Skip to content

Nab-sirolimus in Recurrent High Grade Glioma and Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma

A Phase 2, Open-label Study of ABI-009 (Nab-Rapamycin) in Patients With Recurrent High-grade Glioma and Patients With Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03463265
Enrollment
62
Registered
2018-03-13
Start date
2018-08-01
Completion date
2022-08-26
Last updated
2023-11-07

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

High Grade Recurrent Glioma and Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma

Brief summary

Phase 2, open-label study of nab-sirolimus in patients with recurrent high grade glioma following prior therapy and patients with newly diagnosed glioblastoma. nab-Sirolimus was administered as single agent or in combination therapies.

Detailed description

A phase 2, open-label study of nab-sirolimus (also known as ABI-009, nab-rapamycin, albumin-bound rapamycin) in patients with recurrent high grade glioma following prior therapy and patients with newly diagnosed glioblastoma. nab-Sirolimus was administered as single agent or in combination therapies, including temozolomide, bevacizumab, lomustine, and marizomib.

Interventions

nab-sirolimus, single agent

DRUGnab-sirolimus + temozolomide

temozolomide, combination

DRUGnab-sirolimus + bevacizumab

bevacizumab, combination

DRUGnab-sirolimus + lomustine

lomustine, combination

DRUGnab-sirolimus + marizomib (MRZ)

marizomib (MRZ), combination

DRUGnab-sirolimus + temozolomide + radiotherapy

temozolomide + radiotherapy, combination

Sponsors

Aadi Bioscience, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Specific for Arm A 1. All subjects must have histologic evidence of high grade glioma (World Health Organization \[WHO\] grade 3 or grade 4) and radiographic evidence of recurrence or disease progression (defined as either a greater than 25% increase in the largest bi-dimensional product of enhancement, a new enhancing lesion, or a significant increase in T2 FLAIR). Subjects must have at least 1 measurable lesion by RANO criteria (≥ 10 mm in 2 perpendicular diameters). 2. Patients must have previously failed a treatment regimen, including radiation and/or chemotherapy. 3. No prior treatment with mTOR inhibitors. 4. No prior treatment with temozolomide for the treatment of recurrent glioma for patients entering the ABI-009 + temozolomide cohort. 5. No prior treatment with bevacizumab or any other anti-angiogenic agents, including sorafenib, sunitinib, axitinib, pazopanib, or cilengitide for the ABI-009 + bevacizumab arm. 6. No prior treatment with lomustine for the ABI-009 + lomustine arm. 7. No prior treatment with marizomib or any other proteasome inhibitors, including bortezomib, carfilzomib, or ixazomib, for patients entering the ABI-009 + marizomib cohort. 8. At least 4 weeks from surgical resection and at least 12 weeks from the end of radiotherapy prior to enrollment in this study, unless relapse is confirmed by tumor biopsy or new lesion outside of radiation field, or if there are two MRIs confirming progressive disease that are approximately 4 weeks apart. Inclusion Criteria Specific for Arm B 1. Histologically confirmed newly diagnosed glioblastoma. 2. Patients must have had surgery and can have either non-measurable disease or a measurable post-contrast lesion after surgery detected by MRI. 3. No prior treatment with mTOR inhibitors, and no prior local or systemic therapy for GBM.

