HIV/AIDS, Intravenous Drug Usage
Conditions
Keywords
hepatitis C
Brief summary
There are several biomedical interventions that can help people who inject drugs (particularly those with or at risk for HIV), but these services often do not get to the people most in need. In this project investigators propose to determine if delivery of these services to PWID by an integrated care van that is linked to a mobile syringe service program improves clinical outcomes, is feasible and sustainable, and is cost-effective.
Detailed description
Biomedical interventions that have direct applicability to people who inject drugs (PWID) have flourished over the past 15 years (HIV treatment as prevention, pre-exposure prophylaxis, office-based medication-assisted treatment (MAT) with buprenorphine, and hepatitis C virus (HCV) treatment with direct acting agents). However, penetration of these interventions among PWID is low relative to the potential benefits. Syringe service programs (SSP) are an essential risk reduction service for PWID, and represent the outermost reach of public health services for this population. The Baltimore City Health Department (BCHD) and investigators at Johns Hopkins University are developing a dedicated integrated care van (ICV) to complement the city's mobile SSP, with the goals of optimizing the HIV care cascade in HIV-positive clients and extending needed biomedical interventions to PWID. A nurse practitioner, case worker, and peer navigators will engage HIV-positive clients (known and newly diagnosed) and collaborate closely with local HIV clinics to promote progress toward durable viral suppression. To support the ICV's role in HIV care facilitation, investigators propose an innovative application of the Center for Disease Control (CDC)-sponsored "Data to Care" initiative - a multi-source health service database designed to assist health departments track the HIV care cascade in real time. Additionally, the ICV will provide rapid HIV testing, PrEP screening and initiation, buprenorphine-based MAT, HCV testing and referrals to treatment, and wound care. Using a cluster-randomized trial design, investigators propose to determine whether the ICV intervention advances the HIV care cascade among HIV-positive PWID, improves the Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) continuum, and increases uptake of MAT and HCV treatment (Aim 1). Additionally, investigators will examine the implementation of the ICV intervention using a mixed methods approach among PWID, local/state public health stakeholders, and medical providers to examine the intervention's feasibility, acceptability, coverage, fidelity, and sustainability (Aim 2). Finally, investigators will determine the incremental cost-effectiveness of the ICV intervention (Aim 3). Investigators have assembled a multi-disciplinary team with methodological expertise in PWID interventions and cost-effectiveness evaluations, and longstanding collaboration with investigators' partners at the BCHD.
Interventions
Structural service delivery intervention
Sponsors
Study design
Intervention model description
Cluster-randomized trial
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* If HIV-positive: report history of injection drug use * If HIV-negative: injected drugs ≥ 4 days in the last 30 days or shared a needle or syringe in the last 6 months
Exclusion criteria
* Not competent to provide written informed consent * Not willing or able to provide a blood specimen
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Composite PWID Score (Service Access, Risk Behaviors, Adverse Outcomes) | Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | To capture the multifaceted nature of the ICV intervention and the array of health issues relevant to PWID, we developed a scoring rubric based on World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines for evidence-based PWID services, a predictive risk model for HIV seroconversion among PWID developed by the Baltimore-based ALIVE study, the HCV care continuum, and the overdose epidemic. In the scoring rubric, points are allocated on the basis of failure to access evidence-based services, riskier behaviors, and adverse outcomes. This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, biomarker testing, and medical record review, and ranges from 0 to 15, with higher scores indicating worse overall status. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| HIV Care Continuum | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in HIV-positive participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 2 with higher scores indicating poorer HIV care engagement. Participants with viral load suppression (HIV RNA \<20 c/mL) are counted and assigned a score=0; those with non-suppressed viral load but who took antiretroviral drugs in the prior 30 days or who had a visit with an HIV care provider in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1; those with non-suppressed viral load, and who did not take antiretroviral drugs (ARVs) in the prior 30 days and did not have a visit with an HIV care provider in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=2. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| HIV Testing | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in HIV-negative participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer HIV care engagement. Participants who had an HIV test in the prior 6 months will be counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not have an HIV test in the prior 6 months will be counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Continuum | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in HIV-negative participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement with PrEP. Participants who used PrEP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not use PrEP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| HCV Care Continuum | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in HCV-positive participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 2 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement with HCV care. Participants successfully treated for HCV with undetectable HCV RNA are counted and assigned a score=0; those who have detectable HCV RNA but who have been evaluated or treated for HCV in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1; those who have detectable HCV RNA, have not been treated or evaluated in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=2. