Skip to content

Maintenance Chemotherapy With or Without Local Consolidative Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage IV Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

Maintenance Systemic Therapy Versus Local Consolidative Therapy (LCT) Plus Maintenance Systemic Therapy for Limited Metastatic Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC): A Randomized Phase II/III Trial

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03137771
Enrollment
218
Registered
2017-05-03
Start date
2017-04-07
Completion date
2028-12-01
Last updated
2026-06-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Recurrent Non-Small Cell Lung Carcinoma, Stage IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Brief summary

This randomized phase II/III trial studies how well giving maintenance chemotherapy with or without local consolidation therapy works in treating patients with stage IV non-small cell lung cancer. Drugs used in maintenance chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, pemetrexed disodium, erlotinib hydrochloride, and gemcitabine work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Local consolidation therapy such as radiation/stereotactic body radiation or surgery may kill cancer cells left after initial treatment. Giving maintenance chemotherapy and local consolidation therapy together may work better than maintenance chemotherapy alone in treating patients with stage IV non-small cell lung cancer.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: Phase II To evaluate the impact of adding local consolidative therapy (LCT) to maintenance systemic therapy versus maintenance systemic therapy alone on progression-free survival for patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) with no evidence of progression and limited metastatic sites after first-line systemic therapy. Phase III To evaluate the impact of adding LCT to maintenance systemic therapy versus maintenance systemic therapy alone on overall survival for patients with metastatic NSCLC with no evidence of progression and limited metastatic sites after first-line systemic therapy. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate the impact of adding LCT to maintenance systemic therapy versus maintenance systemic therapy alone on in-field local failure. II. To evaluate the impact of adding LCT to maintenance systemic therapy versus maintenance systemic therapy alone on the time to development of new lesions. III. To evaluate the impact of adding LCT to maintenance systemic therapy versus maintenance systemic therapy alone on toxicity. IV. To evaluate the impact of adding LCT to maintenance systemic therapy versus maintenance systemic therapy alone on duration of maintenance systemic therapy usage. V. To evaluate the effect of adding LCT to systemic therapy in limited stage IV NSCLC on Quality of Life (QOL). VI. To collect biospecimens and evaluate the correlation between clinical outcomes and circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA). Patients are randomized 2:1 between the SBRT and chemotherapy vs. chemotherapy alone arms. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, then annually thereafter.

Interventions

RADIATION3-Dimensional Conformal Radiation Therapy (3D-CRT)

Undergo 3DCRT

DRUGDocetaxel

Given IV

DRUGGemcitabine

Given IV

RADIATIONIntensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT)

Undergo IMRT

DRUGPemetrexed Disodium

Given IV

RADIATIONStereotactic Body Radiation Therapy (SBRT)

