Recurrent Plasma Cell Myeloma, Refractory Plasma Cell Myeloma
Conditions
Brief summary
This phase I trial studies the side effects and best dose of BCMA CAR-T cells in treating patients with BCMA positive multiple myeloma that has come back or does not respond to treatment. T cells are a type of white blood cell and a major component of the immune system. T-cells that have been genetically modified in the laboratory express BCMA and may kill cancer cells with the protein BCMA on their surface. Giving chemotherapy before BCMA CAR-T cells may reduce the amount of disease and to cause a low lymphocyte (white blood cell) count in the blood, which may help the infused BCMA CAR-T cells survive and expand.
Detailed description
PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: I. To evaluate the safety of adoptive therapy with ex vivo expanded autologous CD8+ plus CD4+ T cells transduced to express a human B cell maturation antigen (BCMA)-targeting chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) for patients with relapsed or treatment refractory multiple myeloma. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine the duration of in vivo persistence and the phenotype of long lived CAR-T cells. II. To determine the degree to which adoptively transferred T cells traffic to multiple myeloma (MM) cells in the bone marrow (BM) and function in vivo. III. To estimate the antitumor activity of adoptively transferred BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes (BCMA CAR-T cells). OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes. Patients undergo leukapheresis to obtain their immune cells, from which CAR-T cells are produced. A few weeks later, patients then receive cyclophosphamide and fludarabine on days -4 to -2. Beginning 36-96 hours after chemotherapy, patients receive BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes intravenously (IV) over 20-30 minutes on day 0. Patients may receive a second dose of BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV with or without additional cytoreductive chemotherapy at the discretion of the principal investigator or their designee (sub-investigator). After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 60, 90, 120, 180, and 365 days and then annually up to 15 years.
Interventions
Given IV
Given IV
Given IV
Undergo leukapheresis
Sponsors
Study design
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* Have the capacity to give informed consent * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status score =\< 2. * Have measurable disease by International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) criteria based on one or more of the following findings: * Serum M-protein \>= 1 g/dL * Urine M-protein \>= 200 mg/24 hour * Involved serum free light chain (sFLC) level \>= 10 mg/dL with abnormal kappa/lambda ratio * Measurable biopsy-proven plasmacytomas (\>= 1 lesion that has a single diameter \>= 2 cm) * Bone marrow plasma cells \>= 30% * Have a diagnosis of BCMA+ MM (\>= 5% BCMA+ by flow cytometry on CD138 co-expressing plasma cells obtained within 45 days of study enrollment); the MM diagnosis must be confirmed by internal pathology review of a fresh biopsy specimen at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center (FHCRC)/Seattle Cancer Care Alliance (SCCA) * Have relapsed or treatment refractory disease with \>= 10% CD138+ malignant plasma cells (IHC) on BM core biopsy, either: * Following autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT) * Or, if a patient has not yet undergone ASCT, the individual must: * Be transplant ineligible, due to age, comorbidity, patient choice, insurance reasons, concerns of rapidly progressive disease, and/or discretion of attending physician and principal investigator and, * Demonstrate disease that persists after \> 4 cycles of induction therapy and that is double refractory (persistence/progression) after therapy with both a proteasome inhibitor and immunomodulatory drug (IMiD) administered either in tandem, or in sequence; \> 4 cycles of therapy are not required for patients with a diagnosis of plasma cell leukemia * Patients receiving retreatment do not need to meet the \> 10% CD138+ malignant plasma cells (immunohistochemistry staining method \[IHC\]) on BM core biopsy * Male and female patients of reproductive potential must be willing to use an effect contraceptive method before, during, and for at least 4 months after the CAR T cell infusion
Exclusion criteria
* History of another primary malignancy that requires intervention beyond surveillance or that has not been in remission for at least 1 year (the following are exempt from the 1 year limit: non-melanoma skin cancer, curatively treated localized prostate cancer, and cervical carcinoma in situ on biopsy or a squamous intraepithelial lesion on papanicolaou \[PAP\] smear) * Active hepatitis B, hepatitis C at the time of screening * Patients who are (human immunodeficiency virus \[HIV\]) seropositive * Subjects with uncontrolled active infection * \> 1 hospital admission (lasting 5 days or more) for documented infection in prior 6 months * Presence of acute or chronic graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) requiring active treatment unless limited to skin involvement and managed with topical steroid therapy alone * History of any one of the following cardiovascular conditions within the past 6 months: Class III or IV heart failure as defined by the New York Heart Association (NYHA), cardiac angioplasty or