Skip to content

Hepatocyte Growth Factor to Improve Functioning in PAD

Hepatocyte Growth Factor to Improve Functioning in Peripheral Artery Disease: The HI-PAD Study

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03363165
Acronym
HI-PAD
Enrollment
39
Registered
2017-12-06
Start date
2018-01-01
Completion date
2023-09-05
Last updated
2024-05-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Peripheral Artery Disease

Keywords

PAD

Brief summary

HI-PAD is a placebo controlled double-blind randomized pilot clinical trial to determine whether VM202 may improve walking ability in people with lower extremity peripheral artery disease (PAD).

Detailed description

The HI-PAD study will randomize 39 people age 55 and older with PAD who do not have critical limb ischemia. The primary outcome is change in the six-minute walk distance at 6-month follow-up after the first study drug injection. A secondary outcome in change in six-minute walk distance at 3-month follow-up. Additional secondary outcomes are pain-free and maximal treadmill walking distance, calf biopsy measures of skeletal muscle regeneration, capillary density, and autophagy, and MRI-measured calf muscle perfusion at three-month follow-up. Investigators will also measure change in six-minute walk distance at 12-month follow-up.

Interventions

DRUGVM202

Participants randomized to VM202 will receive calf muscle injections of VM202 to each leg with evidence of PAD. Injections of VM202 are administered by a physician in a double-blinded fashion after randomization on Day 0, Day 14, Day 28, and Day 42, for a total of four treatment days. Therefore, participants randomized to VM202 will receive 4 mgs of VM202 in each calf muscle on each treatment day. Injections are placed beginning 2 cm below the popliteal crease, and are administered in a pre-designed sequence and pattern, at a measured distance 2 cm apart. Note: Participants who have a evidence of PAD in only one leg will only receive injections in the leg with evidence of PAD.

OTHERPlacebo

Participants randomized to placebo will receive calf muscle injections of placebo (the excipient buffer formulation minus the VM202) to each leg with evidence of PAD. Injections of placebo are administered by a physician in a double-blinded fashion after randomization on Day 0, Day 14, Day 28, and Day 42, for a total of four treatment days. Placebo appears identical to the VM202 study drug and is administered in a pattern on the calf identical to that of the VM202 injections. Note: Participants who have a evidence of PAD in only one leg will only receive injections in the leg with evidence of PAD.

Sponsors

National Institute on Aging (NIA)
CollaboratorNIH
Helixmith Co., Ltd.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Northwestern University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
55 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Age 55 or above * Symptomatic PAD, defined as exertion-induced ischemic calf muscle symptoms during the six-minute walk, during the baseline exercise stress test, or during daily walking activities. PAD will be defined as an ankle brachial index (ABI) \< or = 0.90 at the baseline study visit or vascular lab evidence of PAD or angiographic evidence of significant PAD.

