Skip to content

A Neoadjuvant Study of Nivolumab Plus Ipilimumab or Nivolumab Plus Chemotherapy Versus Chemotherapy Alone in Early Stage Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Randomized, OpenLabel, Phase 3 Trial of Nivolumab Plus Ipilimumab or Nivolumab Plus Platinum Doublet Chemotherapy Versus Platinum Doublet Chemotherapy in Early Stage NSCLC

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02998528
Acronym
CheckMate 816
Enrollment
505
Registered
2016-12-20
Start date
2017-03-04
Completion date
2024-12-06
Last updated
2026-01-06

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Non Small Cell Lung Cancer

Brief summary

The purpose of this neoadjuvant study is to compare nivolumab plus chemotherapy and chemotherapy alone in terms of safety and effectiveness, and to describe nivolumab plus ipilimumab's safety and effectiveness in treating resectable NSCLC. This study has multiple primary endpoints.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALNivolumab

Specified dose on specified days

DRUGCisplatin

Specified dose on specified days

DRUGVinorelbine

Specified dose on specified days

DRUGGemcitabine

Specified dose on specified days

DRUGDocetaxel

Specified dose on specified days

DRUGPemetrexed

Specified dose on specified days

DRUGCarboplatin

Specified dose on specified days

DRUGPaclitaxel

Specified dose on specified days

BIOLOGICALIpilimumab

This arm is closed and no longer enrolling patients.

Sponsors

Ono Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Early stage IB-IIIA, operable non-small cell lung cancer, confirmed in tissue * Lung function capacity capable of tolerating the proposed lung surgery * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status of 0-1 * Available tissue of primary lung tumor

Exclusion criteria

* Presence of locally advanced, inoperable or metastatic disease * Participants with active, known or suspected autoimmune disease * Prior treatment with any drug that targets T cell co-stimulations pathways (such as checkpoint inhibitors) Other protocol defined inclusion/

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Event-Free Survival (EFS)From randomization to disease progression, reoccurrence, or death due to any cause. (Up to a median of 30 months)Event-free survival (EFS) is defined as the length of time from randomization to any of the following events: any progression of disease precluding surgery, progression or recurrence disease based on blinded independent central review (BICR) assessment per response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) 1.1 after surgery, or death due to any cause. Participants who don't undergo surgery for reason other than progression will be considered to have an event at progression or death. Progression is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. (Note: the appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression).
Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) RateFrom randomization up to a median of 30 months after randomization.Pathologic complete response (pCR) rate is defined as the number of randomized participants with absence of residual tumor in lung and lymph nodes as evaluated by blinded independent pathological review (BIPR).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Major Pathologic Response (MPR) RateFrom randomization up to a median of 30 months after randomization.Major pathologic response (MPR) rate is defined as number of randomized participants with \</= 10% residual tumor in lung and lymph nodes as evaluated by blinded independent pathological review (BIPR). Viable tumors in situ carcinoma should not be included in MPR calculation.
Overall Survival (OS)From randomization to the date of death (Up to approximately 93 months)Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time between the date of randomization and the date of death. OS will be censored on the last date a participant was known to be alive.
Time to Death or Distant Metastases (TTDM)From randomization to the first date of distant metastasis or the date of death in the absence of distant metastasis (Up to approximately 84 months)TTDM is defined as the time between the date of randomization and the first date of distant metastasis or the date of death in the absence of distant metastasis. Distant metastasis is defined as any new lesion that is outside of the thorax using blinded independent central review (BICR) according to response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) 1.1. Patients who have not developed distant metastasis or died at the time of analysis will be censored on the date of their last evaluable tumor assessment.

Countries

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Romania, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey (Türkiye), United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

One participant randomized to Arm A (nivo+ipi) received the wrong treatment of chemo. This participant is counted in Arm A for baseline and efficacy analyses (analyses based on the randomized population) and is counted in Arm B (chemo) for exposure and safety analyses (based on the treated population). This participant was randomized prior to Revised Protocol 02 and is not included in the All Treated Participants from the Concurrently Randomized Arms B and C population.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A: Nivo 3 mg/kg + Ipi 1 mg/kg
Participants received nivolumab 3 mg/kg IV over 30 minutes every 2 weeks for up to 3 doses (ie, 6 weeks of treatment; each cycle is 14 days). In Cycle 1 Day 1 only, nivolumab will be followed by a single dose of ipilimumab 1 mg/kg IV over 30 minutes. Following definitive surgery, participants could receive up to 4 cycles of adjuvant chemotherapy and/or radiation at the discretion of the investigator.
113
Arm B: Platinum Doublet Chemo
Participants receive investigator-choice of platinum doublet chemotherapy regimens in 3-week cycles up to a maximum of 3 cycles of IV chemotherapy (ie, 9 weeks of treatment; each cycle is 21 days). Following definitive surgery, participants could receive up to 4 cycles of adjuvant chemotherapy and/or radiation at the discretion of the investigator.
213
Arm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet Chemo
Participants receive nivolumab 360 mg IV + platinum doublet chemotherapy in 3-week cycles up to a maximum of 3 cycles of IV chemotherapy (ie, 9 weeks of treatment; each cycle is 21 days). Following definitive surgery, participants could receive up to 4 cycles of adjuvant chemotherapy and/or radiation at the discretion of the investigator.
179
Total505

