Skip to content

Efficacy, Tolerability, Safety, and Pharmacokinetic Study of DFN-15

A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Efficacy, Tolerability, Safety and Pharmacokinetic Study of Single Doses of DFN-15 in Post-Surgical Dental Pain

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03554772
Enrollment
120
Registered
2018-06-13
Start date
2018-06-19
Completion date
2018-08-20
Last updated
2021-01-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Acute Pain

Brief summary

Efficacy, Tolerability, Safety and Pharmacokinetic Study of DFN-15 in Post-Surgical Dental Pain.

Detailed description

This is a Phase 2, single-center, randomized, double blind, dose-ranging placebo-controlled, clinical study evaluating the efficacy, tolerability, safety, and the pharmacokinetic properties of a known drug (selective COX-2 inhibitor) administered as an alternative formulation/dosage form (DFN-15, a liquid oral formulation) in an accepted model of acute post-operative pain (acute pain following oral surgery for extraction of bilateral impacted mandibular third molar teeth in otherwise healthy subjects).120 female and male healthy subjects scheduled to undergo elective bilateral third molar extraction will be randomized, after they provide informed consent and are confirmed to meet all the study selection criteria, in a 1:1:1:1 ratio to receive a single oral dose of either DFN-15 Dose A DFN-15 Dose B, DFN-15 Dose C or matching placebo. Subjects will undergo a screening procedure (within 28 days of the scheduled extraction of the impacted third molars) that will involve the collection of demographic information, height, weight and body mass index (BMI), urine pregnancy test (women of child-bearing potential,) medical and medicinal history, physical examination, dental examination, vital signs measurement (blood pressure, pulse rate, respiratory rate), clinical laboratory investigation (hematology,serology, coagulation parameters, serum chemistry and urinalysis),12-lead ECG and a panoramic x-ray to document the impacted mandibular third molar teeth. As a pre-requisite for randomization, subjects will be required to report moderate to severe baseline pain on the provided paper diary within 6 hours post-surgery (called the 'Baseline' period) as characterized on a 4-point categorical pain intensity (PI) scale (0= none, 1= mild, 2= moderate, 3= severe), and a score of ≥5, on the 11-point Numerical Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) where 0 represents 'no pain' and 10 represents 'worst pain imaginable'. Eligible subjects will be randomized and will receive a single dose of the assigned study treatment. Subjects will be randomized and administered the study medication within 15 minutes of meeting the post-operative inclusion criteria (baseline score).Subjects will be assessed at pre-specified time-points over an observation period of 8 hours from the time of randomization. Subjects with inadequately controlled pain symptoms may request rescue analgesic medication. Subjects will be encouraged to delay using the rescue medication if their pain is tolerable until 120 minutes post-dose of study medication. A subject who is administered rescue pain medication will continue completing pain assessments until 8 hours after treatment initiation. All randomized subjects will be provided with a paper diary to record pain assessments (Pain Intensity on 11-point NPRS scale, followed by Pain Relief using a 5-point categorical scale \[where 0= no pain relief, 1= little pain relief, 2= some pain relief, 3= a lot of pain relief, 4= complete pain relief\]) At study medication administration, two stopwatches will be started, to measure times to 'perceptible' and 'meaningful' pain-relief. Subjects will be instructed to stop the first stopwatch when they first perceive pain relief to occur (time to perceptible relief). Subjects will be instructed to stop the second stopwatch when they first experience meaningful pain relief (time to meaningful relief). Stopwatch times of perceptible relief and meaningful relief will be recorded using exact stopwatch time displayed. In addition, at 8 hours post-dose or within 5 minutes prior to first use of rescue medication (whichever is earlier), subjects will be asked to record within the provided patient diary: 'Patient Rating of Treatment Satisfactoriness' using a 5-point verbal rating scale (0 =poor, 1 =fair, 2 =good, 3=very good, 4 =excellent). Subjects will remain NPO (nothing by mouth), including water, from Check-in (i.e., at least 2 hours before the administration of the dose of study medication to randomized subjects) until 2 hours post-dose, on Day 1 (study day). After 2 hours post-dose, subjects may be permitted to consume water, or gelatin snacks. Subjects are prohibited from ingesting solid foods or carbonated beverages for at least 6 hours post-dose. 12-lead ECG and Vital Signs were performed before surgery, at baseline and at periodic intervals post-dose until 8 hours .At discharge (8 hours post-randomization) from the clinical facility, all AEs reported for the subjects will be reviewed. A physical examination, including evaluation of the incision site for hematomas, and clinical laboratory evaluation (coagulation parameters and specific hematology, serum biochemistry and urinalysis parameters) will be conducted. All subjects will have blood drawn at specified time points (pre-dose and over the 8 hour observation period) for pharmacokinetic evaluation. Subjects will return to the research center 7 days (± 3 days) post-surgery for evaluation of their safety and well-being. Any AEs experienced post-surgery will be reviewed. A physical examination, of the subject will be performed, 12-lead ECG, and vital signs parameters will be repeated. Hematology, coagulation parameters, serum biochemistry and urinalysis parameters will be repeated only if there is a clinically significant abnormality or ongoing AE(s). Any changes to the prior and concomitant medication made after discharge will be reviewed and recorded.

