Skip to content

Prospective Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Safety and Effectiveness of the IOL

A Multi-center, Prospective Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Safety and Effectiveness of a Posterior Chamber Intraocular Lens for Correction of Aphakia Following Cataract Removal

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03451786
Enrollment
369
Registered
2018-03-02
Start date
2018-04-23
Completion date
2020-03-12
Last updated
2023-04-11

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Aphakia, Cataract Unilateral

Brief summary

To establish the safety and effectiveness of the CT LUCIA 611P posterior chamber intraocular lens for the correction of aphakia following extracapsular cataract extraction via phacoemulsification in adult patients.

Interventions

DEVICEIOL

Intraocular lens

Sponsors

Estelle Poineau
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
22 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Male or female, age 22 years or older at the time of study enrollment. 2. Visually significant cataract in the study eye for which phacoemulsification cataract extraction and posterior chamber IOL implantation is indicated. 3. Projected postoperative BCDVA 0.20 logMAR or better in the study eye, as determined by Investigator's medical judgment. 4. Calculated spherical power targeted at emmetropia at distance in the study eye. 5. Calculated IOL power between +4.0 D and +34.0 D, inclusive, in the study eye. 6. If wearing rigid gas permeable (RGP) contact lens in the study eye, willingness to discontinue lens wear for ≥ 30 days prior to preoperative biometry. 7. Availability, willingness, and sufficient cognitive awareness to return for study-required visits and comply with examination procedures. 8. Willingness to sign the IRB-approved informed consent form (ICF) for study participation.

Exclusion criteria

1. Mature cataract in the study eye that is likely to prolong surgical procedure and/or lead to intraoperative complications prior to attempted IOL implantation. 2. Planned cataract removal using a femtosecond laser. 3. Any visually significant intraocular media opacity other than cataract in the study eye (as determined by the investigator). 4. Significant refractive error (hyperopia/myopia) of axial or pathologic origin in the study eye that, in the judgment of the investigator, could confound outcomes. 5. Abnormal corneal findings in either eye (e.g. keratoconus, pellucid marginal degeneration, or irregular astigmatism). 6. Any anterior segment pathology in the study eye that could significantly affect outcomes (e.g. chronic uveitis, iritis, aniridia, rubeosis iridis, clinically significant corneal or anterior membrane dystrophies, poor pupil dilation, etc.) 7. Any condition in the study eye that could affect IOL stability (e.g. pseudoexfoliation, zonular dialysis, evident zonular weakness or dehiscence, etc.). 8. History of severe dry eye in the study eye that, in the judgment of the investigator, would impair the ability to obtain reliable study measurements. 9. History of serious corneal disease (e.g., herpes simplex, herpes zoster keratitis, etc.) in either eye. 10. History of any clinically significant retinal pathology or ocular diagnosis (e.g. diabetic retinopathy, ischemic diseases, macular degeneration, retinal detachment, optic neuropathy, amblyopia, strabismus, microphthalmos, aniridia, epiretinal membrane etc.) in the study eye that could alter or limit final postoperative visual prognosis. 11. History of cystoid macular edema in either eye. 12. History of uveitis in either eye. 13. History of intraocular or corneal surgery in the study eye. 14. Uncontrolled glaucoma in the study eye (per Investigator judgment). 15. Current ocular infection in the study eye. 16. Fellow eye BCDVA worse than 1.0 logMAR. 17. Presence of uncontrolled systemic disease that could increase operative risk (e.g., diabetes mellitus, active cancer treatment, mental illness, dementia, immunocompromised, connective tissue disease, clinically significant atopic disease, etc.). 18. Use of or history of use of systemic medications with significant ocular side effects or any medications that could confound the outcome or increase patient risk (e.g., steroids, Tamsulosin Hydrochloride \[Flomax\] or other medications including anticholinergics or alpha-adrenergic blocking agents with similar side effects \[e.g. small pupil/floppy iris syndrome\], anti-metabolites, etc.) 19. Participation in any other non-eye related drug or device clinical trial within 30 days prior to enrolling in this study and/or during study participation. 20. Participation in any eye-related drug or device clinical trial within 90 days prior to enrolling in this study and/or during the study participation. 21. Planned concomitant ocular procedure during cataract surgery (e.g., glaucoma surgery including implantation of MIGS, astigmatic correction surgery, penetrating keratoplasty \[PK\], laser-assisted in situ keratomileusis \[LASIK\], etc.) 22. Pregnant, lactating or, if able to bear children, unwilling to use medically acceptable birth control over the course of the study. 23. Unsuitable for study participation for any other reason, as determined by Investigator's clinical judgment (reason to be documented on eCRF).

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuitypostoperative days 330-420Proportion of subjects achieving BCDVA 0.3 logMAR or better

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment Group
IOL: Intraocular lens
339
Total339

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment Group
Age, Continuous69.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
18 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
321 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
29 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
299 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
208 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
131 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 339
other
Total, other adverse events
32 / 339
serious
Total, serious adverse events
13 / 339

Outcome results

Primary

Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity

Proportion of subjects achieving BCDVA 0.3 logMAR or better

Time frame: postoperative days 330-420

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment GroupBest Corrected Distance Visual Acuity308 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026