Skip to content

Dual Field PEMF Therapy in Lower Extremity Painful Diabetic Distal Symmetric Peripheral Neuropathy

A Multi-Center, Double-Blind, Sham-Controlled, Randomized Trial of Dual Field PEMF Therapy [Provant® Therapy System] in Lower Extremity Painful Diabetic Distal Symmetric Peripheral Neuropathy (DSPN) (The RELIEF Trial)

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03455543
Acronym
RELIEF
Enrollment
182
Registered
2018-03-06
Start date
2018-03-26
Completion date
2019-07-18
Last updated
2020-07-15

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Diabetic Neuropathy Peripheral

Brief summary

Part A of this trial is a multi-center, prospective, double-blinded, sham-controlled, randomized clinical trial. Part A will evaluate PEMF treatment compared to sham treatment in patients with painful diabetic distal symmetric peripheral neuropathy (DSPN) when treatment is administered 30 minutes twice daily through a 120-day period (4 months). Part B is a 8-month open-label active treatment extension period designed to collect longer-term data on pain, medication use, quality of life and safety (Part B).Part B of this trial is a an extension period upon completion of Part A.

Detailed description

Eligible subjects will be entered into a 14-day ePRO diary run-in period to collect average baseline pain scores related to their diabetic neuropathy in the lower extremities, diary compliance, and analgesic consumption (maintenance and prn prescribed peripheral neuropathic pain medication pill counts). Subjects will collect electronic patient-reported outcome (ePRO) data each morning around the same time during the run-in period. Subjects will return to the clinic at Baseline (Day 0) for review of eligibility, diary compliance, average baseline diabetic neuropathic pain score of ≥4 and \<9, and review of stable analgesic pain consumption profile during the 14-day run-in period. Qualified subjects based on diary compliance and average pain score will be randomized 1:1 (active: sham) and will be instructed to self-treat twice daily for 120 days. Subjects will record electronic patient-reported outcome (ePRO) data following each morning treatment for 120 days. Subjects consenting to distal thigh and distal leg skin biopsies during the Screening visit will have biopsies collected and sent to the central laboratory for assessment. All subjects will have baseline assessments conducted. Subjects will receive a telephone call at Day 7 to ensure compliance to treatment and diary completion, provide follow-up information on the biopsy sites (if applicable), complete a blinding assessment as well as be assessed for safety and concomitant medication changes. At Month 1 subjects will return to the clinic for evaluation of safety, concomitant medication changes, review device usage and ePRO diary completion, and Patient Global Impression (PGI). Treatment satisfaction will also be assessed. At Month 2 subjects will return to the clinic for evaluation of safety, concomitant medication changes, treatment satisfaction, review of device usage (reports will be supplied to the site) and ePRO diary completion, quality of life outcomes (WPAIQ and NeuroQoL), Patient Global Impression (PGI), and interim visit measurements of SPP. At Month 3, subjects will return to the clinic for evaluation of safety, concomitant medication changes, review device usage (reports will be supplied to the site) and ePRO diary completion, and Patient Global Impression (PGI). Treatment satisfaction will also be assessed. At Month 4 (end of Part A / start of Part B), subjects will return to the clinic for evaluation of safety, treatment satisfaction, review of device usage (reports will be supplied to the site), HbA1c, concomitant medication changes, weight, quality of life outcomes (WPAIQ and NeuroQoL), PGI, final measurements of SPP, NCS, QST and be assessed to determine their Toronto Clinical Neuropathy Score. Those subjects who consented and had biopsies collected at the Enrollment visit, will have their end of study biopsies during this visit and samples sent directly to the central laboratory for assessment. Subjects will return the study device and complete a blinding assessment. Subjects that complete Part A will continue into the open-label extension period (Part B). All subjects will be reconsented if not completed at a prior visit and given an open-label active device. Subjects will record ePRO data for one week prior to the Month 6, 8, 10, and 12 visits following each morning treatment. Subjects will be reminded of the150-day (Month 5) phone call. At Month 5, subjects will receive a telephone call to ensure compliance to treatment, and to be assessed for safety and concomitant medication changes. At Month 6, subjects will receive a telephone call to ensure treatment compliance and collection of diary data, and to assess safety and concomitant medication changes. At Month 7, subjects will receive a telephone call to ensure treatment compliance, and to assess safety and concomitant medication changes. At Month 8, subjects will return to the clinic for evaluation of safety, measure QST, treatment satisfaction, review of device usage and collection of diary data, concomitant medication changes, quality of life outcomes (NeuroQoL), and PGI. At Month 9, subjects will receive a telephone call to ensure treatment compliance, and to assess safety and concomitant medication changes. At Month 10, subjects will receive a telephone call to ensure treatment compliance and collection of diary data, and to assess safety and concomitant medication changes. At Month 11, subjects will receive a telephone call to ensure treatment compliance, and to assess safety and concomitant medication changes. At Month 12 (end of open-label treatment extension), subjects will return to the clinic for evaluation of safety, weight, QST, NCS, TCNSS, PGI, treatment satisfaction, review of device usage and collection of diary data, concomitant medication changes, quality of life outcomes (NeuroQoL), and will return the study device. Subjects who consented and had biopsies collected at the 4 Month visit, will have their end of study biopsies performed during this visit.

