Skip to content

Neoadjuvant Trial of Nivolumab in Combination With HF10 Oncolytic Viral Therapy in Resectable Stage IIIB, IIIC, IVM1a Melanoma

Phase II Neoadjuvant Trial of Nivolumab in Combination With HF10 Oncolytic Viral Therapy in Resectable Stage IIIB, IIIC, IVM1a Melanoma (Neo-NivoHF10)

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03259425
Enrollment
7
Registered
2017-08-23
Start date
2018-01-03
Completion date
2020-09-25
Last updated
2022-06-13

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Melanoma

Keywords

Resectable Stage IIIB, IIIC, and IVM1a

Brief summary

This is a single-arm, open label, Phase II study evaluating the safety and efficacy of neoadjuvant Nivolumab and HF10 in resectable stage IIIB, IIIC, and IVM1a melanoma.

Interventions

DRUGNivolumab

Nivolumab at a dose of 240 mg given as an IV infusion starting on day 0. It will be given every 14 days for a total of 7 infusions; Then participant will undergo surgery. Nivolumab will then be administered at a flat dose of 480 mg IV every 28 days for up to one year.

DRUGHF10

1 x 107th TCID50/mL, intratumoral injection to a single or multiple eligible tumors for a total of 5 mL; on days 0, 7, 14, 21, 28, 42, 56, 70, 84 for a total of 9 injections. All eligible tumors except one will be treated with HF10 up to the maximum volume allowed. The untreated tumor will be used as an untreated control lesion.

Sponsors

Bristol-Myers Squibb
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Takara Bio Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Utah
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

This is a single-arm, open label, Phase II

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Participants must be \>18 years or older. * Participants must have stage IIIB, IIIC, or IVM1a (equivalent staging at time of enrollment via American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) 7th edition) metastatic melanoma which is eligible for complete surgical resection. * Prior systemic, regional and radiation anticancer therapies must have been completed at least three months prior to enrollment. Prior therapies (including anti-programmed death (PD)-1 inhibitors) are allowed provided three months have elapsed from last dose. * Participants must be a candidate for intralesional therapy. * At least 1 injectable cutaneous, subcutaneous, or nodal melanoma lesion \> 10 mm in longest diameter OR * Multiple injectable melanoma lesions which in aggregate have a longest diameter of \> 10 mm AND * Must have no known bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy that would make intratumoral injection unsafe. * Participants must have an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1. * Serum (LDH) level \< 1.5 upper limit of normal (ULN) within 28 days prior to enrollment. * Participants have adequate organ function within 28 days prior to enrollment, as defined in the protocol * Men and women of childbearing potential must agree to use adequate contraception from the time of consent through 7 months after final nivolumab study treatment. * Females of childbearing potential must have a negative urine or serum pregnancy test within 1 week prior to the start of treatment. * Participants must be able to provide informed consent and willing to sign an approved consent form that conforms to federal and institutional guidelines.

