Skip to content

Study of Lenvatinib in Combination With Everolimus in Recurrent and Refractory Pediatric Solid Tumors, Including Central Nervous System Tumors

A Phase 1/2 Study of Lenvatinib in Combination With Everolimus in Recurrent and Refractory Pediatric Solid Tumors, Including CNS Tumors

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03245151
Enrollment
64
Registered
2017-08-10
Start date
2017-11-16
Completion date
2022-09-30
Last updated
2023-08-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Recurrent and Refractory Solid Tumors

Keywords

pediatrics, central nervous system tumors, lenvatinib, E7080, everolimus, Ewing sarcoma/peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor, rhabdomyosarcoma, high grade glioma, solid tumors

Brief summary

Phase 1 of this study, utilizing a rolling 6 design, will be conducted to determine a maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and recommended Phase 2 dose (RP2D), and to describe the toxicities of lenvatinib administered in combination with everolimus once daily to pediatric participants with recurrent/refractory solid tumors. Phase 2, utilizing Simon's optimal 2-stage design, will be conducted to estimate the antitumor activity of lenvatinib in combination with everolimus in pediatric participants with selected recurrent/refractory solid tumors including Ewing sarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, and high grade glioma (HGG) using objective response rate (ORR) at Week 16 as the outcome measure.

Interventions

DRUGLenvatinib

oral hard capsules containing 1 mg, 4 mg, or 10 mg lenvatinib, or an extemporaneous suspension

DRUGEverolimus

2 mg, 3 mg, or 5 mg tablets for oral suspension

Sponsors

Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Eisai Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
2 Years to 21 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* ≥2 years and \<18 years of age for enrolment in Phase 1 or ≥2 years and ≤21 years of age for enrolment in Phase 2. * Recurrent or refractory solid tumors * Phase 1: All solid tumors (measurable or evaluable disease), including primary central nervous system (CNS) tumors; exclusion of hepatoblastoma and lymphomas. Participants with diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma, optic pathway glioma, or pineal tumors with elevated tumor markers (alpha-fetoprotein \[AFP\] and beta-human chorionic gonadotropin \[ß-hCG\]\[or human chorionic gonadotropin \[hCG\])do not require histological or cytological confirmation of diagnosis * Phase 2: Ewing sarcoma, Rhabdomyosarcoma, High Grade Glioma (HGG) (all must have measurable disease); exclusion of Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma * Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis * Measurable disease that meets the following criteria (Phase 2): 1. RECIST 1.1 (for all tumor types except HGG): At least 1 lesion of ≥1.0 cm in the longest diameter for a non lymph node or ≥1.5 cm in the short-axis diameter for a lymph node which is serially measurable according to RECIST 1.1 using computed tomography /magnetic resonance imaging (CT/MRI) 2. Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) for high grade glioma (HGG): At least one lesion must be measurable as defined as a bi dimensionally contrast enhancing lesion with clearly defined margins by CT or MRI scan, with a minimal diameter of 1 cm, and visible on 2 axial slices which are preferably at most 5 mm apart with 0 mm skip Lesions that have had external beam radiotherapy (EBRT) or locoregional therapies such as radiofrequency (RF) ablation must show evidence of progressive disease based on RECIST 1.1 to be deemed a target lesion * Karnofsky performance score ≥50 for participants\>16 year of age and Lansky play score ≥50 for participants ≤16 years of age. Neurologic deficits in participants with CNS tumors must have been relatively stable for at least 7 days prior to study enrollment. Participants who are unable to walk because of paralysis, but who are up in a wheelchair, will be considered ambulatory for the purpose of assessing the performance score * Prior Therapy * Participants must have fully recovered from the acute toxic effects of all prior anti-cancer therapy * Cytotoxic chemotherapy or other chemotherapy known to be myelosuppressive: ≥21 days after the last dose of cytotoxic or myelosuppressive chemotherapy (42 days if prior nitrosourea) * Anti-cancer agents not known to be myelosuppressive (eg, not associated with reduced platelet or absolute neutrophil counts): ≥7 days after the last dose of agent * Monoclonal antibodies: ≥21 days or 3 half-lives (whichever is shorter) of the antibody must have elapsed after the last dose of a monoclonal antibody (including checkpoint inhibitors). Toxicity related to prior antibody therapy must be recovered to Grade ≤1 * Corticosteroids: If used to modify immune adverse events related to prior therapy, ≥14 days must have elapsed since last dose of corticosteroid. Participants receiving corticosteroids, who have not been on a stable or decreasing dose of corticosteroid for at least 7 days prior to enrollment, are not eligible * Hematopoietic growth factors: ≥14 days after the last dose of a long-acting growth factor or 7 days for short-acting growth factor. For agents that have known adverse events occurring beyond 7 days after administration, this period must be extended beyond the time during which adverse events are known to occur * Interleukins, interferons, and cytokines (other than hematopoietic growth factors): ≥21 days after the completion of interleukins, interferons or cytokines (other than hematopoietic growth factors) * Stem cell infusions (with or without total body irradiation): Allogeneic (non-autologous) bone marrow or stem cell transplant, or any stem cell infusion including donor leukocytes infusion or boost infusion: ≥84 days after infusion and no evidence of graft versus host disease; Autologous stem cell infusion including boost infusion: ≥42 days * Cellular Therapy: ≥42 days after the completion of any type of cellular therapy (eg, modified T cells, natural killer cells, dendritic cells, etc) * Radiotherapy (XRT)/External Beam Irradiation including Protons: ≥14 days after local XRT; ≥150 days after total body irradiation, craniospinal XRT or if radiation to ≥50% of the pelvis; ≥42 days if other substantial bone marrow radiation. * Radiopharmaceutical therapy: ≥42 days after systemically administered therapy. * Vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF)/VEGF receptor (VEGFR)-targeted or mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR)-targeted therapies: Must not have received prior exposure to lenvatinib; May have previously progressed on an mTOR inhibitor; No more than 2 prior VEGF/VEGFR-targeted therapies (For Phase 2 only); Must not have received prior VEGF/VEGFR-targeted therapy in combination with an mTOR inhibitor (For Phase 2 only) * Adequate bone marrow function for participants with solid tumors without known bone marrow involvement * Adequate bone marrow function for participants with known bone marrow metastatic disease * Adequate renal function * Adequate liver function * Adequate cardiac function * Adequate neurologic function * Adequate blood pressure (BP) control with or without antihypertensive medications * Adequate coagulation * Adequate pancreatic function * Adequate metabolic function * Adequate glycemic control * Participants must have a minimum body surface area (BSA) of 0.6 m\^2 at study entry.

