Skip to content

Olaparib in Treating Patients With Advanced Glioma, Cholangiocarcinoma, or Solid Tumors With IDH1 or IDH2 Mutations

A Phase 2 Study of the PARP Inhibitor Olaparib (AZD2281) in IDH1 and IDH2 Mutant Advanced Solid Tumors

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03212274
Enrollment
89
Registered
2017-07-11
Start date
2019-01-30
Completion date
2027-07-31
Last updated
2026-09-09

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Advanced Malignant Solid Neoplasm, Glioblastoma, Recurrent Cholangiocarcinoma, Recurrent Glioma, Recurrent Malignant Solid Neoplasm, WHO Grade 2 Glioma, WHO Grade 3 Glioma

Brief summary

This phase II trial studies how well olaparib works in treating patients with glioma, cholangiocarcinoma, or solid tumors with IDH1 or IDH2 mutations that has spread from where it first started (primary site) to other places in the body (metastatic) and that does not respond to treatment (refractory). Olaparib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: I. To estimate the overall response rates of olaparib in subjects with recurrent/progressive IDH1/2-mutant solid tumors, who will be recruited to 3 cohorts: a. glioma, b. cholangiocarcinoma, c. other solid malignant tumors. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To estimate the distribution of progression free survival (PFS) of olaparib in adults with recurrent/progressive IDH1/2-mutant glioma and cholangiocarcinoma. II. To estimate the overall survival (OS) in adults with recurrent/progressive IDH1/2- mutant glioma and cholangiocarcinoma. III. To determine the duration of response in adults with recurrent/progressive IDH1/2-mutant glioma, cholangiocarcinoma or other solid malignant tumors. IV. To confirm the safety and tolerability of olaparib monotherapy. EXPLORATORY OBJECTIVES: I. To describe 2HG concentration in plasma by mass spectrometry at baseline and at specific timepoints and correlate with treatment response. II. To describe 2HG levels in tumor biopsies from prior to the beginning of treatment and at specific timepoints and correlate with treatment response. III. To evaluate in tumor biopsies and in liquid biopsies performed at baseline and at specific timepoints if co-occurring alterations detected via multiplexed immunofluorescence, mass cytometry (CyTOF)-imaging mass cytometry (IMC), ribonucleic acid (RNA) sequencing and/or deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) sequencing can be associated with differential levels of 2HG production, treatment response and resistance. OUTLINE: Patients receive olaparib orally (PO) twice daily (BID) on days 1-28. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, withdrawal of consent or death. Patients undergo a computer tomography (CT) scan and/or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), as well as a tumor biopsy and blood sample collection on study. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up for 30 days.

