Skip to content

Phase 2 Study of ISIS 681257 (AKCEA-APO(a)-LRx) in Participants With Hyperlipoproteinemia(a) and Cardiovascular Disease

A Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-Controlled, Dose-Ranging Phase 2 Study of ISIS 681257 (AKCEA-APO(a)-LRx) Administered Subcutaneously to Patients With Hyperlipoproteinemia(a) and Established Cardiovascular Disease (CVD)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03070782
Enrollment
286
Registered
2017-03-06
Start date
2017-03-07
Completion date
2018-11-13
Last updated
2020-10-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cardiovascular Disease, Elevated Lipoprotein(a)

Keywords

IONIS-APO(a)-LRx, AKCEA-APO(a)-LRx, Dyslipidemia, Dyslipoproteinemia, Hyperlipidemia, Hyperlipoproteinemia, Hyperlipoproteinemia(a), Hyperlipoproteinemia a, Lipoprotein, Lipoprotein(a), Lipoprotein a, Lp(a), Lp a

Brief summary

This is a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose-ranging study to evaluate the safety, including tolerability, of ISIS 681257 and to assess the efficacy of different doses and dosing regimens of ISIS 681257 for reduction of plasma Lipoprotein(a) \[Lp(a)\] levels in participants with hyperlipoproteinemia(a) and established cardiovascular disease (CVD).

Interventions

ISIS 681257 solution for SC injection.

DRUGPlacebo

Sterile normal saline (0.9% NaCl)

Sponsors

Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Akcea Therapeutics
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 80 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria: * Clinical diagnosis of CVD defined as documented coronary artery disease, stroke, or peripheral artery disease * Lp(a) plasma level ≥ 60 mg/dL * Must be on standard-of-care preventative therapy for other than elevated Lp(a) CVD risk factors Key

Exclusion criteria

* Within 6 months of Screening: acute coronary syndrome, major cardiac surgery, or stroke/TIA * Within 3 months of Screening: coronary, carotid, or peripheral arterial revascularization, major non-cardiac surgery, or lipoprotein apheresis * Heart failure New York Heart Association (NYHA) class IV

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Up to 16 weeks post treatment period (up to approximately 1.3 years)An adverse event (AE) was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the study or use of investigational drug product, whether or not the AE was considered related to the investigational drug product. TEAEs was defined as any AE with onset after the first administration of study medication through the end of the study, or any event that was present at baseline but worsened in intensity or was subsequently considered drug-related by the Investigator through the end of the study.
Number of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityUp to 16 weeks post treatment period (up to approximately 1.3 years)An AE was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the study or use of investigational drug product, whether or not the AE was considered related to the investigational drug product. TEAEs was defined as any AE with onset after the first administration of study medication through the end of the study, or any event that was present at baseline but worsened in intensity or was subsequently considered drug-related by the Investigator through the end of the study. The severity of TEAEs was assessed based on the National Cancer Institute's (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03. TEAEs were graded on a 5-point scale where 1 = Mild, 2 = Moderate, 3 = Severe, 4 = Potentially life-threatening and 5 = Death.
Number of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study DiscontinuationUp to 16 weeks post treatment period (up to approximately 1.3 years)An AE was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the study or use of investigational drug product, whether or not the AE was considered related to the investigational drug product. TEAE was defined as any AE with onset after the first administration of study medication through the end of the study, or any event that was present at baseline but worsened in intensity or was subsequently considered drug-related by the Investigator through the end of the study.
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time PointBaseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of Lp(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to Lp(a) value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of Lp(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to Lp(a) value at Baseline - 1) × 100.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of OxPL-apo(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apo(a) value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of OxPL-apo(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apo(a) value at Baseline - 1) × 100.
Percent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of OxPL-apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apoB value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of OxPL-apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apoB value at Baseline - 1) × 100.
Percent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to apoB value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to apoB value at Baseline - 1) × 100.
Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of LDL-C value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to LDL-C value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of LDL-C value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to LDL-C value at Baseline - 1) × 100.
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)The percentage of participants who achieved ≤ 125 nmol/L or ≤ 50 mg/dL in fasting Lp(a) at the primary analysis time point were compared between each ISIS 681257 treatment group and pooled placebo group using a logistic regression model with log-transformed baseline Lp(a) as a covariate.
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dLBaseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)The percentage of participants who achieved ≤ 75 nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL in fasting Lp(a) at the primary analysis time point were compared between each ISIS 681257 treatment group and pooled placebo group using a logistic regression model with log-transformed baseline Lp(a) as a covariate.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
To Evaluate Plasma Cmax of ISIS 681257 Across Different Doses and Dose Regimens.6 monthsCmax will be calculated for the treatment groups.
To Evaluate Plasma AUC Values of ISIS 681257 Across Different Doses and Dose Regimens.6 monthsAUC values will be calculated for the treatment groups.
To Evaluate Plasma Tmax of ISIS 681257 Across Different Doses and Dose Regimens.6 monthsTmax will be calculated for the treatment groups.