Exclusion criteria

* Above- or below-knee amputation. * Critical limb ischemia, including individuals with gangrene and lower extremity ulcers. * Wheelchair-bound or requiring a cane or walker to ambulate. * Walking is limited by a symptom other than PAD. * Lower extremity revascularization, orthopedic surgery, cardiovascular event, coronary revascularization, or other major surgery in the previous three months and planned revascularization or major surgery during the next six months. * Major medical illness including renal disease requiring dialysis, lung disease requiring oxygen, Parkinson's disease, or a life-threatening illness with life expectancy less than six months. \[NOTE: Participants who only use oxygen at night may still qualify\] * History of cancer within the last 5 years or incomplete cancer screening as recommended by the American Cancer Society. Specifically, participants will be asked to provide documentation regarding screening history for colon cancer and breast and cervical cancer (women), according to the American Cancer Society guidelines. Screening for colon cancer may consist of stool testing for blood in the past year. Men must either provide documentation regarding prostate cancer screening history or indicate after a telephone or in-person discussion with Dr. McDermott that they have elected to decline prostate cancer screening. A chest computed tomography will be performed for participants 55 to 74 years old with \>30 pack year history of smoking, unless they have not smoked within the past 15 years, to screen for lung cancer that may exclude them. The study team may also perform colon, breast, and/or cervical cancer screenings as part of study participation. The study team will provide stool testing for blood for colon cancer screening, mammogram for breast cancer screening, and a Pap test for cervical cancer screening according to the participant's eligibility for these screening tests, using the American Cancer Society guidelines. Men who elect to have prostate cancer screening who have not had this completed with their physician can have a prostate specific antigen (PSA) test performed by study investigators. Participants who have a history of non-melanoma skin cancer (i.e.had basal cell carcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin) may still be eligible if the lesion was completely removed and there has been no evidence of recurrence in the past year. * Evidence of proliferative retinopathy. Participants who were treated for retinopathy at least 5 years prior to their baseline assessment who do not have evidence of proliferative retinopathy at the time of baseline assessment may still be eligible. * Positive test for active Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), hepatitis B virus, hepatitis C virus or Human T-lymphotropic virus. Patients who have positive antibodies for HIV, hepatitis B, or hepatitis C who do not have detectable viral load will be eligible for participation. * Mini-Mental Status Examination (MMSE) score \<23 or dementia. * Participation in or completion of a clinical trial in the previous three months. \[NOTE: after completing a stem cell or gene therapy intervention, participants will become eligible after the final study follow-up visit of the stem cell or gene therapy study so long as at least six months have passed since the final intervention administration. After completing a supplement or drug therapy (other than stem cell or gene therapy), participants will be eligible after the final study follow-up visit as long as at least three months have passed since the final intervention of the trial.\] * Increase in angina or angina at rest. * Premenopausal women. * Non-English speaking. * Visual impairment that limits walking ability. * In addition to the above criteria, investigator discretion will be used to determine if the trial is unsafe or not a good fit for the potential participant. * Potential participants who have had symptoms from peripheral artery disease for less than six months will be excluded. * Potential participants who, after being advised of therapeutic options available for people with PAD, prefer to return to their physician to discuss alternative treatment (e.g. supervised exercise or revascularization). Potential participants may participate in the study after 12 weeks has passed since their last supervised exercise session or revascularization if they meet inclusion criteria. * Potential participants with a baseline six-minute walk value \< 595 or \> 1,520 feet will be excluded. * Potential participants with the following laboratory values will be excluded: a hemoglobin value \< 8.0 g/dL, a white blood cell count \< 3,000 cells per microliter, platelet count \< 75,000/mm3, GFR \< 20 mL/minute/1.73 M2, AST or ALT value \> 3 times the upper limit of normal, or any other clinically significant laboratory abnormality which, in the opinion of the investigator, should exclude the participant. Participants may undergo a serum electrophoresis and an immunofixation blood test if indicated to further evaluate abnormalities on the complete blood count if needed to assess study eligibility. * Potential participants started on cilostazol within the past three months will be excluded. They may be evaluated for eligibility once three months has passed since beginning cilostazol. * Vulnerable populations (fetuses, pregnant women, children, prisoners, and institutionalized persons) and adults unable to consent will not be included in the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Six-minute Walk DistanceChange from baseline to six-month follow-up in six-minute walk distanceParticipants walking up and down a 100 foot hallway for six minutes following a standardized protocol. The goal is for them to walk as far as possible in six minutes

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Maximal Treadmill Walking TimeChange from baseline to three-month follow-upA Gardner or Modified Gardner treadmill exercise protocol will be used
Calf Muscle PerfusionChange from baseline to three-month follow-upCalf muscle perfusion is measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Unit of measure is ml/minute per 100 gms tissue
Calf Muscle Biopsy Biochemical Measures (Satellite Cells - Total SCs/100 Fibers)Change from baseline to three-month follow-upA skeletal muscle sample will be obtained from the calf muscle. The outcome is the number of satellite cells per 100 muscle fibers
The Short-Form-36 Physical Functioning ScoreChange from baseline to three-month follow-upThis well validated quality of life measure will be used to assess changes in patient perceived quality of life. The SF-36 is scored from 0-100, with 100 being the best score.
Six-minute Walk DistanceChange in six-minute walk distance from baseline to three-month follow-upParticipants walking up and down a 100 foot hallway for six minutes following a standardized protocol. The goal is for them to walk as far as possible in six minutes
Pain-free Treadmill Walking TimeChange from baseline to three-month follow-upA Gardner or Modified Gardner treadmill exercise protocol will be used
Walking Impairment Questionnaire - Distance ScoreChange from baseline to three-month follow-upThe well validated Walking Impairment Questionnaire will be used to measure patient- perceived walking performance. The WIQ is scored from 0-100, with 100 being the best score. We will use distance and speed sub-components separately.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Six-minute Walk DistanceChange from baseline to 12-month follow-up in six minute walk distance.See above regarding 6-minute walk protocol