Interventions

Treatment with active Provant Therapy System

Treatment with inactive Provant Therapy System

Sponsors

Regenesis Biomedical, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Masking description

Active and sham devices will look identical. Participants and site staff will be blind to the randomization.

Intervention model description

Two parallel groups, active device group versus sham device group. Subjects will be randomized 1:1 at baseline and treat with active PEMF or sham for 4 months.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
22 Years to 80 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes * Pain attributed to symmetrical lower extremity diabetic peripheral neuropathy for at least 6 months * DPN pain over the preceding 24 hours is ≥4 and \<9 based on the 11-point NPRS (0-10) * 22 to 80 years of age * On stable diabetes treatment * HbA1c less than or equal to 10% * No recent changes to analgesic prescriptions * ABI of ≥0.8 to ≤1.3 * Walks independently * Willing and able to give consent * If female, must be post-menopausal, surgically sterile, abstinent or practicing an effective method of birth control * Can access an internet browser or smart phone To be randomized after the 14-day run-in period, average pain (NPRS) must be ≥ 4 and \< 9 over preceding 7 days and subject must be 70% compliant with ePRO assessments (electronic diary)

Exclusion criteria

* Active, open ulcer on either extremity * Significant peripheral vascular disease * Venous insufficiency * History of solid organ transplant or severe renal disease * Diagnosed with a non-diabetic cause of chronic neuropathy * Previous or current history of primary or tertiary hyperparathyroidism, hypercalcemia, psychiatric disorder, alcohol dependency, Hepatitis B or C, or HIV infection * Significant cardiovascular disease * Uncontrolled medical illness * Requires or anticipates the need for surgery during the study * Total foot depth of \>8 cm * Has received any investigational drug or device within 30 days * Has used systemic corticosteroids within 3 months * History of malignancy within 5 years in treatment area * A psychiatric disorder of sufficient severity * Receiving prn narcotic medications * History of drug or alcohol abuse within 1 year * Implanted pacemaker, defibrillator, neurostimulator, spinal cord stimulator, bone stimulator, cochlear implant, or other implanted device with an implanted metal lead(s0 * Pregnant or planning to become pregnant * Previous treatment with Provant Therapy * Unwilling to follow instructions or comply with study instructions * Pain from any other source that could confuse DPN pain assessment * Clinically significant foot deformity * Skin condition that could alter peripheral sensations * Previous surgery to the spine or lower extremity with residual symptoms of pain or difficulty with movement. * Clinically significant arthropathy