Exclusion criteria

* Participants who have had or are planning to have the following invasive procedures * Major surgical procedure, laparoscopic procedure, open biopsy or significant traumatic injury within 28 days prior to enrolment * Central line placement or subcutaneous port placement is not considered major surgery. External central lines must be placed at least 3 days prior to enrollment and subcutaneous ports must be placed at least 7 days prior to enrollment * Fine needle aspirate within 7 days prior to enrolment * Surgical or other wounds must be adequately healed prior to enrolment * For purposes of this study, bone marrow aspirate and biopsy are not considered surgical procedures and therefore are permitted within 14 days prior to start of protocol therapy * Participants who have non-healing wound, unhealed or incompletely healed fracture, or a compound (open) bone fracture at the time of enrolment * Participants having an active infection requiring systemic therapy. * Participants with a known history of active hepatitis B (defined as hepatitis B surface antigen reactive or hepatitis B virus- deoxyribonucleic \[DNA\] detected) or known active hepatitis C virus (HCV, defined as HCV- Ribonucleic acid \[RNA\] detected). Note: No testing for hepatitis B and hepatitis C is required unless mandated by the local health authority. * Known to be human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) positive. Note: HIV testing is required at screening only when mandated by the local health authority * Clinical evidence of nephrotic syndrome prior to enrolment * Gastrointestinal bleeding or active hemoptysis (bright red blood of at least half teaspoon) within 21 days prior to enrolment * Thrombotic/ thromboembolic event requiring systemic anticoagulation within 90 days prior to enrollment * Evidence of new intracranial hemorrhage of more than punctate size on MRI assessment obtained within 28 days prior to study enrollment for Participants with HGG * Diagnosis of lymphoma * Radiographic evidence of major blood vessel invasion/infiltration. * Evidence of untreated CNS metastases (exception: participants with primary CNS tumors and leptomeningeal disease) * Participants who are currently receiving enzyme-inducing anticonvulsants * Participants chronically receiving strong cytochrome P450 3A4 (CYP3A4)/P-glycoprotein (P-gp) inhibitors or inducers within 7 days prior to study enrollment * Females who are breastfeeding or pregnant. For females of childbearing potential, a negative screening pregnancy test must be obtained within 72 hours before the first dose of study drug * Males who have not had a successful vasectomy (confirmed azoospermia) or if they and their female partners do not meet the criteria above (that is, not of childbearing potential or practicing highly effective contraception throughout the study period and for 7 days after lenvatinib discontinuation or 4 weeks after discontinuation of everolimus). No sperm donation is allowed during the study period and for 7 days after lenvatinib discontinuation or 4 weeks after discontinuation of everolimus.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Phase 1: Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Lenvatinib in Combination With EverolimusCycle 1 (Each cycle was of 28 days)MTD was defined as the highest dose level at which no more than 1/6 participants experienced a dose limiting toxicity (DLTs), with the next higher dose having at least 0 of 3 or 1 of 6 participants experiencing DLTs. DLT was graded according to common terminology criteria for adverse events (CTCAE) version 4.03.
Phase 1: Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D) of Lenvatinib in Combination With EverolimusCycle 1 (Each cycle was of 28 days)The RP2D of lenvatinib in combination with everolimus was determined by Dose Escalation Committee (DEC) based on safety (including DLTs), pharmacokinetic and clinical data. DLT was graded according to CTCAE v4.03.
Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (Up to 17.5 months)A TEAE was defined as an adverse event that emerged during treatment, having been absent at pretreatment or reemerged during treatment, having been present at pretreatment but stopped before treatment, or worsened in severity during treatment relative to the pretreatment state, when the adverse event is continuous. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.
Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (Up to 17.5 months)A TESAE was any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose: resulted in death; life threatening condition; required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; was a congenital anomaly/birth defect or was medically important due to other reasons than the above mentioned criteria. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.
Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at Week 16Week 16ORR at Week 16 was defined as the percentage of participants with a best overall response (BOR) of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) at Week 16 based on investigator assessment according to response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and response assessment in neuro-oncology (RANO) for HGG cohort. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis less than (\<) 10 millimeter (mm). PR was defined as at least a 30 percent (%) decrease in the sum of diameter (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 6.5 months)CBR was defined as percentage of participants who had BOR of CR, PR, or durable SD (SD duration \>=23 weeks since the first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. CBR was assessed by an investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG cohorts or RANO for HGG cohort. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