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Neoadjuvant Treatment PeriodAdverse event unrelated to study treatment030
Neoadjuvant Treatment PeriodDeath100
Neoadjuvant Treatment PeriodDisease progression321
Neoadjuvant Treatment PeriodParticipant no longer meets study criteria010
Neoadjuvant Treatment PeriodParticipant request to discontinue study treatment070
Neoadjuvant Treatment PeriodParticipant withdrew consent040
Neoadjuvant Treatment PeriodStudy drug toxicity61410
Randomization PeriodAdverse event unrelated to study drug001
Randomization PeriodParticipant no longer meets study criteria132
Randomization PeriodParticipant withdrew consent030
Systemic Adjuvant Treatment PeriodAdverse event unrelated to study drug101
Systemic Adjuvant Treatment PeriodDisease progression100
Systemic Adjuvant Treatment PeriodOther reasons001
Systemic Adjuvant Treatment PeriodParticipant request to discontinue treatment311
Systemic Adjuvant Treatment PeriodStudy drug toxicity451

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm A: Nivo 3 mg/kg + Ipi 1 mg/kgArm B: Platinum Doublet ChemoArm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet ChemoTotal
Age, Customized
< 65
62 Participants99 Participants93 Participants254 Participants
Age, Customized
>= 65 AND < 75
40 Participants96 Participants75 Participants211 Participants
Age, Customized
>= 75 AND < 85
11 Participants17 Participants11 Participants39 Participants
Age, Customized
>= 85
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants5 Participants0 Participants7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
53 Participants105 Participants100 Participants258 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
58 Participants103 Participants79 Participants240 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
41 Participants96 Participants86 Participants223 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants5 Participants4 Participants13 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
4 Participants4 Participants0 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
64 Participants108 Participants89 Participants261 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
40 Participants65 Participants51 Participants156 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
73 Participants148 Participants128 Participants349 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
46 / 112105 / 21466 / 179
other
Total, other adverse events
102 / 111202 / 208160 / 176
serious
Total, serious adverse events
30 / 11158 / 20853 / 176

Outcome results

Primary

Event-Free Survival (EFS)

Event-free survival (EFS) is defined as the length of time from randomization to any of the following events: any progression of disease precluding surgery, progression or recurrence disease based on blinded independent central review (BICR) assessment per response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) 1.1 after surgery, or death due to any cause. Participants who don't undergo surgery for reason other than progression will be considered to have an event at progression or death. Progression is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. (Note: the appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression).

Time frame: From randomization to disease progression, reoccurrence, or death due to any cause. (Up to a median of 30 months)

Population: All concurrently randomized participants in Arm C and Arm B

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm B: Platinum Doublet ChemoEvent-Free Survival (EFS)20.80 Months
Arm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet ChemoEvent-Free Survival (EFS)31.57 Months
p-value: 0.005297.38% CI: [0.43, 0.91]Log Rank
Primary

Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) Rate

Pathologic complete response (pCR) rate is defined as the number of randomized participants with absence of residual tumor in lung and lymph nodes as evaluated by blinded independent pathological review (BIPR).

Time frame: From randomization up to a median of 30 months after randomization.

Population: All concurrently randomized participants in Arm C and Arm B

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm B: Platinum Doublet ChemoPathologic Complete Response (pCR) Rate4 Participants
Arm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet ChemoPathologic Complete Response (pCR) Rate43 Participants
99% CI: [13, 30.3]
p-value: <0.000199% CI: [3.49, 55.75]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
Secondary

Major Pathologic Response (MPR) Rate

Major pathologic response (MPR) rate is defined as number of randomized participants with \</= 10% residual tumor in lung and lymph nodes as evaluated by blinded independent pathological review (BIPR). Viable tumors in situ carcinoma should not be included in MPR calculation.

Time frame: From randomization up to a median of 30 months after randomization.

Population: All concurrently randomized participants in Arm C and Arm B

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm B: Platinum Doublet ChemoMajor Pathologic Response (MPR) Rate16 Participants
Arm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet ChemoMajor Pathologic Response (MPR) Rate66 Participants
95% CI: [19.6, 36.1]
95% CI: [3.16, 10.26]
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time between the date of randomization and the date of death. OS will be censored on the last date a participant was known to be alive.

Time frame: From randomization to the date of death (Up to approximately 93 months)

Population: All concurrently randomized participants in Arm C and Arm B

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm B: Platinum Doublet ChemoOverall Survival (OS)73.72 Months
Arm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet ChemoOverall Survival (OS)NA Months
Secondary

Time to Death or Distant Metastases (TTDM)

TTDM is defined as the time between the date of randomization and the first date of distant metastasis or the date of death in the absence of distant metastasis. Distant metastasis is defined as any new lesion that is outside of the thorax using blinded independent central review (BICR) according to response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) 1.1. Patients who have not developed distant metastasis or died at the time of analysis will be censored on the date of their last evaluable tumor assessment.

Time frame: From randomization to the first date of distant metastasis or the date of death in the absence of distant metastasis (Up to approximately 84 months)

Population: All concurrently randomized participants in Arm C and Arm B

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm B: Platinum Doublet ChemoTime to Death or Distant Metastases (TTDM)36.76 Months
Arm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet ChemoTime to Death or Distant Metastases (TTDM)64.66 Months
95% CI: [0.49, 0.9]
Post Hoc

Event-Free Survival (EFS)

Event-free survival (EFS) is defined as the length of time from randomization to any of the following events: any progression of disease precluding surgery, progression or recurrence disease based on blinded independent central review (BICR) assessment per response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) 1.1 after surgery, or death due to any cause. Participants who don't undergo surgery for reason other than progression will be considered to have an event at progression or death. Progression is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. (Note: the appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression).

Time frame: From randomization to disease progression, reoccurrence, or death due to any cause. (Up to a median of 69 months)

Population: All concurrently randomized participants in Arm C and Arm B

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm B: Platinum Doublet ChemoEvent-Free Survival (EFS)21.06 Months
Arm C: Nivo 360 mg + Platinum Doublet ChemoEvent-Free Survival (EFS)59.60 Months
95% CI: [0.51, 0.91]

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 26, 2026