Exclusion criteria

Common for Both Arms A and B A patient will not be eligible for inclusion in this study if any of the following criteria apply: 1. Co-medication or concomitant therapy that may interfere with study results, including anti-coagulants and enzyme-inducing anti-epileptic drugs (EIAEDs). 2. History of thrombotic or hemorrhagic stroke or myocardial infarction within 6 months. 3. Pregnant or breast feeding. 4. Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection requiring IV antibiotics & psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements, or disorders associated with significant immunocompromised state. 5. Active gastrointestinal bleeding. 6. Uncontrolled hypertension (systolic blood pressure ≥160 mm Hg and/or diastolic blood pressure ≥90 mm Hg. 7. Patients with history of intestinal perforations, fistula, hemorrhages and/or hemoptysis ≤6 months prior to first study treatment. 8. Uncontrolled diabetes mellitus as defined by HbA1c \>8% despite adequate therapy. 9. Patients with history of interstitial lung disease and/or pneumonitis, or pulmonary hypertension. 10. Use of strong inhibitors and inducers of CYP3A4 within the 14 days prior to receiving the first dose of ABI-009. Additionally, use of any known CYP3A4 substrates with narrow therapeutic window (such as fentanyl, alfentanil, astemizole, cisapride, dihydroergotamine, pimozide, quinidine, terfanide) within the 14 days prior to receiving the first dose of ABI-009. 11. Known other previous/current malignancy requiring treatment within ≤ 3 years except for limited disease treated with curative intent, such as in situ prostate cancer, intracapsular renal cancer, cervical carcinoma in situ, squamous or basal cell skin carcinoma, and superficial bladder carcinoma. 12. Any comorbid condition that restricts the use of study drug and confounds the ability to interpret data from the study as judged by the Investigator or Medical Monitor. 13. Known Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), or active Hepatitis B or Hepatitis C.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
ORRThrough study completion (up to 48 months)Objective overall response rate (ORR, according to Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology \[RANO\]) by investigator-assessed radiologic review and defined as the proportion of patients who achieved a confirmed partial response (PR) or confirmed complete response (CR) per RANO 2010 criteria. PR is defined as greater than or equal to 50% decrease compared with baseline in the sum of products of perpendicular diameters of all measurable enhancing lesions sustained for at least 4 weeks.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Median PFSThrough study completion (up to 48 months)Progression-free Survival defined as number of months from the date of the first dose of study drug to the first observation of a disease progression or death due to any cause. Progression is assessed according to Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) 2010 criteria based on MRI imaging, and includes ≥25% increase in the sum of the products of perpendicular diameters of enhancing lesions (compared with baseline if no decrease) on stable or increasing doses of corticosteroids.
PFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 Months6 and 12 monthsProgression-free survival rate at 6 months and 12 months was calculated as the proportion of patients who were progression-free and alive at 6 and 12 months, respectively. Progression is assessed according to Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) 2010 criteria based on MRI imaging, and includes ≥25% increase in the sum of the products of perpendicular diameters of enhancing lesions (compared with baseline if no decrease) on stable or increasing doses of corticosteroids.
OSThrough study completion (up to 48 months)Median Overall Survival
OS at 12 Months12 monthsOverall Survival rate at 12 months

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade Glioma
nab-sirolimus (ABI-009, nab-rapamycin, albumin-bound rapamycin): 100 mg/m2 as a 30-minute IV infusion on Days 1 and 8 of every 21-day cycle. Two dose reduction levels allowed for toxicities: 75 mg/m2 and 60 mg/m2
7
Arm A: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade Glioma
ABI-009: IV 60 mg/m 2 as a 30-minute infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of every 28-day cycle. If ABI-009 is well tolerated at 60 mg/m2 in the first 3 patients in the cohort, the dose may be increased to 75 mg/m2. Three dose reduction levels allowed: 45, 30, and 20 mg/m2. Bevacizumab: IV infusion (90 minutes 1st dose, 60 minutes 2nd dose, and 30 minutes afterward assuming tolerability) at a fixed dose of 5 mg/kg on Days 1 and 15 of every 28-day cycle. Bevacizumab administered approximately 10 minutes after the end of the ABI-009.
6
Arm A: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade Glioma
ABI-009: 60 mg/m 2 as a 30-minute IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of every 28-day cycle. If ABI-009 is well tolerated at 60 mg/m2 in the first 3 patients in the cohort, the dose may be increased to 75 mg/m2. Three dose reduction levels allowed: 45, 30, and 20 mg/m2. Temozolomide: PO at 50 mg/m2 daily.
9
Arm A: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade Glioma
ABI-009: 60 mg/m 2 as a 30-minute IV infusion on Days 1 and 8 of every 21-day cycle. If ABI-009 is well tolerated at 60 mg/m2 in the first 3 patients in the cohort, the dose may be increased to 75 mg/m2. Three dose reduction levels allowed: 45, 30, and 20 mg/m2. Lomustine (CCNU): PO at 90 mg/m2 on Day 1 of each odd 21-day cycle (ie, every 6 weeks)
4
ArmA: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib (MRZ) in Patients With Recurrent High Grade Glioma
ABI-009: 60 mg/m 2 as a 30-minute IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of every 28-day cycle. If ABI-009 is well tolerated at 60 mg/m2 in the first 3 patients in the cohort, the dose may be increased to 75 mg/m2. Three dose reduction levels allowed for toxicities: 45, 30, and 20 mg/m2. MRZ: 0.8 mg/m 2 as a 10-minute IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of every 28-day cycle. MRZ administered approximately 10 minutes after the end of the ABI-009 infusion.
10
Arm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma
Concomitant Treatment: starting 1 week after the completion of Induction Treatment and lasting for 6 weeks (2 cycles). ABI-009: IV at 60 mg/m2 as a 30-minute IV infusion on Days 8 and 15 of every 21-day cycle. Three dose reduction levels allowed: 45, 30, and 20 mg/m2. Temozolomide: 75 mg/m2 PO daily for 6 weeks. Focal RT: daily at 30 x 200 cGy, 5 days/week for a total dose of 60 Gy (or equivalent regimens as per RTOG guidelines)
26
Total62

