Skip to content

SCP Hip Outcomes Study

A Longitudinal Outcomes Study of the Subchondroplasty® Procedure in the Hip

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Observational
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03494660
Enrollment
77
Registered
2018-04-11
Start date
2018-03-27
Completion date
2025-01-13
Last updated
2026-04-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Avascular Necrosis of Hip, Bone Marrow Edema, Dysplasia; Hip, Femoroacetabular Impingement, Insufficiency Fractures, Subchondral Bone Edema, Subchondral Cysts

Keywords

Subchondroplasty, Bone Marrow Lesion, Arthroscopy, Bone Substitute Material, AccuFill, Subchondral Bone Defect

Brief summary

Post-market clinical outcomes study to collect data on the short- and long-term outcomes for subjects who are undergoing or have undergone the Subchondroplasty® (SCP®) Procedure in the hip in a standard clinical setting. Outcomes to be assessed include medication usage, pain, function, activity levels and patient satisfaction.

Detailed description

This study is designed as a post-market, single arm, non-randomized multi-center investigation. Male and female subjects, at least 18 years of age, with at least one subchondral bone defect in the form of a cyst and/or bone marrow lesion (BML), insufficiency fracture or bone defect associated with early stage avascular osteonecrosis (AVN) in the femoral head, femoral neck and/or acetabulum who are suitable candidates for use of AccuFill during the Subchondroplasty Procedure are eligible for enrollment in this study. A maximum of 15 study sites, in the United States of America, will enroll a target of 50 subjects. Each Investigator must obtain IRB approval, or favorable opinion by an EC, prior to consent of the first subject; no study-related procedures can occur without the approval and oversight of a registered IRB or EC. If the study site does not have an IRB of record, a central IRB may be utilized upon approval by Zimmer Biomet. Demographics, medical history, hip history and use of pain medication and therapy will be recorded at the time of subject consent. Additionally, patient reported outcomes measures will be obtained pre-operatively. Operative details including the SCP Procedure, concomitant surgical procedures and intraoperative safety events will be recorded at the time of surgery. Prospective subjects will be considered enrolled in this study once their Subchondroplasty Procedure has been performed. Subjects will complete only the Numeric Pain Scale at 2 weeks post-operatively. Thereafter, subjects will complete self-reported outcomes measures post-operatively at 6 weeks, 12 weeks, 6 months, 1 year and 2 years. These measures include information on pain medication and therapy, pain levels, function, activity and subject satisfaction. Screening for adverse events and conversion will occur throughout the study. Subjects will complete the study at 2 years or will be withdrawn if they undergo conversion of the Subchondroplasty site. For the purposes of this protocol, a conversion will be defined as total hip arthroplasty or any procedure involving removal of the AccuFill material on the index hip.

Interventions

Injection of the commercially available flowable calcium phosphate (CaP) synthetic bone-void filler, AccuFill®, into subchondral bone defects in the hip (Subchondroplasty (SCP) Procedure).

Sponsors

Zimmer Biomet
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Observational model
COHORT
Time perspective
OTHER

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Candidates must meet ALL of the following: 1. Surgeon considers the patient appropriate for the SCP Procedure of the hip. 2. Subchondral bone defect(s) in the femoral head, femoral neck and/or acetabulum has been confirmed via radiographic finding on MRI or x-ray. 3. Subject provides voluntary signature on the IRB approved Informed Consent Form. 4. Subject is at least 18 years of age. 5. Subject must be physically and mentally willing and able, in the Investigator's opinion at the time of enrollment, to be compliant with the protocol and complete outcome forms via email, telephone, in-person or by regular mail.

Exclusion criteria

* Candidates will be excluded if they meet ANY of the following: 1. Subject has collapse of subchondral bone. 2. Subject is pregnant at the time of surgery. 3. Subject is incarcerated. 4. Subject is involved in active litigation related to the condition being treated. 5. Subject is not comfortable with speaking, reading, and understanding questions and providing responses in an available language for the PROs in the protocol.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Group Mean Improvement From Baseline of the Modified Harris Hip Score (mHHS) at 2 Years2 YearsChange in Modified Harris Hip Score using a 0-100 overall score, from baseline at 2-years. Subscales of pain, function, and activity levels are combined to generate the overall score. Pain is scored out of 44 possible points, function is scored out of 33 possible points and subject activities are scored out of 14 possible points. The maximum score of 91 is multiplied by 1.1 to give a total score out of 100; a higher score represents better patient reported pain, function and activity levels.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pain and Functional Performance by Numeric Pain Scale (NPS)2 weeks postoperativePain intensity was assessed using the Numeric Pain Scale (0-10), where 0 indicates no pain and 10 indicates worst possible pain.
Modified Harris Hip Score (mHHS)6 weeks postoperativeHip function and pain were assessed using the Modified Harris Hip Score (mHHS), a validated instrument that evaluates pain, daily activities, and gait. Scores range from 0 to 100, where higher scores indicate better hip function and less pain. Change from baseline was calculated at each follow-up timepoint.
Subject Quality-of-life Measured by the EQ-5D-5L Score6 weeksQuality of life will be assessed using the EQ-5D-5L questionnaire, which evaluates five dimensions of health: mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, and anxiety/depression. Each dimension is rated on five levels of severity. Responses will be converted into a single utility index score using the appropriate value set, with values typically ranging from 0 (worst health) to 1 (best health). Higher scores indicate better quality of life.
Subject Quality-Of-Life Measured by the EQ-5D-5L Visual Analog Scale (VAS)6 WeeksThe EQ-5D-5L VAS records the subject's self-rated health on a scale from 0 (worst imaginable health) to 100 (best imaginable health).

Countries

United States

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
2 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
75 Participants
Age, Continuous41.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12
EQ-5D-5L Index Score
All subjects
0.2 Index Score
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.4
EQ-5D-5L Index Score
Off-Label Subjects
0.3 Index Score
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.4
EQ-5D-5L Index Score
On-Label Subjects
0.2 Index Score
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.4
EQ-5D-5L Visual Analog Scale (VAS)
All Subjects
67.4 Score (0-100) on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 22.5
EQ-5D-5L Visual Analog Scale (VAS)
Off-Label Subjects
68.7 Score (0-100) on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 24.7
EQ-5D-5L Visual Analog Scale (VAS)
On-Label Subjects
66.9 Score (0-100) on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 21.9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
76 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Modified Harris Hip Score (mHHS)
All Subjects
55.0 Points (0-100 scale)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 20.6
Modified Harris Hip Score (mHHS)
Off-Label Subjects
53.4 Points (0-100 scale)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 22.2
Modified Harris Hip Score (mHHS)
On-Label Subjects
55.5 Points (0-100 scale)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 20.2
Numeric Pain Scale (NPS)
All Subjects
5.9 Score on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.6
Numeric Pain Scale (NPS)
Off-Label
6.4 Score on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.5
Numeric Pain Scale (NPS)
On-Label Subjects
5.8 Score on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.7
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
15 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
61 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
27 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
50 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 590 / 18
other
Total, other adverse events
2 / 592 / 18
serious
Total, serious adverse events
11 / 594 / 18

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Apr 22, 2026