Skip to content

Initial Dosing of BI 655130 in Palmoplantar Pustulosis Patients

Multi-center, Double-blind, Randomised, Placebo-controlled, Phase IIa Study to Investigate Efficacy, Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacogenomics of Multiple Intravenous Doses of BI 655130 in Patients With Palmoplantar Pustulosis (PPP)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03135548
Enrollment
59
Registered
2017-05-01
Start date
2017-05-30
Completion date
2018-11-14
Last updated
2025-10-16

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Psoriasis

Brief summary

The primary objective of this trial is to investigate the safety and efficacy of BI 655130 in patients with PPP following multiple intravenous administrations compared to placebo.

Interventions

DRUGSpesolimab (low dose)

12 weeks treatment

DRUGPlacebo

12 weeks treatment

DRUGSpesolimab (high dose)

12 weeks treatment

Sponsors

Boehringer Ingelheim
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 65 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Male or female patients, 18 to 65 years of age at screening. * Palmoplantar Pustulosis * Further inclusion criteria apply

Exclusion criteria

* Presence or known history of anti- Tumor necrosis factor (TNF)-induced Palmoplantar Pustulosis (PPP)-like disease. * Active or latent tuberculosis * Further

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Palmoplantar (pp) Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 50 (PASI) (ppPASI50) at Week 16Week 16Percentage of participants who achieved 50% reduction in ppPASI score was assessed by ppPASI50. ppPASI is modification of PASI score and an investigator assessment of the extent and severity of pustular and plaque lesions on the palms and soles presenting in PPP participants. This tool provides a numeric scoring for participants overall PPP disease state, ranging from 0 to maximum 72, where 0 corresponds to no signs of psoriasis. It is a linear combination of the percent of surface area of skin that is affected on the palms and soles and the severity of Erythema (E), Pustules (P) (total), and scaling (Desquamation (D)). Missing values for severity or area of involvement were not imputed. ppPASI was calculated as a weighted sum of the scores obtained for E, P, D and Area affected (in%) (where area assessed is glabrous skin on the palms/ soles) (A): \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (right palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (left palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (right sole)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (left sole)\].
Number of Participants With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)From first drug administration until 16 weeks after the last drug administration, up to 32 weeks.Number of participants with drug-related AEs are presented.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Palmoplantar Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 75 (ppPASI75) at Week 16Week 16Percentage of participants who achieved \>75% reduction in ppPASI score was assessed by ppPASI75. ppPASI is modification of PASI score and an investigator assessment of the extent and severity of pustular and plaque lesions on the palms and soles presenting in PPP participants. This tool provides a numeric scoring for participants overall PPP disease state, ranging from 0 to maximum 72, where 0 corresponds to no signs of psoriasis. It is a linear combination of the percent of surface area of skin that is affected on the palms and soles and the severity of Erythema (E), Pustules (P) (total), and scaling (Desquamation (D)). Missing values for severity or area of involvement were not imputed. ppPASI was calculated as a weighted sum of the scores obtained for E, P, D and Area affected (in%) (where area assessed is glabrous skin on the palms/ soles) (A): \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (right palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (left palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (right sole)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (left sole)\].
Percent Change From Baseline in the ppPASI at Week 16Baseline and Week 16The percentage change in the ppPASI score from Baseline to Week 16 was measured. ppPASI is modification of PASI score and an investigator assessment of the extent and severity of pustular and plaque lesions on the palms and soles presenting in PPP participants. This tool provides a numeric scoring for participants overall PPP disease state, ranging from 0 to maximum 72, where 0 corresponds to no signs of psoriasis. It is a linear combination of the percent of surface area of skin that is affected on the palms and soles and the severity of Erythema (E), Pustules (P) (total), and scaling (Desquamation (D)). Missing values for severity or area of involvement were not imputed. ppPASI was calculated as a weighted sum of the scores obtained for E, P, D and Area affected (in%) (where area assessed is glabrous skin on the palms/ soles) (A): \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (right palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (left palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (right sole)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (left sole)\].
Percentage of Participants Achieving Treatment Success (Treatment Success Defined as Achieving a Clinical Response of 0 or 1=Clear/Almost Clear) Via Palmoplantar Pustulosis Physicians Global Assessment (pppPGA) at Week 16Week 16pppPGA was relied on the participant's overall skin lesions status on the lesions of the most severely affected palmoplantar surface of the palms and sole was assessed by investigator as clear (0), almost clear (1), mild (2), moderate (3) and severe (4) at week 16. Score Wording were: 0 = Clear = No signs of PPP; no scaling or crusts or pustule remains. 1. = Almost clear = Slight scaling and/or erythema and / or slight crusts; very few new (yellow) and / or old (brown) pustules. 2. = Mild = Scaling and/or erythema and/or crusts; visible new (yellow) and/or old (brown) pustules of limited number and extent. 3. =Moderate = Prominent scaling and/or erythema and / or crusting; prominent new (yellow) and / or old (brown) pustules covering most of the area involved. 4. =Severe = Severe scaling and/or erythema and / or crusting; numerous new (yellow) or old (brown) pustules with and/or without major conflence covering the entire area of at least 2 palmoplantar surfaces.

