Skip to content

A Study Of The Selective PKC-β Inhibitor MS- 553

A Phase I/II Dose-Escalation and Expansion Study of the Selective PKC-β Inhibitor MS-553 in Patients With Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03492125
Enrollment
60
Registered
2018-04-10
Start date
2018-05-25
Completion date
2023-11-28
Last updated
2025-04-10

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Aggressive Lymphoma, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma

Brief summary

A Phase I/II Dose-Escalation and Expansion Study Of The Selective PKC-Β Inhibitor MS-553 In Patients With Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma

Interventions

DRUGMS-553

Oral, multiple dose levels

DRUGacalabrutinib

Oral

DRUGvenetoclax

Oral

DRUGRituximab

IV

DRUGobinutuzumab

IV

Sponsors

MingSight Pharmaceuticals, Inc
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

a limited 3+3 phase 1 dose escalation study with expansion cohorts

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

To be eligible for inclusion in the primary escalation and expansion cohort 1 in this study, patients must meet all of the following criteria: 1. Age 18 years or older 2. Diagnosis of chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) or small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL): 1. History of histologically documented CLL or SLL that meets IWCLL diagnostic criteria according to the 2008 guidelines, and 2. Indication for treatment as defined by the 2008 IWCLL guidelines, or the need for disease reduction prior to allogeneic transplantation

Exclusion criteria

Patients who meet any of the following criteria are not eligible for the primary escalation and expansion cohorts of this study: 1. Current or past transformation of CLL/SLL to prolymphocytic leukemia (PLL), non-Hodgkin lymphoma, or Hodgkin lymphoma aggressive lymphoma outlined in the inclusion criteria for the optional cohort. 2. Active and uncontrolled autoimmune cytopenia(s) 3. Any of the following prior therapies within 14 days prior to cycle 1, day 1: 1. Major surgery 2. Corticosteroids greater than 20 mg / day prednisone (or equivalent), unless used by inhalation or topical route, or unless necessary for premedication before iodinated contrast dye, or for autoimmune hemolytic anemia 3. Cytotoxic chemotherapy or biologic therapy, excepting BCR pathway kinase inhibitors for which no wash out is required (but must be stopped before cycle 1 day 1)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationAssessments for DLT and TEAE will occur during Cycle 1 (28 days) for A1 Cohort and B1 Cohort and Cycles 1-4 (up to 112 days) for C1 Cohort.DLT are defined as any of the following treatment-emergent events occurring during the DLT evaluation period. 1. Death 2. Hematologic toxicities: • Grade 4 neutropenia for ≥ 7 days • Grade 3 febrile neutropenia: absolute neutrophil count (ANC) 38.3°C (101°F) or a sustained temperature ≥38°C (100.4°F) for \> 1 hour • Grade 4 thrombocytopenia ≥ 14 days (patients with baseline platelet count of ≥ 50 x 109 /L) • Grade 4 thrombocytopenia ≥ 28 days (patients with baseline platelet count \< 50 x 10 9 /L) • ≥ Grade 3 thrombocytopenia associated with ≥ Grade 2 hemorrhage • New ≥ Grade 3 anemia requiring transfusion in a patient previously transfusion independent. 3. Nonhematologic toxicities: • Any other ≥ Grade 3 toxicity not reversed to any one of the following three conditions in 7 days with appropriate intervention: a) baseline; b) \< Grade 1; or c) a status considered to be controlled by the SRC. • Any TEAE requiring \>25% of doses of scheduled study drug to be withheld during the DLT period

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior TherapyEvaluation of the efficacy endpoints related to response will incorporate the data from the first 9 cycles (up to 252 days) of treatment.This will be assessed according to the 2008 International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (IWCLL) Response Criteria with modifications for treatment-related lymphocytosis. Any patient who receives at least one cycle of study therapy is evaluable for response.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants enrolled between May 2018 and Oct. 2023

Pre-assignment details

No participants were enrolled in Cohort B2, B3 or C2

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 100 mg BID)
R/R CLL/SLL patients MS-553 Monotherapy: Oral
4
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)
R/R CLL/SLL patients MS-553 Monotherapy: Oral
3
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 250 mg BID)
R/R CLL/SLL patients MS-553 Monotherapy: Oral
3
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 300 mg BID)
R/R CLL/SLL patients MS-553 Monotherapy: Oral
4
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 350 mg BID)
R/R CLL/SLL patients MS-553 Monotherapy: Oral
4
Phase II Expansion Cohort A2 (MS-553 Monotherapy)
R/R CLL/SLL patients MS-553: Oral recommended phase 2 dose of MS-553
23
Phase II Expansion Cohort A3 (MS-553 Monotherapy)
patients with Richter's transformation or aggressive lymphoma MS-553: Oral recommended phase 2 dose of MS-553
6
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)
BTK inhibitor naïve CLL/SLL patients MS-553: Oral acalabrutinib: Oral
3
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553:200 mg BID)
BTK inhibitor naïve CLL/SLL patients MS-553: Oral acalabrutinib: Oral
3
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)
Bcl-2 inhibitor naïve CLL/SLL patients MS-553: Oral venetoclax: Oral Rituximab: IV obinutuzumab: IV
3
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)
Bcl-2 inhibitor naïve CLL/SLL patients MS-553: Oral venetoclax: Oral Rituximab: IV obinutuzumab: IV
4
Total60

