Skip to content

A Safety and Dose-Finding Study of SYNT001 in Subjects With Pemphigus (Vulgaris or Foliaceus)

A Phase 1B/2, Multicenter, Open-Label, Safety, and Dose-Finding Study of SYNT001 in Subjects With Pemphigus (Vulgaris or Foliaceus)

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03075904
Enrollment
8
Registered
2017-03-09
Start date
2017-07-18
Completion date
2019-01-16
Last updated
2020-02-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pemphigus, Pemphigus Foliaceus, Pemphigus Vulgaris

Brief summary

This was a multicenter, open-label safety study to determine the dose regimen of SYNT001 (ALXN1830) administered intravenously in participants with pemphigus (vulgaris or foliaceus).

Detailed description

This study planned to evaluate 2 cohorts: up to 8 participants to receive 5 weekly intravenous (IV) doses of ALXN1830 at 10 milligram/kilogram (mg/kg) (Cohort 1) and up to 12 participants to receive 3 x 30 mg/kg weekly doses of ALXN1830 IV (loading) followed by 5 x 10 mg/kg doses of ALXN1830 IV every other week or 10 weekly doses of ALXN1830 IV (maintenance) (Cohort 2). This study was terminated after the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics (PK), pharmacodynamics (PD), and efficacy were characterized in participants with pemphigus at a single dose level (10 mg/kg) in Cohort 1, before any participants were enrolled in Cohort 2. The study consisted of 3 periods: Screening, Treatment, and Follow-Up.

Interventions

Administered via IV infusion.

Sponsors

Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Participants must have meet the following criteria to be included: * Were willing and able to read, understand and sign an informed consent form * Documented diagnosis of pemphigus vulgaris or foliaceus * Were required to use medically acceptable contraception

Exclusion criteria

Participants meeting any of the following criteria were excluded: * Were unable or unwilling to comply with the protocol * Active non-hematologic malignancy or history of non-hematologic malignancy in the 3 years prior to screening (exclusive of non-melanoma skin cancer and cervical cancer in situ) * Positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or hepatitis C antibody * Positive for hepatitis B surface antigen * IV immunoglobulin treatment within 30 days of screening * Any exposure to an investigational drug or device within the 30 days prior to screening * Plasmapheresis or immunoadsorption within 30 days of screening * Participant had any current medical condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, may have compromised their safety or compliance, preclude successful conduct of the study, or interfere with interpretation of the results

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Count Of Participants Reporting Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Day 1 (after first dose) through Day 112A TEAE was defined as any adverse event (AE) that starts on or after the first dose of study drug or occurs prior to the first dose and worsens in severity on or after the first dose of study drug, during the Treatment Period and Follow-up Period. A TEAE was considered serious (Grade 3) if, in the view of either the investigator or sponsor, it resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening adverse drug event, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant incapacity or substantial disruption of the ability to conduct normal life functions, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or an event that may have jeopardized the participant and may have required medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the previously listed outcomes. A summary of serious and all other non-serious adverse events, regardless of causality, is located in the Reported Adverse Events module.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Total Immunoglobulin G (IgG) Levels From BaselineBaseline through Day 112Pharmacodynamic samples were collected for analysis throughout the study. The maximum percent reduction of mean serum total IgG levels from Baseline observed during the study is presented.
Maximum Percent Reduction In Mean Pemphigus Disease Area Index (PDAI) Total Activity Score From BaselineBaseline through Day 112Pemphigus severity and disease activity was measured using the PDAI in regions where a validated questionnaire was available. The PDAI was administered during Treatment Period and Follow-up Period. PDAI total activity was comprised of scores for the skin, mucous membrane, and scalp subscales. The investigator determined a PDAI score as 0 to 250 points for total activity score (0 to 120 for skin, 0 to 10 for scalp, and 0 to 120 for mucosa). A higher score indicated higher impact on skin disease. The maximum percent reduction in PDAI total activity score from Baseline observed during the study is presented.
Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Circulating Immune Complexes (CIC) Levels From BaselineBaseline through Day 112Pharmacodynamic samples were collected for analysis throughout the study. The maximum percent reduction of mean CIC levels from Baseline observed during the study is presented.
Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Anti-Desmoglein (Dsg) 1 And 3 Antibodies From BaselineBaseline through Day 112Pharmacodynamic samples were collected for analysis throughout the study. The maximum percent reduction of mean anti-Dsg 1 and 3 antibodies from Baseline observed during the study is presented.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