Interventions

PROCEDUREBiopsy Procedure

Undergo tissue biopsy

PROCEDUREBiospecimen Collection

Undergo blood sample collection

PROCEDUREComputed Tomography

Undergo a CT scan

PROCEDUREMagnetic Resonance Imaging

Undergo a MRI

DRUGOlaparib

Given PO

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Subjects must be able to understand the nature of this trial and provide written informed consent, prior to any study specific procedures; patients with Impaired Decision Making Capacity (IDMC) who have a close caregiver or legally authorized representative (LAR) may be considered eligible for this study at the treating physician's discretion, provided that the physician is reasonably sure that the possible risks and benefits of the study are clear and that the patient will take the drug as prescribed * Subjects must be diagnosed with a glioma, cholangiocarcinoma or other solid malignant tumor that has progressed despite standard therapy, or for which no effective standard therapy exists, with biopsy-confirmed evidence of an IDH1 or IDH2 mutation associated with neomorphic activity of the encoded proteins; patients must have IDH1 or IDH2 mutation which must be detected in a clinical accredited laboratory using a Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved molecular test or a validated deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA)-based assay conducted in a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA)-certified laboratory; only specific mutations that lead to a neomorphic phenotype will be eligible for enrollment, and include IDH1: R132V, R132G, R132S, R132L, R132C and R132H; IDH2: R140W, R140L, R140Q, R172W, R172G, R172S, R172M, R172K * Patients must have tumors determined to be easily accessible for biopsy and must be willing to have serial biopsies (with a third biopsy upon evidence of disease progression); in case of multiple lesions, tumor biopsies will be performed on the most accessible site of disease; all possible precautions to avoid complications will be taken, including discussions in multidisciplinary meetings, if needed; patients affected by glioma will not be considered for study biopsies * Patients must be willing to undergo extra blood sampling for correlative studies * Subjects with extracranial disease must have evaluable disease by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1); subjects affected by glioma must have evaluable disease by Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology Criteria (RANO) criteria * For subjects with glioma, specific inclusion criteria are as follows: * The disease should be recurrent or transformed glioma; subjects must not have had prior surgery (biopsy allowed) or radiation therapy within 3 weeks of enrollment * There must be an enhancing component of disease, as evaluated on pre-treatment magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) * For patients with World Health Organization (WHO) grade III or IV glioma and progressive disease \< 12 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy, progression can be defined by the following set of criteria: * New enhancement outside of the radiation field (beyond the high-dose region or 80% isodose line) * If there is unequivocal evidence of viable tumor on histopathologic sampling (e.g., solid tumor areas. i.e., \> 70% tumor cell nuclei in areas), high or progressive increase in MIB-1 proliferation index compared with prior biopsy, or evidence for histologic progression or increased anaplasia in tumor); * Note: Given the difficulty of differentiating true progression from pseudoprogression, clinical decline alone, in the absence of radiographic or histologic confirmation of progression, will not be sufficient for definition of progressive disease in the first 12 weeks after completion of concurrent chemoradiotherapy * For patients with WHO grade III or IV glioma and progressive disease \>= 12 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy, progression can be defined by the following set of criteria: * New contrast-enhancing lesion outside of radiation field on decreasing, stable, or increasing doses of corticosteroids * Increase by \>= 25% in the sum of the products of perpendicular diameters between the first post-radiotherapy scan, or a subsequent scan with smaller tumor size, and the scan at 12 weeks or later on stable or increasing doses of corticosteroids * For patients receiving antiangiogenic therapy, significant increase in T2/fluid attenuated inversion recovery (FLAIR) non-enhancing lesion may also be considered progressive disease; the increased T2/FLAIR must have occurred with the patient on stable or increasing doses of corticosteroids compared with baseline scan or best response after initiation of therapy and not be a result of comorbid events (e.g., effects of radiation therapy, demyelination, ischemic injury, infection, seizures, postoperative changes, or other treatment effects) * Note: Clinical deterioration alone is not attributable to concurrent medication or comorbid conditions is sufficient to declare progression on current treatment but not for entry onto a clinical trial for recurrence * For patients with WHO grade II glioma progression is defined by any one of the following: * Development of new lesions or increase of enhancement (radiological evidence of malignant transformation) * A 25% increase of the T2 or FLAIR non-enhancing lesion on stable or increasing doses of corticosteroids compared with baseline scan or best response after initiation of therapy, not attributable to radiation effect or to comorbid events * For subject with extracranial disease, they must have at least one lesion, not previously irradiated, that can be accurately measured at baseline as \>= 10 mm in the longest diameter (except lymph nodes which must have short axis \>= 15 mm) with computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) or \>= 10 mm with calipers by clinical exam OR at least one lesion (measurable and/or non-measurable) that can be accurately assessed by CT/MRI/clinical exam at baseline and follow up visits * Subjects must have progressive cancer at the time of study entry; prior experimental (non-FDA approved) therapies (other than drugs that share the same target) and immunotherapies are allowed; patients must not have received these therapies for 30 days or five half-lives of the drug (whichever is less) prior to the initiation of study treatment; toxicities from these therapies should have recovered to =\< grade 1, with the exception of stable chronic grade 2 that is not overlapping with presumed toxicities of olaparib * Female/male of age \>= 18 years. This is because no dosing or adverse event data are currently available on the use of olaparib in patients \< 18 years of age, children are excluded from this study, but will be eligible for future pediatric trials * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) 0-2 (Karnofsky \>= 50%) * Hemoglobin \>= 10.0 g/dL with no blood transfusion in the past 28 days (within 28 days prior to administration of study treatment) * Leukocytes \>= 3,000/mcL (within 28 days prior to administration of study treatment) * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1.5 x 10\^9/L (within 28 days prior to administration of study treatment) * Platelet count \>= 100 x 10\^9/L (within 28 days prior to administration of study treatment) * Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) (within 28 days prior to administration of study treatment) * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase \[SGOT\])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamic pyruvate transaminase \[SGPT\]) =\< 2.5 x institutional upper limit of normal unless liver metastases are present in which case they must be =\< 5 x ULN (within 28 days prior to administration of study treatment) * Creatinine clearance estimated using the actual body weight and Cockcroft-Gault equation of \>= 51 mL/min (within 28 days prior to administration of study treatment) * Patients must have a life expectancy \>= 16 weeks * Patient is willing and able to comply with the protocol for the duration of the study including undergoing treatment and scheduled visits and examinations including follow up * No previous treatment with the specific assigned study drug or any other PARP inhibitor * Prior radiation therapy is allowed; patients must not have received radiation therapy within 3 weeks prior to the initiation of study treatment * Women of child-bearing potential are expected to use highly effective contraception during the study and for 1 month after the last dose of study drug; postmenopausal or evidence of non-childbearing status for women of childbearing potential: negative urine or serum pregnancy test within 28 days of study treatment and confirmed prior to treatment on day 1; postmenopausal is defined as one or more of the following: * Amenorrheic for 1 year or more following cessation of exogenous hormonal treatments * Luteinizing hormone (LH) and follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) levels in the post-menopausal range for women under 50 * Radiation-induced oophorectomy with last menses \> 1 year ago * Chemotherapy-induced menopause with \> 1 year interval since last menses * Surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy or hysterectomy) * Male patients and their partners, who are sexually active and of childbearing potential, must agree to the use of two highly effective forms of contraception in combination, throughout the period of taking study treatment and for 3 months after last dose of study drug(s) to prevent pregnancy in a partner