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| HCV Testing | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in HCV-negative participants and HCV-antibody positive participants who spontaneously cleared the infection without completing treatment at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer HIV care engagement. Participants who had an HCV test in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not have an HCV test in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Medication for Opioid Use Disorder (MOUD) Use | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1. Participants who used MOUD in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who have not used MOUD in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Syringe Service Program (SSP) Use | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in participants who report injection drug use in the prior 6 months, at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement in risk reduction services. Participants who used an SSP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not use an SSP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Naloxone Overdose Kit | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement in risk reduction services. Participants who possess a naloxone overdose kit that is usually accessible when they use drugs (i.e, where they usually use drugs) are counted and assigned a score=0; those who do not possess a naloxone overdose kit that is in an accessible location are counted and assigned score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Injection Drug Use | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating riskier behavior. Participants who did not inject drugs in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did inject drugs in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Recent Drug Use | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on biomarker testing and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating riskier behavior. Participants who have a negative urine drug test for selected drugs are counted and assigned a score=0; those who have a positive urine drug test for selected drugs are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. Selected drugs include the primary drug or metabolites of fentanyl, heroin, cocaine, or amphetamines. |
| Sharing Injection Equipment | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and ranges from 0 to 2 with higher scores indicating riskier behavior. Participants who did not share needle/syringe or cotton/cooker in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who shared cotton/cooker but did not share needle/syringes in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1; those who shared needle/syringes in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=2. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Non-fatal Overdose | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who do not report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Emergency Department (ED) Use | Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1, with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants with no ED visits in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those with 1 or more ED visits in prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| HIV Seroconversion | Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in participants who were HIV-negative at baseline, at follow-up time points. The score is based biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who remain HIV seronegative at follow-up visits are counted and assigned a score=0; those who seroconvert for HIV are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| HCV Seroconversion | Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in participants who were HCV seronegative at baseline, at follow-up time points. The score is based biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who remain HCV seronegative at follow-up visits are counted and assigned a score=0, those who seroconvert for HCV are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
| Mortality Rate | Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months | This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all follow-up time points. The score is based on medical record review or National Death Index, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who are alive are counted and assigned a score=0, those who have died are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. |
Countries
United States
Contacts
Johns Hopkins University
Johns Hopkins University
Participant flow
Pre-assignment details
19 syringe service program (SSP) sites from Baltimore City Health Department were considered for the trial. The 13 sites with the largest numbers of clients in 2017 were initially selected, and one of those 13 was eliminated because it already offered some services planned for the intervention. The remaining 12 sites were paired based on client demographics, SSP client non-overlap between sites, and SSP staff opinions about the similarities of sites.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) ICV visits neighborhoods served by the mobile syringe service program weekly. ICV provides a range of services targeted to people who inject drugs - HIV testing, hepatitis C virus (HCV) testing, Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP), Medication-assisted Treatment (MAT), wound care, case work services, on-site medical management and linkage.
Integrated care van (ICV): Structural service delivery intervention | 360 |
| Control No additional services provided. | 360 |
| Total | 720 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Control | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Continuous | 51.5 years | 48 years | 50 years |
| Composite PWID Score (Service Access, Risk Behaviors, Adverse Outcomes) | 7.32 units on a scale STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.75 | 7.37 units on a scale STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.94 | 7.35 units on a scale STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.85 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 7 Participants | 10 Participants | 17 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 352 Participants | 350 Participants | 702 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 4 Participants | 4 Participants | 8 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 2 Participants | 1 Participants | 3 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 270 Participants | 253 Participants | 523 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 8 Participants | 11 Participants | 19 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 1 Participants | 2 Participants | 3 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 75 Participants | 88 Participants | 163 Participants |
| Sex/Gender, Customized Female | 134 Participants | 142 Participants | 276 Participants |
| Sex/Gender, Customized Male | 226 Participants | 218 Participants | 444 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | 24 / 360 | 31 / 360 |
| other Total, other adverse events | 0 / 360 | 0 / 360 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 24 / 360 | 31 / 360 |
Outcome results
Composite PWID Score (Service Access, Risk Behaviors, Adverse Outcomes)
To capture the multifaceted nature of the ICV intervention and the array of health issues relevant to PWID, we developed a scoring rubric based on World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines for evidence-based PWID services, a predictive risk model for HIV seroconversion among PWID developed by the Baltimore-based ALIVE study, the HCV care continuum, and the overdose epidemic. In the scoring rubric, points are allocated on the basis of failure to access evidence-based services, riskier behaviors, and adverse outcomes. This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, biomarker testing, and medical record review, and ranges from 0 to 15, with higher scores indicating worse overall status.
