Skip to content

CB-839 With Everolimus vs. Placebo With Everolimus in Participants With Renal Cell Carcinoma (RCC)

A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Phase 2 Study Comparing CB-839 in Combination With Everolimus (CBE) vs. Placebo With Everolimus (PboE) in Patients With Advanced or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma (RCC)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03163667
Acronym
ENTRATA
Enrollment
69
Registered
2017-05-23
Start date
2017-09-06
Completion date
2020-06-01
Last updated
2022-09-15

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Clear Cell Renal Cell Carcinoma

Keywords

advanced, metastatic RCC, RCC, CB-839, Everolimus, CBE, Glutaminase Inhibitor, Glutaminase, Tumor Metabolism, Glutamine

Brief summary

The primary objective of this study is to compare the progression-free survival (PFS) of participants treated with telaglenastat and everolimus versus placebo and everolimus for advanced or metastatic clear cell renal cell carcinoma (ccRCC) previously treated with the following: * At least 2 lines of therapy, including at least 1 vascular endothelial growth factor tyrosine kinase inhibitor (VEGF TKI) * Radiographic progression of metastatic RCC must have occurred (per investigator assessment) on or after the most recent systemic therapy and within 6 months prior to cycle 1 day 1

Interventions

DRUGPlacebo

oral tablets

DRUGCB-839

oral tablets

DRUGeverolimus

oral tablets

Sponsors

Calithera Biosciences, Inc
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Masking description

Double blinded, placebo-controlled

Intervention model description

This is a double blinded placebo-controlled study where participants will be randomized 2:1 to either CB-839 plus everolimus (CBE) or placebo plus everolimus (PboE)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Karnofsky Performance Score (KPS) ≥ 70% * Estimated Life Expectancy of at least 3 months * Documented histological or cytological diagnosis of renal cell carcinoma with a clear-cell component. * Measurable Disease per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 as determined by the Investigator * Must have received at least two prior lines of systemic therapy, including at least one VEGF TKI (e.g., sunitinib, sorafenib, pazopanib, cabozantinib) a) Radiographic progression of mRCC must have occurred (per investigator assessment) on or after the most recent systemic therapy and within 6 months prior to Cycle 1 Day 1 (C1D1). * Prior treatment with other anti-cancer therapies including cytokines, monoclonal antibodies, immunotherapies, and cytotoxic chemotherapy is allowed

Exclusion criteria

* Prior treatment with mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR) inhibitors (everolimus or temsirolimus) or CB-839 * Receipt of any anticancer therapy within the following windows before randomization: * TKI therapy within 2 weeks or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer * Any type of anti-cancer antibody within 4 weeks * Cytotoxic chemotherapy within 4 weeks * Investigational therapy within 4 weeks or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer * Radiation therapy for bone metastasis within 2 weeks, any other external radiation therapy within 4 weeks before randomization. Patients with clinically relevant ongoing complications from prior radiation therapy are not eligible. * Unable to receive medications orally (PO) or any condition that may prevent adequate absorption of oral study medication * Major surgery within 28 days prior to randomization * Patients with active and/or untreated central nervous system (CNS) cancer are not eligible. Patients with treated brain metastasis must have 1) documented radiographic stability of at least 4 weeks duration demonstrated on baseline contrast-enhanced CNS imaging (eg contrast-enhanced magnetic resonance imaging \[MRI\] of the brain) prior to randomization and 2) must be symptomatically stable and off steroids for at least 2 weeks before randomization. * Requirement for continued proton pump inhibitor after randomization * Chronic treatment with corticosteroids or other immunosuppressive agents except (i) inhaled or topical steroids or replacement dose corticosteroids equivalent to ≤ 10 mg prednisone and (ii) patients receiving physiological doses of hydrocortisone for adrenal insufficiency

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression Free Survival (PFS)As of the primary data cutoff date of 26 Apr 2019; maximum duration of follow-up for PFS was 11.2 months.PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of documented disease progression (assessed by Investigator per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors \[RECIST\] v1.1) within 2 scheduled scan intervals following previous evaluable radiologic tumor assessment or death for any cause, whichever occurred first. Participants with no documentation of disease progression or death on-study were censored at the date of last available tumor assessment. Progressive Disease (PD) per RECIST 1.1: At least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survival (OS)As of the data cutoff date of 30 Sep 2020; maximum duration of follow-up for OS was 30.4 months.Overall survival is defined as the time from randomization to the date of death from any cause. Participants with no documentation of death on-study were censored at the date at which they were last known to be alive.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo + Everolimus
Placebo oral tablets BID in combination with standard QD everolimus in 28 day cycles.
23
CB-839 + Everolimus
CB-839 oral tablets BID in combination with standard QD everolimus in 28 day cycles.
46
Total69

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath1527
Overall StudyStudy terminated by sponsor (after primary endpoint was met)819

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCB-839 + EverolimusTotalPlacebo + Everolimus
Age, Continuous65.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.18
64.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.69
62.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.38
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants6 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
43 Participants62 Participants19 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants3 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
41 Participants62 Participants21 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
9 Participants12 Participants3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
37 Participants57 Participants20 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
15 / 2327 / 46
other
Total, other adverse events
23 / 2345 / 46
serious
Total, serious adverse events
8 / 2321 / 46

Outcome results

Primary

Progression Free Survival (PFS)

PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the date of documented disease progression (assessed by Investigator per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors \[RECIST\] v1.1) within 2 scheduled scan intervals following previous evaluable radiologic tumor assessment or death for any cause, whichever occurred first. Participants with no documentation of disease progression or death on-study were censored at the date of last available tumor assessment. Progressive Disease (PD) per RECIST 1.1: At least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm.

Time frame: As of the primary data cutoff date of 26 Apr 2019; maximum duration of follow-up for PFS was 11.2 months.

Population: Intent to Treat Population: all randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Placebo + EverolimusProgression Free Survival (PFS)1.91 months
CB-839 + EverolimusProgression Free Survival (PFS)3.81 months
Comparison: Stratified analysis. Stratification factors were Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC) Prognostic Risk (favorable versus intermediate/poor risk) and number of prior therapies with a tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI; 1 versus \> 1). Due to stratification cells having \< 10 events, TKI stratification factor was removed for analysis.p-value: 0.0790595% CI: [0.34, 1.2]Log Rank
Comparison: Unstratified analysisp-value: 0.118495% CI: [0.37, 1.28]Log Rank
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

Overall survival is defined as the time from randomization to the date of death from any cause. Participants with no documentation of death on-study were censored at the date at which they were last known to be alive.

Time frame: As of the data cutoff date of 30 Sep 2020; maximum duration of follow-up for OS was 30.4 months.

Population: ITT Population: all randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Placebo + EverolimusOverall Survival (OS)9.72 months
CB-839 + EverolimusOverall Survival (OS)14.37 months
Comparison: Stratified analysis: Stratification factors are MSKCC Prognostic Risk (favorable vs intermediate/poor risk) and number of prior therapies with a TKI (1 vs \> 1). Due to stratification cells having \< 10 events, TKI stratification factor was removed for analysis.p-value: 0.480195% CI: [0.42, 1.5]Log Rank
Comparison: Unstratified analysisp-value: 0.560395% CI: [0.44, 1.56]Log Rank

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 12, 2026