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Pain IntensityBaseline through 4 monthsAbsolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Patients With 2 Point or 30% Reduction in Pain at 4 MonthsBaseline to 4 monthsPercentage of patients who have either a 2 point or 30% reduction in (pain) NPRS at 4 Months. Absolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain).
Patient Global Impression at 4 MonthsBaseline through 4 months.Patient Global Impression at 4 Months. The question assesses change since the start of the study on a 7-point scale (Since the start of the study, how has your diabetic neuropathy in your legs changed?), and to score it as either very much worse, much worse, minimally worse, no change, minimally improved, much improved or very much improved.
Time to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsThrough 4 monthsAbsolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Number of participants achieving a 30% or 2-point reduction at or prior to weeks 1, 4, 8, 12 and 17 are displayed below.
Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Baseline to 4 monthsA validated set of health-related quality of life measures that are domain specific.Subjects will completed 6 domains: (1) Pain, (2) Lost/Reduced Feeling, (3) Diffuse Sensory Motor Symptoms, (4) Restrictions in Activities of Daily Living, (5) Disruptions in Social Relationships, and (6) Emotional Distress.The short forms were completed by the subject at the Enrollment Visit and end of study visit (Day 121). Each question in the domain was rated on a symptom scale from 1 (never) to 5 (all the time) and a bothersome scale from 1 (none) to 3 (very much). The total score for the domain was calculated by multiplying the symptom score by the bothersome score. The scale range is from 1 to 15 where the minimum (best/least symptomatic) score is 1 and the maximum (worst/most symptomatic) score is 15. The mean change from Baseline to month 4 is displayed below.
Change is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsBaseline to 4 monthsSPP was measured at two locations on each foot (dorsal right and left and plantar right and left). Mean change displayed from Baseline to 4-months displayed below. SPP measures pressure in mmHg; an increase in pressure is favorable. * Normal SPP: 50 mmHg to 100 mmHg * Marginal Ischemia SPP: 30 mmHg to 50 mmHg * Critical Limb Ischemia / PAD SPP: \< 30 mmHg
Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Baseline to 4 MonthsUsing the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction velocity was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in velocity would suggest DPN improvement. The mean change from Baseline to 4-months is displayed below.
Changes in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Baseline to 4 monthsContact thermal stimulation will be delivered using the Medoc Ltd. Q-Sense system to assess cool sensation threshold, warm sensation threshold and heat pain threshold modalities using the method of limits. Within the cool and warm sensation modalities, the trial is repeated 4 times on each foot and 3 times on each foot for heat pain threshold modality. The cool thermal testing will be conducted prior to the warm and heat pain thermal testing. Mean change from baseline to 4-months displayed below.
Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Baseline to 4 MonthsUsing the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction amplitude was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in amplitude would suggest DPN improvement. The mean change from Baseline to 4-months is displayed below.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part ABaseline to Month 4Optional two 3 mm punch skin biopsies will be performed at baseline and end of treatment to assess IENFD. At the Enrollment Visit, one biopsy will be obtained at the distal leg, 10 cm above the lateral malleolus on the right leg and a second biopsy will be obtained at the distal thigh, 10 cm above the superior margin of the patella on the lateral right leg. At the end of Part A study visit Month 4 (Day 121), a second set of biopsies will be obtained lateral to the baseline biopsies and shipped overnight to the central lab. For Active Group and Sham Group displayed below, result are the change in nerve fiber density from Baseline to Month 4.
Exploratory Endpoint: Change in Pain Intensity During Part BBaseline through 12 monthsAbsolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Results below display the change from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.
Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity During Part BBaseline to Month 12Using the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction velocity was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in velocity would suggest DPN improvement. Results below display the mean change in velocity and from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.
Exploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part BBaseline to Month 12A validated set of health-related quality of life measures that are domain specific.Subjects will completed 6 domains: (1)Pain, (2)Lost/Reduced Feeling, (3)Diffuse Sensory Motor Symptoms, (4)Restrictions in Activities of Daily Living, (5)Disruptions in Social Relationships, and (6)Emotional Distress.The short forms were completed by the subject at the Enrollment Visit, end of study visit (Day 121) and at 12 months. Each question in the domain was rated on a symptom scale from 1 (never) to 5 (all the time) and a bothersome scale from 1 (none) to 3 (very much). The total score for the domain was calculated by multiplying the symptom score by the bothersome score. The scale range is from 1 to 15 where the minimum (best/least symptomatic) score is 1 and the maximum (worst/most symptomatic) score is 15. Results below display the change from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part
Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude During Part BBaseline to Month 12Using the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction amplitude was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in amplitude would suggest DPN improvement. Results below display the mean change in amplitude from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.
Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 5-6)Baseline to 4 MonthsThe Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) is a validated 6 question assessment tool that measures time missed from work, impairment of work and regular activities due to their health problem. Subjects are asked if they are working (Question 1), and if answer is yes, subjects are asked about the effect their diabetic neuropathy (DN) has on their ability to work and perform regular activities in the past 7 days. Mean change from Baseline to 4-months displayed below (Questions 5-6) for subjects that responded Yes to working in Question 1. Questions 5 and 6 use a 0-10 scale where 0 = no effect on work and/or daily activities and 10 =DN completely prevented me from working and/or doing daily activities.
Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part BBaseline to Month 12Optional two 3 mm punch skin biopsies will be performed at baseline and end of treatment to assess IENFD. At the Enrollment Visit, one biopsy will be obtained at the distal leg, 10 cm above the lateral malleolus on the right leg and a second biopsy will be obtained at the distal thigh, 10 cm above the superior margin of the patella on the lateral right leg. At the end of Part A study visit Month 4 (Day 121), a second set of biopsies will be obtained lateral to the baseline biopsies and shipped overnight to the central lab. At the end of Part B study visit Month 12 (Day 361), a final set of biopsies will be obtained lateral to the Month 4 biopsies. Results displayed are the change in nerve fiber density from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.
Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)Baseline to 4 MonthsThe Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) is a validated 6 question assessment tool that measures time missed from work, impairment of work and regular activities due to their health problem. Subjects are asked if they are working (Question 1), and if answer is yes, subjects are asked about the effect their diabetic neuropathy (DN) has on their ability to work and perform regular activities in the past 7 days. Mean change from Baseline to 4-months are displayed below (Questions 2-4) for subjects that responded Yes to working in Question 1. Questions 2-4 are answered in number of hours.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Protocol Sample Size was anticipated at 170 subjects. The original enrollment target of 170 subjects was exceeded to grant study entry to qualified subjects that completed the 14-day run-in period.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Active Group
Treatment with active Provant Therapy System Active Provant Therapy System: Treatment with active Provant Therapy System
92
Sham Group
Treatment with in-active (sham) Provant Therapy System Inactive (sham) Provant Therapy System: Treatment with inactive Provant Therapy System
90
Total182