Time frame: Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset of participants who had calculated composite outcome scores at the V7 visit: participants who either completed the V7 follow-up visit or died before completing the V7 follow-up visit.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Composite PWID Score (Service Access, Risk Behaviors, Adverse Outcomes) | 5.34 units on a scale | Standard Deviation 2.35 |
| Control | Composite PWID Score (Service Access, Risk Behaviors, Adverse Outcomes) | 5.64 units on a scale | Standard Deviation 2.56 |
Emergency Department (ED) Use
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1, with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants with no ED visits in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those with 1 or more ED visits in prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Emergency Department (ED) Use | No ED visits in the prior 6 months | 166 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Emergency Department (ED) Use | With 1 or more ED visits in prior 6 months | 102 Participants |
| Control | Emergency Department (ED) Use | No ED visits in the prior 6 months | 144 Participants |
| Control | Emergency Department (ED) Use | With 1 or more ED visits in prior 6 months | 99 Participants |
HCV Care Continuum
This outcome will be assessed in HCV-positive participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 2 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement with HCV care. Participants successfully treated for HCV with undetectable HCV RNA are counted and assigned a score=0; those who have detectable HCV RNA but who have been evaluated or treated for HCV in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1; those who have detectable HCV RNA, have not been treated or evaluated in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=2. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset includes HCV-positive participants (including viremic or non-viremic with treatment completion) who completed the V7 follow-up visit
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HCV Care Continuum | Successfully treated for HCV with undetectable HCV RNA | 34 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HCV Care Continuum | Detectable HCV RNA but who have been evaluated or treated for HCV in the prior 6 months | 36 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HCV Care Continuum | Detectable HCV RNA, have not been treated or evaluated in the prior 6 months | 75 Participants |
| Control | HCV Care Continuum | Successfully treated for HCV with undetectable HCV RNA | 20 Participants |
| Control | HCV Care Continuum | Detectable HCV RNA but who have been evaluated or treated for HCV in the prior 6 months | 25 Participants |
| Control | HCV Care Continuum | Detectable HCV RNA, have not been treated or evaluated in the prior 6 months | 58 Participants |
HCV Seroconversion
This outcome will be assessed in participants who were HCV seronegative at baseline, at follow-up time points. The score is based biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who remain HCV seronegative at follow-up visits score=0, those who seroconvert for HCV score=1.
Time frame: 12 months
HCV Seroconversion
This outcome will be assessed in participants who were HCV seronegative at baseline, at follow-up time points. The score is based biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who remain HCV seronegative at follow-up visits are counted and assigned a score=0, those who seroconvert for HCV are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset of population who were HCV-negative at baseline and completed a V7 follow-up visit.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HCV Seroconversion | HCV seronegative at follow-up visits | 87 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HCV Seroconversion | Seroconvert for HCV | 1 Participants |
| Control | HCV Seroconversion | HCV seronegative at follow-up visits | 105 Participants |
| Control | HCV Seroconversion | Seroconvert for HCV | 6 Participants |
HCV Testing
This outcome will be assessed in HCV-negative participants and HCV-antibody positive participants who spontaneously cleared the infection without completing treatment at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer HIV care engagement. Participants who had an HCV test in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not have an HCV test in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset includes HCV-antibody negative participants and HCV-antibody positive participants who spontaneously cleared the infection without completing treatment and completed the V7 follow-up visit.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HCV Testing | Had an HCV test in the prior 6 months | 65 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HCV Testing | Did not have an HCV test in the prior 6 months | 57 Participants |
| Control | HCV Testing | Had an HCV test in the prior 6 months | 66 Participants |
| Control | HCV Testing | Did not have an HCV test in the prior 6 months | 73 Participants |
HIV Care Continuum
This outcome will be assessed in HIV-positive participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 2 with higher scores indicating poorer HIV care engagement. Participants with viral load suppression (HIV RNA \<20 c/mL) are counted and assigned a score=0; those with non-suppressed viral load but who took antiretroviral drugs in the prior 30 days or who had a visit with an HIV care provider in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1; those with non-suppressed viral load, and who did not take antiretroviral drugs (ARVs) in the prior 30 days and did not have a visit with an HIV care provider in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=2. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset includes HIV-positive participants who completed the V7 follow-up visit.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HIV Care Continuum | Suppressed (HIV RNA undetectable) | 13 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HIV Care Continuum | Not suppressed, ARVs in prior 30 days or provider visit last 6 months | 18 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HIV Care Continuum | Not suppressed, no ARVs and no provider visit last 6 months | 1 Participants |
| Control | HIV Care Continuum | Suppressed (HIV RNA undetectable) | 19 Participants |
