Skip to content

Study of the Intravitreal Plasma Kallikrein Inhibitor, KVD001, in Subjects With Center-involving Diabetic Macular Edema (ciDME)

A Randomized Sham-controlled Double-masked Phase 2a Study of the Efficacy, Safety and Tolerability of the Intravitreal Plasma Kallikrein Inhibitor, KVD001, in Subjects With Center-involving Diabetic Macular Edema Who Have Had Prior Anti-vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Treatment

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03466099
Enrollment
129
Registered
2018-03-15
Start date
2018-02-16
Completion date
2019-10-10
Last updated
2021-01-28

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Diabetic Macular Edema

Brief summary

This is a clinical study where patients with diabetes and a vision threatening eye condition called Diabetic Macular Edema receive four injections into the eye at monthly intervals. The patients will already have tried the standard of care without complete success. The patients will be randomized to receive either a high dose, a low dose or a sham control treatment. The study will evaluate whether the new treatment improves vision and whether it changes the underlying course of the disease in the eye.

Interventions

Intravitreal KVD001 Injection

OTHERSham Procedure

Sham Procedure

Sponsors

KalVista Pharmaceuticals, Ltd.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Confirmed diagnosis of Type I or Type II diabetes mellitus (DM). * BCVA of ≥19 letters (\ 20/400) and ≤73 letters (\ 20/40) in the study eye and ≥34 letters(\ 20/200 or better) in the fellow eye. * Presence of ciDME in the study eye defined as CST ≥305 μm in women and ≥320 μm in men * Subjects first anti-VEGF injection in the study eye occurred ≤36 months. * Subjects have received at least 3 anti-vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) injections in the study eye within a 6-month period. * The last anti-VEGF injection in the study eye is ≥ 8 weeks.

Exclusion criteria

* Evidence of ocular pathology (e.g. visually significant cataract) that impacts subject's vision in the study eye from any cause other than DME. * Evidence/presence of amblyopia, vitreomacular traction, epiretinal membrane, foveal atrophy, or foveal ischemia, or any other condition in the macula that is thought to impair the subject's vision (other than DME). * Prior treatment with panretinal photocoagulation or focal grid macular photocoagulation in the study eye within the previous 3 months. * Prior treatment with intravitreal (IVT) steroid in the study eye (in the previous 3 months for triamcinolone, previous 6 months for Ozurdex and at any time for Iluvien). * Prior treatment with topical NSAIDs or topical steroids in the study eye within 1 month. * Prior treatment with systemic corticosteroids or systemic anti-VEGF therapy within 3 months. * Prior vitrectomy in the study eye. * Prior intraocular surgery in the study eye except for cataract surgery. Cataract surgery within the previous 6 months in the study eye is excluded. * Intraocular pressure (IOP) of \>22 mmHg in the study eye or use of \>2 antiglaucoma agents (combination agents count as 2 agents) in the study eye. * Evidence of infectious dacrocystitis, significant blepharitis, active conjunctivitis, infectious keratitis, or scleritis in either eye, or any other condition that might affect the safety of the IVT injection. * Current active proliferative diabetic retinopathy (PDR), active anterior segment neovascularization (ASNV), active retinal neovascularization, or the presence of vitreous hemorrhage in the study eye. * Poorly controlled DM. * Uncontrolled hypertension * Prior treatment with ocriplasminin the study eye within 3 months

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
BCVA16 weeksChange from Baseline in Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA)

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
DRSS16 weeksAssessments of Diabetic Retinopathy Severity Score (DRSS, scale 10-85) to evaluate the percentage of eyes with a ≥2 step reduction in score from the baseline retinopathy severity as graded from fundus photography. Minimum and maximum values of the DRSS are 10 and 85, with the low end of the scale indicating absence of retinopathy which, as the score increases, so does the severity of the retinopathy such that a score of 85 is indicative of advanced proliferative diabetic retinopathy
CST16 weeksAssessments of Central Subfold Thickness (CST) - analysis of covariance of change from baseline in the study eye at week 16

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

130 Patients were randomized but one patient withdrew prior to receiving any study treatments

Participants by arm

ArmCount
KVD001 Injection (High Dose)
KVD001 Injection: Intravitreal KVD001 Injection 6ug
41
KVD001 Injection (Low Dose)
KVD001 Injection: Intravitreal KVD001 Injection 3ug
44
Sham Procedure
Sham Procedure: Sham Procedure
44
Total129

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyAdverse Event111
Overall StudyRescued without meeting criteria411
Overall StudySubject compliance200
Overall StudyUse of rescue medication8913
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject231
Overall StudyWorsening disease001

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalSham ProcedureKVD001 Injection (High Dose)KVD001 Injection (Low Dose)
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
58 Participants21 Participants20 Participants17 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
71 Participants23 Participants21 Participants27 Participants
Age, Continuous63.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.7
64.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.62
63.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.58
61.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.67
Baseline BMI32.11 kg/(m*m)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.778
31.58 kg/(m*m)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.999
31.71 kg/(m*m)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.367
33.00 kg/(m*m)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.728
Baseline Height (cm)167.31 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.788
164.78 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.638
167.98 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.833
169.21 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.579
Baseline Weight (kg)89.74 kg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 21.083
85.34 kg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 20.139
88.88 kg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.605
94.94 kg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 26.404
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
41 Participants15 Participants19 Participants7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
88 Participants29 Participants22 Participants37 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Iris color
Black
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Iris color
Blue
24 Participants6 Participants9 Participants9 Participants
Iris color
Brown
71 Participants24 Participants23 Participants24 Participants
Iris color
Gray
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Iris color
Green
7 Participants3 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Iris color
Hazel
25 Participants11 Participants7 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
5 Participants4 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
12 Participants3 Participants4 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
111 Participants37 Participants37 Participants37 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
58 Participants23 Participants15 Participants20 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
71 Participants21 Participants26 Participants24 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 410 / 440 / 44
other
Total, other adverse events
22 / 4126 / 4423 / 44
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 413 / 442 / 44

Outcome results

Primary

BCVA

Change from Baseline in Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA)

Time frame: 16 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
KVD001 Injection (High Dose)BCVA0.8 LettersStandard Deviation 6.65
KVD001 Injection (Low Dose)BCVA-0.3 LettersStandard Deviation 8.36
Sham ProcedureBCVA-1.8 LettersStandard Deviation 12.27
Secondary

CST

Assessments of Central Subfold Thickness (CST) - analysis of covariance of change from baseline in the study eye at week 16

Time frame: 16 weeks

Population: FAS Population with LOCF

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
KVD001 Injection (High Dose)CST10.9 μmStandard Deviation 104.67
KVD001 Injection (Low Dose)CST2.3 μmStandard Deviation 108.83
Sham ProcedureCST8.2 μmStandard Deviation 123.9
Secondary

DRSS

Assessments of Diabetic Retinopathy Severity Score (DRSS, scale 10-85) to evaluate the percentage of eyes with a ≥2 step reduction in score from the baseline retinopathy severity as graded from fundus photography. Minimum and maximum values of the DRSS are 10 and 85, with the low end of the scale indicating absence of retinopathy which, as the score increases, so does the severity of the retinopathy such that a score of 85 is indicative of advanced proliferative diabetic retinopathy

Time frame: 16 weeks

Population: FAS Population with observed data

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
KVD001 Injection (High Dose)DRSS0 percentage of participants
KVD001 Injection (Low Dose)DRSS3.2 percentage of participants
Sham ProcedureDRSS0 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 27, 2026