Countries

Canada, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants with a clinical diagnosis of hyperlipoproteinemia(a) and established CVD were enrolled in 31 study centers in United States, Canada, Denmark, Germany and Netherlands between 7th March 2017 to 13th November 2018.

Pre-assignment details

286 participants were randomized in a 1:1:1:1:1 ratio to Cohorts A, B, C, D or E. In each cohort, participants were randomized in a 5:1 ratio to receive ISIS 681257 or placebo.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4W
Cohort A participants received 20 milligrams (mg) ISIS 681257, subcutaneous (SC) injection, once every 4 weeks (Q4W), for up to 49 weeks and a maximum of 13 doses.
48
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4W
Cohort B participants received 40 mg of ISIS 681257, SC injection, once Q4W, for up to 49 weeks and a maximum of 13 doses.
48
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4W
Cohort C participants received 60 mg of ISIS 681257, SC injection, once Q4W, for up to 49 weeks and a maximum of 13 doses.
47
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2W
Cohort D participants received 20 mg of ISIS 681257, SC injection, once every 2 weeks (Q2W), for up to 51 weeks and a maximum of 26 doses.
48
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QW
Cohort E participants received 20 mg of ISIS 681257, SC injection, once weekly (QW), for up to 52 weeks and a maximum of 52 doses.
48
Placebo
Participants in each cohort were randomized to receive placebo at a dose-matched volume of study drug (ISIS 681257).
47
Total286

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004FG005
Overall StudyAdverse Event303162
Overall StudyIneligibility000101
Overall StudyInvestigator Judgement000100
Overall StudyPregnancy000100
Overall StudyReason Not Specified200121
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject211043

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WCohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WCohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WCohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WCohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPlaceboTotal
Age, Continuous60.0 years57.9 years61.3 years62.2 years58.9 years59.9 years60.0 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
46 Participants48 Participants47 Participants47 Participants47 Participants46 Participants281 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants0 Participants3 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
44 Participants47 Participants45 Participants47 Participants47 Participants46 Participants276 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
19 Participants17 Participants12 Participants14 Participants20 Participants15 Participants97 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
29 Participants31 Participants36 Participants33 Participants28 Participants32 Participants189 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 480 / 481 / 470 / 481 / 480 / 47
other
Total, other adverse events
38 / 4842 / 4840 / 4736 / 4842 / 4836 / 47
serious
Total, serious adverse events
7 / 487 / 487 / 473 / 484 / 483 / 47

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum Severity

An AE was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the study or use of investigational drug product, whether or not the AE was considered related to the investigational drug product. TEAEs was defined as any AE with onset after the first administration of study medication through the end of the study, or any event that was present at baseline but worsened in intensity or was subsequently considered drug-related by the Investigator through the end of the study. The severity of TEAEs was assessed based on the National Cancer Institute's (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03. TEAEs were graded on a 5-point scale where 1 = Mild, 2 = Moderate, 3 = Severe, 4 = Potentially life-threatening and 5 = Death.