Countries

Canada, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Spain, Sweden

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This was a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-design trial to investigate the safety and efficacy of BI 655130 in patients with Palmoplantar Pustulosis (PPP) following multiple intravenous administrations of either low dose or high dose compared with placebo.

Pre-assignment details

All participants were screened for eligibility to participate in the trial. Participants attended specialist sites which would then ensured that all participants met all inclusion/exclusion criteria. Participants were not to be randomised to trial treatment if any one of the specific entry criteria were not met.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
BI 655130 Low Dose
Participants were administered low dose of BI 655130 solution for infusion intravenously every 4 weeks at Day 1, 29, 57 and 85 until 12 weeks.
19
BI 655130 High Dose
Participants were administered high dose of BI 655130 solution for infusion intravenously every 4 weeks at Day 1, 29, 57 and 85 until 12 weeks.
19
Placebo Matching to BI 655130
Participants were administered placebo matching to BI 655130 solution for infusion intravenously every 4 weeks at Day 1, 29, 57 and 85 until 12 weeks.
21
Total59

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up300
Overall StudyOther than listed022
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject221

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicBI 655130 Low DoseBI 655130 High DosePlacebo Matching to BI 655130Total
Age, Continuous54.6 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.7
49.4 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.3
46.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.7
50.0 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants3 Participants1 Participants6 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
17 Participants16 Participants20 Participants53 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
18 Participants19 Participants19 Participants56 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
16 Participants16 Participants17 Participants49 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants3 Participants4 Participants10 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 190 / 190 / 21
other
Total, other adverse events
17 / 1917 / 1915 / 21
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 190 / 191 / 21

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)

Number of participants with drug-related AEs are presented.

Time frame: From first drug administration until 16 weeks after the last drug administration, up to 32 weeks.

Population: Safety analysis set (SAF): This set included all randomised patients who received at least one dose of study drug.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BI 655130 Low DoseNumber of Participants With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)8 Participants
BI 655130 High DoseNumber of Participants With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)8 Participants
Placebo Matching to BI 655130Number of Participants With Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs)9 Participants
Primary

Percentage of Participants With Palmoplantar (pp) Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 50 (PASI) (ppPASI50) at Week 16

Percentage of participants who achieved 50% reduction in ppPASI score was assessed by ppPASI50. ppPASI is modification of PASI score and an investigator assessment of the extent and severity of pustular and plaque lesions on the palms and soles presenting in PPP participants. This tool provides a numeric scoring for participants overall PPP disease state, ranging from 0 to maximum 72, where 0 corresponds to no signs of psoriasis. It is a linear combination of the percent of surface area of skin that is affected on the palms and soles and the severity of Erythema (E), Pustules (P) (total), and scaling (Desquamation (D)). Missing values for severity or area of involvement were not imputed. ppPASI was calculated as a weighted sum of the scores obtained for E, P, D and Area affected (in%) (where area assessed is glabrous skin on the palms/ soles) (A): \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (right palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (left palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (right sole)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (left sole)\].

Time frame: Week 16

Population: Full analysis set (FAS): FAS included all patients in the Safety analysis set (SAF) (SAF included all randomised patients who received at least one dose of study drug) who had a baseline measurement available for the primary endpoint. Patients from FAS with no response imputation (NRI) were included for analysis of this endpoint. (FAS (NRI))

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BI 655130 Low DosePercentage of Participants With Palmoplantar (pp) Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 50 (PASI) (ppPASI50) at Week 1631.6 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 655130 High DosePercentage of Participants With Palmoplantar (pp) Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 50 (PASI) (ppPASI50) at Week 1631.6 Percentage of participants (%)
Placebo Matching to BI 655130Percentage of Participants With Palmoplantar (pp) Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 50 (PASI) (ppPASI50) at Week 1623.8 Percentage of participants (%)
95% CI: [-0.19, 0.338]Wilson/Newcombe
95% CI: [-0.19, 0.338]Wilson/Newcombe
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Achieving Treatment Success (Treatment Success Defined as Achieving a Clinical Response of 0 or 1=Clear/Almost Clear) Via Palmoplantar Pustulosis Physicians Global Assessment (pppPGA) at Week 16

pppPGA was relied on the participant's overall skin lesions status on the lesions of the most severely affected palmoplantar surface of the palms and sole was assessed by investigator as clear (0), almost clear (1), mild (2), moderate (3) and severe (4) at week 16. Score Wording were: 0 = Clear = No signs of PPP; no scaling or crusts or pustule remains. 1. = Almost clear = Slight scaling and/or erythema and / or slight crusts; very few new (yellow) and / or old (brown) pustules. 2. = Mild = Scaling and/or erythema and/or crusts; visible new (yellow) and/or old (brown) pustules of limited number and extent. 3. =Moderate = Prominent scaling and/or erythema and / or crusting; prominent new (yellow) and / or old (brown) pustules covering most of the area involved. 4. =Severe = Severe scaling and/or erythema and / or crusting; numerous new (yellow) or old (brown) pustules with and/or without major conflence covering the entire area of at least 2 palmoplantar surfaces.