stenting, myocardial infarction, unstable angina, or other clinically significant cardiac disease as determined by the principal investigator (PI) or designee * History of clinically relevant or active central nervous system (CNS) pathology such as epilepsy, seizure, paresis, aphasia, stroke, severe brain injuries, dementia, Parkinson's disease, cerebellar disease, organic brain syndrome, or psychosis, active central nervous system MM involvement and/or carcinomatous meningitis; subjects with previously treated central nervous systems involvement may participate, provided they are free of disease in the CNS (documented by flow cytometry performed on the cerebrospinal fluid \[CSF\] within 14 days of enrollment) and have no evidence of new sites of CNS activity * Pregnant or breastfeeding females * Allogeneic HSCT or donor lymphocyte infusion within 90 days of leukapheresis. * Use of any of the following: * Therapeutic doses of corticosteroids (defined as \> 20 mg/day prednisone or equivalent) within 7 days prior to leukapheresis; physiologic replacement, topical, and inhaled steroids are permitted * Cytotoxic chemotherapeutic agents within 1 week of leukapheresis; oral chemotherapeutic agents are allowed if at least 3 half-lives have elapsed prior to leukapheresis * Lymphotoxic chemotherapeutic agents within 2 weeks of leukapheresis * Daratumumab (or other anti-CD38 therapy) within 30 days of leukapheresis * Experimental agents within 4 weeks of leukapheresis unless progression is documented on therapy and at least 3 half-lives have elapsed prior to leukapheresis * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \< 1000/mm\^3, or per PI discretion if cytopenia thought to be related to underlying myeloma. * Hemoglobin (Hgb) \< 8 mg/dl, or per PI discretion if cytopenia thought to be related to underlying myeloma. * Platelet count \< 50,000/mm\^3, or per PI discretion if cytopenia thought to be related to underlying myeloma. * Active autoimmune disease requiring immunosuppressive therapy * Major organ dysfunction defined as: * Creatinine clearance \< 20 ml/min * Significant hepatic dysfunction (serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase \[SGOT\] \> 5 x upper limit of normal; bilirubin \> 3.0 mg/dL) * Forced expiratory volume in 1 second (FEV1) of \< 50% predicted or diffusion capacity of the lung for carbon monoxide (DLCO) (corrected) \< 40% (patients with clinically significant pulmonary dysfunction, as determined by medical history and physical exam should undergo pulmonary function testing) * Anticipated survival of \< 3 months * Contraindication to cyclophosphamide or fludarabine chemotherapy * Patients with known AL subtype amyloidosis * Uncontrolled medical, psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical conditions that do not permit compliance with the protocol, as judged by the PI; or unwillingness or inability to follow the procedures required in the protocol
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT) Rate | Up to 28 days after CAR T cell infusion | Observed DLT rates will be summarized based on the DLT-Evaluable analysis set. Outcome will be reported as count of participants in each arm who experienced a DLT. No patients received more than one CAR T cell infusion, so DLT assessment period was only 28 days after first and only CAR T infusion for all patients. |
| Count of Patients That Experienced Adverse Events | Up to 28 days after CAR T-cell infusion | Toxicity graded using National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03 No patients received more than one CAR T cell infusion, so AE assessment period was only 28 days after first and only CAR T infusion for all patients. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate (ORR) | Baseline up to 3 months after CART infusion | Number of patients with a best response of either complete response, stringent complete response, very good partial response or partial response, assessed using modified International Myeloma Working group response criteria. |
| Duration of Persistence of Adoptively Transferred BCMA CAR-T Cells | Assessed from Baseline up to a maximum of 537 days | Persistence of CART cells is tested by qPCR in PBMC. |
| Overall Survival (OS) | Assessed up to 1 year after CART infusion | Outcome is reported as a count of participants who were alive at the 1 year post-infusion timepoint. |
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) | Assessed up to 1 year after CART infusion | Outcome is reported as the count of participants who were alive at the 1 year post treatment mark and did not experience disease progression by the 1 year post treatment mark. |
| Number of Participants With Detectable BCMA CART Cell Migration to Primary Disease Site (Bone Marrow) at Day 28 | Baseline up to Day 28 | — |
Countries
United States
Participant flow
Recruitment details
3 patients withdrew consent after enrollment and did not move on to treatment. These 3 patients were not assigned to a dose level.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 Patients undergo leukapheresis. Patients then receive cyclophosphamide and fludarabine on days -4 to -2. Beginning to 36-96 days after chemotherapy, patients receive BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV over 20-30 minutes on day 0. Patients may receive a second dose of BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV with or without additional cytoreductive chemotherapy at the discretion of the principal investigator or their designee (sub-investigator).
