Skip to content

Evaluation of Utility of Ultrasound Guided iPACK Block for Knee Extension After Total Knee Arthroplasty.

Evaluation of Utility of Ultrasound Guided iPACK Block for Knee Extension After Total Knee Arthroplasty.

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03353233
Enrollment
50
Registered
2017-11-27
Start date
2018-05-03
Completion date
2021-01-23
Last updated
2021-12-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Knee Extension, Knee Osteoarthritis, Pain, Physical Therapy, Primary Total Knee Arthroplasty

Keywords

iPACK, Interspace between the Popliteal Artery and Capsule of the Knee, Posterior Capsule block, Nerve Block

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to learn if using an Interspace between the Popliteal Artery and Capsule of the Knee (iPACK) injection technique (also called a nerve block) that numbs the nerves going to the back part of the knee to aid in physical therapy after surgery. The iPACK technique uses a numbing solution (local anesthetics) that is injected behind the knee to reduce pain and to help straighten the knee. This block may affect movement in the leg and make the legs weak, but thing is rare. A few institutions use the iPACK block for patients having total knee replacements, with the hope of providing good pain relief combined with improved mobility after surgery.

Interventions

DRUGRopivacaine

Local anesthetic (numbing drug)

PROCEDUREInterspace Between the Popliteal Artery and Capsule of the Knee (iPACK) Block

An ultrasound guided nerve block using a numbing medication called ropivacaine that numbs the nerves to the back of the knee.

DRUGSaline

An ultrasound guided nerve block using a medication that does NOT numb the nerve called saline, or salt water.

Sponsors

Duke University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
SUPPORTIVE_CARE
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* English speaking * Between 18 and 75 years old * American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) 1-3 patients undergoing primary total knee arthroplasty

Exclusion criteria

* ASA 4 or 5 * Revision knee arthroplasty * Diagnosis of chronic pain * Daily chronic opioid use (over 3 months of continuous opioid use) * Inability to communicate pain scores or need for analgesia * Acute knee dislocation/fracture * Infection at the site of block placement * Age under 18 years old or greater than 75 years old * Pregnant women * Intolerance/allergy to local anesthetics * Weight \<50 kg * Suspected, or known addiction to or abuse of illicit drug(s), prescription medicine(s), or alcohol within the past 2 years. * Uncontrolled anxiety, schizophrenia, or other psychiatric disorder that, in the opinion of the investigator, may interfere with study assessments or compliance * Current or historical evidence of any clinically significant disease or condition that, in the opinion of the investigator, may increase the risk of surgery or complicate the subject's postoperative course.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants Able to Hyperextend the Knee After SurgeryWithin 8 hoursAbility to hyperextend the knee after surgery

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Ambulation as Measured by Distance Walked After SurgeryPost-operative Day 0
Pain as Measure by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 1124 hoursThe 11-point numeric rating scale ranges from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable).
Cumulative Opioid Consumption24 hoursTotal amount of opioids used

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
iPACK Block Group
A nerve block technique using a numbing medication called ropivacaine. Ropivacaine: Local anesthetic (numbing drug) Interspace Between the Popliteal Artery and Capsule of the Knee (iPACK) Block: An ultrasound guided nerve block using a numbing medication called ropivacaine that numbs the nerves to the back of the knee.
25
Sham Group
The same nerve block technique as above, however using an inactive solution of salt water. Interspace Between the Popliteal Artery and Capsule of the Knee (iPACK) Block: An ultrasound guided nerve block using a numbing medication called ropivacaine that numbs the nerves to the back of the knee. Saline: An ultrasound guided nerve block using a medication that does NOT numb the nerve called saline, or salt water.
25
Total50

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSham GroupTotaliPACK Block Group
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
14 Participants31 Participants17 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
11 Participants19 Participants8 Participants
Age, Continuous64.59 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.01
65.71 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.73
66.84 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.39
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
25 Participants50 Participants25 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants7 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
23 Participants43 Participants20 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
25 Participants50 Participants25 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
13 Participants28 Participants15 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
12 Participants22 Participants10 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 250 / 25
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 250 / 25
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 250 / 25

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants Able to Hyperextend the Knee After Surgery

Ability to hyperextend the knee after surgery

Time frame: Within 8 hours

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
iPACK Block GroupNumber of Participants Able to Hyperextend the Knee After Surgery4 Participants
Sham GroupNumber of Participants Able to Hyperextend the Knee After Surgery3 Participants
Secondary

Ambulation as Measured by Distance Walked After Surgery

Time frame: Post-operative Day 0

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
iPACK Block GroupAmbulation as Measured by Distance Walked After Surgery120.36 feetStandard Deviation 123.1
Sham GroupAmbulation as Measured by Distance Walked After Surgery148.8 feetStandard Deviation 108.4
Secondary

Cumulative Opioid Consumption

Total amount of opioids used

Time frame: 24 hours

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
iPACK Block GroupCumulative Opioid Consumption47.52 IV morphine equivalentsStandard Deviation 39.54
Sham GroupCumulative Opioid Consumption48.98 IV morphine equivalentsStandard Deviation 36.3
Secondary

Pain as Measure by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 11

The 11-point numeric rating scale ranges from 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable).

Time frame: 24 hours

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
iPACK Block GroupPain as Measure by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 114.64 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.74
Sham GroupPain as Measure by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 115 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.2

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026