Time frame: Week 16

Population: FAS (NRI)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BI 655130 Low DosePercentage of Participants Achieving Treatment Success (Treatment Success Defined as Achieving a Clinical Response of 0 or 1=Clear/Almost Clear) Via Palmoplantar Pustulosis Physicians Global Assessment (pppPGA) at Week 160.0 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 655130 High DosePercentage of Participants Achieving Treatment Success (Treatment Success Defined as Achieving a Clinical Response of 0 or 1=Clear/Almost Clear) Via Palmoplantar Pustulosis Physicians Global Assessment (pppPGA) at Week 1615.8 Percentage of participants (%)
Placebo Matching to BI 655130Percentage of Participants Achieving Treatment Success (Treatment Success Defined as Achieving a Clinical Response of 0 or 1=Clear/Almost Clear) Via Palmoplantar Pustulosis Physicians Global Assessment (pppPGA) at Week 1614.3 Percentage of participants (%)
95% CI: [-0.346, 0.049]Wilson/Newcombe
95% CI: [-0.213, 0.252]Wilson/Newcombe
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Palmoplantar Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 75 (ppPASI75) at Week 16

Percentage of participants who achieved \>75% reduction in ppPASI score was assessed by ppPASI75. ppPASI is modification of PASI score and an investigator assessment of the extent and severity of pustular and plaque lesions on the palms and soles presenting in PPP participants. This tool provides a numeric scoring for participants overall PPP disease state, ranging from 0 to maximum 72, where 0 corresponds to no signs of psoriasis. It is a linear combination of the percent of surface area of skin that is affected on the palms and soles and the severity of Erythema (E), Pustules (P) (total), and scaling (Desquamation (D)). Missing values for severity or area of involvement were not imputed. ppPASI was calculated as a weighted sum of the scores obtained for E, P, D and Area affected (in%) (where area assessed is glabrous skin on the palms/ soles) (A): \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (right palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (left palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (right sole)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (left sole)\].

Time frame: Week 16

Population: FAS (NRI)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BI 655130 Low DosePercentage of Participants With Palmoplantar Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 75 (ppPASI75) at Week 160.0 Percentage of participnats (%)
BI 655130 High DosePercentage of Participants With Palmoplantar Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 75 (ppPASI75) at Week 1621.1 Percentage of participnats (%)
Placebo Matching to BI 655130Percentage of Participants With Palmoplantar Pustular Psoriasis Area and Severity Index 75 (ppPASI75) at Week 169.5 Percentage of participnats (%)
95% CI: [-0.289, 0.086]Wilson/Newcombe
95% CI: [-0.116, 0.348]Wilson/Newcombe
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline in the ppPASI at Week 16

The percentage change in the ppPASI score from Baseline to Week 16 was measured. ppPASI is modification of PASI score and an investigator assessment of the extent and severity of pustular and plaque lesions on the palms and soles presenting in PPP participants. This tool provides a numeric scoring for participants overall PPP disease state, ranging from 0 to maximum 72, where 0 corresponds to no signs of psoriasis. It is a linear combination of the percent of surface area of skin that is affected on the palms and soles and the severity of Erythema (E), Pustules (P) (total), and scaling (Desquamation (D)). Missing values for severity or area of involvement were not imputed. ppPASI was calculated as a weighted sum of the scores obtained for E, P, D and Area affected (in%) (where area assessed is glabrous skin on the palms/ soles) (A): \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (right palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.2 (left palm)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (right sole)\] + \[(E+P+D) x A x 0.3 (left sole)\].

Time frame: Baseline and Week 16

Population: Patients from FAS with observed cases (OC) were included for analysis of this endpoint. (FAS (OC))

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
BI 655130 Low DosePercent Change From Baseline in the ppPASI at Week 16-32.74 Unit on scaleStandard Deviation 38.52
BI 655130 High DosePercent Change From Baseline in the ppPASI at Week 16-45.80 Unit on scaleStandard Deviation 27
Placebo Matching to BI 655130Percent Change From Baseline in the ppPASI at Week 16-39.97 Unit on scaleStandard Deviation 32.94
95% CI: [-20.01, 34.48]Student's t-distribution
95% CI: [-28.35, 16.7]Student's t-distribution

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026