Time frame: Up to 16 weeks post treatment period (up to approximately 1.3 years)

Population: Safety Set included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). Only participants with at least one TEAE were analyzed for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityModerate20 Participants
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityMild20 Participants
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeveritySevere6 Participants
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityModerate19 Participants
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityMild21 Participants
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeveritySevere3 Participants
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityModerate21 Participants
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityMild16 Participants
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeveritySevere6 Participants
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityModerate15 Participants
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityMild24 Participants
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeveritySevere2 Participants
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityModerate20 Participants
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityMild21 Participants
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeveritySevere3 Participants
PlaceboNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityMild22 Participants
PlaceboNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeveritySevere3 Participants
PlaceboNumber of Participants With TEAEs by Maximum SeverityModerate16 Participants
Primary

Number of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study Discontinuation

An AE was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the study or use of investigational drug product, whether or not the AE was considered related to the investigational drug product. TEAE was defined as any AE with onset after the first administration of study medication through the end of the study, or any event that was present at baseline but worsened in intensity or was subsequently considered drug-related by the Investigator through the end of the study.

Time frame: Up to 16 weeks post treatment period (up to approximately 1.3 years)

Population: Safety Set included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo).

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study Discontinuation3 Participants
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study Discontinuation0 Participants
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study Discontinuation3 Participants
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WNumber of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study Discontinuation1 Participants
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWNumber of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study Discontinuation6 Participants
PlaceboNumber of Participants With TEAEs Leading to Study Discontinuation2 Participants
Primary

Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

An adverse event (AE) was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the study or use of investigational drug product, whether or not the AE was considered related to the investigational drug product. TEAEs was defined as any AE with onset after the first administration of study medication through the end of the study, or any event that was present at baseline but worsened in intensity or was subsequently considered drug-related by the Investigator through the end of the study.

Time frame: Up to 16 weeks post treatment period (up to approximately 1.3 years)

Population: Safety Set included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo).

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)46 Participants
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)43 Participants
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)43 Participants
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)41 Participants
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)44 Participants
PlaceboNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)41 Participants
Primary

Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time Point

An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of Lp(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to Lp(a) value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of Lp(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to Lp(a) value at Baseline - 1) × 100.

Time frame: Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)

Population: Full Analysis Set (FAS) included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). FAS represented the practically feasible intent-to-treat (ITT) population as delineated in ICH Guideline E9.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time Point-35 percent change
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time Point-56 percent change
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time Point-72 percent change
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time Point-58 percent change
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time Point-80 percent change
PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] at the Primary Analysis Time Point-6 percent change
p-value: 0.003295% CI: [-46, -12]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-64, -41]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-77, -62]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-65, -43]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-83, -72]ANCOVA
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)

The percentage of participants who achieved ≤ 125 nmol/L or ≤ 50 mg/dL in fasting Lp(a) at the primary analysis time point were compared between each ISIS 681257 treatment group and pooled placebo group using a logistic regression model with log-transformed baseline Lp(a) as a covariate.

Time frame: Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). FAS represented the practically feasible ITT population as delineated in ICH Guideline E9.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)22.9 percentage of participants
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)62.5 percentage of participants
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)80.9 percentage of participants
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)64.6 percentage of participants
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)97.9 percentage of participants
PlaceboPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 125 Nanomoles Per Liter (Nmol/L) or ≤ 50 Milligrams Per Deciliter (mg/dL)6.4 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.028695% CI: [1.2, 21]Regression, Logistic
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [7.3, 131.4]Regression, Logistic
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [24, 627.4]Regression, Logistic
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [9.8, 195]Regression, Logistic
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [109.3, 11571]Regression, Logistic
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL

The percentage of participants who achieved ≤ 75 nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL in fasting Lp(a) at the primary analysis time point were compared between each ISIS 681257 treatment group and pooled placebo group using a logistic regression model with log-transformed baseline Lp(a) as a covariate.