Interventions

DRUGDFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 62.5 mg

Oral Solution

DRUGDFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 125 mg

Oral Solution

DRUGDFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 250 mg

Oral Solution

DRUGPlacebo

Oral Solution

Sponsors

Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 60 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Subjects scheduled to undergo elective bilateral lower (mandibular) third molar extraction under local anesthesia. 2. Subjects must be generally healthy, ambulatory, able to understand and willing to comply with study procedures, study restrictions, assessments, and requirements per the discretion of the investigator. 3. Subjects must voluntarily sign written informed consent prior to any study-specific procedures. 4. Subjects must have a body mass index (BMI) greater than or equal to 19.0 to less than or equal to 35.0

Exclusion criteria

1. History of migraine or frequent headaches, low back pain, or other acute or chronic pain conditions. 2. Acute illness or unresolved local infection prior to surgery that can interfere with the conduct of the study. 3. Positive results on urine drug screen or alcohol breath test indicative of illicit drug (Cocaine Metabolites, Marijuana (THC), MDMA (Ecstasy) and Phencyclidine) or alcohol abuse at screening and/or prior to extraction procedure. 4. Positive results for the following (prescription included): Amphetamines, Barbiturates, Benzodiazepines, Methadone, Methamphetamine, Opiates, Oxycodone, and Tricyclic Antidepressants. 5. Frequent use of nicotine-containing products. 6. Excessive intake of caffeine-containing foods or beverages within 48 hours prior to surgery. 7. Routinely uses pain medication. 8. Currently taking any corticosteroid chronically (except for an inhaled steroid for pulmonary disease, and local topical or ophthalmic steroid) or has taken systemic corticosteroids within 4 weeks of the proposed date of surgery. 9. Currently taking central nervous system active drugs such as hypnotics, sedatives, monoamine oxidase inhibitors, sympathomimetic amines, benzodiazepines, tricyclic antidepressants, or serotonin norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors, and anticonvulsants for pain. 10. Donated blood products or had blood loss greater than 500 mL 30 days prior to Screening or between Screening and surgery. 11. Member or relative of study staff or the Sponsor directly involved in the study. 12. Previous participation in this study. 13. Has received another new chemical entity (defined as a compound which has not been approved for marketing) or has participated in any other clinical study that included drug treatment within 30 days prior to the Screening visit. 14. Currently receiving or have received within 7 days prior to investigational product administration in the study, any drug (s) that is metabolized by hepatic microsomal enzyme CYP 2D6. 15. Clinically significant disease or disorder which may put the subject at risk, influence the results or the subject's ability to participate in the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Summed Pain Intensity Difference Over the First Six Hours6 hours post doseThe primary endpoint is the Summed Pain Intensity Difference over the first 6 hours (SPID6) after dosing compared between DFN-15 and placebo. Pain intensity (P) will be measured at timepoints of 15, 30, and 45 minutes and 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, hours after baseline ,using 11-point Pain Intensity Numerical Rating Scale (NPRS). Zero (0) equals no pain and Ten (10) equals worst pain imaginable. SPID6 is created by summing the time weighted pain intensity differences (PID) scores using the area under the PID curve methodology. All SPID calculations will be performed using the standard trapezoidal rule SPIDx =∑\_(i=0)\^x▒((〖PID〗\_i+〖PID〗\_(i+1))/2) \* (T\_(i+1)- T\_i ) Where: PID\_i = P\_i - PBL (Pain score at time i and Pain score at Baseline), and (T\_i+1 - T\_i) is the Time difference in minutes between time i and time i+1. Therefore, SPID6 values may theoretically range between a maximum score of 0 ( no improvement) and a minimum score of -3525 (best improvement)

