginning 8-10 weeks before radiation therapy, participants receive androgen suppression therapy subcutaneously (SC) or intramuscularly (IM) for up to 6 months (at the discretion of the treating physician). Participants then undergo hypofractionated radiation therapy as Group I. GROUP III: Participants receive androgen suppression therapy as Group II for up to 18 months (at the discretion of the treating physician), then undergo hypofractionated radiation therapy over 15-30 minutes every other day over 1-2 weeks, for 1-5 treatments. After completion of study treatment, participants are followed up at 3 and 12 months, annually for 4 years, then every 2 years thereafter.

Interventions

Given androgen suppression therapy

RADIATIONHypofractionated Radiation Therapy

Undergo hypofractionated radiation therapy

OTHERQuality-of-Life Assessment

Ancillary studies

OTHERQuestionnaire Administration

Ancillary studies

Sponsors

Mayo Clinic
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically confirmed prostate adenocarcinoma at the time of surgery * Pathologic stages T2-T3b, N0-Nx-N1, M0-1 as staged by the pathology report (American Joint Committee on Cancer \[AJCC\] criteria 8th edition \[Ed.\]) * One or more high risk features including: seminal vesicle invasion, extracapsular extension, positive margins, or a PSA post surgery between 0.2 and \< 2.0 * PSA values \< 2 ng/ml within 90 days prior to enrollment. Obtained at least 6 weeks after surgery * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-2 assessed within 90 days of enrollment * Patients must sign Institutional Review Board (IRB) approved study specific informed consent * Patients must complete all required pre-entry tests within the specified time frames * Patients must be able to start treatment (androgen suppression \[AS\] or radiation) within 120 days of study registration * Members of all races and ethnic groups are eligible for this trial * Patients from outside of the United States may participate in the study

Exclusion criteria

* Previous pelvic radiation * Prior androgen suppression therapy for prostate cancer for more than 6 months * Active rectal diverticulitis, Crohn's disease affecting the rectum or ulcerative colitis (non-active diverticulitis and Crohn's disease not affecting the rectum are allowed) * Prior systemic chemotherapy for prostate cancer * History of proximal urethral stricture requiring dilatation * Current and continuing anticoagulation with warfarin sodium (coumadin), heparin, low- molecular weight heparin, Clopidogrel bisulfate (plavix), or equivalent (unless it can be stopped to manage treatment related toxicity, to have a biopsy if needed, or place markers) * Major medical, addictive or psychiatric illness which in the investigator's opinion, will prevent the consent process, completion of the treatment and/or interfere with follow-up. (Consent by legal authorized representative is not permitted for this study) * Evidence of any other cancer within the past 5 years and \< 50% probability of a 5 year survival. (Prior or concurrent diagnosis of basal cell or non-invasive squamous cell cancer of the skin is allowed) * History of myocardial infarction or decompensated congestive heart failure (CHF) within the last 6 months

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Freedom From Failure (FFF)5 yearsWill be defined as the first occurrence of clinical failure (local recurrence, regional recurrence, or distant metastasis), the start/re-start of salvage therapy including androgen suppression, and biochemical failure (PSA \>= 0.5 ng/ml). The count and percentage of patient free from failure will be reported.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORCarlos E. Vargas, M.D.

Mayo Clinic

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Continuous68.718 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.202
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
31 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
45 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
2 / 140 / 331 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
10 / 1432 / 336 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 140 / 331 / 6

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 27, 2026