Skip to content

Clinical Investigation of the Clareon® Intraocular Lens (IOL)

Clinical Investigation of the Clareon® IOL

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03170154
Enrollment
376
Registered
2017-05-30
Start date
2017-07-25
Completion date
2019-02-15
Last updated
2020-08-03

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cataract

Brief summary

The objective of this study is to compare visual acuity and adverse event outcomes from the Clareon intraocular lens (IOL) to historical safety and performance endpoint (SPE) rates.

Detailed description

Upon meeting eligibility criteria, subjects were implanted unilaterally (in one eye) with a Clareon IOL. Subjects attended 7 study visits over a period of approximately 13 months, including 1 preoperative screening visit (Visit 0), 1 operative visit (Visit 00), and 5 postoperative visits (Visits 1-5). Visit day calculations for Visits 1-5 were based off of the day of surgery (Visit 00). Primary endpoint data was collected at the final visit (Month 12). Some sites/subjects participated in a Rotational Stability sub-study. For the non-study eye, the investigator followed standard of care regarding the follow-up, surgery, and intraocular lens choice (as applicable). The non-study eye (fellow eye) was not implanted with the Clareon IOL.

Interventions

DEVICEClareon aspheric hydrophobic acrylic monofocal IOL

Ultraviolet-absorbing and blue light-filtering IOL composed of high refractive-index foldable and flexible acrylic material. IOLs are implantable medical devices intended for long term use over the lifetime of the cataract subject.

Sponsors

Alcon Research
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
22 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria: * Planned routine cataract surgery in at least one eye; * Calculated lens power within the available range; * Willing and able to sign an informed consent statement; * Clear intraocular media other than cataract. Key

Exclusion criteria

* Any disease or pathology, other than cataract, that is expected to reduce the potential postoperative best corrected distance visual acuity (BCDVA) to a level worse than 0.30 logMAR; * Previous corneal surgery; * Rubella or traumatic cataract; * Ocular trauma, previous refractive surgery; * Current or recent use of certain medications as specified in the protocol; * Any other ocular or systemic condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, should exclude the subject from the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of All-implanted Subjects Achieving Monocular Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 0.3 logMAR or Better at Month 12 PostoperativeMonth 12 (postoperative)Visual acuity (VA) of the study eye was assessed with best refractive correction in place under photopic (well-lit) conditions at a distance of 4 meters using Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letter charts. As pre-specified in the protocol, the percentage of subjects with monocular BCDVA of 0.3 logMAR or better at Month 12 was compared to the historical safety and performance endpoint (SPE) rate reported in EN ISO 11979-7:2014. A higher percentage indicates good visual acuity outcomes with most subjects achieving 0.3 logMAR or better.
Percentage of Best-case Subjects Achieving Monocular BCDVA of 0.3 logMAR or Better at Month 12 PostoperativeMonth 12 (postoperative)Visual acuity (VA) of the study eye was assessed with best refractive correction in place under photopic conditions at a distance of 4 meters using an Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letter charts. As pre-specified in the protocol, the percentage of subjects with monocular BCDVA of 0.3 logMAR or better at Month 12 was compared to the historical safety and performance endpoint (SPE) rate reported in EN ISO 11979-7:2014. A higher percentage indicates good visual acuity outcomes with most subjects achieving 0.3 logMAR or better.
Percentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study EyeDay 0 (operative), up to Month 12 (postoperative)Adverse events (AEs) were obtained through solicited and spontaneous comments from subjects and through observations by the Investigator. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Mean Absolute IOL MisplacementDay 0 (operative)IOL misplacement was defined as the difference between intended axis of placement and actual axis of IOL orientation on day of surgery. IOL misplacement was measured using slit lamp photography. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol. A lower number indicates minimal IOL misplacement.
Mean Absolute IOL RotationDay 0 (operative), Month 6 (postoperative)IOL rotation was defined as the difference between axis of IOL orientation on the day of surgery and Month 6. IOL rotation and measured with slit-lamp photography. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol. A lower number indicates minimal IOL rotation at 6 months.
Mean Absolute IOL MisalignmentDay 0 (operative), Month 6 (postoperative)IOL misalignment was defined as the summation of IOL misplacement and IOL rotation at Month 6. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol. A lower number indicates minimal IOL misalignment at 6 months.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Subjects were recruited at 16 investigative sites located in the United States.

Pre-assignment details

Of the 376 enrolled, 26 subjects did exit the study as screen failures. This reporting group (350) includes all subjects with attempted implantation with the IOL (successful or aborted after contact with the eye).