Exclusion criteria

* Participants with active visceral, central nervous system, or any bone metastases melanoma (Stage IVM1b or IVM1c). * Participants whose primary diagnosis was ocular melanoma. * Participants receiving anti-herpes medication (i.e., acyclovir, famciclovir, or valacyclovir) within 1 week prior to initiating HF10 treatment. Participants may not require intermittent or chronic systemic (intravenous or oral) treatment with an antiherpetic drug other than intermittent topical use. * Participants who have an active herpetic skin lesion(s) or prior complications of herpes simplex virus (HSV)-1 infection. * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements, as determined by the investigator. * Medical history of autoimmune disease (e.g. Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis) or other disease requiring systemic glucocorticoid or immunosuppressive therapy. Subjects who receive daily steroid replacement therapy serve as an exception to this rule. Daily prednisone equivalent at doses up to 10 mg would qualify. * Participants with clinically evident Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Hepatitis B Virus (HBV), Hepatitis C Virus (HCV), or Epstein-Barr Virus (EBV) infection are excluded. * Pregnant or breast feeding women; women desiring to become pregnant within the timeframe of the study are also excluded.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pathological Responseat time of surgery (12 weeks)Following 12 weeks of neoadjuvant treatment with nivolumab and HF10, participants underwent definitive surgery. A percent viable tumor was assessed semi-quantitatively in the definitive surgical resection specimen by estimating the proportion of residual tumor in relation to the total tumor area and reported as percentage viability. A pathologic complete response was defined as no viable residual melanoma cells in the surgical specimen. A major pathologic response was defined as \<50% viable tumor cells. A minor pathologic response was defined as 50% or greater viable tumor cells, including specimens that had 100% viability at surgery.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survival: Number of Participants Alive One Year After Completing Adjuvant Nivolumabup to 2 years post-surgery (1 year after end of adjuvant nivolumab, which was given for up to 1 year post-surgery)Participants were followed for survival for one year after completion of adjuvant nivolumab. Adjuvant nivolumab was planned for up to one year of adjuvant treatment after surgery. This objective reports the number of participants who were alive one year after the completion of adjuvant nivolumab.
Radiographic Response: Number of Participants Within Each Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 Response Category12 weeks from baseline to surgeryParticipants were assessed radiographically and clinically prior to study start and prior to surgery. Lesions were measured, and lesions that were at least 10 mm on CT, MRI, caliper, or ruler, or at least 20 mm on x-ray were documented as Target Lesions. Lesions that did not meet criteria to be Target Lesions were documented as Non-Target lesions. Measurements of Target Lesions were summed. Change in Target Lesion measurements was used to determine response by RECIST 1.1 criteria. Complete Response (CR) indicates a disappearance of all lesions. Partial Response (PR) indicates at least 30% decrease in the sum of Target Lesions. Progressive Disease (PD) indicates at least 20% increase in the sum of Target Lesions, or the appearance of one or more new lesions after baseline. Stable Disease (SD) is neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify as PR nor sufficient increase to qualify as PD. Objective was reported as number of participants within each response category.
Recurrence-free Survival: Number of Participants With no Disease Recurrence After Surgeryup to 2 years post-surgery (1 year after end of adjuvant nivolumab, which was given for up to 1 year post-surgery)Recurrence after surgery will be assessed by radiologic scans and confirmed by biopsy. Death within the follow-up period is also considered recurrence. This outcome will report the number of participants who were alive and who had no disease recurrence during the follow-up period.
Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to HF10 Treatmentthroughout HF10 treatment (up to 84 days)Participants were monitored for adverse events (AEs) during treatment with HF10 using CTCAE v4 criteria. AEs were graded as being mild (grade 1), moderate (grade 2), grade 3 (severe), grade 4 (life-threatening), and grade 5 (fatal). Each adverse event was reviewed by a treating investigator for relatedness to study treatment. For this outcome, the number of participants who experienced any AEs that were possible, probably, or definitely related to HF10 treatment are grouped by grade 1-2 and grade 3-5 AEs.
Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Nivolumab Treatmentthroughout nivolumab treatment (up to 84 days prior to surgery and up to 1 year after surgery)Participants were monitored for adverse events (AEs) during treatment with nivolumab using CTCAE v4 criteria. AEs were graded as being mild (grade 1), moderate (grade 2), grade 3 (severe), grade 4 (life-threatening), and grade 5 (fatal). Each adverse event was reviewed by a treating investigator for relatedness to study treatment. For this outcome, the number of participants who experienced any AEs that were possible, probably, or definitely related to nivolumab treatment are grouped by grade 1-2 and grade 3-5 AEs.
Number of Participants With Complete Surgical ResectionWithin 28 days after Day 84Participants' surgical samples were assessed by a pathologist after surgery to determine if complete surgical resection was achieved after neo-adjuvant treatment with nivolumab and HF10. R0 indicates a complete surgical resection was achieved and means no residual tumor was detected after after surgery. R1 means microscopic tumor was detected and a complete surgical resection was not achieved.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants )
Nivolumab: Nivolumab at a dose of 240 mg given as an IV infusion starting on day 0. It will be given every 14 days for a total of 7 infusions; Then participant will undergo surgery. Nivolumab will then be administered at a flat dose of 480 mg IV every 28 days for up to one year. HF10: 1 x 107th TCID50/mL, intratumoral injection to a single or multiple eligible tumors for a total of 5 mL; on days 0, 7, 14, 21, 28, 42, 56, 70, 84 for a total of 9 injections.
7
Total7

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyDisease progression to an extent that didn't allow surgery1

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicNivolumab and HF10 (All Participants )
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
5 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
2 Participants
Age, Continuous71 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
6 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
6 Participants
Tumor Viability Percentage
Tumor Viability < 90%
0 Participants
Tumor Viability Percentage
Tumor Viability >= 90%
7 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 7
other
Total, other adverse events
7 / 7
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 7

Outcome results

Primary

Pathological Response

Following 12 weeks of neoadjuvant treatment with nivolumab and HF10, participants underwent definitive surgery. A percent viable tumor was assessed semi-quantitatively in the definitive surgical resection specimen by estimating the proportion of residual tumor in relation to the total tumor area and reported as percentage viability. A pathologic complete response was defined as no viable residual melanoma cells in the surgical specimen. A major pathologic response was defined as \<50% viable tumor cells. A minor pathologic response was defined as 50% or greater viable tumor cells, including specimens that had 100% viability at surgery.

