Skip to content

A Study of Subcutaneous Daratumumab Versus Active Monitoring in Participants With High-Risk Smoldering Multiple Myeloma

A Phase 3 Randomized, Multicenter Study of Subcutaneous Daratumumab Versus Active Monitoring in Subjects With High-Risk Smoldering Multiple Myeloma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03301220
Enrollment
390
Registered
2017-10-04
Start date
2017-11-07
Completion date
2026-05-04
Last updated
2026-06-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Smoldering Multiple Myeloma

Brief summary

The primary objective of this study is to determine whether treatment with daratumumab administered subcutaneously (SC) prolongs progression-free survival (PFS) compared with active monitoring in participants with high-risk smoldering multiple myeloma (SMM).

Interventions

DRUGDaratumumab SC: daratumumab + rHuPH20

Participants will receive daratumumab SC injection (daratumumab 1800 mg + rHuPH20 \[2000 U/mL\]) once weekly for Cycles 1 and 2 (Days 1, 8, 15, and 22 of each week), every 2 weeks for Cycle 3 to Cycle 6 (Days 1 and 15), and thereafter every 4 weeks (Day 1) until 39 cycles or up to 36 months or until confirmed disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal from the study treatment, study termination or study completion. Each cycle is 28 days in duration.

Sponsors

Janssen Research & Development, LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Diagnosis of high risk smoldering multiple myeloma (SMM) (per International Myeloma Working Group \[IMWG\] criteria) for less than or equal to (\<=) 5 years with measurable disease at the time of randomization, defined as serum M protein greater than or equal to (\>=) 10 gram per liter (g/L) or urine M protein \>= 200 milligram per 24 hours (mg/24 hours) or involved serum free light chain (FLC) \>=100 milligram per liter (mg/L) and abnormal serum FLC ratio * Clonal bone marrow plasma cells (BMPCs) \>= 10 percentage (%); and at least 1 of the following risk factors; Serum M protein \>= 30 g/L, immunoglobulin (Ig)A SMM, immunoparesis with reduction of 2 uninvolved immunoglobulin isotypes (only IgA, IgM, and IgG should be considered in determination for immunoparesis; IgD and IgE are not considered in this assessment), serum involved: uninvolved FLC ratio \>= 8 and less than (\<) 100, or clonal BMPCs greater than (\>) 50% to \<60% with measurable disease * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status score of 0 or 1 * Women of childbearing potential must commit to either abstain continuously from heterosexual sexual intercourse or to use highly effective method of contraception * A woman of childbearing potential must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test at screening within 14 days prior to randomization * During the study and for 3 months after receiving the last dose of daratumumab, a woman must agree not to donate eggs (ova, oocytes) for the purposes of assisted reproduction

Exclusion criteria

* Multiple myeloma (MM), requiring treatment, defined by any of the following: 1. Bone lesions (1 or more osteolytic lesions on low-dose whole body computed tomography \[LDCT\], positron-emission tomography with computed tomography \[PET-CT\] or CT). Participants who have benign/post-traumatic bone lesions visible on screening images as well as previous imaging, may be considered for inclusion. Details (diagnosis, location, duration) on benign/post-traumatic pre-existing bone lesions that can be seen on the screening images (example \[eg.\], old fractures) and were also present on previous imaging are to be reported in the case report form (CRF) 2. Hypercalcemia (serum calcium greater than \[\>\]0.25 millimoles per liter \[mmol/L\] \[\>1 milligram per deciliter {mg/dL}\] higher than upper limit of normal \[ULN\] or \>2.75 mmol/L \[\>11 mg/dL\]). Participants who have clinically stable hypercalcemia attributable to a disease other than multiple myeloma (eg, hyperparathyroidism) may be considered for inclusion after a case by case review by the medical monitor 3. Renal insufficiency, preferably determined by creatinine clearance less than (\<)40 milliliter per minute (mL/min) measured or estimated using the Modification of Diet in Renal Disease (MDRD), or serum creatinine \>177 micromole per liter (μmol/L). Participants who have clinically stable renal insufficiency attributable to a disease other than multiple myeloma (eg, glomerulonephritis) may be considered for inclusion after a case by case review by the medical monitor 4. Anemia, defined as hemoglobin \<10 gram per deciliter (g/dL) or \>2 g/dL below lower limit of normal or both; transfusion support or concurrent treatment with erythropoietin stimulating agents is not permitted. Participants who have clinically stable anemia attributable to a disease other than multiple myeloma (eg, thalassemia, vitamin B12 deficiency, iron deficiency) may be considered for inclusion after a case by case review by the medical monitor 5. Clonal BMPC percentage \>=60% 6. Serum FLC ratio (involved:uninvolved) \>=100 (the involved FLC must be \>=100 mg/L) 7. More than 1 focal lesion \>=5 millimeter (mm) in diameter by magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) * Primary systemic amyloid light-chain (AL) (immunoglobulin light chain) amyloidosis * Exposure to any of the following: 1. Prior exposure to daratumumab or prior exposure to other anti-Cluster of Differentiation 38 (anti-CD38) therapies 2. Prior exposure to approved or investigational treatments for SMM or MM (including but not limited to conventional chemotherapies, immunomodulatory agent \[IMiDs\], or proteasome inhibitor \[PIs\]). Stable standard dosing of bisphosphonate and denosumab as indicated for osteoporosis is acceptable 3. Exposure to investigational drug (including investigational vaccines) or invasive investigational medical device for any indication within 4 weeks or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer, before Cycle 1, Day 1 4. Ongoing treatment with corticosteroids with a dose \>10 milligram (mg) prednisone or equivalent per day at the time of randomization; or \>280 mg cumulative prednisone dose or equivalent for any 4-week period in the year prior to randomization 5. Ongoing treatment with other monoclonal antibodies (eg, infliximab, rituximab), immunomodulators (eg, abatacept, methotrexate, azathioprine, cyclosporine) or other treatments that are likely to interfere with the study procedures or results * Received treatment (chemotherapy, surgery, et cetera \[etc\]) for a malignancy (other than SMM) within 3 years before the date of randomization (exceptions are squamous and basal cell carcinomas of the skin, carcinoma in situ of the cervix or breast, or other non-invasive lesion), which is considered cured with minimal risk of recurrence within 3 years * Medical or psychiatric condition or disease (for example, active systemic disease \[including presence of auto-antibodies\], uncontrolled diabetes) that is likely to interfere with the study procedures or results, or that in the opinion of the investigator, would constitute a hazard for participating in this study * Known allergies, hypersensitivity, or intolerance to corticosteroids, monoclonal antibodies, hyaluronidase, or other human proteins, or their excipients, or known sensitivity to mammalian-derived products (including dairy allergy)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by the Independent Review Committee (IRC)From randomization (Day -5) up to 77 monthsPFS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to either progressive to multiple myeloma (MM), according to the International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) diagnostic criteria for MM, or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. Per IMWG criteria, active MM by SLiM-CRAB defined as: greater than or equal to (\>=) 60 percent (%) bone marrow plasma cells (BMPCs), free light chain (FLC) involved/uninvolved ratio \>=100, greater than (\>)1 focal bone lesions on magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), calcium elevation, renal insufficiency by creatinine clearance, anemia, or bone disease due to lytic bone lesions. Kaplan-Meier estimate was used.