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
VM202
Participants will receive injections of VM202 (4 mgs) in calf skeletal muscle every 14 days for a total of four treatment days. VM202: Participants randomized to VM202 will receive calf muscle injections of VM202 to each leg with evidence of PAD. Injections of VM202 are administered by a physician in a double-blinded fashion after randomization on Day 0, Day 14, Day 28, and Day 42, for a total of four treatment days. Therefore, participants randomized to VM202 will receive 4 mgs of VM202 in each calf muscle on each treatment day. Injections are placed beginning 2 cm below the popliteal crease, and are administered in a pre-designed sequence and pattern, at a measured distance 2 cm apart. Note: Participants who have a evidence of PAD in only one leg will only receive injections in the leg with evidence of PAD.
21
Placebo
Participants will receive injections of placebo in calf skeletal muscle every 14 days for a total of four treatment days. Placebo: Participants randomized to placebo will receive calf muscle injections of placebo (the excipient buffer formulation minus the VM202) to each leg with evidence of PAD. Injections of placebo are administered by a physician in a double-blinded fashion after randomization on Day 0, Day 14, Day 28, and Day 42, for a total of four treatment days. Placebo appears identical to the VM202 study drug and is administered in a pattern on the calf identical to that of the VM202 injections. Note: Participants who have a evidence of PAD in only one leg will only receive injections in the leg with evidence of PAD.
18
Total39

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
12-month Follow-upDeath11
12-month Follow-upWithdrawal by Subject11
3-month Follow-upDeath01
6-month Follow-upDeath01
6-month Follow-upWithdrawal by Subject11

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicVM202PlaceboTotal
Age, Continuous70.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.9
67.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7
69.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.2
Ankle Brachial Index0.61 ratio of systolic pressures
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.12
0.63 ratio of systolic pressures
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.13
0.62 ratio of systolic pressures
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.12
Body Mass Index29.8 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.4
30.0 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.6
29.9 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
20 Participants18 Participants38 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
15 Participants10 Participants25 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
5 Participants7 Participants12 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
7 Participants4 Participants11 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
14 Participants14 Participants28 Participants
Six-minute walk distance321.7 meters
STANDARD_DEVIATION 72.2
310.2 meters
STANDARD_DEVIATION 77.9
316.4 meters
STANDARD_DEVIATION 74.1

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 181 / 21
other
Total, other adverse events
14 / 1817 / 21
serious
Total, serious adverse events
6 / 186 / 21

Outcome results

Primary

Six-minute Walk Distance

Participants walking up and down a 100 foot hallway for six minutes following a standardized protocol. The goal is for them to walk as far as possible in six minutes

Time frame: Change from baseline to six-month follow-up in six-minute walk distance

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboSix-minute Walk Distance17.01 metersStandard Error 13.76
VM202Six-minute Walk Distance3.46 metersStandard Error 12.7
p-value: 0.7586ANCOVA
Secondary

Calf Muscle Biopsy Biochemical Measures (Satellite Cells - Total SCs/100 Fibers)

A skeletal muscle sample will be obtained from the calf muscle. The outcome is the number of satellite cells per 100 muscle fibers

Time frame: Change from baseline to three-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboCalf Muscle Biopsy Biochemical Measures (Satellite Cells - Total SCs/100 Fibers)-4.83 Satellite cells per 100 muscle fibersStandard Error 8.23
VM202Calf Muscle Biopsy Biochemical Measures (Satellite Cells - Total SCs/100 Fibers)3.45 Satellite cells per 100 muscle fibersStandard Error 6.91
p-value: 0.208ANCOVA
Secondary