Phase 1: Duration of Response (DOR)From date of the first observation of CR or PR until the date of first observation of progression or date of death (up to 16.5 months)DOR was defined as the time (in months) from the date of first observation of confirmed response (PR or CR) to the date of the first observation of progression based on the investigator's assessment utilizing RECIST 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohorts, or date of death, whatever the cause. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. PD was defined as at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
Phase 2: Duration of Response (DOR)From date of the first observation of CR or PR until the date of first observation of progression or date of death (up to 6.5 months)DOR was defined as the time (in months) from the date of first observation of confirmed response (PR or CR) to the date of the first observation of progression based on the investigator's assessment utilizing RECIST 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohort, or date of death, whatever the cause. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. PD was defined as at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
Phase 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration of Lenvatinib (AUC[0-t Hours])Cycle 1 Days 1 and 15: 0-8 hours post-dose (Cycle length=28 days)AUC0-t of lenvatinib was quantified using validated liquid chromatography tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) methods.
Phase 1: Objective Response Rate (ORR)From the date of the first dose of study drug to the date of first documentation of disease progression or death, whichever occurred first (up to 16.5 months)ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with BOR of CR or PR based on investigator assessment according to RECIST version 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohort. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.
Phase 1: Time to Reach Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Lenvatinib (Tmax)Cycle 1 Days 1 and 15: 0-8 hours post-dose (Cycle length=28 days)Tmax of lenvatinib was quantified using validated liquid LC-MS/MS methods.
Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Days 1, 2, 15 and 22: Pre-dose (Cycle length=28 days)Trough concentrations of everolimus was quantified using validated liquid LC-MS/MS methods.
Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (up to 7.5 months)A TEAE was defined as an adverse event that emerged during treatment, having been absent at pretreatment or reemerged during treatment, having been present at pretreatment but stopped before treatment, or worsened in severity during treatment relative to the pretreatment state, when the adverse event is continuous. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.
Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (up to 7.5 months)A TESAE was any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose: resulted in death; life threatening condition; required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; was a congenital anomaly/birth defect or was medically important due to other reasons than the above mentioned criteria. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.
Phase 1: Maximum Plasma Concentration of Lenvatinib (Cmax)Cycle 1 Days 1 and 15: 0-8 hours post-dose (Cycle length=28 days)Cmax of lenvatinib was quantified using validated liquid LC-MS/MS methods.
Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR)From the date of the first dose of study drug to the date of first documentation of disease progression or death, which ever occurred first (up to 6.5 months)ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with BOR of CR or PR based on investigator assessment according to RECIST version 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohort. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.
Phase 1: Disease Control Rate (DCR)From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 16.5 months)DCR was defined as percentage of participants with a confirmed CR, PR, or stable disease (SD) (SD duration \>=7 weeks since the first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. DCR was assessed by an investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG participants or RANO for HGG participants. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
Phase 2: Disease Control Rate (DCR)From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 6.5 months)DCR was defined as percentage of participants with confirmed CR, PR, or SD (SD duration greater than or equal to \[\>=\] 7 weeks since first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. DCR was assessed by investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG cohorts or RANO for HGG cohort. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
Phase 1: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 16.5 months)CBR was defined as percentage of participants who had BOR of CR, PR, or durable SD (SD duration \>=23 weeks since the first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. CBR was assessed by an investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG participants or RANO for HGG participants. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Countries

