Skip to content

Evaluation of Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO) After Total Knee Arthroplasty (TKA) Under Spinal Anesthesia

Evaluation of the Patient Reported Outcomes After Sensor-guided Total Knee Arthroplasty Under Spinal Anesthesia With Limited Motor-block.

Status
Terminated
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT03053453
Enrollment
52
Registered
2017-02-15
Start date
2016-12-06
Completion date
2022-07-13
Last updated
2023-11-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Knee Injuries

Keywords

Total Knee Replacement Arthroplasty

Brief summary

The purpose of this study will be to evaluate and compare patients undergoing total knee arthroplasty (TKA) with sensor guidance versus that of a standard technique. Each patient will be assessed for the difference between passive, soft tissue controlled, pressure balance and muscle activated pressure balance.

Interventions

PROCEDURESpinal Surgery

TKA under standard of care spinal surgery.

DEVICEVerasense Knee System device

Sensor measures and localizes peak load at the medial and lateral tibiofemoral joint interfaces. Loading data is thereby captured intra-operatively through the full range of movement (ROM) using the sensor system.

Sponsors

NYU Langone Health
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

This is a randomized prospective study looking at the impact sensor guidance has on the outcome of patients and comparing to that of patients with a standard technique.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
50 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients will be screened for eligibility based on whether they have chronic knee pain as a result of an arthritis-related condition. * Patient with chronic knee pain who is indicated for total hip or knee replacement surgery * Patient is at least 50 years of age * Patient is willing to participate in pre- and postoperative surveys

Exclusion criteria

* Failure to complete pre-operative surveys. * Revision Total Knee Arthroplasty * Prior ipsilateral knee surgery such as ligament reconstruction or osteotomy * Contralateral Total Knee Arthroplasty * Prior tibial plateau fracture * Ligamentous Insufficiency * History of fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Knee Society Score (KSS)Month 12 Post-SurgeryThe Knee Society Score (KSS) comprises two sections (each worth 100 points) for a maximum 200 points. One section is the Knee Society Clinical Score (KSCS) - points are given for pain, motion, and stability and points are deducted for flexion contracture, extension lag, and misalignment. The other section is the Knee Society Functional Score (KSFS) - points are assigned for walking distances and climbing stairs and points are deducted for use of walking aids. For each section, a score of 80-100 = excellent, 70-79 = good; 60-69 = fair; and \< 60 = poor.
Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS)Month 12 Post-SurgeryThe Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS) is a self-reported outcome measure assessing the patient's opinion about the health, symptoms, and functionality of their knee. It is a 42-item questionnaire, including 5 subscales: symptoms, pain, function in daily living (ADLs), sports/recreation, and quality of life. The maximum score a patient can achieve is 100, indicating no knee problems. The minimum score is zero, indicating severe knee problems.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Standard of Care Spinal Surgery
Patients will be given spinal anesthesia with 2.6 mL of 0.5% isobaric bupivacaine. Spinal Surgery: TKA under standard of care spinal surgery.
0
Sensor Guided Spinal Surgery
The Verasense Knee System device (OrthoSensor inc., Dania Beach, Florida) is a sterile sensor system that replaces the tibial insert trials used during surgery. The sensor contains a microprocessor and integrated nanosensor system, which wirelessly transmits real-time data to a portable graphic display unit used for read-out of the data. The sensor measures and localizes peak load at the medial and lateral tibiofemoral joint interfaces. Loading data is thereby captured intra-operatively through the full range of movement (ROM) using the sensor system. Verasense Knee System device: Sensor measures and localizes peak load at the medial and lateral tibiofemoral joint interfaces. Loading data is thereby captured intra-operatively through the full range of movement (ROM) using the sensor system.
26
Total26

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSensor Guided Spinal SurgeryTotal
Age, Continuous71.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.1
71.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
18 Participants18 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
8 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
24 Participants24 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
26 participants26 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
15 Participants15 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
11 Participants11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 260 / 26
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 260 / 26
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 260 / 26

Outcome results

Primary

Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS)

The Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS) is a self-reported outcome measure assessing the patient's opinion about the health, symptoms, and functionality of their knee. It is a 42-item questionnaire, including 5 subscales: symptoms, pain, function in daily living (ADLs), sports/recreation, and quality of life. The maximum score a patient can achieve is 100, indicating no knee problems. The minimum score is zero, indicating severe knee problems.

Time frame: Month 12 Post-Surgery

Population: This study was interrupted as the surgeon investigator decided to retire from clinical practice. Following the surgeon investigator's assessment, no intervention was performed based on the intra-operative results of the pressure load measurement. For that reason, the PI deemed the study team should not compare the surgical results using the KOOS. Therefore, this measure was not assessed among study participants; no data are available for this outcome measure as it was not assessed.

Primary

Knee Society Score (KSS)

The Knee Society Score (KSS) comprises two sections (each worth 100 points) for a maximum 200 points. One section is the Knee Society Clinical Score (KSCS) - points are given for pain, motion, and stability and points are deducted for flexion contracture, extension lag, and misalignment. The other section is the Knee Society Functional Score (KSFS) - points are assigned for walking distances and climbing stairs and points are deducted for use of walking aids. For each section, a score of 80-100 = excellent, 70-79 = good; 60-69 = fair; and \< 60 = poor.

Time frame: Month 12 Post-Surgery

Population: This study was interrupted as the surgeon investigator decided to retire from clinical practice. Following the surgeon investigator's assessment, no intervention was performed based on the intra-operative results of the pressure load measurement. For that reason, the PI deemed the study team should not compare the surgical results using the KSS. Therefore, this measure was not assessed among study participants; no data are available for this outcome measure as it was not assessed.

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026