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Part A: Randomized Treatment (17 Weeks)Adverse Event250
Part A: Randomized Treatment (17 Weeks)Physician Decision200
Part A: Randomized Treatment (17 Weeks)Withdrawal by Subject720
Part B: Open-label Extension (24 Weeks)Adverse Event003
Part B: Open-label Extension (24 Weeks)Device interfered with home speakers001
Part B: Open-label Extension (24 Weeks)Lack of Efficacy007
Part B: Open-label Extension (24 Weeks)Lost to Follow-up004
Part B: Open-label Extension (24 Weeks)Out of window for visits002
Part B: Open-label Extension (24 Weeks)Withdrawal by Subject0020

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicActive GroupTotalSham Group
Age, Continuous62.27 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.21
62.22 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.76
62.17 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.33
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
12 Participants27 Participants15 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
80 Participants155 Participants75 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants4 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
15 Participants29 Participants14 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
74 Participants147 Participants73 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
92 participants182 participants90 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
50 Participants92 Participants42 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
42 Participants90 Participants48 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 920 / 9057 / 152
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 920 / 900 / 152
serious
Total, serious adverse events
5 / 926 / 905 / 152

Outcome results

Primary

Change in Pain Intensity

Absolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain).

Time frame: Baseline through 4 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupChange in Pain Intensity-1.47 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 1.845
Sham GroupChange in Pain Intensity-1.25 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.018
Secondary

Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.

A validated set of health-related quality of life measures that are domain specific.Subjects will completed 6 domains: (1) Pain, (2) Lost/Reduced Feeling, (3) Diffuse Sensory Motor Symptoms, (4) Restrictions in Activities of Daily Living, (5) Disruptions in Social Relationships, and (6) Emotional Distress.The short forms were completed by the subject at the Enrollment Visit and end of study visit (Day 121). Each question in the domain was rated on a symptom scale from 1 (never) to 5 (all the time) and a bothersome scale from 1 (none) to 3 (very much). The total score for the domain was calculated by multiplying the symptom score by the bothersome score. The scale range is from 1 to 15 where the minimum (best/least symptomatic) score is 1 and the maximum (worst/most symptomatic) score is 15. The mean change from Baseline to month 4 is displayed below.

Time frame: Baseline to 4 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)
Active GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(1) Pain-1.66 units on a scale
Active GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(2) Lost/Reduced Feeling-1.03 units on a scale
Active GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(3) Diffuse Sensory Motor Symptoms-0.92 units on a scale
Active GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(4) Restrictions in Activities of Daily Living-1.66 units on a scale
Active GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(5) Disruptions in Social Relationships-1.31 units on a scale
Active GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(6) Emotional Distress-1.12 units on a scale
Sham GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(5) Disruptions in Social Relationships-1.99 units on a scale
Sham GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(1) Pain-1.52 units on a scale
Sham GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(4) Restrictions in Activities of Daily Living-2.38 units on a scale
Sham GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(2) Lost/Reduced Feeling-1.42 units on a scale
Sham GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(6) Emotional Distress-1.63 units on a scale
Sham GroupChange in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.(3) Diffuse Sensory Motor Symptoms-0.79 units on a scale
Secondary