Canada, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants took part in the study at 24 investigative sites in the United States and Canada from 16 November 2017 to 30 September 2022.

Pre-assignment details

A total of 86 participants were screened, out of which 64 were enrolled and 9 participants completed the study.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 8 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2
Participants with recurrent or refractory solid tumors received lenvatinib 8 mg/m\^2, capsules, orally, once daily in combination with everolimus 3 mg/m\^2, tablets, orally, once daily in cycle 1 (each cycle was 28 days) until the occurrence of PD, clinical benefit, development of unacceptable toxicity leading to withdrawal from the study, study discontinuation or for a maximum of 18 cycles (each cycle was 28 days) whichever occurred first.
5
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2
Participants with recurrent or refractory solid tumors received lenvatinib 11 mg/m\^2, capsules, orally, once daily in combination with everolimus 3 mg/m\^2, tablets, orally, once daily in cycle 1 (each cycle was 28 days) until the occurrence of PD, clinical benefit, development of unacceptable toxicity leading to withdrawal from the study, study discontinuation or for a maximum of 18 cycles (each cycle was 28 days) whichever occurred first.
18
Phase 2: Cohort 1, Ewing Sarcoma
Participants with recurrent or refractory ewing sarcoma received lenvatinib 11 mg/m\^2, capsules, orally, once daily in combination with everolimus 3 mg/m\^2, tablets, orally, once daily for up to 7 cycles (each cycle was 28 days) unless participant discontinued early from the study.
10
Phase 2: Cohort 2, Rhabdomyosarcoma
Participants with recurrent or refractory rhabdomyosarcoma received lenvatinib 11 mg/m\^2, capsules, orally, once daily in combination with everolimus 3 mg/m\^2, tablets, orally, once daily for up to 7 cycles (each cycle was 28 days) unless participant discontinued early from the study.
20
Phase 2: Cohort 3, HGG
Participants with recurrent or refractory HGG received lenvatinib 11 mg/m\^2, capsules, orally, once daily in combination with everolimus 3 mg/m\^2, tablets, orally, once daily for up to 7 cycles (each cycle was 28 days) unless participant discontinued early from the study.
11
Total64

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004
Overall StudyDeath3149167
Overall StudySponsor's decision01000
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject20021

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPhase 1: Lenvatinib 8 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2TotalPhase 2: Cohort 3, HGGPhase 2: Cohort 2, RhabdomyosarcomaPhase 2: Cohort 1, Ewing SarcomaPhase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2
Age, Customized
12-17 years
4 Participants21 Participants7 Participants6 Participants3 Participants1 Participants
Age, Customized
18-64 years
1 Participants12 Participants1 Participants5 Participants4 Participants1 Participants
Age, Customized
2-11 years
0 Participants31 Participants3 Participants9 Participants3 Participants16 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants12 Participants0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants52 Participants11 Participants18 Participants8 Participants11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants6 Participants3 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants10 Participants2 Participants3 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants45 Participants6 Participants16 Participants9 Participants11 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
2 Participants31 Participants8 Participants8 Participants3 Participants10 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants33 Participants3 Participants12 Participants7 Participants8 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
4 / 514 / 189 / 1017 / 208 / 11
other
Total, other adverse events
5 / 518 / 1810 / 1019 / 2011 / 11
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 512 / 186 / 108 / 208 / 11

Outcome results

Primary

Phase 1: Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Lenvatinib in Combination With Everolimus

MTD was defined as the highest dose level at which no more than 1/6 participants experienced a dose limiting toxicity (DLTs), with the next higher dose having at least 0 of 3 or 1 of 6 participants experiencing DLTs. DLT was graded according to common terminology criteria for adverse events (CTCAE) version 4.03.