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Time to Biochemical or Diagnostic (SLiM-CRAB) Progression Per Computerized Algorithm AnalysesFrom randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Overall Response Rate (ORR)From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Complete Response (CR) RateFrom randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Time to First-Line Treatment for Multiple MyelomaFrom randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Progression-Free Survival on First-Line Treatment for Multiple Myeloma (PFS2)From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Best Response on First-line Therapy for Multiple MyelomaFrom randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Overall Survival (OS)From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Percentage of Participants Who Progressed to Multiple Myeloma With Adverse Prognostic FeaturesFrom randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) of DaratumumabCycles 1 and 3 : Day 1 predose, and Day 4 postdose; Cycles 5, 7, 12, and 24: Day 1 predose; end of the treatment (EOT, 37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days
Minimum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmin) of DaratumumabCycles 1 and 3 : Day 1 predose, and Day 4 postdose; Cycles 5, 7, 12, and 24: Day 1 predose; EOT( 37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days
Number of Participants With Anti-daratumumab AntibodiesCycles 1 and 3 : Day 1 predose, and Day 4 postdose; Cycles 5, 7, 12, and 24: Day 1 predose; EOT (37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days
Number of Participants With Anti-Recombinant Human Hyaluronidase (rHuPH20) AntibodiesCycles 1, 3, 5, 7, 12, and 24 : Predose on Day 1; EOT (37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days
Change From Baseline in European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire (EORTC QLQ-C30) ScoreFrom Baseline (Day -35) up to 8 years
Change From Baseline in the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire for Patients With Multiple Myeloma (EORTC QLQ-MY20) Future Perspective ScaleFrom Baseline (Day -35) up to 8 years
Change From Baseline in European Quality (EuroQoL) 5-Dimension 5-Level Health Status (EQ-5D-5L) Questionnaire ScoreFrom Baseline (Day -35) up to 8 years
Duration of ResponseFrom randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years
Time to ResponseFrom randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Countries

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czechia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey (Türkiye), United Kingdom, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORJanssen Research & Development, LLC Clinical Trial

Janssen Research & Development, LLC

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Results are currently reported until the primary completion date (01 May 2024). Results of remaining duration will be posted upon study completion.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A: Active Monitoring (ACTM)
Participants in the active monitoring group did not receive any study medication but underwent disease evaluations for every 12 weeks until disease progression (PD) as those randomized to receive daratumumab.
196
Arm B: Daratumumab SC
Participants received daratumumab 1800 milligrams (mg) co-formulated with recombinant human hyaluronidase (rHuPH20) 2000 units per milliliter (U/mL) as subcutaneous (SC) injection once every week (Q1W) (Days 1, 8, 15, and 22 of each week) in Cycles 1 and 2, every 2 weeks (Q2W) (Days 1 and 15) from Cycle 3 to Cycle 6, and thereafter every 4 weeks (Day 1) from Cycle 7 to Cycle 39, for a maximum of 36 months, or until confirmed disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal from the study treatment. In addition, disease evaluations were performed every 12 weeks until PD. Each treatment cycle was 28 days. After end of treatment, participants were followed up for safety until death, lost to follow up, consent withdrawal or study end, whichever occurred first (up to 8 years).
194
Total390

