Skip to content

Acupuncture for Plantar Fasciosis in the Primary Care Setting

Acupuncture for Plantar Fasciosis in the Primary Care Setting

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03246087
Enrollment
94
Registered
2017-08-11
Start date
2017-10-17
Completion date
2019-04-13
Last updated
2024-03-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Plantar Fascitis

Keywords

acupuncture, plantar fasiosis

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to determine if the addition of acupuncture to a standard of care prescribed exercise program is more effective at improving pain and function in adult patients with plantar fasciosis.

Detailed description

Investigators are studying whether a specific acupuncture protocol, when added to the standard of care treatment, can improve pain and function in adults with plantar fasciosis. Investigators hypothesize that there will be a significant improvement in both pain and functional outcomes, both acutely and over time, in the experimental group compared to the control group. Investigators will measure foot pain immediately prior to treatment (baseline), immediately after the initial treatment and at 2 weeks, 4 weeks, and 3 months. The Foot Function Index Revised short form will be used during the same intervals to evaluate foot function. At 3 months, patients in the non-acupuncture group will cross-over into the acupuncture group if still experiencing pain.

Interventions

acupuncture for plantar fasciosis Acupuncture will be performed and the standard of care prescribed home exercise program will be reviewed.

OTHERStandard of care

standard of care home exercise program

Sponsors

Mike O'Callaghan Military Hospital
Lead SponsorFED

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
CROSSOVER
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

THIS STUDY IS BEING CONDUCTED AT A MILITARY INSTALLATION. YOU MUST HAVE MILITARY INSURANCE IN ORDER TO PARTICIPATE IN THIS STUDY. Inclusion Criteria: Male and female DoD beneficiaries, age 18 years or older, who have been diagnosed with plantar fasciitis/fasciosis OR Patients meeting criteria of pain in the bottom of the foot/heel with first steps in the morning & tender to palpation over the medial calcaneal tubercle (where the plantar fascia inserts). Those with acute and chronic diagnoses will be included.

Exclusion criteria

* Pregnant * Absence of leg * Active cellulitis of lower extremity * Prior surgery for plantar fasciitis * Steroid injections in the last 12 weeks for plantar fasciitis; if received in last 12 weeks subjects will be offered to be involved in the study after they have completed a 12 week wash out period. * Any regenerative therapy to include proliferation therapy or platelet rich plasma therapy in the last 12 weeks for plantar fasciitis; if received in last 12 weeks subject will be offered to be involved in the study after they have completed a 12 week wash out period. * Botox injections for plantar fasciitis injections in the last 12 weeks for plantar fasciitis; if received in last 12 weeks subject will be offered to be involved in the study after they have completed a 12 week wash out period. * Use of anticoagulants * If they have every had any prior acupuncture for plantar fasciitis using the defined KB-2 points

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
NPRS-1190 daysNumeric Pain Rating Scale. 11 point numeric rating on a scale of 0-10 to measure pain intensity. 0 being no pain, 5 being moderate pain, and 10 being worst pain.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
FFI-R90 daysRevised Foot Function Index Short Form. FFI-R measures the impact of foot pathology on function for 5 subscales of: pain (7 questions), stiffness (7 questions), difficulty (11 questions), activity limitation (3 questions), social issues (6 questions). Each question ranges from 1 (no pain/no stiffness/no difficulty/none of the time) to 4 (severe pain/stiffness/difficulty/all of the time). Subscale scores are added up to a total cumulative score. Minimum total score (least pain/stiffness/difficulty) is 34. Maximum total score (most pain/stiffness/difficulty) is 136.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