Undergo SBRT

DRUGErlotinib Hydrochloride

Given PO

DRUGPembrolizumab

Given IV

Sponsors

NRG Oncology
Lead SponsorOTHER
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients must have the psychological ability and general health that permits completion of the study requirements and required follow up * Women of childbearing potential and men who are sexually active should be willing and able to use medically acceptable forms of contraception during the trial and for up to 180 days after completion of all treatment to prevent pregnancy or fathering a child. * Pathologically proven diagnosis of NSCLC, with metastases (stage IV disease) present prior to registration; this includes patients newly diagnosed with metastatic disease or those initially diagnosed and treated for stage I-III NSCLC who ultimately develop limited metastases. Limited metastases is defined as 3 or fewer sites of metastatic disease * Appropriate stage for study entry based on the following diagnostic workup: * History/physical examination by a radiation oncologist (and a surgeon if surgery is planned) within 30 days prior to registration * Imaging proof of limited metastatic disease and response to therapy/stable disease, by at least diagnostic quality CT chest through the adrenals or positron emission tomography (PET)/CT within 30 days prior to registration * Zubrod performance status 0, 1, or 2 within 30 days prior to registration * Adequate organ and hematologic/bone marrow function within 14 days prior to registration, defined as follows: * Aspartate transaminase (AST) and alanine transaminase (ALT) ≤ 2.5 × upper limit of normal (ULN) or ≤ 5 × ULN with metastatic liver disease * Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 × ULN * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 500 cells/mm3 * Platelets ≥ 50,000 cells/mm3 * Renal: * Creatinine ≤ 1.5 x ULN; or * Creatinine Clearance (CrCl) \> 45 mL/min if creatinine \> 1.5 x ULN (calculated CrCl based on Cockcroft-Gault equation) * HIV-infected patients on effective anti-retroviral therapy with undetectable viral load within 6 months are eligible for this trial. * For patients who will undergo resection of disease (if randomized to Arm 2 and dispositioned to receive surgery), adequate pre-surgical work-up for anticipated surgery, as defined by institutional guidelines. * Negative serum pregnancy test within one week prior to registration for females of childbearing potential * Patients must have received first-line/induction systemic therapy comprising of immunotherapy and/or platinum-based chemotherapy (at least 4 cycles or courses but less than 6, i.e. 4-5 cycles/courses), and achieved stable disease or a partial response. Though the intention is for every course/cycle to be identical in an induction regimen, Some but not all of the 4-5 cycles may omit an immunotherapy or platinum compound if the treating physician determines it is in the patient's best interest secondary to toxicity or other institutional parameter. * For patients treated with nivolumab, ipilimumab and 2 cycles of chemotherapy, the 4-5 cycles requirement will be met by 4-5 total doses of nivolumab. * For patients treated with nivolumab and ipilimumab, this requirement will be met by 2 doses of ipilimumab and 4-5 doses of nivolumab. * After induction systemic therapy, patients must have a minimum of one site of disease, primary or metastasis, present for potential consolidation with local therapy. All sites of disease present after induction systemic therapy, primary and metastases (up to 3) are able to be consolidated with local therapy; * Prior systemic therapy as part of concurrent treatment approach for previously diagnosed stage I-III NSCLC, adjuvant or neo-adjuvant therapy for stage I-III NSCLC, as adjuvant therapy for previously resected or irradiated NSCLC, or for other previous cancers is permitted * For de novo stage IV NSCLC patients (patients with metastatic disease at first presentation), primary disease must be treatable with local therapy in the form of SBRT or hypofractionated radiation. If the primary disease is found in the peripheral or central lung parenchyma without nodal disease, for instance, SBRT may be employed at the discretion of the treating institution. If primary disease is more advanced with involvement of the mediastinum (T4 tumor, N1-N3 disease, etc.), these volumes should be technically treatable with hypofractionated radiation; surgery should only be used for metastatic tumors that can be completely resected by lobectomy, segmentectomy, or wide wedge resection. * If primary disease in the thoracic cavity was previously treated with local therapy in the form of surgery or radiation, any new local/regional disease recurrence should be technically treatable with SBRT or hypofractionated radiation after induction systemic therapy. * The patient or a legally authorized representative must provide study-specific informed consent prior to registration. * Radiotherapy for patients with brain metastases prior to registration is acceptable. * Patients with brain metastases are eligible if these lesions have been previously treated or resolved and the patients have no clinical or radiographic evidence of progression prior to registration. * Subjects may receive palliative radiotherapy for symptomatic metastases or primary disease prior to registration provided that there is at least one other non-irradiated lesion amenable to LCT at the time of registration.

Exclusion criteria

* Clinical or radiologic evidence of untreated and/or progressive brain metastases prior to registration after induction systemic therapy * Cutaneous metastasis of NSCLC * Metastatic disease invading the esophagus, stomach, intestines, or mesenteric lymph nodes if not a candidate for surgery for these lesions * Prior invasive malignancy (except non-melanomatous skin cancer, low or intermediate risk prostate cancer, or in situ carcinoma of breast, oral cavity, skin, or cervix) unless disease free for a minimum of one year * Metastases located within 3 cm of previously irradiated (\< 3 Gy per fraction) structures if if not a candidate for surgery for these lesions and if: * Spinal cord previously irradiated to \> 40 Gy * Brachial plexus previously irradiated to \> 50 Gy * Small intestine, large intestine, or stomach previously irradiated to \> 45 Gy * Brainstem previously irradiated to \> 50 Gy * Lung previously irradiated with prior V20 Gy \> 35% * Patients receiving targeted therapy (non-cytotoxic systemic therapy) for NSCLC in the first-line setting * Patients with NSCLC who have driver mutations for which targeted therapies (non-cytotoxic, non-immunotherapy based systemic therapy including but not limited to tyrosine-kinase inhibitors) are available. Such designations would include but not be limited to treatments targeting epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) mutant or anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) positive NSCLC. * If a patient has progressed in previous areas of primary disease that received definitive doses of radiation, these patients would require re-irradiation in previous high dose anatomic areas and are not eligible for this study. * Patients with malignant pleural effusions that do not resolve after first-line systemic therapy; patients with pleural effusions that have become too small for thoracentesis at the time of registration would be permitted on study, indicating a significant response to first-line systemic therapy * Patients with more than 3 discrete locations of extra-cranial metastatic disease after first-line systemic therapy requiring more than 3 radiation/surgery plans to cover these distinct metastatic disease entities * Acute bacterial or fungal infection requiring intravenous antibiotics at the time of registration * Pregnancy or women of childbearing potential and men who are sexually active and not willing/able to use medically acceptable forms of contraception during treatment and for 180 days after the completion of all treatment. This exclusion is necessary because the treatment involved in this study may be significantly teratogenic. Women who are breastfeeding (and unwilling to discontinue) are also excluded * Participation in any investigational drug study for the treatment of cancer within 4 weeks prior to registration. * For patients who received immunotherapy during induction, patients on chronic steroids or who have active autoimmune disease for which they received systemic treatment in the previous 2 years with corticosteroids, disease modifying agents, or immunosuppressive drugs are not eligible. Replacement therapy (thyroxine, insulin or physiological corticosteroid replacement for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency) is allowed. Patients with active interstitial lung disease or who have a history of pneumonitis for which they had received glucocorticoids are not eligible * Use of bevacizumab or other antiangiogenic therapy in first-line or planned maintenance therapy (due to potential for increased complications from local therapy

