Skip to content

An A Study Assessing Subject Satisfaction With A-101 Topical Solution for Seborrheic Keratoses

An Open-Label Study Assessing Subject Satisfaction With A-101 Hydrogen Peroxide Topical Solution, 40% (w/w) Treatment for Seborrheic Keratoses of the Face, Neck, and Decolletage

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03487588
Acronym
SK-FAN
Enrollment
41
Registered
2018-04-04
Start date
2018-03-21
Completion date
2018-11-14
Last updated
2019-10-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Seborrheic Keratosis

Brief summary

This study is an open-label study designed to evaluate subject's satisfaction after treatment of seborrheic keratoses with A-101 40%.

Interventions

A-101 Topical Solution applied Day 1, Day 15 and Day 29

Sponsors

Aclaris Therapeutics, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
30 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Subject can comprehend and is willing to sign an informed consent for participation in this study. 2. Male or female between the ages of 30 and 75 years old. 3. Subject has 3 eligible Seborrheic Keratoses; 2 target SKs must be on the face, and the additional 1 target SK must be on the neck or decolletage. 4. Subjects must have had cryosurgery for SK removal within the last 6 months and prior to first treatment with A-101 Topical Solution. 5. Target and non-target SKs must not have been previously treated. 6. Subject is in good general health and free of any known disease state or physical condition which, in the investigator's opinion, might impair the evaluation of any target or non-target SK or which exposes the subject to an unacceptable risk by study participation

Exclusion criteria

1. Subject has clinically atypical and /or rapidly growing Seborrheic Keratoses. 2. Subject has current systemic malignancy. 3. Subject would require the use of any topical treatment (e.g., moisturizers, sunscreens) to any of the target or non-target SKs 12 hours prior to any study visit. 4. Subject has any current skin disease (e.g., psoriasis, atopic dermatitis, eczema, sun damage), or condition (e.g., sunburn, excessive hair, open wounds) that, in the opinion of the investigator, might put the subject at undue risk by study participation or interfere with the study conduct or evaluations

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Subject SatisfactionDay 113Subject Satisfaction Questionnaire after treatment with A-101 Topical Solution

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Effectiveness of TreatmentDay 113Effectiveness of treatment as measured by the Physician Lesion Assessment scale. The Physician Lesion Assessment Scale (PLA) is a 4 point scale used by the investigator to assess each subjects SK lesion. PLA=0 (Clear);PLA=1 (Near Clear; not elevated); PLA=2 (Thin;thickness \</= 1 mm); PLA=3 (Thick; thickness \> 1 mm).
Comparison of Physician Lesion Assessment Score (PLA) to Subject SatisfactionDay 113Effectiveness of treatment assessed by PLA (4-point scale) compared to subject reported satisfaction with treatment. The PLA scale is a 4 point scale used by the investigator to assess each subject's SK lesion.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
A-101 Topical Solution
Open Label Arm A-101 Topical Solution: A-101 Topical Solution applied Day 1, Day 15 and Day 29
41
Total41

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicA-101 Topical Solution
Age, Continuous62.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.97
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
41 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
41 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
41 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
24 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
17 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 41
other
Total, other adverse events
8 / 41
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 41

Outcome results

Primary

Subject Satisfaction

Subject Satisfaction Questionnaire after treatment with A-101 Topical Solution

Time frame: Day 113

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
A-101 Topical SolutionSubject Satisfactionvery satisfied (5)21 Participants
A-101 Topical SolutionSubject Satisfactionsatsified (4)14 Participants
A-101 Topical SolutionSubject Satisfactionmoderately satisfied (3)4 Participants
A-101 Topical SolutionSubject Satisfactionslightly satisfied (2)0 Participants
A-101 Topical SolutionSubject Satisfactionnot satisfied at all (1)2 Participants
Secondary

Comparison of Physician Lesion Assessment Score (PLA) to Subject Satisfaction

Effectiveness of treatment assessed by PLA (4-point scale) compared to subject reported satisfaction with treatment. The PLA scale is a 4 point scale used by the investigator to assess each subject's SK lesion.

Time frame: Day 113

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
A-101 Topical SolutionComparison of Physician Lesion Assessment Score (PLA) to Subject Satisfaction.318 point bi-serial correlation coefficient
Secondary

Effectiveness of Treatment

Effectiveness of treatment as measured by the Physician Lesion Assessment scale. The Physician Lesion Assessment Scale (PLA) is a 4 point scale used by the investigator to assess each subjects SK lesion. PLA=0 (Clear);PLA=1 (Near Clear; not elevated); PLA=2 (Thin;thickness \</= 1 mm); PLA=3 (Thick; thickness \> 1 mm).

Time frame: Day 113

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
A-101 Topical SolutionEffectiveness of Treatment-2.0 score on a scale (PLA)Standard Deviation 0.62

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026