Time frame: at time of surgery (12 weeks)

Population: One of seven participants had progressive disease while receiving neoadjuvant therapy and did not receive surgical resection and therefore per protocol was not assessed for response.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Pathological ResponsePathologic Complete Response (0% Tumor Viability)5 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Pathological ResponseMajor Pathologic Response (<50% Tumor Viability)0 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Pathological ResponseMinor Pathologic Response (>=50% Tumor Viability)1 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to HF10 Treatment

Participants were monitored for adverse events (AEs) during treatment with HF10 using CTCAE v4 criteria. AEs were graded as being mild (grade 1), moderate (grade 2), grade 3 (severe), grade 4 (life-threatening), and grade 5 (fatal). Each adverse event was reviewed by a treating investigator for relatedness to study treatment. For this outcome, the number of participants who experienced any AEs that were possible, probably, or definitely related to HF10 treatment are grouped by grade 1-2 and grade 3-5 AEs.

Time frame: throughout HF10 treatment (up to 84 days)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to HF10 TreatmentParticipants with G1-2 AEs related to HF107 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to HF10 TreatmentParticipants with G3-5 AEs related to HF101 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Nivolumab Treatment

Participants were monitored for adverse events (AEs) during treatment with nivolumab using CTCAE v4 criteria. AEs were graded as being mild (grade 1), moderate (grade 2), grade 3 (severe), grade 4 (life-threatening), and grade 5 (fatal). Each adverse event was reviewed by a treating investigator for relatedness to study treatment. For this outcome, the number of participants who experienced any AEs that were possible, probably, or definitely related to nivolumab treatment are grouped by grade 1-2 and grade 3-5 AEs.

Time frame: throughout nivolumab treatment (up to 84 days prior to surgery and up to 1 year after surgery)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Nivolumab TreatmentParticipants with G1-2 AEs related to Nivolumab7 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Number of Participants With Adverse Events Related to Nivolumab TreatmentParticipants with G3-5 AEs related to Nivolumab2 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Complete Surgical Resection

Participants' surgical samples were assessed by a pathologist after surgery to determine if complete surgical resection was achieved after neo-adjuvant treatment with nivolumab and HF10. R0 indicates a complete surgical resection was achieved and means no residual tumor was detected after after surgery. R1 means microscopic tumor was detected and a complete surgical resection was not achieved.

Time frame: Within 28 days after Day 84

Population: The participant who did not complete surgery was not followed for post-surgery outcomes.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Number of Participants With Complete Surgical ResectionR0 Complete Surgical Resection5 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Number of Participants With Complete Surgical ResectionR1 Incomplete Surgical Resection1 Participants
Secondary

Overall Survival: Number of Participants Alive One Year After Completing Adjuvant Nivolumab

Participants were followed for survival for one year after completion of adjuvant nivolumab. Adjuvant nivolumab was planned for up to one year of adjuvant treatment after surgery. This objective reports the number of participants who were alive one year after the completion of adjuvant nivolumab.

Time frame: up to 2 years post-surgery (1 year after end of adjuvant nivolumab, which was given for up to 1 year post-surgery)

Population: The participant who did not complete surgery was not followed for post-surgery outcomes.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Overall Survival: Number of Participants Alive One Year After Completing Adjuvant Nivolumab5 Participants
Secondary

Radiographic Response: Number of Participants Within Each Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 Response Category

Participants were assessed radiographically and clinically prior to study start and prior to surgery. Lesions were measured, and lesions that were at least 10 mm on CT, MRI, caliper, or ruler, or at least 20 mm on x-ray were documented as Target Lesions. Lesions that did not meet criteria to be Target Lesions were documented as Non-Target lesions. Measurements of Target Lesions were summed. Change in Target Lesion measurements was used to determine response by RECIST 1.1 criteria. Complete Response (CR) indicates a disappearance of all lesions. Partial Response (PR) indicates at least 30% decrease in the sum of Target Lesions. Progressive Disease (PD) indicates at least 20% increase in the sum of Target Lesions, or the appearance of one or more new lesions after baseline. Stable Disease (SD) is neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify as PR nor sufficient increase to qualify as PD. Objective was reported as number of participants within each response category.

Time frame: 12 weeks from baseline to surgery

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Radiographic Response: Number of Participants Within Each Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 Response CategoryProgressive Disease (PD)3 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Radiographic Response: Number of Participants Within Each Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 Response CategoryComplete Response (CR)1 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Radiographic Response: Number of Participants Within Each Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 Response CategoryPartial Response (PR)0 Participants
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Radiographic Response: Number of Participants Within Each Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 Response CategoryStable Disease (SD)3 Participants
Secondary

Recurrence-free Survival: Number of Participants With no Disease Recurrence After Surgery

Recurrence after surgery will be assessed by radiologic scans and confirmed by biopsy. Death within the follow-up period is also considered recurrence. This outcome will report the number of participants who were alive and who had no disease recurrence during the follow-up period.

Time frame: up to 2 years post-surgery (1 year after end of adjuvant nivolumab, which was given for up to 1 year post-surgery)

Population: The participant who did not complete surgery was not followed for post-surgery outcomes.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Nivolumab and HF10 (All Participants)Recurrence-free Survival: Number of Participants With no Disease Recurrence After Surgery2 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026