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
[Phase II] Progression-free SurvivalFrom randomization to first date of local or regional disease, distant metastases, second primary tumor, death, or last follow-up, whichever comes first. Maximum follow-up time at time of analysis was 5.4 years.Progression-free survival (PFS) is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Progression-free survival time is measured from randomization to the first date of local or regional disease, distant metastases, second primary tumor, death due to any cause, or last known follow-up (censored). Analysis was to occur after progression or death was reported for 138 participants.
[Phase III] Overall SurvivalFrom randomization to death or last follow-up.Overall survival is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Survival time is measured from randomization to date of death from any cause or last known follow-up (censored). Analysis was to occur after \*\*\*\* deaths were reported.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
In-Field Local FailureFrom randomization to first in-field failure, death or last follow-up, whichever occurs first. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 5.4 years. The one- and two-year estimates are reported.In-field local failure is defined as local or marginal failure. In-field local failure rates are estimated by the cumulative incidence method, in which death without failure is treated as competing risk and participants alive without failure are censored at last known follow-up. Analysis was to occur after progression or death was reported for 138 participants.
Development of New LesionsFrom randomization to the first occurrence of any new lesions, death, or last follow-up, whichever occurs first. Maximum follow-up time at the time of analysis was 5.4 years. One- and two-year estimates are reported.New lesion rates are estimated by the cumulative incidence method, in which death without new lesions is treated as competing risk and participants alive without new lesions are censored at last known follow-up. Analysis was to occur after progression or death was reported for 138 participants.
Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedFrom randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 5.4 years.National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0 grades adverse event severity as follows: 1 = mild, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe, 4 = life-threatening, 5 = death related to adverse event. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure; see Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.
Duration of Maintenance ChemotherapyFrom randomization to last chemotherapy, which continues until progression or significant toxicity. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 5.4 years.Duration of Maintenance Chemotherapy

Countries

Canada, Israel, Saudi Arabia, United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORPuneeth Iyengar

NRG Oncology

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm 1 (Systemic Maintenance Chemotherapy)
Patients may receive docetaxel IV over 60 minutes on day 1, erlotinib hydrochloride by mouth daily, or gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8. Patients with non-squamous non-small cell lung cancer may receive pemetrexed disodium IV over 10 minutes on day 1 alone or in combination with pembrolizumab IV over 30 minutes. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
81
Arm 2 (LCT + Systemic Maintenance Chemotherapy)
Patients undergo local consolidative therapy (LCT) over 2-5 weeks, consisting of SBRT/hypofractionated radiation to the primary tumor and metastatic sites or surgery of metastatic sites. Hypofractionated radiation using IMRT or 3DCRT can be given in place of SBRT. Within 2 weeks after completion of LCT (3 weeks if surgery occurred), patients receive chemotherapy as in Arm 1.
134
Total215

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm 1 (Systemic Maintenance Chemotherapy)Arm 2 (LCT + Systemic Maintenance Chemotherapy)Total
Age, Customized
≤ 49 years
4 Participants4 Participants8 Participants
Age, Customized
50 - 59 years
15 Participants29 Participants44 Participants
Age, Customized
60 - 69 years
31 Participants56 Participants87 Participants
Age, Customized
≥ 70 years
31 Participants45 Participants76 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants7 Participants9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
78 Participants118 Participants196 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants9 Participants10 Participants
Histology
Non-Squamous cell carcinoma
64 Participants104 Participants168 Participants
Histology
Squamous cell carcinoma
17 Participants30 Participants47 Participants
Number of lesions targeted during treatment
1
50 Participants78 Participants128 Participants
Number of lesions targeted during treatment
2
19 Participants36 Participants55 Participants
Number of lesions targeted during treatment
3
12 Participants18 Participants30 Participants
Number of lesions targeted during treatment
4
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Number of lesions targeted during treatment
5
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
16 Participants19 Participants35 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants6 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
59 Participants106 Participants165 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
41 Participants66 Participants107 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
40 Participants68 Participants108 Participants
Systemic Therapy Type
Cytotoxic Chemotherapy
14 Participants16 Participants30 Participants
Systemic Therapy Type
Immunotherapy
67 Participants118 Participants185 Participants
Zubrod performance status
0
35 Participants47 Participants82 Participants
Zubrod performance status
1
44 Participants79 Participants123 Participants
Zubrod performance status
2
2 Participants8 Participants10 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
37 / 8170 / 134
other
Total, other adverse events
71 / 73129 / 130
serious
Total, serious adverse events
14 / 7340 / 130