Arm 1 contains patients treated as dose level 1 (50 x 10\^6 EGFRt cells)
Autologous Anti-BCMA-CAR-expressing CD4+/CD8+ T-lymphocytes FCARH143: Given IV
Cyclophosphamide: Given IV
Fludarabine: Given IV
Leukapheresis: Undergo leukapheresis | 7 |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 Patients undergo leukapheresis. Patients then receive cyclophosphamide and fludarabine on days -4 to -2. Beginning to 36-96 days after chemotherapy, patients receive BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV over 20-30 minutes on day 0. Patients may receive a second dose of BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV with or without additional cytoreductive chemotherapy at the discretion of the principal investigator or their designee (sub-investigator).
Arm 2 contains patients treated as dose level 2 (150 x 10\^6 EGFRt cells)
Autologous Anti-BCMA-CAR-expressing CD4+/CD8+ T-lymphocytes FCARH143: Given IV
Cyclophosphamide: Given IV
Fludarabine: Given IV
Leukapheresis: Undergo leukapheresis | 8 |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 Patients undergo leukapheresis. Patients then receive cyclophosphamide and fludarabine on days -4 to -2. Beginning to 36-96 days after chemotherapy, patients receive BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV over 20-30 minutes on day 0. Patients may receive a second dose of BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV with or without additional cytoreductive chemotherapy at the discretion of the principal investigator or their designee (sub-investigator).
Arm 3 contains patients treated as dose level 3 (300 x 10\^6 EGFRt cells)
Autologous Anti-BCMA-CAR-expressing CD4+/CD8+ T-lymphocytes FCARH143: Given IV
Cyclophosphamide: Given IV
Fludarabine: Given IV
Leukapheresis: Undergo leukapheresis | 7 |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 Patients undergo leukapheresis. Patients then receive cyclophosphamide and fludarabine on days -4 to -2. Beginning to 36-96 days after chemotherapy, patients receive BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV over 20-30 minutes on day 0. Patients may receive a second dose of BCMA-specific CAR-expressing T lymphocytes IV with or without additional cytoreductive chemotherapy at the discretion of the principal investigator or their designee (sub-investigator).
Arm 4 contains patients treated as dose level 4 (450 x 10\^6 EGFRt cells)
Autologous Anti-BCMA-CAR-expressing CD4+/CD8+ T-lymphocytes FCARH143: Given IV
Cyclophosphamide: Given IV
Fludarabine: Given IV
Leukapheresis: Undergo leukapheresis | 3 |
| Total | 25 |
Withdrawals & dropouts
| Period | Reason | FG000 | FG001 | FG002 | FG003 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overall Study | Death | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Overall Study | Withdrawal by Subject | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Categorical <=18 years | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Age, Categorical >=65 years | 3 Participants | 4 Participants | 2 Participants | 2 Participants | 11 Participants |
| Age, Categorical Between 18 and 65 years | 4 Participants | 4 Participants | 5 Participants | 1 Participants | 14 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 6 Participants | 8 Participants | 7 Participants | 2 Participants | 23 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 1 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 3 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 6 Participants | 7 Participants | 6 Participants | 2 Participants | 21 Participants |
| Region of Enrollment United States | 7 participants | 8 participants | 7 participants | 3 participants | 25 participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 2 Participants | 3 Participants | 3 Participants | 1 Participants | 9 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 5 Participants | 5 Participants | 4 Participants | 2 Participants | 16 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk | EG002 affected / at risk | EG003 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | 4 / 7 | 3 / 8 | 0 / 7 | 0 / 3 |
| other Total, other adverse events | 7 / 7 | 8 / 8 | 7 / 7 | 3 / 3 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 5 / 7 | 8 / 8 | 5 / 7 | 3 / 3 |
Outcome results
Count of Patients That Experienced Adverse Events
Toxicity graded using National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03 No patients received more than one CAR T cell infusion, so AE assessment period was only 28 days after first and only CAR T infusion for all patients.