Time frame: Cycle 1 (Each cycle was of 28 days)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least one dose of study drug (Lenvatinib or Everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Lenvatinib in Combination With Everolimus11 milligram per square meter (mg/m^2)
Primary

Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)

A TEAE was defined as an adverse event that emerged during treatment, having been absent at pretreatment or reemerged during treatment, having been present at pretreatment but stopped before treatment, or worsened in severity during treatment relative to the pretreatment state, when the adverse event is continuous. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.

Time frame: From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (Up to 17.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least one dose of study drug (Lenvatinib or Everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)5 Participants
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)18 Participants
Primary

Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)

A TESAE was any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose: resulted in death; life threatening condition; required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; was a congenital anomaly/birth defect or was medically important due to other reasons than the above mentioned criteria. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.

Time frame: From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (Up to 17.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least one dose of study drug (Lenvatinib or Everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)2 Participants
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)12 Participants
Primary

Phase 1: Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D) of Lenvatinib in Combination With Everolimus

The RP2D of lenvatinib in combination with everolimus was determined by Dose Escalation Committee (DEC) based on safety (including DLTs), pharmacokinetic and clinical data. DLT was graded according to CTCAE v4.03.

Time frame: Cycle 1 (Each cycle was of 28 days)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least one dose of study drug (Lenvatinib or Everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D) of Lenvatinib in Combination With Everolimus11 mg/m^2
Primary

Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at Week 16

ORR at Week 16 was defined as the percentage of participants with a best overall response (BOR) of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) at Week 16 based on investigator assessment according to response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and response assessment in neuro-oncology (RANO) for HGG cohort. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis less than (\<) 10 millimeter (mm). PR was defined as at least a 30 percent (%) decrease in the sum of diameter (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

Time frame: Week 16

Population: Evaluable analysis set included all evaluable participants who have measurable disease present at baseline, and at least one postbaseline efficacy assessment, unless they have discontinued prior to the first efficacy assessment due to progressive disease.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at Week 160.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at Week 1610.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 1.2
Phase 2: Cohort 3, HGGPhase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at Week 160 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0
Secondary

Phase 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration of Lenvatinib (AUC[0-t Hours])

AUC0-t of lenvatinib was quantified using validated liquid chromatography tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) methods.

Time frame: Cycle 1 Days 1 and 15: 0-8 hours post-dose (Cycle length=28 days)

Population: Pharmacokinetic analysis set included participants who had at least one measurable postdose plasma concentration with an adequately documented drug administration history. Here, 'number analyzed' signifies participants who were evaluable for given timepoints of this outcome measure. Pharmacokinetic data was planned to be analyzed for Phase 1 only.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration of Lenvatinib (AUC[0-t Hours])Cycle 1 Day 12338.0 nanogram*hour per milliliter (ng*hr/mL)Standard Deviation 1633.41
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration of Lenvatinib (AUC[0-t Hours])Cycle 1 Day 151328.0 nanogram*hour per milliliter (ng*hr/mL)Standard Deviation 520.69
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration of Lenvatinib (AUC[0-t Hours])Cycle 1 Day 13281.1 nanogram*hour per milliliter (ng*hr/mL)Standard Deviation 1064.72
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration of Lenvatinib (AUC[0-t Hours])Cycle 1 Day 152139.8 nanogram*hour per milliliter (ng*hr/mL)Standard Deviation 1156.48
Secondary

Phase 1: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)

CBR was defined as percentage of participants who had BOR of CR, PR, or durable SD (SD duration \>=23 weeks since the first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. CBR was assessed by an investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG participants or RANO for HGG participants. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 16.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug (lenvatinib or everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)20.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0.5
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)22.2 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 6.4
Secondary

Phase 1: Disease Control Rate (DCR)