| Control | HIV Care Continuum | Not suppressed, ARVs in prior 30 days or provider visit last 6 months | 10 Participants |
| Control | HIV Care Continuum | Not suppressed, no ARVs and no provider visit last 6 months | 4 Participants |
HIV Seroconversion
This outcome will be assessed in participants who were HIV-negative at baseline, at follow-up time points. The score is based biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who remain HIV seronegative at follow-up visits are counted and assigned a score=0; those who seroconvert for HIV are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: 12 months
HIV Seroconversion
This outcome will be assessed in participants who were HIV-negative at baseline, at follow-up time points. The score is based biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who remain HIV seronegative at follow-up visits are counted and assigned a score=0; those who seroconvert for HIV are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset of participants who were HIV-negative at baseline and completed the V7 follow-up visit
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HIV Seroconversion | HIV seronegative at follow-up visits | 236 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HIV Seroconversion | Seroconvert for HIV | 1 Participants |
| Control | HIV Seroconversion | HIV seronegative at follow-up visits | 210 Participants |
| Control | HIV Seroconversion | Seroconvert for HIV | 1 Participants |
HIV Testing
This outcome will be assessed in HIV-negative participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and biomarker testing, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer HIV care engagement. Participants who had an HIV test in the prior 6 months will be counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not have an HIV test in the prior 6 months will be counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset of participants who were HIV-negative at both baseline and V7 follow-up visits and completed the V7 follow-up visit.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HIV Testing | Had an HIV test in the prior 6 months | 234 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | HIV Testing | Did not have an HIV test in the prior 6 months | 2 Participants |
| Control | HIV Testing | Had an HIV test in the prior 6 months | 202 Participants |
| Control | HIV Testing | Did not have an HIV test in the prior 6 months | 8 Participants |
Injection Drug Use
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating riskier behavior. Participants who did not inject drugs in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did inject drugs in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Injection Drug Use | Did not inject drugs in the prior 6 months | 108 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Injection Drug Use | Did inject drugs in the prior 6 months | 160 Participants |
| Control | Injection Drug Use | Did not inject drugs in the prior 6 months | 85 Participants |
| Control | Injection Drug Use | Did inject drugs in the prior 6 months | 158 Participants |
Medication for Opioid Use Disorder (MOUD) Use
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1. Participants who used MOUD in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who have not used MOUD in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Medication for Opioid Use Disorder (MOUD) Use | Used MOUD in the prior 6 months | 165 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Medication for Opioid Use Disorder (MOUD) Use | Have not used MOUD in the prior 6 months | 103 Participants |
| Control | Medication for Opioid Use Disorder (MOUD) Use | Used MOUD in the prior 6 months | 134 Participants |
| Control | Medication for Opioid Use Disorder (MOUD) Use | Have not used MOUD in the prior 6 months | 109 Participants |
Mortality Rate
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all follow-up time points. The score is based on medical record review or National Death Index, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who are alive are counted and assigned a score=0, those who have died are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between baseline visit and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset of participants who completed the V7 follow-up visit and participants who died prior to completing the V7 follow-up visit.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Mortality Rate | Died | 4 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Mortality Rate | Alive | 268 Participants |
| Control | Mortality Rate | Alive | 243 Participants |
| Control | Mortality Rate | Died | 7 Participants |
Naloxone Overdose Kit
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement in risk reduction services. Participants who possess a naloxone overdose kit that is usually accessible when they use drugs (i.e, where they usually use drugs) are counted and assigned a score=0; those who do not possess a naloxone overdose kit that is in an accessible location are counted and assigned score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Naloxone Overdose Kit | Possess a naloxone overdose kit that is in an accessible location (where they usually use drugs) | 164 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Naloxone Overdose Kit | Do not possess a naloxone overdose kit that is usually accessible when they use drugs | 104 Participants |
| Control | Naloxone Overdose Kit | Possess a naloxone overdose kit that is in an accessible location (where they usually use drugs) | 157 Participants |
| Control | Naloxone Overdose Kit | Do not possess a naloxone overdose kit that is usually accessible when they use drugs | 86 Participants |
Non-fatal Overdose
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating adverse outcome. Participants who do not report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Non-fatal Overdose | Do not report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months | 230 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Non-fatal Overdose | Report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months | 38 Participants |
| Control | Non-fatal Overdose | Do not report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months | 210 Participants |
| Control | Non-fatal Overdose | Report a non-fatal drug overdose in the prior 6 months | 33 Participants |
Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Continuum