This study was terminated after the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics (PK), pharmacodynamics (PD), and efficacy were characterized at a single dose level (10 milligram/kilogram \[mg/kg\]) in Cohort 1, before any participants were enrolled in Cohort 2. This results disclosure is for Cohort 1 only.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cohort 1: ALXN1830
Participants received 5 doses of ALXN1830 10 mg/kg administered weekly.
8
Total8

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyNeed for Medication not Permitted1
Overall StudyPhysician Decision3

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCohort 1: ALXN1830
Age at Diagnosis of Pemphigus41.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 18.9
Age, Continuous51.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.43
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
5 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
5 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants
Type of Pemphigus
Foliaceus
1 Participants
Type of Pemphigus
Vulgaris
7 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 8
other
Total, other adverse events
7 / 8
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 8

Outcome results

Primary

Count Of Participants Reporting Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

A TEAE was defined as any adverse event (AE) that starts on or after the first dose of study drug or occurs prior to the first dose and worsens in severity on or after the first dose of study drug, during the Treatment Period and Follow-up Period. A TEAE was considered serious (Grade 3) if, in the view of either the investigator or sponsor, it resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening adverse drug event, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant incapacity or substantial disruption of the ability to conduct normal life functions, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or an event that may have jeopardized the participant and may have required medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the previously listed outcomes. A summary of serious and all other non-serious adverse events, regardless of causality, is located in the Reported Adverse Events module.

Time frame: Day 1 (after first dose) through Day 112

Population: All participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Count Of Participants Reporting Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAEs7 Participants
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Count Of Participants Reporting Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Serious TEAEs1 Participants
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Count Of Participants Reporting Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Discontinuations due to TEAEs0 Participants
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Count Of Participants Reporting Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Deaths0 Participants
Secondary

Maximum Percent Reduction In Mean Pemphigus Disease Area Index (PDAI) Total Activity Score From Baseline

Pemphigus severity and disease activity was measured using the PDAI in regions where a validated questionnaire was available. The PDAI was administered during Treatment Period and Follow-up Period. PDAI total activity was comprised of scores for the skin, mucous membrane, and scalp subscales. The investigator determined a PDAI score as 0 to 250 points for total activity score (0 to 120 for skin, 0 to 10 for scalp, and 0 to 120 for mucosa). A higher score indicated higher impact on skin disease. The maximum percent reduction in PDAI total activity score from Baseline observed during the study is presented.

Time frame: Baseline through Day 112

Population: All participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and had postdose pharmacodynamic data available.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Maximum Percent Reduction In Mean Pemphigus Disease Area Index (PDAI) Total Activity Score From Baseline45.7 percentage of reduction
Secondary

Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Anti-Desmoglein (Dsg) 1 And 3 Antibodies From Baseline

Pharmacodynamic samples were collected for analysis throughout the study. The maximum percent reduction of mean anti-Dsg 1 and 3 antibodies from Baseline observed during the study is presented.

Time frame: Baseline through Day 112

Population: All participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and had postdose pharmacodynamic data available.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Anti-Desmoglein (Dsg) 1 And 3 Antibodies From Baselineanti-Dsg 18.9 percentage of reduction
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Anti-Desmoglein (Dsg) 1 And 3 Antibodies From Baselineanti-Dsg 320.4 percentage of reduction
Secondary

Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Circulating Immune Complexes (CIC) Levels From Baseline

Pharmacodynamic samples were collected for analysis throughout the study. The maximum percent reduction of mean CIC levels from Baseline observed during the study is presented.

Time frame: Baseline through Day 112

Population: All participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and had postdose pharmacodynamic data available.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Circulating Immune Complexes (CIC) Levels From Baseline51.4 percentage of reduction
Secondary

Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Total Immunoglobulin G (IgG) Levels From Baseline

Pharmacodynamic samples were collected for analysis throughout the study. The maximum percent reduction of mean serum total IgG levels from Baseline observed during the study is presented.

Time frame: Baseline through Day 112

Population: All participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and had postdose pharmacodynamic data available.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Cohort 1: ALXN1830Maximum Percent Reduction Of Mean Total Immunoglobulin G (IgG) Levels From Baseline57.3 percentage of reduction

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 15, 2026