Calf Muscle Perfusion

Calf muscle perfusion is measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Unit of measure is ml/minute per 100 gms tissue

Time frame: Change from baseline to three-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboCalf Muscle Perfusion1.98 ml/minute per 100 gm tissueStandard Error 1.9
VM202Calf Muscle Perfusion2.68 ml/minute per 100 gm tissueStandard Error 1.87
p-value: 0.4019ANCOVA
Secondary

Maximal Treadmill Walking Time

A Gardner or Modified Gardner treadmill exercise protocol will be used

Time frame: Change from baseline to three-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboMaximal Treadmill Walking Time-0.59 minutesStandard Error 0.73
VM202Maximal Treadmill Walking Time1.66 minutesStandard Error 0.73
p-value: 0.0298ANCOVA
Secondary

Pain-free Treadmill Walking Time

A Gardner or Modified Gardner treadmill exercise protocol will be used

Time frame: Change from baseline to three-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboPain-free Treadmill Walking Time0.95 minutesStandard Error 0.8
VM202Pain-free Treadmill Walking Time0.45 minutesStandard Error 0.77
p-value: 0.6603ANCOVA
Secondary

Six-minute Walk Distance

Participants walking up and down a 100 foot hallway for six minutes following a standardized protocol. The goal is for them to walk as far as possible in six minutes

Time frame: Change in six-minute walk distance from baseline to three-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboSix-minute Walk Distance-0.48 metersStandard Error 12.8
VM202Six-minute Walk Distance-2.49 metersStandard Error 12.01
p-value: 0.5442ANCOVA
Secondary

The Short-Form-36 Physical Functioning Score

This well validated quality of life measure will be used to assess changes in patient perceived quality of life. The SF-36 is scored from 0-100, with 100 being the best score.

Time frame: Change from baseline to three-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboThe Short-Form-36 Physical Functioning Score8.70 score on a scaleStandard Error 4.94
VM202The Short-Form-36 Physical Functioning Score3.20 score on a scaleStandard Error 4.6
p-value: 0.7852ANCOVA
Secondary

The Short-Form-36 Physical Functioning Score

This well validated quality of life measure will be used to assess changes in patient perceived quality of life. Scored on a 0-100 scale, where 100- is best.

Time frame: Change from baseline to six-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboThe Short-Form-36 Physical Functioning Score11.98 score on a scaleStandard Error 3.67
VM202The Short-Form-36 Physical Functioning Score6.84 score on a scaleStandard Error 3.32
p-value: 0.8414ANCOVA
Secondary

Walking Impairment Questionnaire - Distance Score

The well validated Walking Impairment Questionnaire will be used to measure patient- perceived walking performance.

Time frame: Change from baseline to six-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboWalking Impairment Questionnaire - Distance Score11.44 score on a scaleStandard Error 6.63
VM202Walking Impairment Questionnaire - Distance Score9.31 score on a scaleStandard Error 6.01
p-value: 0.5912ANCOVA
Secondary

Walking Impairment Questionnaire - Distance Score

The well validated Walking Impairment Questionnaire will be used to measure patient- perceived walking performance. The WIQ is scored from 0-100, with 100 being the best score. We will use distance and speed sub-components separately.

Time frame: Change from baseline to three-month follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboWalking Impairment Questionnaire - Distance Score6.28 score on a scaleStandard Error 5.54
VM202Walking Impairment Questionnaire - Distance Score8.30 score on a scaleStandard Error 5.19
p-value: 0.398ANCOVA
Other Pre-specified

Six-minute Walk Distance

See above regarding 6-minute walk protocol

Time frame: Change from baseline to 12-month follow-up in six minute walk distance.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboSix-minute Walk Distance5.02 metersStandard Error 12.17
VM202Six-minute Walk Distance2.24 metersStandard Error 11.17
p-value: 0.5647ANCOVA

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026