94 total subjects. 78 total subjects analyzed. 39 from the initial placebo group were allowed to crossover once their placebo study role was completed.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Acupuncture
Patients will receive acupuncture for plantar fasciosis. The standard of care home exercise program will be reviewed along with the stretching and strengthening exercises. Acupunture: acupuncture for plantar fasciosis Acupuncture will be performed and the standard of care prescribed home exercise program will be reviewed.
47
Standard of Care
The standard of care home exercise program will be reviewed along with the stretching and strengthening exercises. Standard of care: standard of care home exercise program
47
Crossover
At the end of the study, patients in the Standard of Care group whom are still experiencing pain and symptoms will be rolled into the acupuncture treatment arm of the study. Acupunture: acupuncture for plantar fasciosis Acupuncture will be performed and the standard of care prescribed home exercise program will be reviewed.
0
Total94

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicStandard of CareAcupunctureTotalCrossover
Age, Customized
age
45 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12
41 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12
43 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants4 Participants10 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
41 Participants43 Participants84 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
foot injury history
foot injury history-no
15 participants11 participants26 participants
foot injury history
foot injury history-yes
32 participants36 participants68 participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants3 Participants5 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
12 Participants10 Participants22 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
8 Participants5 Participants13 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
25 Participants27 Participants52 Participants0 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
47 participants47 participants94 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
24 Participants25 Participants49 Participants0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
23 Participants22 Participants45 Participants0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 470 / 470 / 39
other
Total, other adverse events
4 / 471 / 470 / 39
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 470 / 470 / 39

Outcome results

Primary

NPRS-11

Numeric Pain Rating Scale. 11 point numeric rating on a scale of 0-10 to measure pain intensity. 0 being no pain, 5 being moderate pain, and 10 being worst pain.

Time frame: 90 days

Population: Crossover pulls from the standard of care group. There are not 30 additional subjects, merely 30 subjects pulled from standard of care to crossover to acupuncture group.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AcupunctureNPRS-11week 62.5 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.2
AcupunctureNPRS-11week 42.6 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.1
AcupunctureNPRS-11week 03.8 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.4
AcupunctureNPRS-11week 23.1 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.3
AcupunctureNPRS-11week 122.4 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.2
Standard of CareNPRS-11week 43.3 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.5
Standard of CareNPRS-11week 04.3 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.8
Standard of CareNPRS-11week 23.7 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.8
Standard of CareNPRS-11week 63.0 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.2
Standard of CareNPRS-11week 123.4 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.8
CrossoverNPRS-11week 122.6 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.2
CrossoverNPRS-11week 62.6 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.2
CrossoverNPRS-11week 03.7 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.7
CrossoverNPRS-11week 42.1 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2
CrossoverNPRS-11week 23.0 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.6
Secondary

FFI-R

Revised Foot Function Index Short Form. FFI-R measures the impact of foot pathology on function for 5 subscales of: pain (7 questions), stiffness (7 questions), difficulty (11 questions), activity limitation (3 questions), social issues (6 questions). Each question ranges from 1 (no pain/no stiffness/no difficulty/none of the time) to 4 (severe pain/stiffness/difficulty/all of the time). Subscale scores are added up to a total cumulative score. Minimum total score (least pain/stiffness/difficulty) is 34. Maximum total score (most pain/stiffness/difficulty) is 136.

Time frame: 90 days

Population: Crossover pulls from the standard of care group. There are not 30 additional subjects, merely 30 subjects pulled from standard of care to crossover to acupuncture group.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AcupunctureFFI-Rweek 073 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 14
AcupunctureFFI-Rweek 656 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 18
AcupunctureFFI-Rweek 456 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 16
AcupunctureFFI-Rweek 1252 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 18
AcupunctureFFI-Rweek 261 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 16
Standard of CareFFI-Rweek 1255 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 21
Standard of CareFFI-Rweek 070 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 22
Standard of CareFFI-Rweek 264 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 23
Standard of CareFFI-Rweek 460 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 21
Standard of CareFFI-Rweek 658 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 21
CrossoverFFI-Rweek 260 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 22
CrossoverFFI-Rweek 1256 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 24
CrossoverFFI-Rweek 658 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 23
CrossoverFFI-Rweek 063 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 17
CrossoverFFI-Rweek 455 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 22

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026