Change is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 Months

SPP was measured at two locations on each foot (dorsal right and left and plantar right and left). Mean change displayed from Baseline to 4-months displayed below. SPP measures pressure in mmHg; an increase in pressure is favorable. * Normal SPP: 50 mmHg to 100 mmHg * Marginal Ischemia SPP: 30 mmHg to 50 mmHg * Critical Limb Ischemia / PAD SPP: \< 30 mmHg

Time frame: Baseline to 4 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsDorsal - Left-0.25 mmHgStandard Deviation 34.22
Active GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsDorsal - Right-0.74 mmHgStandard Deviation 35.18
Active GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsPlantar - Left6.37 mmHgStandard Deviation 27.72
Active GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsPlantar - Right2.12 mmHgStandard Deviation 21.05
Sham GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsPlantar - Right-2.51 mmHgStandard Deviation 23.66
Sham GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsDorsal - Left3.27 mmHgStandard Deviation 33.82
Sham GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsPlantar - Left-1.84 mmHgStandard Deviation 28.87
Sham GroupChange is Skin Perfusion Pressure (SPP) for Baseline to End of Treatment at 4 MonthsDorsal - Right2.93 mmHgStandard Deviation 25.83
Secondary

Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.

Using the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction amplitude was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in amplitude would suggest DPN improvement. The mean change from Baseline to 4-months is displayed below.

Time frame: Baseline to 4 Months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Amplitude (m/s) - Left1.27 uv (amplitude)Standard Deviation 9.96
Active GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Amplitude (m/s) - Right1.95 uv (amplitude)Standard Deviation 10.27
Sham GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Amplitude (m/s) - Right1.03 uv (amplitude)Standard Deviation 9.91
Sham GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Amplitude (m/s) - Left1.36 uv (amplitude)Standard Deviation 11.63
Secondary

Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.

Using the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction velocity was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in velocity would suggest DPN improvement. The mean change from Baseline to 4-months is displayed below.

Time frame: Baseline to 4 Months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Velocity (uv) - Left-4.15 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 20.45
Active GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Velocity (uv) - Right-1.11 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 18.18
Sham GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Velocity (uv) - Left-5.12 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 22.25
Sham GroupChanges in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Velocity (uv) - Right-5.06 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 20.94
Secondary

Changes in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.

Contact thermal stimulation will be delivered using the Medoc Ltd. Q-Sense system to assess cool sensation threshold, warm sensation threshold and heat pain threshold modalities using the method of limits. Within the cool and warm sensation modalities, the trial is repeated 4 times on each foot and 3 times on each foot for heat pain threshold modality. The cool thermal testing will be conducted prior to the warm and heat pain thermal testing. Mean change from baseline to 4-months displayed below.

Time frame: Baseline to 4 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Cold - Right0.57 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 3.32
Active GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Cold - Left0.08 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 3.25
Active GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Warm - Right-0.58 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 3.7
Active GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Warm - Left-0.53 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 4.25
Active GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Pain - Right-0.29 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 3.21
Active GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Pain - Left-0.62 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 3.23
Sham GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Pain - Right-0.75 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 3.1
Sham GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Cold - Right-0.21 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 3.07
Sham GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Warm - Left0.01 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 4.41
Sham GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Cold - Left0.02 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 2.85
Sham GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Pain - Left-0.23 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 2.97
Sham GroupChanges in Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST) Between Baseline and End of Treatment at 4 Months.Warm - Right-0.54 Temperature in degrees CStandard Deviation 4.07
Secondary

Patient Global Impression at 4 Months

Patient Global Impression at 4 Months. The question assesses change since the start of the study on a 7-point scale (Since the start of the study, how has your diabetic neuropathy in your legs changed?), and to score it as either very much worse, much worse, minimally worse, no change, minimally improved, much improved or very much improved.