Time frame: Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). FAS represented the practically feasible ITT population as delineated in ICH Guideline E9.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL6.3 percentage of participants
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL25.0 percentage of participants
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL53.2 percentage of participants
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL33.3 percentage of participants
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL70.8 percentage of participants
PlaceboPercentage of Participants Who Achieved Plasma Lp(a) ≤ 75 Nmol/L or ≤ 30 mg/dL0 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.200795% CI: [0.3, 155.3]Regression, Logistic
p-value: 0.025895% CI: [1.5, 521.5]Regression, Logistic
p-value: 0.001495% CI: [6.2, 2098.5]Regression, Logistic
p-value: 0.006395% CI: [3.2, 1128]Regression, Logistic
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [18.3, 6597.9]Regression, Logistic
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)

An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of LDL-C value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to LDL-C value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of LDL-C value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to LDL-C value at Baseline - 1) × 100.

Time frame: Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). FAS represented the practically feasible ITT population as delineated in ICH Guideline E9.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-7 percent change
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-26 percent change
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-16 percent change
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-17 percent change
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-23 percent change
PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline in Fasting Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-1 percent change
p-value: 0.440795% CI: [-19, 9]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-35, -13]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.036895% CI: [-26, -1]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.021695% CI: [-28, -3]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.001295% CI: [-33, -9]ANCOVA
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)

An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to apoB value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to apoB value at Baseline - 1) × 100.

Time frame: Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). FAS represented the practically feasible ITT population as delineated in ICH Guideline E9.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)-3 percent change
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)-15 percent change
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)-8 percent change
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)-9 percent change
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)-16 percent change
PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Apolipoprotein B (apoB)1 percent change
p-value: 0.402295% CI: [-12, 5]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-23, -9]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.032395% CI: [-17, -1]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.015795% CI: [-18, -2]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-24, -9]ANCOVA
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]

An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of OxPL-apo(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apo(a) value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of OxPL-apo(a) value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apo(a) value at Baseline - 1) × 100.

Time frame: Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). FAS represented the practically feasible ITT population as delineated in ICH Guideline E9.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]-28 percent change
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]-49 percent change
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]-63 percent change
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]-45 percent change
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]-70 percent change
PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein(a) [OxPL-apo(a)]-20 percent change
p-value: 0.495695% CI: [-32, 21]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.002795% CI: [-52, -14]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-65, -38]ANCOVA
p-value: 0.011495% CI: [-48, -8]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-72, -49]ANCOVA
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)

An ANCOVA model was performed on the log ratio of OxPL-apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apoB value at Baseline. The estimate of the log ratio was converted back to the original scale and percent change was calculated using formula: = (ratio of OxPL-apoB value at the Primary Analysis Time Point to OxPL-apoB value at Baseline - 1) × 100.

Time frame: Baseline and Month 6 (Week 25 for Cohorts A, B and C and Week 27 for Cohorts D and E)

Population: FAS included all participants who were randomized and received at least 1 dose of study drug (ISIS 681257 or placebo). FAS represented the practically feasible ITT population as delineated in ICH Guideline E9.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Cohort A: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)-37 percent change
Cohort B: ISIS 681257: 40 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)-57 percent change
Cohort C: ISIS 681257: 60 mg Q4WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)-79 percent change
Cohort D: ISIS 681257: 20 mg Q2WPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)-64 percent change
Cohort E: ISIS 681257: 20 mg QWPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)-88 percent change
PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline in the Plasma Levels of Oxidized Phospholipids (OxPL) on Apolipoprotein B (OxPL-apoB)14 percent change
p-value: 0.00295% CI: [-62, -19]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-74, -46]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-87, -73]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-78, -54]ANCOVA
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-93, -84]ANCOVA
Other Pre-specified

To Evaluate Plasma AUC Values of ISIS 681257 Across Different Doses and Dose Regimens.

AUC values will be calculated for the treatment groups.

Time frame: 6 months

Other Pre-specified

To Evaluate Plasma Cmax of ISIS 681257 Across Different Doses and Dose Regimens.

Cmax will be calculated for the treatment groups.

Time frame: 6 months

Other Pre-specified

To Evaluate Plasma Tmax of ISIS 681257 Across Different Doses and Dose Regimens.

Tmax will be calculated for the treatment groups.

Time frame: 6 months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 19, 2026