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Clareon IOL
Clareon aspheric hydrophobic acrylic monofocal intraocular lens (IOL) implanted in one eye during routine small incision cataract surgery
350
Total350

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyDeath2
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up4
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject2

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicClareon IOL
Age, Continuous69.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.44
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
336 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
29 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
36 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
11 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
273 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
350 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
213 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
137 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 3500 / 3502 / 350
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 35019 / 350127 / 350
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 3508 / 35018 / 350

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of All-implanted Subjects Achieving Monocular Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 0.3 logMAR or Better at Month 12 Postoperative

Visual acuity (VA) of the study eye was assessed with best refractive correction in place under photopic (well-lit) conditions at a distance of 4 meters using Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letter charts. As pre-specified in the protocol, the percentage of subjects with monocular BCDVA of 0.3 logMAR or better at Month 12 was compared to the historical safety and performance endpoint (SPE) rate reported in EN ISO 11979-7:2014. A higher percentage indicates good visual acuity outcomes with most subjects achieving 0.3 logMAR or better.

Time frame: Month 12 (postoperative)

Population: All-Implanted Subjects (AAS): All subjects/eyes with successful IOL implantation and data at visit

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Clareon IOLPercentage of All-implanted Subjects Achieving Monocular Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 0.3 logMAR or Better at Month 12 Postoperative99.7 percentage of subjects
Primary

Percentage of Best-case Subjects Achieving Monocular BCDVA of 0.3 logMAR or Better at Month 12 Postoperative

Visual acuity (VA) of the study eye was assessed with best refractive correction in place under photopic conditions at a distance of 4 meters using an Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letter charts. As pre-specified in the protocol, the percentage of subjects with monocular BCDVA of 0.3 logMAR or better at Month 12 was compared to the historical safety and performance endpoint (SPE) rate reported in EN ISO 11979-7:2014. A higher percentage indicates good visual acuity outcomes with most subjects achieving 0.3 logMAR or better.

Time frame: Month 12 (postoperative)

Population: Best-Case Analysis Set (BAS): All subjects/eyes successfully implanted with the IOL that had at least 1 postoperative visit, no preoperative ocular pathology, no macular degeneration at any time, and no previous surgery for the correction of refractive errors, with data at visit.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Clareon IOLPercentage of Best-case Subjects Achieving Monocular BCDVA of 0.3 logMAR or Better at Month 12 Postoperative99.7 percentage of subjects
Primary

Percentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study Eye

Adverse events (AEs) were obtained through solicited and spontaneous comments from subjects and through observations by the Investigator. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol.

Time frame: Day 0 (operative), up to Month 12 (postoperative)

Population: Safety Analysis Set (SAS): All subjects/study eyes with attempted implantation with the test article (successful or aborted after contact with the eye)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Clareon IOLPercentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study EyeSerious Adverse Events0 percentage of subjects
Clareon IOLPercentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study EyeNon-Serious Adverse Events1.4 percentage of subjects
Clareon IOL - OcularPercentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study EyeSerious Adverse Events2.3 percentage of subjects
Clareon IOL - OcularPercentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study EyeNon-Serious Adverse Events27.1 percentage of subjects
SystemicPercentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study EyeSerious Adverse Events4.0 percentage of subjects
SystemicPercentage of Subjects With Adverse Events (Ocular and Nonocular, Serious and Nonserious), Including Secondary Surgical Interventions (SSIs) - Study EyeNon-Serious Adverse Events15.1 percentage of subjects
Secondary

Mean Absolute IOL Misalignment

IOL misalignment was defined as the summation of IOL misplacement and IOL rotation at Month 6. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol. A lower number indicates minimal IOL misalignment at 6 months.

Time frame: Day 0 (operative), Month 6 (postoperative)

Population: RAS, with rotation data available at operative visit and Month 6 visit

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Clareon IOLMean Absolute IOL Misalignment5.6762 degreesStandard Deviation 6.4251
Secondary

Mean Absolute IOL Misplacement

IOL misplacement was defined as the difference between intended axis of placement and actual axis of IOL orientation on day of surgery. IOL misplacement was measured using slit lamp photography. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol. A lower number indicates minimal IOL misplacement.

Time frame: Day 0 (operative)

Population: RAS: All subjects/eyes with successful IOL implantation from the rotational subset of 6 clinical sites, with rotation data available at operative visit.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Clareon IOLMean Absolute IOL Misplacement5.1163 degreesStandard Deviation 4.90305
Secondary

Mean Absolute IOL Rotation

IOL rotation was defined as the difference between axis of IOL orientation on the day of surgery and Month 6. IOL rotation and measured with slit-lamp photography. No hypothesis testing was pre-specified in the protocol. A lower number indicates minimal IOL rotation at 6 months.

Time frame: Day 0 (operative), Month 6 (postoperative)

Population: Rotation Analysis Set (RAS): All subjects/eyes with successful IOL implantation from the rotational subset of 6 clinical sites, with rotation data available at operative visit and Month 6 visit.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Clareon IOLMean Absolute IOL Rotation2.2696 degreesStandard Deviation 3.87231

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026