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm A: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaArmA: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib (MRZ) in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaArm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed GlioblastomaTotalArm A: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaArm A: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaArm A: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade Glioma
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
2 Participants1 Participants13 Participants20 Participants2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
7 Participants9 Participants13 Participants42 Participants5 Participants4 Participants4 Participants
Age, Continuous60 years52.5 years64 years60 years60 years53.5 years53 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants3 Participants3 Participants13 Participants0 Participants4 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants7 Participants23 Participants48 Participants6 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants3 Participants2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
9 Participants9 Participants25 Participants58 Participants5 Participants6 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
9 participants10 participants26 participants62 participants7 participants6 participants4 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants3 Participants6 Participants15 Participants2 Participants2 Participants1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
8 Participants7 Participants20 Participants47 Participants5 Participants4 Participants3 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
7 / 74 / 68 / 94 / 410 / 1019 / 26
other
Total, other adverse events
7 / 76 / 68 / 94 / 410 / 1026 / 26
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 70 / 60 / 91 / 40 / 101 / 26

Outcome results

Primary

ORR

Objective overall response rate (ORR, according to Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology \[RANO\]) by investigator-assessed radiologic review and defined as the proportion of patients who achieved a confirmed partial response (PR) or confirmed complete response (CR) per RANO 2010 criteria. PR is defined as greater than or equal to 50% decrease compared with baseline in the sum of products of perpendicular diameters of all measurable enhancing lesions sustained for at least 4 weeks.

Time frame: Through study completion (up to 48 months)

Population: Efficacy Analysis Set

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm A, Cohort 1: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaORR0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 2: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaORR0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 3: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaORR0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 4: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaORR0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 5: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaORR0 percentage of patients
Arm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed GlioblastomaORR11.5 percentage of patients
Secondary

Median PFS

Progression-free Survival defined as number of months from the date of the first dose of study drug to the first observation of a disease progression or death due to any cause. Progression is assessed according to Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) 2010 criteria based on MRI imaging, and includes ≥25% increase in the sum of the products of perpendicular diameters of enhancing lesions (compared with baseline if no decrease) on stable or increasing doses of corticosteroids.

Time frame: Through study completion (up to 48 months)

Population: Efficacy Analysis Set

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A, Cohort 1: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaMedian PFS1.7 months
Arm A, Cohort 2: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaMedian PFS11.3 months
Arm A, Cohort 3: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaMedian PFS3.1 months
Arm A, Cohort 4: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaMedian PFS3.8 months
Arm A, Cohort 5: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaMedian PFS1.7 months
Arm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed GlioblastomaMedian PFS7.5 months
Secondary

OS

Median Overall Survival

Time frame: Through study completion (up to 48 months)

Population: Efficacy Analysis Set

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A, Cohort 1: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS7.2 months
Arm A, Cohort 2: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS13.8 months
Arm A, Cohort 3: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS6.8 months
Arm A, Cohort 4: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS7.5 months
Arm A, Cohort 5: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS6.7 months
Arm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed GlioblastomaOS13.3 months
Secondary

OS at 12 Months

Overall Survival rate at 12 months

Time frame: 12 months

Population: Efficacy Analysis Set

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm A, Cohort 1: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS at 12 Months0.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 2: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS at 12 Months66.7 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 3: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS at 12 Months25.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 4: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS at 12 Months25.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 5: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaOS at 12 Months0.0 percentage of patients
Arm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed GlioblastomaOS at 12 Months53.8 percentage of patients
Secondary

PFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 Months

Progression-free survival rate at 6 months and 12 months was calculated as the proportion of patients who were progression-free and alive at 6 and 12 months, respectively. Progression is assessed according to Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) 2010 criteria based on MRI imaging, and includes ≥25% increase in the sum of the products of perpendicular diameters of enhancing lesions (compared with baseline if no decrease) on stable or increasing doses of corticosteroids.

Time frame: 6 and 12 months

Population: Efficacy Analysis Set

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm A, Cohort 1: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 6 months0.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 1: Nab-sirolimus in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 12 months0.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 2: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 6 months75.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 2: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 12 months50.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 3: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 6 months37.5 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 3: Nab-sirolimus + Bevacizumab in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 12 months12.5 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 4: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 12 months0.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 4: Nab-sirolimus + Lomustine in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 6 months25.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 5: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 6 months10.0 percentage of patients
Arm A, Cohort 5: Nab-sirolimus + Marizomib in Patients With Recurrent High Grade GliomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 12 months0.0 percentage of patients
Arm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed GlioblastomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 12 months36.4 percentage of patients
Arm B: Nab-sirolimus + Temozolomide + Radiotherapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed GlioblastomaPFS Rate at 6 Months and 12 MonthsPFS at 6 months76.9 percentage of patients

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 20, 2026