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo
Single dose containing 0 mg of celecoxib in 10 ml solution Placebo: Oral Solution
30
DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 62.5 mg
Single dose containing 62.5 mg of celecoxib in 10 ml solution DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 62.5 mg: Oral Solution
30
DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 125 mg
Single dose containing 125 mg of celecoxib in 10 ml solution DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 125 mg: Oral Solution
29
DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 250 mg
Single dose containing 250 mg of celecoxib in 10 ml solution DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 250 mg: Oral Solution
31
Total120

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up0002

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlaceboDFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 62.5 mgDFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 125 mgDFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 250 mgTotal
Age, Continuous19.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.7
19.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.45
19.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.64
20.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.45
19.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.37
BMI26.4 kg/ m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.15
27.1 kg/ m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.03
25.1 kg/ m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.11
24.4 kg/ m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.41
25.8 kg/ m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.51
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants6 Participants4 Participants7 Participants23 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
24 Participants24 Participants25 Participants24 Participants97 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Qualifying Baseline Categorical Pain Score
0 = No Pain
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Qualifying Baseline Categorical Pain Score
1= Mild Pain
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Qualifying Baseline Categorical Pain Score
2= Moderate Pain
8 Participants13 Participants11 Participants12 Participants44 Participants
Qualifying Baseline Categorical Pain Score
3= Severe Pain
22 Participants17 Participants18 Participants19 Participants76 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants2 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
28 Participants26 Participants22 Participants28 Participants104 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
16 Participants14 Participants17 Participants13 Participants60 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
14 Participants16 Participants12 Participants18 Participants60 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 300 / 300 / 290 / 31
other
Total, other adverse events
4 / 305 / 304 / 295 / 31
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 300 / 300 / 290 / 31

Outcome results

Primary

Summed Pain Intensity Difference Over the First Six Hours

The primary endpoint is the Summed Pain Intensity Difference over the first 6 hours (SPID6) after dosing compared between DFN-15 and placebo. Pain intensity (P) will be measured at timepoints of 15, 30, and 45 minutes and 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, hours after baseline ,using 11-point Pain Intensity Numerical Rating Scale (NPRS). Zero (0) equals no pain and Ten (10) equals worst pain imaginable. SPID6 is created by summing the time weighted pain intensity differences (PID) scores using the area under the PID curve methodology. All SPID calculations will be performed using the standard trapezoidal rule SPIDx =∑\_(i=0)\^x▒((〖PID〗\_i+〖PID〗\_(i+1))/2) \* (T\_(i+1)- T\_i ) Where: PID\_i = P\_i - PBL (Pain score at time i and Pain score at Baseline), and (T\_i+1 - T\_i) is the Time difference in minutes between time i and time i+1. Therefore, SPID6 values may theoretically range between a maximum score of 0 ( no improvement) and a minimum score of -3525 (best improvement)

Time frame: 6 hours post dose

Population: mITT Population : defined as all randomized subjects who received study drug and recorded at least one post-dosing PI score

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboSummed Pain Intensity Difference Over the First Six Hours-420.2 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 716.42
DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 62.5 mgSummed Pain Intensity Difference Over the First Six Hours-1101.0 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 570.74
DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 125 mgSummed Pain Intensity Difference Over the First Six Hours-1771.7 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 646.1
DFN-15 (Celecoxib Oral Solution) 250 mgSummed Pain Intensity Difference Over the First Six Hours-1463.5 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 727.28
p-value: <0.0001ANCOVA

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026