This outcome will be assessed in HIV-negative participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement with PrEP. Participants who used PrEP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not use PrEP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset of participants who were HIV-negative and completed the V7 follow-up visit.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Continuum | Used PrEP in the prior 6 months | 0 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Continuum | Did not use PrEP in the prior 6 months | 236 Participants |
| Control | Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Continuum | Used PrEP in the prior 6 months | 4 Participants |
| Control | Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) Continuum | Did not use PrEP in the prior 6 months | 206 Participants |
Recent Drug Use
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on biomarker testing and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating riskier behavior. Participants who have a negative urine drug test for selected drugs are counted and assigned a score=0; those who have a positive urine drug test for selected drugs are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome. Selected drugs include the primary drug or metabolites of fentanyl, heroin, cocaine, or amphetamines.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
Population: Subset of participants who completed a V7 follow-up visit and had available urine toxicology result. Two participants did not have urine toxicology results available.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Recent Drug Use | Have a negative urine drug test for selected drugs | 42 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Recent Drug Use | Have a positive urine drug test for selected drugs | 225 Participants |
| Control | Recent Drug Use | Have a negative urine drug test for selected drugs | 25 Participants |
| Control | Recent Drug Use | Have a positive urine drug test for selected drugs | 217 Participants |
Sharing Injection Equipment
This outcome will be assessed in all participants at all time points. The score is based on self-report and ranges from 0 to 2 with higher scores indicating riskier behavior. Participants who did not share needle/syringe or cotton/cooker in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who shared cotton/cooker but did not share needle/syringes in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1; those who shared needle/syringes in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=2. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Sharing Injection Equipment | Did not share needle/syringe or cotton/cooker in the prior 6 months | 202 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Sharing Injection Equipment | Shared cotton/cooker but did not share needle/syringes in the prior 6 months | 21 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Sharing Injection Equipment | Shared needle/syringes in the prior 6 months | 45 Participants |
| Control | Sharing Injection Equipment | Did not share needle/syringe or cotton/cooker in the prior 6 months | 175 Participants |
| Control | Sharing Injection Equipment | Shared cotton/cooker but did not share needle/syringes in the prior 6 months | 23 Participants |
| Control | Sharing Injection Equipment | Shared needle/syringes in the prior 6 months | 45 Participants |
Syringe Service Program (SSP) Use
This outcome will be assessed in participants who report injection drug use in the prior 6 months, at all time points. The score is based on self-report, and ranges from 0 to 1 with higher scores indicating poorer engagement in risk reduction services. Participants who used an SSP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=0; those who did not use an SSP in the prior 6 months are counted and assigned a score=1. The counts of participants will be reported for this outcome measure and the associated score will be factored into the primary composite outcome.
Time frame: Between 6 months prior to and the V7 follow-up visit at 7 months
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Syringe Service Program (SSP) Use | Used an SSP in the prior 6 months | 223 Participants |
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Syringe Service Program (SSP) Use | Did not use an SSP in the prior 6 months | 45 Participants |
| Control | Syringe Service Program (SSP) Use | Used an SSP in the prior 6 months | 208 Participants |
| Control | Syringe Service Program (SSP) Use | Did not use an SSP in the prior 6 months | 35 Participants |
Costs and Cost Effectiveness
In accordance with the recommendations of the 2nd US Panel on Cost-Effectiveness in Heath and Medicine, we will: inventory and value the resources consumed in the ICV intervention; estimate intervention effectiveness in regards to viral suppression, HIV infections averted, HCV treatment, and MAT use; estimate treatment costs averted and Quality-adjusted life years saved for each type of effectiveness; and determine whether the ICV is cost-saving, cost-effective, or not cost-effective.
Time frame: 12 months
Qualitative Assessments
To provide context to our study and identify facilitators and barriers to the intervention, we will conduct qualitative assessments. First, we will conduct in-depth interviews (IDIs) with \ 30 PWID participants. The interview will explore accessibility, coverage, and barriers accessing the services in question. Second, we will conduct IDIs with Baltimore City Health Department (BCHD) staff who work on either the existing SSP van or the newly created ICV (N\ 12). The interview will explore feasibility, perceived benefits and challenges of offering services in the field, and changes in perceptions after intervention roll-out on the ICV. Third, we will conduct IDIs with BCHD and Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) officials and managers who are involved in PWID services (N\ 10). The interview will explore feasibility, and perceived benefits and challenges of offering services in the field on the ICV. We will digitally record the interviews.
Time frame: 12 months
Population: Participants who completed qualitative in-depth interviews
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Integrated Care Van (ICV) | Qualitative Assessments | 18 Participants |
| Control | Qualitative Assessments | 16 Participants |
| Non-clients | Qualitative Assessments | 15 Participants |