Exclusion criteria

* Patients should not enter the study if any of the following

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response RateUp to completion of 8 weeks of treatmentWill be determined by investigator assessment using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 for extracranial solid tumors, Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology criteria for intracranial glioma. Overall response rate and a 90% creditable interval in each cohort will be estimated using the approach described by Koyama. For the other solid tumors cohort, descriptive statistics and graphical displays will be used to summarize results within tumor types. Upon results entry, best overall response by cohort was presented using RECIST criteria. RECIST categories from best to worst are as follows: Complete Response (CR): The tumor has shrunk to a size that is measurable. Partial Response (PR): The tumor has not completely shrunk but has decreased in size. Stable Disease (SD): The tumor size has not changed. Progressive Disease (PD): The tumor has increased in size. These categories help in evaluating the effectiveness of cancer treatment.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free SurvivalFrom start of treatment to time of progression or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 3.6 yearsFor time to event endpoints, Kaplan-Meier curves will be used to demonstrate distributions and median estimates will be reported with 95% confidence intervals. For each cohort, graphical displays such as swimmer plots, will be used to demonstrate patterns of response, progression and death, and in the third cohort they will also indicate disease type. At the time of results entry, median PFS is provided per cohort.
Incidence of Adverse EventsUp to 3.6 yearsAdverse events will be tabulated by type and grade in each cohort, and also across cohorts. At the time of results entry, presented are the counts of individuals that experienced any Non-Serious Adverse Event, and the counts of individuals that experienced any Serious Adverse Event

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORPatricia M LoRusso

Yale University Cancer Center LAO

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
27 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
62 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
15 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
80 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
15 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
2 / 1611 / 158 / 161 / 1615 / 251 / 1
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 1614 / 1514 / 1615 / 1622 / 251 / 1
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 1610 / 154 / 163 / 1611 / 250 / 1

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 10, 2026