Skip to content

Preoperative Palbociclib in Patients With DCIS of the Breast That Are Candidates for Surgery

Preoperative Palbociclib in Patients With DCIS of the Breast That Are Candidates for Surgery

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03535506
Acronym
WI223281
Enrollment
17
Registered
2018-05-24
Start date
2018-10-08
Completion date
2023-12-06
Last updated
2025-09-26

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

DCIS

Keywords

Breast Cancer, DCIS, Ductal Carcinoma In Situ, Palbociclib

Brief summary

This is a feasibility study which will evaluate the effects of pre-operative treatment of DCIS of the breast with palbociclib. Patients with biopsy-proven DCIS are eligible for the study. There will be 2 independent and unrelated study groups of 12 patients each, for a total of 24 patients: 1. Group A, of male or female patients treated with palbociclib single agent (n=12); 2. Group B, untreated, of male or female patients who consented translational studies in blood, as well as diagnostic and definitive surgical specimen, but not the pre-operative treatment with palbociclib (n=12).

Interventions

DRUGPalbociclib

Palbociclib capsules for oral administration contain 125 mg, 100 mg, or 75 mg of palbociclib, a kinase inhibitor.

Sponsors

Pfizer
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Georgetown University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

for all patients (Groups A and B): * Signed informed consent obtained prior to any study specific assessments and procedures * Age ≥18 years * Premenopausal and postmenopausal women, or men * Current pathologic diagnosis of DCIS of the breast of any receptor status; History of previous DCIS allowed provided that the patient is currently off systemic risk-reduction endocrine therapy; History of previous invasive breast cancer adequately treated and that is currently in remission and unrelated to current DCIS (based on primary tumor location) is allowed as long as patient is currently off systemic therapy for that invasive cancer for at least 4 weeks prior to pre-treatment biopsy (diagnostic biopsy); Patients with multifocal or multicentric lesions are allowed, as long as at least one lesion is histologically confirmed DCIS and overall clinical AJCC Stage 0 or I. * A formalin-fixed paraffin-embedded (FFPE) tumor tissue block from diagnostic biopsy must be transmitted to MedStar Georgetown University Hospital Pathology Department repository and confirmation of receipt must be available prior to enrollment. * Positive Rb by immunohistochemistry in the DCIS component of the lesion - must be performed at CLIA-approved setting (for instance, MGUH); Rb staining will be considered positive when 1+ or above (in a scale of 0, 1+, 2+ or 3+) * In the absence of histologic diagnosis of DCIS, patient may undergo fresh biopsy for eligibility, provided: this invasive procedure is not a Fine Needle Aspiration (FNA); AND this procedure is a core biopsy, stereotactic biopsy or incisional biopsy of the suspicious breast lesion; AND the primary lesion is not completely resected during the procedure. * The patient is candidate for and is willing to receive definitive surgical therapy for DCIS * ECOG performance status 0-1 * Willingness to provide a sample of tissue collected at definitive surgery for research Inclusion criteria specific to treatment Group A: * Patients must be able and willing to swallow and retain oral medication * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1,500/mm3 * Platelets ≥ 120,000/mm3 * Hemoglobin ≥ 10g/dL * Total serum bilirubin ≤ ULN; or total bilirubin ≤ 3.0 × ULN with direct bilirubin within normal range in patients with documented Gilbert's Syndrome. * Aspartate amino transferase (AST or SGOT) and alanine amino transferase (ALT or SGPT) ≤ 1.5 × institutional ULN * Serum creatinine within normal institutional limits or creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min/1.73 m2 for patients with serum creatinine levels above institutional ULN. * Pregnancy must be ruled out: serum or urine pregnancy test must be negative within 14 days of treatment start in women of childbearing potential. Pregnancy testing does not need to be pursued in patients who are judged as postmenopausal before enrollment, or who have undergone tubal ligation, bilateral oophorectomy, total hysterectomy. * Willingness to undergo adequate contraception if childbearing potential; women of childbearing potential and male patients randomized into treatment Group A must use adequate contraception for the duration of protocol treatment and for 3 months after the last treatment with palbociclib if they are in Group A; adequate contraception is defined as one highly effective form (i.e. abstinence, (fe)male sterilization) OR two effective forms (e.g. non-hormonal IUD and condom / occlusive cap with spermicidal foam / gel / film / cream / suppository).