Time frame: Up to 28 days after CAR T-cell infusion
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Count of Patients That Experienced Adverse Events | 7 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Count of Patients That Experienced Adverse Events | 8 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Count of Patients That Experienced Adverse Events | 7 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Count of Patients That Experienced Adverse Events | 3 Participants |
Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT) Rate
Observed DLT rates will be summarized based on the DLT-Evaluable analysis set. Outcome will be reported as count of participants in each arm who experienced a DLT. No patients received more than one CAR T cell infusion, so DLT assessment period was only 28 days after first and only CAR T infusion for all patients.
Time frame: Up to 28 days after CAR T cell infusion
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT) Rate | 0 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT) Rate | 0 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT) Rate | 1 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT) Rate | 0 Participants |
Duration of Persistence of Adoptively Transferred BCMA CAR-T Cells
Persistence of CART cells is tested by qPCR in PBMC.
Time frame: Assessed from Baseline up to a maximum of 537 days
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Duration of Persistence of Adoptively Transferred BCMA CAR-T Cells | 134 Days |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Duration of Persistence of Adoptively Transferred BCMA CAR-T Cells | 110 Days |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Duration of Persistence of Adoptively Transferred BCMA CAR-T Cells | 386 Days |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Duration of Persistence of Adoptively Transferred BCMA CAR-T Cells | 236 Days |
Number of Participants With Detectable BCMA CART Cell Migration to Primary Disease Site (Bone Marrow) at Day 28
Time frame: Baseline up to Day 28
Population: CART cell migration to bone marrow was identified in all patients for whom a Day 28 bone marrow biopsy specimen was available (19 out of 19). In 6 cases, biopsy was not performed due to patient clinical status or bone marrow biopsy was attempted but no aspirate could be collected.
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Number of Participants With Detectable BCMA CART Cell Migration to Primary Disease Site (Bone Marrow) at Day 28 | 5 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Number of Participants With Detectable BCMA CART Cell Migration to Primary Disease Site (Bone Marrow) at Day 28 | 7 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Number of Participants With Detectable BCMA CART Cell Migration to Primary Disease Site (Bone Marrow) at Day 28 | 5 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Number of Participants With Detectable BCMA CART Cell Migration to Primary Disease Site (Bone Marrow) at Day 28 | 2 Participants |
Objective Response Rate (ORR)
Number of patients with a best response of either complete response, stringent complete response, very good partial response or partial response, assessed using modified International Myeloma Working group response criteria.
Time frame: Baseline up to 3 months after CART infusion
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Objective Response Rate (ORR) | 7 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Objective Response Rate (ORR) | 8 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Objective Response Rate (ORR) | 7 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Objective Response Rate (ORR) | 3 Participants |
Overall Survival (OS)
Outcome is reported as a count of participants who were alive at the 1 year post-infusion timepoint.
Time frame: Assessed up to 1 year after CART infusion
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Overall Survival (OS) | 3 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Overall Survival (OS) | 5 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Overall Survival (OS) | 7 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Overall Survival (OS) | 3 Participants |
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
Outcome is reported as the count of participants who were alive at the 1 year post treatment mark and did not experience disease progression by the 1 year post treatment mark.
Time frame: Assessed up to 1 year after CART infusion
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 1 | Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 3 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 2 | Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 5 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 3 | Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 5 Participants |
| Treatment (Chemotherapy, BCMA CAR-T Cells) at Dose Level 4 | Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 2 Participants |