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalArm A: Active Monitoring (ACTM)Arm B: Daratumumab SC
Age, Continuous62.4 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.97
63.0 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.76
61.9 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.17
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
23 Participants9 Participants14 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
345 Participants176 Participants169 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
22 Participants11 Participants11 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
3 Participants3 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
31 Participants13 Participants18 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
11 Participants7 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
19 Participants9 Participants10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
323 Participants162 Participants161 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Argentina
9 Participants5 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
15 Participants10 Participants5 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Belgium
10 Participants6 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Brazil
11 Participants3 Participants8 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
8 Participants6 Participants2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Czech Republic
8 Participants2 Participants6 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Denmark
2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
France
16 Participants9 Participants7 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Germany
8 Participants4 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Greece
11 Participants3 Participants8 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Hungary
12 Participants8 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Israel
56 Participants28 Participants28 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Italy
12 Participants4 Participants8 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Japan
28 Participants13 Participants15 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Netherlands
9 Participants6 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Norway
15 Participants8 Participants7 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Poland
12 Participants6 Participants6 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Russian Federation
13 Participants9 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Spain
24 Participants14 Participants10 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Sweden
5 Participants3 Participants2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Turkey
14 Participants5 Participants9 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United Kingdom
35 Participants17 Participants18 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
57 Participants27 Participants30 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
202 Participants103 Participants99 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
188 Participants93 Participants95 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
26 / 19615 / 194
other
Total, other adverse events
140 / 196178 / 193
serious
Total, serious adverse events
38 / 19656 / 193

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by the Independent Review Committee (IRC)

PFS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to either progressive to multiple myeloma (MM), according to the International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) diagnostic criteria for MM, or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. Per IMWG criteria, active MM by SLiM-CRAB defined as: greater than or equal to (\>=) 60 percent (%) bone marrow plasma cells (BMPCs), free light chain (FLC) involved/uninvolved ratio \>=100, greater than (\>)1 focal bone lesions on magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), calcium elevation, renal insufficiency by creatinine clearance, anemia, or bone disease due to lytic bone lesions. Kaplan-Meier estimate was used.

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 77 months

Population: Intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set included all participants randomized into the study.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Active Monitoring (ACTM)Progression-Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by the Independent Review Committee (IRC)41.46 Months
Arm B: Daratumumab SCProgression-Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed by the Independent Review Committee (IRC)NA Months
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.36, 0.67]Log Rank
Secondary

Best Response on First-line Therapy for Multiple Myeloma

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Change From Baseline in European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire (EORTC QLQ-C30) Score

Time frame: From Baseline (Day -35) up to 8 years

Secondary

Change From Baseline in European Quality (EuroQoL) 5-Dimension 5-Level Health Status (EQ-5D-5L) Questionnaire Score

Time frame: From Baseline (Day -35) up to 8 years

Secondary

Change From Baseline in the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire for Patients With Multiple Myeloma (EORTC QLQ-MY20) Future Perspective Scale

Time frame: From Baseline (Day -35) up to 8 years

Secondary

Complete Response (CR) Rate

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Duration of Response

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) of Daratumumab

Time frame: Cycles 1 and 3 : Day 1 predose, and Day 4 postdose; Cycles 5, 7, 12, and 24: Day 1 predose; end of the treatment (EOT, 37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days

Secondary

Minimum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmin) of Daratumumab

Time frame: Cycles 1 and 3 : Day 1 predose, and Day 4 postdose; Cycles 5, 7, 12, and 24: Day 1 predose; EOT( 37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days

Secondary

Number of Participants With Anti-daratumumab Antibodies

Time frame: Cycles 1 and 3 : Day 1 predose, and Day 4 postdose; Cycles 5, 7, 12, and 24: Day 1 predose; EOT (37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days

Secondary

Number of Participants With Anti-Recombinant Human Hyaluronidase (rHuPH20) Antibodies

Time frame: Cycles 1, 3, 5, 7, 12, and 24 : Predose on Day 1; EOT (37.11 months); and 8 weeks after the last daratumumab dose (up to 38.11 months). Each Cycle was 28 days

Secondary

Overall Response Rate (ORR)

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Progressed to Multiple Myeloma With Adverse Prognostic Features

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Progression-Free Survival on First-Line Treatment for Multiple Myeloma (PFS2)

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Time to Biochemical or Diagnostic (SLiM-CRAB) Progression Per Computerized Algorithm Analyses

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Time to First-Line Treatment for Multiple Myeloma

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Secondary

Time to Response

Time frame: From randomization (Day -5) up to 8 years

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 17, 2026