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalPhase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 250 mg BID)Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 300 mg BID)Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 350 mg BID)Phase II Expansion Cohort A2 (MS-553 Monotherapy)Phase II Expansion Cohort A3 (MS-553 Monotherapy)Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 100 mg BID)Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553:200 mg BID)Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
48 Participants2 Participants2 Participants3 Participants4 Participants21 Participants4 Participants3 Participants2 Participants3 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
12 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
56 Participants3 Participants2 Participants4 Participants4 Participants23 Participants6 Participants4 Participants3 Participants2 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
57 Participants3 Participants2 Participants3 Participants4 Participants23 Participants6 Participants4 Participants3 Participants2 Participants3 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
60 participants3 participants3 participants4 participants4 participants23 participants6 participants4 participants3 participants3 participants3 participants4 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
21 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants3 Participants8 Participants1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
39 Participants2 Participants3 Participants3 Participants1 Participants15 Participants5 Participants2 Participants2 Participants1 Participants3 Participants2 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
EG007
affected / at risk
EG008
affected / at risk
EG009
affected / at risk
EG010
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 42 / 31 / 32 / 42 / 46 / 233 / 60 / 30 / 30 / 30 / 4
other
Total, other adverse events
4 / 43 / 33 / 34 / 44 / 423 / 236 / 63 / 33 / 33 / 34 / 4
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 43 / 31 / 33 / 43 / 415 / 233 / 61 / 32 / 32 / 32 / 4

Outcome results

Primary

The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug Discontinuation

DLT are defined as any of the following treatment-emergent events occurring during the DLT evaluation period. 1. Death 2. Hematologic toxicities: • Grade 4 neutropenia for ≥ 7 days • Grade 3 febrile neutropenia: absolute neutrophil count (ANC) 38.3°C (101°F) or a sustained temperature ≥38°C (100.4°F) for \> 1 hour • Grade 4 thrombocytopenia ≥ 14 days (patients with baseline platelet count of ≥ 50 x 109 /L) • Grade 4 thrombocytopenia ≥ 28 days (patients with baseline platelet count \< 50 x 10 9 /L) • ≥ Grade 3 thrombocytopenia associated with ≥ Grade 2 hemorrhage • New ≥ Grade 3 anemia requiring transfusion in a patient previously transfusion independent. 3. Nonhematologic toxicities: • Any other ≥ Grade 3 toxicity not reversed to any one of the following three conditions in 7 days with appropriate intervention: a) baseline; b) \< Grade 1; or c) a status considered to be controlled by the SRC. • Any TEAE requiring \>25% of doses of scheduled study drug to be withheld during the DLT period

Time frame: Assessments for DLT and TEAE will occur during Cycle 1 (28 days) for A1 Cohort and B1 Cohort and Cycles 1-4 (up to 112 days) for C1 Cohort.

Population: DLT evaluable population (Phase 1 only) included all participants who had completed at least 75% of their planned doses during Cycle 1 or the DLT period, unless missed doses were due to adverse events.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 100mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 100mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 200mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 200mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 250mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 250mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 300mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 300mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE0 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 350mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT1 Participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 350mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE1 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE0 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT0 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553-200 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE0 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553-200 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT0 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT0 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE0 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with DLT1 Participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)The Incidence Rate of DLT and TEAE Requiring Study Drug DiscontinuationNumber of participants with TEAE1 Participants
Secondary

The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy

This will be assessed according to the 2008 International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (IWCLL) Response Criteria with modifications for treatment-related lymphocytosis. Any patient who receives at least one cycle of study therapy is evaluable for response.

Time frame: Evaluation of the efficacy endpoints related to response will incorporate the data from the first 9 cycles (up to 252 days) of treatment.

Population: Consisting of all patients who received at least one dose of study therapy of MS-553 and had at least one post-baseline efficacy evaluation.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 100mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy0 percentage of participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 200mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy33.3 percentage of participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 250mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy100 percentage of participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 300mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy66.7 percentage of participants
Phase I Dose Escalation Cohort A1 (MS-553: 350mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy33.3 percentage of participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy42.10 percentage of participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort B1 (MS-553-200 mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy25 percentage of participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy100 percentage of participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy66.7 percentage of participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 150 mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy100 percentage of participants
Phase I Combination Dose Escalation Cohort C1 (MS-553: 200 mg BID)The ORR of MS-553 in Patients With CLL/SLL Whose Disease Relapsed After or Was Refractory to at Least One Prior Therapy100 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 11, 2026