Outcome results

Primary

[Phase III] Overall Survival

Overall survival is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Survival time is measured from randomization to date of death from any cause or last known follow-up (censored). Analysis was to occur after \*\*\*\* deaths were reported.

Time frame: From randomization to death or last follow-up.

Population: The phase III component did not open, therefore there are no participants for this outcome measure.

Primary

[Phase II] Progression-free Survival

Progression-free survival (PFS) is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Progression-free survival time is measured from randomization to the first date of local or regional disease, distant metastases, second primary tumor, death due to any cause, or last known follow-up (censored). Analysis was to occur after progression or death was reported for 138 participants.

Time frame: From randomization to first date of local or regional disease, distant metastases, second primary tumor, death, or last follow-up, whichever comes first. Maximum follow-up time at time of analysis was 5.4 years.

Population: Modified intent-to-treat population (randomized eligible participants).

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)[Phase II] Progression-free Survival11.1 months
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)[Phase II] Progression-free Survival13.7 months
Comparison: Based on expected 6- and 12-month PFS rates of approximately 60% and 39% for the standard arm, assuming approximately exponential distributions, at least 138 PFS events are needed to detect a hazard ratio of 0.6 (a hazard reduction of 40%) with 95% power and a one-sided significance level of 0.15. The Cox proportional hazards model is stratified by histology and systemic therapy type. The hazard ratio estimate must be ≤ 0.83 for the study to proceed to the phase III component.p-value: 0.6695% CI: [0.68, 1.4]Log Rank
Secondary

Development of New Lesions

New lesion rates are estimated by the cumulative incidence method, in which death without new lesions is treated as competing risk and participants alive without new lesions are censored at last known follow-up. Analysis was to occur after progression or death was reported for 138 participants.

Time frame: From randomization to the first occurrence of any new lesions, death, or last follow-up, whichever occurs first. Maximum follow-up time at the time of analysis was 5.4 years. One- and two-year estimates are reported.

Population: Modified intent-to-treat population (randomized eligible participants).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Development of New Lesions1 year32.5 percentage of participants
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Development of New Lesions2 years41.5 percentage of participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Development of New Lesions1 year28.1 percentage of participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Development of New Lesions2 years30.5 percentage of participants
Secondary

Duration of Maintenance Chemotherapy

Duration of Maintenance Chemotherapy

Time frame: From randomization to last chemotherapy, which continues until progression or significant toxicity. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 5.4 years.

Population: Modified intent-to-treat population (randomized eligible participants).

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Duration of Maintenance Chemotherapy5.46 months
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Duration of Maintenance Chemotherapy6.20 months
Secondary

In-Field Local Failure

In-field local failure is defined as local or marginal failure. In-field local failure rates are estimated by the cumulative incidence method, in which death without failure is treated as competing risk and participants alive without failure are censored at last known follow-up. Analysis was to occur after progression or death was reported for 138 participants.

Time frame: From randomization to first in-field failure, death or last follow-up, whichever occurs first. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 5.4 years. The one- and two-year estimates are reported.

Population: Modified intent-to-treat population (randomized eligible participants).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)In-Field Local Failure1 year15.3 percentage of participants
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)In-Field Local Failure2 years19.8 percentage of participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)In-Field Local Failure1 year8.6 percentage of participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)In-Field Local Failure2 years13.4 percentage of participants
Secondary

Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event Reported

National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0 grades adverse event severity as follows: 1 = mild, 2 = moderate, 3 = severe, 4 = life-threatening, 5 = death related to adverse event. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure; see Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.

Time frame: From randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 5.4 years.

Population: Modified intent-to-treat population (randomized and eligible) who received any protocol treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedNone1 Participants
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 17 Participants
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 215 Participants
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 335 Participants
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 411 Participants
Arm 1 (systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 54 Participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 420 Participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedNone1 Participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 356 Participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 16 Participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 510 Participants
Arm 2 (LCT + systemic maintenance chemotherapy)Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event ReportedGrade 237 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 9, 2026