DCR was defined as percentage of participants with a confirmed CR, PR, or stable disease (SD) (SD duration \>=7 weeks since the first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. DCR was assessed by an investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG participants or RANO for HGG participants. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 16.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug (lenvatinib or everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Disease Control Rate (DCR)20.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0.5
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Disease Control Rate (DCR)50.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 26
Secondary

Phase 1: Duration of Response (DOR)

DOR was defined as the time (in months) from the date of first observation of confirmed response (PR or CR) to the date of the first observation of progression based on the investigator's assessment utilizing RECIST 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohorts, or date of death, whatever the cause. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. PD was defined as at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: From date of the first observation of CR or PR until the date of first observation of progression or date of death (up to 16.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug (lenvatinib or everolimus). Here, 'overall number of participants analyzed' signifies participants who had CR or PR (0 participants hence, none were analyzed for this outcome measure).

Secondary

Phase 1: Maximum Plasma Concentration of Lenvatinib (Cmax)

Cmax of lenvatinib was quantified using validated liquid LC-MS/MS methods.

Time frame: Cycle 1 Days 1 and 15: 0-8 hours post-dose (Cycle length=28 days)

Population: Pharmacokinetic analysis set included participants who had at least one measurable postdose plasma concentration with an adequately documented drug administration history. Here, 'number analyzed' signifies participants who were evaluable for given timepoints of this outcome measure. Pharmacokinetic data was planned to be analyzed for Phase 1 only.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Maximum Plasma Concentration of Lenvatinib (Cmax)Cycle 1 Day 1240.20 nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Standard Deviation 130.892
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Maximum Plasma Concentration of Lenvatinib (Cmax)Cycle 1 Day 15314.20 nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Standard Deviation 149.527
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Maximum Plasma Concentration of Lenvatinib (Cmax)Cycle 1 Day 1404.13 nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Standard Deviation 121.473
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Maximum Plasma Concentration of Lenvatinib (Cmax)Cycle 1 Day 15447.62 nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Standard Deviation 272.79
Secondary

Phase 1: Objective Response Rate (ORR)

ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with BOR of CR or PR based on investigator assessment according to RECIST version 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohort. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

Time frame: From the date of the first dose of study drug to the date of first documentation of disease progression or death, whichever occurred first (up to 16.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug (lenvatinib or everolimus). Here, 'overall number of participants analyzed' signifies participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Objective Response Rate (ORR)0.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Objective Response Rate (ORR)0.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0
Secondary

Phase 1: Time to Reach Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Lenvatinib (Tmax)

Tmax of lenvatinib was quantified using validated liquid LC-MS/MS methods.

Time frame: Cycle 1 Days 1 and 15: 0-8 hours post-dose (Cycle length=28 days)

Population: Pharmacokinetic analysis set included participants who had at least one measurable postdose plasma concentration with an adequately documented drug administration history. Here, 'number analyzed' signifies participants who were evaluable for given timepoints of this outcome measure. Pharmacokinetic data was planned to be analyzed for Phase 1 only.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Time to Reach Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Lenvatinib (Tmax)Cycle 1 Day 13.000 hours
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Time to Reach Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Lenvatinib (Tmax)Cycle 1 Day 153.950 hours
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Time to Reach Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Lenvatinib (Tmax)Cycle 1 Day 12.890 hours
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Time to Reach Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Lenvatinib (Tmax)Cycle 1 Day 152.950 hours
Secondary

Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With Lenvatinib

Trough concentrations of everolimus was quantified using validated liquid LC-MS/MS methods.

Time frame: Cycle 1 Days 1, 2, 15 and 22: Pre-dose (Cycle length=28 days)

Population: Pharmacokinetic analysis set included participants who had at least one measurable postdose plasma concentration with an adequately documented drug administration history. Here, 'overall number of participants analyzed' signifies participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure and 'number analyzed' signifies participants who were evaluable for given timepoints of this outcome measure. Pharmacokinetic data was planned to be analyzed for Phase 1 only.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 2: Pre-dose2.1 ng/mLStandard Deviation 1.34
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 1: Pre-dose0.0 ng/mLStandard Deviation 0
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 15: Pre-dose3.2 ng/mLStandard Deviation 2.42
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 22: Pre-dose2.8 ng/mLStandard Deviation 1.96
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 22: Pre-dose4.2 ng/mLStandard Deviation 2.73
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 1: Pre-dose0.0 ng/mLStandard Deviation 0
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 2: Pre-dose2.2 ng/mLStandard Deviation 1.13
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 1: Trough Concentrations (Ctrough) of Everolimus When Administered in Combination With LenvatinibCycle 1 Day 15: Pre-dose5.1 ng/mLStandard Deviation 2.98
Secondary

Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)

CBR was defined as percentage of participants who had BOR of CR, PR, or durable SD (SD duration \>=23 weeks since the first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. CBR was assessed by an investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG cohorts or RANO for HGG cohort. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 6.5 months)

Population: Evaluable analysis set included all evaluable participants who have measurable disease present at baseline, and at least one postbaseline efficacy assessment, unless they have discontinued prior to the first efficacy assessment due to PD.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)20.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 2.5
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)10.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 1.2
Phase 2: Cohort 3, HGGPhase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)0.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0
Secondary

Phase 2: Disease Control Rate (DCR)

DCR was defined as percentage of participants with confirmed CR, PR, or SD (SD duration greater than or equal to \[\>=\] 7 weeks since first dose of study treatment) divided by number of participants in analysis set. DCR was assessed by investigator based on RECIST v1.1 for non-HGG cohorts or RANO for HGG cohort. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. SD: neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest SOD. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: From first dose of study drug until PD or death, whichever occurred first (up to 6.5 months)

Population: Evaluable analysis set included all evaluable participants who have measurable disease present at baseline, and at least one postbaseline efficacy assessment, unless they have discontinued prior to the first efficacy assessment due to progressive disease.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 2: Disease Control Rate (DCR)40.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 12.2
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 2: Disease Control Rate (DCR)40.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 19.1
Phase 2: Cohort 3, HGGPhase 2: Disease Control Rate (DCR)30.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 6.7
Secondary

Phase 2: Duration of Response (DOR)

DOR was defined as the time (in months) from the date of first observation of confirmed response (PR or CR) to the date of the first observation of progression based on the investigator's assessment utilizing RECIST 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohort, or date of death, whatever the cause. CR: disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. PD was defined as at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: From date of the first observation of CR or PR until the date of first observation of progression or date of death (up to 6.5 months)

Population: Evaluable analysis set included all evaluable participants who have measurable disease present at baseline, and at least one postbaseline efficacy assessment, unless they have discontinued prior to first efficacy assessment due to progressive disease. Here, 'overall number of participants analyzed' signifies participants who had CR or PR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 2: Duration of Response (DOR)2.4 months
Secondary

Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)

A TEAE was defined as an adverse event that emerged during treatment, having been absent at pretreatment or reemerged during treatment, having been present at pretreatment but stopped before treatment, or worsened in severity during treatment relative to the pretreatment state, when the adverse event is continuous. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.

Time frame: From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (up to 7.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least one dose of study drug (Lenvatinib or Everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)10 Participants
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)19 Participants
Phase 2: Cohort 3, HGGPhase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)11 Participants
Secondary

Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)

A TESAE was any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose: resulted in death; life threatening condition; required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; was a congenital anomaly/birth defect or was medically important due to other reasons than the above mentioned criteria. An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered an investigational product.

Time frame: From date of first dose up to 28 days after the last dose of study treatment (up to 7.5 months)

Population: SAS included all participants who received at least one dose of study drug (Lenvatinib or Everolimus).

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)6 Participants
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)8 Participants
Phase 2: Cohort 3, HGGPhase 2: Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Event (TESAE)8 Participants
Secondary

Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR)

ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with BOR of CR or PR based on investigator assessment according to RECIST version 1.1 for non-HGG cohorts and RANO for HGG cohort. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions (non-lymph nodes). All pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have a reduction in their short axis \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

Time frame: From the date of the first dose of study drug to the date of first documentation of disease progression or death, which ever occurred first (up to 6.5 months)

Population: Evaluable analysis set included all evaluable participants who have measurable disease present at baseline, and at least one postbaseline efficacy assessment, unless they have discontinued prior to the first efficacy assessment due to progressive disease.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)Dispersion
Phase 1: Lenvatinib + Everolimus (All Participants)Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR)0.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0
Phase 1: Lenvatinib 11 mg/m^2 + Everolimus 3 mg/m^2Phase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR)10.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 1.2
Phase 2: Cohort 3, HGGPhase 2: Objective Response Rate (ORR)0.0 percentage of participants95% Confidence Interval 0

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 21, 2026