Skip to content

Open Label Extension to Assess the Safety of Long-Term Treatment With Ampion for Severe Osteoarthritis (OA) of the Knee

An Open Label Extension Study to Assess the Safety of Long-Term Treatment With a 4 mL Intra-Articular Injection of Ampion in Adults With Pain Due to Severe Osteoarthritis of the Knee

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03349645
Enrollment
94
Registered
2017-11-21
Start date
2017-12-08
Completion date
2018-10-04
Last updated
2022-10-03

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Severe Osteoarthritis of the Knee

Keywords

Osteoarthritis, osteoarthritis of the knee

Brief summary

This Open Label Extension (OLE) study will assess the safety of long-term treatment with a 4 mL intra-articular injection of Ampion™ in adults with pain due to severe osteoarthritis of the knee

Detailed description

An Open Label Extension (OLE) study will assess the safety of long-term treatment with a 4 mL intra-articular injection of Ampion™ in adults with pain due to severe osteoarthritis of the knee. The primary trial objective was to evaluate the safety of a 4-mL intra-articular (IA) injection of Ampion with repeat dosing every 12 weeks for 52 weeks with five total injections of Ampion.

Interventions

4 mL injection of AMPION™

Sponsors

Ampio Pharmaceuticals. Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

Open Label

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
40 Years to 85 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Subjects who completed the AP-003-C Main study and have not developed any exclusionary criteria 2. Able to provide written informed consent to participate in the study 3. Willing and able to comply with all study requirements and instructions of the site study staff 4. Male or female, 40 years to 85 years old (inclusive), as assessed in the AP-003-C Main Study 5. Must be ambulatory, as assessed in the AP-003-C Main Study 6. Study knee must have a clinical diagnosis of OA and supported by radiological evidence (Kellgren Lawrence Grade IV) as assessed in the AP-003-C Main Study. 7. Moderate to moderately-severe OA pain in the study knee (rating of at least 1.5 on the WOMAC Index 3.1 5-point Likert Pain Subscale), as assessed in the AP-003-C Main Study 8. Moderate to moderately-severe OA function in the study knee (rating of at least 1.5 on the WOMAC Index 3.1 5-point Likert Function Subscale), as assessed in the AP-003-C Main Study 9. WOMAC A, 5-point Likert pain subscale \<1.5 in the contralateral knee, as assessed in the AP-003-C Main Study 10. Ability to discontinue NSAID ± 72 hours before/after injections (in-office visits). Low-dose Aspirin (81 mg) is allowed during the study but must not be taken at least 24 hours prior to in-office visits. 11. No analgesia (including acetaminophen \[paracetamol\]) taken 24 hours prior to an efficacy measure

Exclusion criteria

1. As a result of medical review and screening investigation, the Principal Investigator considers the patient unfit for the study 2. Known clinically significant liver abnormality (e.g., cirrhosis, transplant, etc.) 3. A history of allergic reactions to human albumin (reaction to non-human albumin such as egg albumin is not an exclusion criterion) 4. A history of allergic reactions to excipients in 5% human albumin (N-acetyltryptophan, sodium caprylate) 5. Presence of tense effusions 6. Inflammatory or crystal arthropathies, acute fractures, history of aseptic necrosis or joint replacement in the affected knee 7. Isolated patella femoral syndrome, also known as chondromalacia 8. Any other disease or condition interfering with the free use and evaluation of the index knee for the duration of the trial (e.g. cancer, congenital defects, spine osteoarthritis) 9. Major injury to the index knee within the last 12 months 10. Severe hip osteoarthritis ipsilateral to the index knee 11. Any pain that could interfere with the assessment of study knee pain (e.g. pain in any other part of the lower extremities, pain radiating to the knee) 12. Any pharmacological or non-pharmacological treatment targeting OA started or changed 4 weeks prior to entry into the OLE study, or likely to be changed during the duration of the OLE study 13. Pregnancy or planning to become pregnant during the study 14. Use of the following medications: 1. No IA injected pain medications in the study knee during the study. No Hyaluronic Acid (HA) or steroid injections in the study knee at least 12 weeks prior to Day 84 of the Extension Study. HA and steroid injections in the contralateral knee (non-study knee) are acceptable while on study except ± 14 days of an Ampion injection in the study knee. 2. No analgesics containing opioids 3. NSAIDs are not permitted ± 72 hours before/after injections at in-office visits; acetaminophen is available as a rescue medication during the study from the provided supply 4. No topical treatment on the study knee during the study 5. No significant anticoagulant therapy (e.g. Heparin or Lovenox) during the study (treatment such as Aspirin and Plavix are allowed) 6. No systemic treatments that may interfere with safety or efficacy assessments during the study 7. No immunosuppressants 8. No use of corticosteroids 9. No human albumin treatment in the 3 months prior to the AP-003-C Main Study or interim period prior to enrollment into the OLE study. No human albumin treatment throughout the duration of the OLE study

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Incidence and Severity of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)52 weeksIncidence and severity of treatment emergent adverse events (TEAEs) evaluated up to 52 weeks, including the 12 weeks in the Main study AP-003-C (NCT03182686).

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Subjects who had completed clinical trial AP-003C were eligible to enroll in the open label extension study. All subjects were assigned to the Ampion treatment group.

Pre-assignment details

No pharmacological or non-pharmacological treatment targeting osteoarthritis (OA) started or changed 4 weeks prior to entry into the study, or likely to be changed during the duration of the study

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Ampion 4 mL Dose
4 mL Ampion (\<5 kilodalton (kDa) ultrafiltrate of 5% Human Serum Albumin (HSA)), solution
94
Total94

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyOther2
Overall StudyProtocol Violation1
Overall StudySponsor Terminated Study75
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject4

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAmpion 4 mL Dose
Age, Continuous63.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
89 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
22 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
66 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
94 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
47 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
47 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 94
other
Total, other adverse events
22 / 94
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 94

Outcome results

Primary

Incidence and Severity of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

Incidence and severity of treatment emergent adverse events (TEAEs) evaluated up to 52 weeks, including the 12 weeks in the Main study AP-003-C (NCT03182686).

Time frame: 52 weeks

Population: Intent To Treat (ITT)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Ampion 4 mL DoseIncidence and Severity of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Mild treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE)21 Events
Ampion 4 mL DoseIncidence and Severity of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Moderate treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE)11 Events
Ampion 4 mL DoseIncidence and Severity of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Severe treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE)2 Events

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 6, 2026