Time frame: Baseline through 4 months.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Active GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsNo Change24 Participants
Active GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMuch Improved16 Participants
Active GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMinimally Worse3 Participants
Active GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsVery Much Improved3 Participants
Active GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMinimally Improved37 Participants
Active GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsNot reported8 Participants
Active GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMuch Worse1 Participants
Sham GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsNot reported3 Participants
Sham GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMuch Worse2 Participants
Sham GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMinimally Worse11 Participants
Sham GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsNo Change28 Participants
Sham GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMinimally Improved23 Participants
Sham GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsMuch Improved20 Participants
Sham GroupPatient Global Impression at 4 MonthsVery Much Improved3 Participants
Secondary

Patients With 2 Point or 30% Reduction in Pain at 4 Months

Percentage of patients who have either a 2 point or 30% reduction in (pain) NPRS at 4 Months. Absolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain).

Time frame: Baseline to 4 months

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Active GroupPatients With 2 Point or 30% Reduction in Pain at 4 Months28 Participants
Sham GroupPatients With 2 Point or 30% Reduction in Pain at 4 Months26 Participants
Secondary

Time to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 Months

Absolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Number of participants achieving a 30% or 2-point reduction at or prior to weeks 1, 4, 8, 12 and 17 are displayed below.

Time frame: Through 4 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Active GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 14 Participants
Active GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 1243 Participants
Active GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 418 Participants
Active GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 1745 Participants
Active GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 832 Participants
Sham GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 1740 Participants
Sham GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 13 Participants
Sham GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 827 Participants
Sham GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 1234 Participants
Sham GroupTime to 30% or 2-point Reduction in NPRS, Whichever Comes First, Through 4 MonthsWeek 418 Participants
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B

A validated set of health-related quality of life measures that are domain specific.Subjects will completed 6 domains: (1)Pain, (2)Lost/Reduced Feeling, (3)Diffuse Sensory Motor Symptoms, (4)Restrictions in Activities of Daily Living, (5)Disruptions in Social Relationships, and (6)Emotional Distress.The short forms were completed by the subject at the Enrollment Visit, end of study visit (Day 121) and at 12 months. Each question in the domain was rated on a symptom scale from 1 (never) to 5 (all the time) and a bothersome scale from 1 (none) to 3 (very much). The total score for the domain was calculated by multiplying the symptom score by the bothersome score. The scale range is from 1 to 15 where the minimum (best/least symptomatic) score is 1 and the maximum (worst/most symptomatic) score is 15. Results below display the change from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part

Time frame: Baseline to Month 12

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(1) Pain-3.14 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.33
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(2) Lost/Reduced Feeling-2.42 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.99
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(3) Diffuse Sensory Motor-1.58 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.78
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(4) Restrictions in Activities-2.67 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.61
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(5) Distruptions in Social Relationships-2.25 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.73
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(6) Emotional Distress-1.60 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.81
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(5) Distruptions in Social Relationships-1.73 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.96
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(1) Pain-2.88 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.19
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(4) Restrictions in Activities-2.14 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.85
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(2) Lost/Reduced Feeling-1.96 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.07
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(6) Emotional Distress-1.79 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.58
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Neuropathy Related Quality of Life (NeuroQoL) During Part B(3) Diffuse Sensory Motor-1.04 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.41
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Change in Pain Intensity During Part B

Absolute change in pain intensity as measured by the 11-point, numerical pain rating scale (NPRS) (0-10; where 0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Results below display the change from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.

Time frame: Baseline through 12 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Pain Intensity During Part B-2.96 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.38
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Change in Pain Intensity During Part B2.49 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.38
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part A

Optional two 3 mm punch skin biopsies will be performed at baseline and end of treatment to assess IENFD. At the Enrollment Visit, one biopsy will be obtained at the distal leg, 10 cm above the lateral malleolus on the right leg and a second biopsy will be obtained at the distal thigh, 10 cm above the superior margin of the patella on the lateral right leg. At the end of Part A study visit Month 4 (Day 121), a second set of biopsies will be obtained lateral to the baseline biopsies and shipped overnight to the central lab. For Active Group and Sham Group displayed below, result are the change in nerve fiber density from Baseline to Month 4.

Time frame: Baseline to Month 4

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part ARight Distal Leg-0.12 nerve fiber density in fibers/mmStandard Deviation 1.6
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part ARight Distal Thigh0.64 nerve fiber density in fibers/mmStandard Deviation 2.93
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part ARight Distal Leg0.73 nerve fiber density in fibers/mmStandard Deviation 2.33
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part ARight Distal Thigh1.68 nerve fiber density in fibers/mmStandard Deviation 2.63
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part B

Optional two 3 mm punch skin biopsies will be performed at baseline and end of treatment to assess IENFD. At the Enrollment Visit, one biopsy will be obtained at the distal leg, 10 cm above the lateral malleolus on the right leg and a second biopsy will be obtained at the distal thigh, 10 cm above the superior margin of the patella on the lateral right leg. At the end of Part A study visit Month 4 (Day 121), a second set of biopsies will be obtained lateral to the baseline biopsies and shipped overnight to the central lab. At the end of Part B study visit Month 12 (Day 361), a final set of biopsies will be obtained lateral to the Month 4 biopsies. Results displayed are the change in nerve fiber density from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.

