Skip to content

A Study of Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel in Subjects With Acne Vulgaris

A Randomized, Double-blind, Vehicle Controlled, Efficacy and Safety Study of Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel in Subjects With Acne Vulgaris

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03073486
Enrollment
744
Registered
2017-03-08
Start date
2017-02-06
Completion date
2017-12-21
Last updated
2021-07-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Acne Vulgaris

Brief summary

The objectives of this study are to assess the safety and efficacy of Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel compared to vehicle in patients with acne vulgaris

Interventions

Gel containing Olumacostat Glasaretil

Vehicle (placebo) gel

Sponsors

Dermira, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
9 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Signed informed consent and, for subjects under legal adult age, signed assent * Age ≥ 9 years * Clinical diagnosis of facial acne vulgaris defined as: * At least 20 inflammatory lesions, and * At least 20 non-inflammatory lesions, and * Investigator Global Assessment of 3 or greater

Exclusion criteria

* Active cystic acne or acne conglobata, acne fulminans, and secondary acne * Two or more active nodulocystic lesions on the face * Clinically significant abnormal laboratory or ECG result * Subjects who are actively participating in an experimental therapy study or who have received experimental therapy within 30 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is longer) of the Baseline visit * Treatment with over-the-counter topical medications for the treatment of acne vulgaris including benzoyl peroxide, topical anti-inflammatory medications, corticosteroids, α-hydroxy/glycolic acid on the face within 2 weeks prior to Baseline * Treatment with systemic antibiotics or systemic anti-acne drugs or topical retinoid within 4 weeks prior to Baseline * Treatment with a new hormonal therapy or dose change to existing hormonal therapy within 12 weeks prior to Baseline (hormonal therapies include, but are not limited to, estrogenic and progestational agents such as birth control pills). * Use of androgen receptor blockers (such as spironolactone or flutamide) within 2 weeks prior to Baseline. * Oral retinoid use (e.g., isotretinoin) within 12 months prior to Baseline or vitamin A supplements greater than 10,000 units/day within 6 months prior to Baseline * Facial procedures (chemical or laser peel, microdermabrasion, etc.) within the past 8 weeks

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Mean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12Baseline and Week 12Mean absolute change in acne lesion counts (inflammatory) from baseline to Week 12
Mean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Non-inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12Baseline and Week 12Mean absolute change in acne lesion counts (non-inflammatory) from baseline to Week 12
Percentage of Subjects Who Achieved ≥ 2-grade Improvement and a Grade of 0 or 1 in the Investigator Global Assessment of Acne (IGA) From Baseline to Week 12Baseline and Week 12Percentage of subjects who achieved ≥ 2-grade improvement and a grade of 0 or 1 in the investigator global assessment of acne (IGA) from baseline to Week 12 Scoring Criteria for Investigator Global Assessment 0 - Clear skin with no inflammatory or noninflammatory lesions 1. \- Almost clear; rare noninflammatory lesions with no more than one small inflammatory lesion 2. \- Mild severity; greater than Grade 1; some noninflammatory lesions with no more than a few inflammatory lesions (papules/pustules only, no nodular lesions) 3. \- Moderate severity; greater than Grade 2; up to many noninflammatory lesions and may have some inflammatory lesions, but no more than one small nodular lesion 4. \- Severe; greater than Grade 3; up to many noninflammatory and inflammatory lesions, but no more than a few nodular lesions

Countries

Australia, Canada, United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, 5.0%
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, 5.0%, applied twice daily to the face for 12 weeks
493
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, Vehicle
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, Vehicle, applied twice daily to the face for 12 weeks
251
Total744

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicOlumacostat Glasaretil Gel, 5.0%Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, VehicleTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
304 Participants147 Participants451 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
189 Participants104 Participants293 Participants
Age, Continuous19.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.98
19.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.26
19.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.07
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
88 Participants52 Participants140 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
393 Participants196 Participants589 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
12 Participants3 Participants15 Participants
Fitzpatrick Skin Type
Type I
33 Participants13 Participants46 Participants
Fitzpatrick Skin Type
Type II
99 Participants61 Participants160 Participants
Fitzpatrick Skin Type
Type III
133 Participants58 Participants191 Participants
Fitzpatrick Skin Type
Type IV
112 Participants57 Participants169 Participants
Fitzpatrick Skin Type
Type V
51 Participants26 Participants77 Participants
Fitzpatrick Skin Type
Type VI
65 Participants36 Participants101 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
4 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
35 Participants9 Participants44 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
90 Participants54 Participants144 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
21 Participants9 Participants30 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
342 Participants178 Participants520 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
56 participants29 participants85 participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
44 participants22 participants66 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
393 participants200 participants593 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
294 Participants145 Participants439 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
199 Participants106 Participants305 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 4910 / 248
other
Total, other adverse events
108 / 49128 / 248
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 4910 / 248

Outcome results

Primary

Mean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12

Mean absolute change in acne lesion counts (inflammatory) from baseline to Week 12

Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

Population: Intent-to-Treat

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, 5.0%Mean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12-17.0 LesionsStandard Deviation 12.16
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, VehicleMean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12-15.4 LesionsStandard Deviation 11.95
p-value: 0.2301ANCOVA
Primary

Mean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Non-inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12

Mean absolute change in acne lesion counts (non-inflammatory) from baseline to Week 12

Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

Population: Intent-to-Treat

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, 5.0%Mean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Non-inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12-18.0 LesionsStandard Deviation 23.37
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, VehicleMean Absolute Change in Acne Lesion Counts (Non-inflammatory) From Baseline to Week 12-17.6 LesionsStandard Deviation 22.64
p-value: 0.6888ANCOVA
Primary

Percentage of Subjects Who Achieved ≥ 2-grade Improvement and a Grade of 0 or 1 in the Investigator Global Assessment of Acne (IGA) From Baseline to Week 12

Percentage of subjects who achieved ≥ 2-grade improvement and a grade of 0 or 1 in the investigator global assessment of acne (IGA) from baseline to Week 12 Scoring Criteria for Investigator Global Assessment 0 - Clear skin with no inflammatory or noninflammatory lesions 1. \- Almost clear; rare noninflammatory lesions with no more than one small inflammatory lesion 2. \- Mild severity; greater than Grade 1; some noninflammatory lesions with no more than a few inflammatory lesions (papules/pustules only, no nodular lesions) 3. \- Moderate severity; greater than Grade 2; up to many noninflammatory lesions and may have some inflammatory lesions, but no more than one small nodular lesion 4. \- Severe; greater than Grade 3; up to many noninflammatory and inflammatory lesions, but no more than a few nodular lesions

Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

Population: Intent-to-Treat

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, 5.0%Percentage of Subjects Who Achieved ≥ 2-grade Improvement and a Grade of 0 or 1 in the Investigator Global Assessment of Acne (IGA) From Baseline to Week 12Success80 Participants
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, 5.0%Percentage of Subjects Who Achieved ≥ 2-grade Improvement and a Grade of 0 or 1 in the Investigator Global Assessment of Acne (IGA) From Baseline to Week 12Failure413 Participants
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, VehiclePercentage of Subjects Who Achieved ≥ 2-grade Improvement and a Grade of 0 or 1 in the Investigator Global Assessment of Acne (IGA) From Baseline to Week 12Success30 Participants
Olumacostat Glasaretil Gel, VehiclePercentage of Subjects Who Achieved ≥ 2-grade Improvement and a Grade of 0 or 1 in the Investigator Global Assessment of Acne (IGA) From Baseline to Week 12Failure221 Participants
p-value: 0.1361Regression, Logistic

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026