Exclusion criteria

for all patients (Groups A and B): * Concurrent therapy with other Investigational Products * Invasive carcinoma present in the diagnostic biopsy, microinvasion is allowed * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including (active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, diabetes, pulmonary embolism in the past 6 months, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements). * Unable to comply with study requirements * Hormone therapies containing estrogen, progesterone, GnRH agonists and antagonists within 4 weeks from diagnostic biopsy. * Therapy with any CDK inhibitor in the past 3 months

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Feasibility: Recruitment Rates5 yearsThe approach will be considered feasible if more than 50% of the enrolled patients are treated andcomplete the study.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pathologic Changes2 monthsNumber of patients with pathologic changes in breast tissue before and after definitive surgery.
Pathology Changes on Immunohistochemistry (IHC)2 monthsNumber of treated subjects with pharmacodynamic changes evaluated by IHC from diagnostic biopsy to definitive surgery.
Toxcity Based on CTCAE3 monthsNumber of subjects with an adverse event reported from time of consent until up to 32 days after surgery.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Group A- Palbociclib Before Surgery
Patients enrolled to Group A will receive a 12-day course of Palbociclib before surgery. Patients will receive Palbociclib 100mg PO daily x 12 days.
5
Group B- No Pre-operative Treatment
These patients will receive no pre-operative treatment. Core biopsies from diagnosis and material from definitive surgery will be collected for translational studies and tissue banking. They will also provide blood samples at screening and prior to definitive surgery.
12
Total17

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicGroup A- Palbociclib Before SurgeryGroup B- No Pre-operative TreatmentTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants3 Participants3 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
5 Participants9 Participants14 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants10 Participants15 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants4 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants5 Participants8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
5 Participants12 Participants17 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 50 / 12
other
Total, other adverse events
5 / 50 / 12
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 50 / 12

Outcome results

Primary

Feasibility: Recruitment Rates

The approach will be considered feasible if more than 50% of the enrolled patients are treated andcomplete the study.

Time frame: 5 years

Population: Study was terminated due to lack of accural

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Group A- Palbociclib Before SurgeryFeasibility: Recruitment Rates5 Participants
Group B- No Pre-operative TreatmentFeasibility: Recruitment Rates11 Participants
Secondary

Pathologic Changes

Number of patients with pathologic changes in breast tissue before and after definitive surgery.

Time frame: 2 months

Population: Subject in group B did not have specimens collected per protocol so was not included in the analysis. Subject in Group A could not be analyzed due to no evidence of disease at the time of definitive surgery.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Group A- Palbociclib Before SurgeryPathologic Changes0 Participants
Group B- No Pre-operative TreatmentPathologic Changes0 Participants
Secondary

Pathology Changes on Immunohistochemistry (IHC)

Number of treated subjects with pharmacodynamic changes evaluated by IHC from diagnostic biopsy to definitive surgery.

Time frame: 2 months

Population: Treatment arm evaluated for Changes and 1 participant had no evidence of disease at surgery so there was no surgical specimen available to evaluate.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Group A- Palbociclib Before SurgeryPathology Changes on Immunohistochemistry (IHC)4 Participants
Secondary

Toxcity Based on CTCAE

Number of subjects with an adverse event reported from time of consent until up to 32 days after surgery.

Time frame: 3 months

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Group A- Palbociclib Before SurgeryToxcity Based on CTCAE5 Participants
Group B- No Pre-operative TreatmentToxcity Based on CTCAE0 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026