Time frame: Baseline to Month 12

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part BRight Distal Leg.22 nerve fiber density in fibers/mmStandard Deviation 2.17
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Intraepidermal Nerve Fiber Density (IENFD) at the Distal Thigh and Distal Leg - Part BRight Distal Thigh1.09 nerve fiber density in fibers/mmStandard Deviation 2.94
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude During Part B

Using the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction amplitude was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in amplitude would suggest DPN improvement. Results below display the mean change in amplitude from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.

Time frame: Baseline to Month 12

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude During Part BAmplitude (uv) - Right6.0 uv (amplitude) and m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 15.3
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude During Part BAmplitude (uv) - Left5.28 uv (amplitude) and m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 14.4
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude During Part BAmplitude (uv) - Left4.42 uv (amplitude) and m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 14.6
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Amplitude During Part BAmplitude (uv) - Right4.28 uv (amplitude) and m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 14.2
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity During Part B

Using the NC-stat DPNCheck, the sural nerve conduction velocity was recorded on the right and left legs. An increase in velocity would suggest DPN improvement. Results below display the mean change in velocity and from Baseline to Month 12 for subjects that participated in the open-label extension (Part B), stratified by their original randomization in Part A.

Time frame: Baseline to Month 12

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity During Part BVelocity (m/s) - Left-11.9 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 26
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity During Part BVelocity (m/s) - Right-9.48 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 19.5
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity During Part BVelocity (m/s) - Left-8.64 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 24.7
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in Nerve Conduction Studies of Velocity During Part BVelocity (m/s) - Right-6.31 m/s (velocity)Standard Deviation 22.9
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)

The Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) is a validated 6 question assessment tool that measures time missed from work, impairment of work and regular activities due to their health problem. Subjects are asked if they are working (Question 1), and if answer is yes, subjects are asked about the effect their diabetic neuropathy (DN) has on their ability to work and perform regular activities in the past 7 days. Mean change from Baseline to 4-months are displayed below (Questions 2-4) for subjects that responded Yes to working in Question 1. Questions 2-4 are answered in number of hours.

Time frame: Baseline to 4 Months

Population: Includes only subjects that indicated they were working at the Enrollment Visit (Question 1).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)Work hours missed in past 7 days due to DN0.12 HoursStandard Deviation 2.96
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)Work hours missed in past 7 days not due to DN0.60 HoursStandard Deviation 9.17
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)Hours worked in past 7 days-0.48 HoursStandard Deviation 10.62
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)Work hours missed in past 7 days due to DN0.33 HoursStandard Deviation 1.89
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)Work hours missed in past 7 days not due to DN2.61 HoursStandard Deviation 9.38
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 2-4)Hours worked in past 7 days-2.11 HoursStandard Deviation 20.8
Other Pre-specified

Exploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 5-6)

The Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) is a validated 6 question assessment tool that measures time missed from work, impairment of work and regular activities due to their health problem. Subjects are asked if they are working (Question 1), and if answer is yes, subjects are asked about the effect their diabetic neuropathy (DN) has on their ability to work and perform regular activities in the past 7 days. Mean change from Baseline to 4-months displayed below (Questions 5-6) for subjects that responded Yes to working in Question 1. Questions 5 and 6 use a 0-10 scale where 0 = no effect on work and/or daily activities and 10 =DN completely prevented me from working and/or doing daily activities.

Time frame: Baseline to 4 Months

Population: Includes only subjects that indicated they were working at the Enrollment Visit (Question 1).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 5-6)Effect of DN on work in past 7 days-0.40 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 1.89
Active GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 5-6)Effect on daily activities in past 7 days-0.67 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.19
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 5-6)Effect of DN on work in past 7 days-0.61 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.01
Sham GroupExploratory Endpoint: Changes in the Work Productivity and Activity Impairment Questionnaire (WPAIQ) (Questions 5-6)Effect on daily activities in past 7 days-0.59 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.7

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026